Mint Telecom Questions

20 questions from our users
How can I get on this? Am on the Gold Coast. The provider I have was good but now its like dial up to get onto anything. Am 80. Mainly use for emails and facebook to keep in touch with family.

Pamsiwamsie asked on Nov 05, 2017

Answer this

Hi Pamsiwamsie,
Thanks for considering us. To sign up or if you want to discuss further, just give us a call on 1300586468.
Cheers
Michael

Michael of Mint Telecom has given you their number 1300 586 468 which is at local call cost. They have email admin@minttelecom.net.au They answer calls promptly by staff who are very knowledgeable. I am an 81 year old very happy with their service. Hope it all goes well for you.

Thankyou.

Hi, I’m currently with Telstra on NBN and I’m paying for the 100mb/s but am being ripped off and lucky to get up to 30mb/s the majority of times. I’m aware of peak and off peak and that the speeds are a lot better in off peak periods but that’s not very useful to the majority of the population as the bulk of the off peak period is well into the night. Sleep time. I doubt any ISP can gaurentee full speeds 100% of the time, however can you guys offer any guarantees of at least 50 to 75% of the advertised ‘up to 100mb/s’ for the majority of the time? No one wants to pay for something they’re not getting which I’m sure you can understand. I also have an unused landline that I no longer wish to keep. Do you guys do plans for NBN without the requirement for a landline?

Alex asked on Nov 03, 2017

Answer this

Hi Alex,
I'm not sure anyone can properly offer a guarantee on speeds based upon how NBN Co currently charges.
However, whilst we don't guarantee, we work very hard to deliver you the speed you pay for at the vast majority of the time - its in our interest to do so as we don't have long term contracts, just 6 months, and our cancellation fees are also low, just $99 per service.
So our interests are definitely aligned - its why we don't offer unlimited services as its very hard to deliver that much data AND the speed based upon the current NBN Co pricing construct.
Re landline, its optional on NBN. We have plans without, plans with a landline for no cost and you pay for calls or plans with included calls.
Cheers
Michael

Why is it that mint.telecom can't offer 200Gb and 500Gb downloads when almost every other ISP can?

Scrivener asked on Sep 01, 2017

Answer this

Hi Scrivener, we do have a 200GB option available on FTTP and FW, just not available for all types of NBN. Otherwise, the price difference between the differing inclusions is negligible yet the legal requirements to provide additional plans is large (multiple differ plans requires a lot of setting up and managing). In fact, many ISP's only offer unlimited these days and don't bother with the range that Mint does.
So, very simply, we choose to keep things very simple and make sure what we do we do well.
Cheers
Michael

Let me rephrase the question then... Why is it that Mint Telecom can't offer 20Gb and 500Gb to users on FttN? Other ISP do as far as I can tell. If not, why not? This will decide my continuing with Mint.

Hi, I live in Southport, Queensland, 4215 and I have been your costumer for 2 months , I got an unlimited broadband ADSL I have never been able to do a backup of my iPhone due to the slow speed. How can I ask support about that? thank you

Federica asked on Aug 30, 2017

Answer this

Hi Frederica,
Yes, you just need to contact us directly to advise what your specific problem is and we can see how we can help.
Note, adsl upload speeds are only a maximum of 1Mbps so is slow by design. Additionally, adsl download speeds are largely determined by distance from the exchange (further away the slower it gets) and quality of your copper.
Either way, please contact us directly (call or email us) and we can review for you.
Cheers
Michael

I want to know if i switch from my old plan to mint do i keep my old phone number?

Ruby asked on Aug 29, 2017

Answer this

Hi Ruby,
Yes, if you move to Mint we can move your existing phone number across for you.
Cheers
Michael

I'm in Western Australia and have found my current ISP to be completely useless as far as support is concerned. This is because they work from 8:30am EST - 6:30am WST to 2:30pm WST - this stops me being able to get help as I'm at work. Do you have 24 hr support and do you go through a message bank before getting back to your customers?

MickP14 asked on Aug 23, 2017

Answer this

Hi MickP14,
We don't offer 24 hour support. I'm not too sure if anyone offers that in Australia from an Australian based service centre (we operate from Hobart).
Also, the network providers are not open after hours for faults - they monitor large network outages 24/7 365 but for individual faults its purely mon to fri bus hours.
Out of hours we are contactable via email, voicemail and facebook private messages, but all we can do at those times is help with any local setup issues which are also issues typically able to be done by customers themselves (we provide guides, etc on all the common issues).
Cheers
Michael

Hello currently my address post code 2220 is not nbn ready, if I am on adsl would the change over be smooth with mint when required? We aren't especially internet savvy and looking for a ISP that is helpful. Thank you for your help.

Ming asked on Aug 19, 2017

Answer this

Hi Ming,
Yes the changeover would be smooth. Our modems are NBN Ready so when the time came all that would be required is to pick a new plan, we then organise the upgrade for you. Once active you simply need to login to the modem to update the username - which we can help with (its not hard).
Cheers
Michael

Hi There. I live in Bonbeach and I'm with belong... and I just moved to this new place but my issue is belong said that is going to take 20 days to set my internet. I paid for a month and I don't have internet at home. Do you guys have a good deal to offer please? My email is m.a.d_79@hotmail Cheers Marcio

Marcio D asked on Aug 07, 2017

Answer this

Hi Marcio,
Happy to review for you. I'll shoot you an email as the timing will be all about what is available at your specific address.
Cheers
Michael

it appears that Mint is only contactable by phone Mon - Fri. Is this true and how will ideal with any issues that occur at night or the weekend? Bigwal

Bigwal asked on Apr 29, 2017

Answer this

Hi Bigwal,
The call centre is open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday, however we are reachable out of hours via:
- leave us a voice mail
- email us
- go to our Facebook page and send us a private message
We respond at all times (if we're awake). Note that nbn and telstra only are open weekdays for faults so not much we can do for those (network outages are monitored 365 24/7 but are realistically rare).
Cheers Michael

I would just like to back this up and say, that the "Out-of-Hours" contact is very reliable, and they have always answered me via email or FaceBook messenger on Weekends, at Night etc. Very good customer service.

As Neil said out of hours support is reliable having myself had responses from support on a Saturday and a Sunday on occasion!

Re Tina's question & Michael from Mint's answer. I'm from a NSW regional area & was thinking of using Mint until I saw Tina's question (&Michael's answer). Its certainly confusing what are the Mint Ultimate & Mint middle supposed to be? or weren't they available in Feb 2017.

parrafan asked on Mar 27, 2017

Answer this

Hi Parrafan,
Sorry for the confusion. The plans are listed on our website and if you review my response to Tina whilst reviewing the website it should be clear.
Mint Middle and Ultimate (there is also Starter and Nude) are shown there. The difference for these plans is the calls that are included in the packages and as per my response to Tina the Nude bundle is a metro only plan.
Cheers Michael

Hello, I am dissatisfied with the speed provided by my current ISP. I am located in Metropolitan Melbourne and want internet only. What speed can you offer and at what price for internet only? Desley

Deeslee asked on Mar 25, 2017

Answer this

Hi Desley,
As you've already sent us an email which I've responded to with all your answers, I'll be brief here.
Speed on ADSL is determined by lots of factors, the primary one being how far you are from the exchange. With that information we can start to get a guage for what sport of speed we'd hope to deliver for you, but as its ADSL and involves copper there are no guarantees on speeds.
Our Nude Bundle is the plan you would be after, if does require a working phone (as we use the Telstra network and its required) but is designed for people like yourself. The monthly plan fee is $69.95 for the line rental and unlimited ADSL.
Cheers
Michael

Does Mint Telecom deal directly with NBNCo as an RSP or do you have an aggregated NBN service over another provider? Also, who is your backhaul provider and what is your stance on NBN Fixed Wireless tower congestion? Thanks

Lachlan B asked on Mar 12, 2017

Answer this

Hi Lachlan,
We utilise the Vocus network as, in our opinion, it's the best in the country.
In terms of back haul, it's varied. Vocus is on net to approx 118 of the 121 POIs since acquiring Nextgen and they also have a deal with Telstra for all 121 POIs.
Re Fixed Wireless tower congestion, that is 100% a NBN Co issue. It's relatively uncommon, but I am aware of a couple of towers and we (like everyone) are waiting for NBN Co to upgrade.
Cheers Michael

I've noticed on your web only one package for Internet and phone. $69.95. Is there other options available.? I currently don't have an active phone line. What options are available to me for Internet? My area does have NBN but my house doesn't appear to be on the NBN system as I have already contacted the NBN hotline. I've got to find a Internet provider before it can be sorted out. Other providers say I can't get Internet service for between 2 days -2 weeks. I need it adapt.

Tina asked on Feb 05, 2017

Answer this

Hi Tina,
Regarding our ADSL bundles, there is our Nude Bundle which is for Metro areas only and is priced at $69.95. If you require a call inclusion plan or are in a regional area then you pick one of our call plans (Starter/Middle/Ultimate) and then add ADSL. So the Starter bundle would be $89.95.
We use the Telstra network so do require a working phone line, however we can organise that all for you (just note fees do apply to connect phone lines - we would confirm these for you though).
Re NBN, we can certainly log a service request with NBN Co for you to get your address updated and added to their system. The timing for this really depends on NBN Co, but we can at least make it easy for you to contact us and get updates.
Send us an email to care@minttelecom.net.au and we can answer any further questions.
Cheers
Michael

i've just connected and my outlook mail won't send. do i need to setup an outgoing mail server?

JodieY asked on Feb 03, 2017

Answer this

Hi Jodie,
I sent you an email about your problem. We don't provide a mail server so the problem may be with whomever hosts your mail.
If you reply to my email I can see if I can help identify the problem (if you can't see my email, check your junk or mail folder).
Cheers Michael

Hello Mint. I am lucky to live on top of Springbrook Mountain on Gold Coast Qld. I am not lucky to be connected to Telstra, except that the reception is not bad there. My work is 30km away in at Mudgeeraaba in same postcode. Can I get Mint connection? Can I have 2 site ADSL connections - for my shop and home. I was hacked in Oct 2016 and have TIOs with Vodafone, Telstra and soon Optus. Need straightforward billing and pricing as well as good connections and like your approach. AI nearly cried just reading your reviews and interactions. I want some of that.

Katt asked on Feb 03, 2017

Answer this

Hi Kate,
We'd love to help. As long as you can access the Telstra or NBN networks we can provide a service.
Shoot us an email to care@minttelecom.net.au with the address details and the phone numbers connected at each site and we can take the conversation from there to see what it would look like with us.
We can't promise to fix network problems, but we will work with you to fix them as best as possible and worst case we're hopefully a lot easier to deal with.
Cheers Michael

Hi Mint, do you provide a service in Perth, I am so fed up with dealing with overseas call centres that have no idea. Also, if I do have a problem with my line, that needs further investigation, what is your process for dealing with this and who are your technical contract with in Perth (if you provide a service to Perth that is)?

Bigfella195 asked on Jan 17, 2017

Answer this

Hi Bigfella195,
Yes, we provide services in Perth. We provide services where ever customers can access the Telstra network or NBN network.
If you have a problem with your line we will log it to the network provider - in your case Telstra. We have direct access to log the fault into their system and will manage it for you.
Cheers Michael

Hi, Can you confirm whether mint block port 25 traffic to external SMTP servers such as bigpond? I need to transfer away form iPrimus as they do block this port and my new job involves me sending email via many accounts in outlook that use different SMTP relay servers.

Glyn asked on Dec 21, 2016

Answer this

Hi Glyn,
We don't block any ports. To be honest, I'm pretty sure iPrimus also don't block and it may simply be a fault that you have.
Cheers
Michael

Can you contact me l need internet at my new home?

Xia asked on Nov 16, 2016

Answer this

Hi Xia, Send us an email to care@minttelecom.net.au with your phone number and we can give you a call to discuss.
Cheers Michael

Hi. I dont have a phone port at our house but interested in dodo phone and internet. Is there a need for me to have a phone port installed first before signing up with dodo? If dodo will do the phone port installation, how much would that be? My area has dodo ADSL coverage.

Gac asked on Nov 11, 2016

Answer this

Hi gac, I think you've posted the question to the wrong telco.
As a guide, yes, you do need a phone socket and line installed to run adsl. Dodo should be able to organise that for you (we certainly would), as to what dodo charge for that you'll need to check with them.
Cheers Michael

I live in the Meridan Plains region in Queensland. Quote the best the best Home Internet/phone bundle or Internet plans for ADSL+2 with specific details, including costs. If/when NBN becomes available in the Meridan/Caloundra, Queensland area will this be on offer to your clientele and if it is, what will the cost factor be? Does your Internet/Phone package in include its own email facility? I do not wish to use Website email. Does the user have the option of selecting own Password etc? How is the Internet and Email facility set-up, i.e. with installation disc or your set-up connection? What method or process is used to set-up phone connection? Where is your technical support base located –in Australia or overseas? Is a Modem/Router provided by you and if so, at what cost. Is using your modem is obligatory or, preferred Modem. Please supply details of terms and conditions. My operating system comprises Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. Donald Miller --donyve03@gmail.com

Fred will do asked on Oct 28, 2016

Answer this

Hi Fred will do, very happy to answer all your questions on here, however as you emailed us directly and advised you didn't mean to post these here (thinking it was directly to us), I'll not provide the same updates/answers. Cheers Michael