OzHead MKIII Questions

20 questions from our users
Looking to buy a new hair straightener as my old GHD is on borrowed time. Very interested in the Ozhead and also the SAS. They seem to be quite similar in function, price and reviews and I really cant decide which to get. Any information would be appreciated? Thanks

Lee asked on Jun 25, 2017

Answer this

Hi Lee. Thanks very much for considering us :) Our straighteners heat up to 230 degrees with variable heat control, plus we also have vibrating plates that make the straightening process a lot easier. We also have a 3 year replacement warranty and a 14 day money-back guarantee for you to try them out. At the moment we're also doing free shipping Australia-wide and you can use the discount code MEGAOFFER too and get 20% discount to-boot :) I hope you will give us a go.

Hi Lee. Thanks very much for considering us :) Our straighteners heat up to 230 degrees with variable heat control, plus we also have vibrating plates that make the straightening process a lot easier. We also have a 3 year replacement warranty and a 14 day money-back guarantee for you to try them out. At the moment we're also doing free shipping Australia-wide and you can use the discount code MEGAOFFER too and get 20% discount to-boot :) I hope you will give us a go.

Hi Lee
I can't give you any feedback on the SAS sorry don't even know anyone who has one.

My Ozhead - I've had I a few weeks now and I can honestly say my old GHD that this replaceyd was NEVER anywhere near as good as my Ozhead. The Ozhead leaves my hair dead straight and it stays that way all day. I have a fringe that curls up as soon as I leave the bathroom. Not with my Ozhead.

If I use the hair serum with the straightner. My hair stays straight for up to 3 days. Well that's as long as I was prepared to test It. I have always had to wash my hair every single day up until I started with the Ozhead. It's awesome waking up to straight hair and not having to wash dry and style it every single day.

Everyone's hair is different of course. But my experience on my hair is fantastic and I'd highly recommend the straightner and the serum.

Hi a few days ago you had a deal for $189.95 whivh included a mini straightener, heat mat, serum etc. I cannot see that on the website anymore. Do you still have that or when is it coming back ?

Puneet asked on Mar 27, 2017

Hi, I am looking to replace my current straightener (a GHD). After 3 years it has become much weaker and I am no longer satisfied with the way my hair looks after I straighten it no matter how long I spend doing it. I have really thick, curly hair and was looking for something that would work well for my hair. I also straighten my hair every week and was looking for something that wouldn't damage it too much. Is there a specific hair straightener that you think may work best for me ? Also wondering what the material of the plates are and if you guys do any student discounts at all? Thanks, Marlin

Marlin asked on Mar 25, 2017

Answer this

Marlin, I also have thick wavy hair, did you end up getting a OZhead? If so how was it with your hair?

Marlin, I also have thick wavy hair, did you end up getting a OZhead? If so how was it with your hair?

My daughter and I have thick course curly hair and want to buy a straightener was thinking of a ghd but too expensive. We would like to give your product a go what can u offer please?

Jeannie asked on Jan 08, 2017

Answer this

Hi Jeannie - Thanks for getting in touch. At the moment we have a coupon deal, just use MEGAOFFER at the checkout to get 20% off and free shipping. We and have a 14 day full refund if it doesn't work for you. I think you will find it amazing for thick hair. We also have a 3 year full replacement warranty if anything ever goes wrong. Can't beat that :) Please let me know if I can help with anything else. Kind regards. Dave

Does the mini hair straightener have the same description/features as the MKIII?

Leny asked on Dec 11, 2016

Answer this

Hi Leny, No not really. The mini iron only heats to 200 degrees and isn't a replacement for a professional straightener. It is however handy for fringes, ringlet curls and for an emergency top-up as it's small enough to keep in a bag. Hope that helps :)

Hi , I am looking to buy a hair straightner for my 16 yrs old daughter with heavy and loose curly hairs. Which model and brand should I go for ? Any recommendations ? Cheers! Sakshi.

Sakshi Kalra asked on Nov 25, 2016

Answer this

Hi Sakshi, The ozHead MKIII is our latest straightener and that's great on thick hair. It also has the auto-shutoff feature = good for teens :) At the moment the best deal is the goody box, which comes with the MKIII, heat protector serum, heat mat and a mini hair straightener which is great for travelling, top-ups or small curls. The pack is at www.ozhead.com.au for $189.95 and you currently get 20% off with the coupon 'megaoffer' plus free shipping. We also do a 14 day money back guarantee (that starts from Christmas day for gifts) and a 3 year replacement warranty. If you need anything else please drop me a line to [email protected] :) Kind regards Dave

Hi there - I was wanting to purchase 2 new hair straighteners for myself and my daughter. Not sure what brand to choose next as previously I had GHDs. However, recently, I have had a bad experience with their latest version of GHD which stopped working within 2 months of purchase and same with the replacement GHD straightener supplied (less than 2 months in fact). Neither was it an easy task to sort out with GHD customer services. In the end I gave up and asked for my money back as I couldn't be bothered going through it all for a third time. Do you deliver to Auckland, New Zealand? Belinda

Billie asked on Jul 15, 2016

Answer this

Hi Belinda,
I wish I had a Dollar for every-time I heard that story :) Yes please order away. I'm happy to ship to NZ and if you have any dramas in the checkout process please last me know at [email protected] and I'll get you sorted ASAP. We do offer a 3 year replacement warranty and won't ever give you any dramas in that department. We don;t get many replacements back luckily :)

Kind regards

David

Hi, wanted to know if the plates are solid ceramic?

Nicole Round asked on May 16, 2016

Answer this

Hi Nicole,

The plates are actually aluminium and triple coated & baked with a super hard ceramic. IE won't scratch off. We originally tried a lot of ceramics for the plates but found they were prone to having hot-spots that could burn hair, as the heat cannot conduct as easily through ceramic. We were also hearing a lot of people were having problems with ceramic cracking easily if dropped.

So we opted for the coated plates :)

I hope that answers your question?

Ward Regards
Dave

Got a few questions. Are you planning to bring out a wide straightener at all? Do your straighteners have an auto off feature? I am looking to buy a 2 pack so I can spoil a friend but I was hoping to get 2 different colours. Is this possible?

sam asked on Apr 16, 2015

Answer this

Hi Sam, I bought this product and I'm very happy with it. You will have to contact the supplier. I just did a review on the product.

Hi do these straighteners have a tempetature control setting?

sami.b.rae asked on Jan 16, 2015

Answer this

Hi Sami. Yes the temperature is variable from 120C to 230C :)

Also wondering how the vibrating plates work.Does it straighten the hair more easily, or keep it straighter for longer?Its baffling.

jacks4nik asked on Jan 04, 2015

Answer this

Hi Jacks. The vibrating plates help to straighten the hair more easily as it reduces the friction on the plates. Its especially useful for thick or hard to manage hair.

I use the vibrating plates as i find it easier and its more gentle on my scalp as it glides through hair smoothly. My daughter has an ozhead too and she tends to turn the vibrating option off. The option to use it is yours. Sarah

Hey ozheads. Silly question but wondering if the three different coloured latest model are exactly the same product.I also have never been able to find a straightener that can do the fine and annoying curly bits around the face.Not even the so called incredible Ghds can do it.The fringe is also a problem.What are your thoughts? Can ozhead get close to the scalp and get those problem around the face areas? What do you think guys?

jacks4nik asked on Jan 04, 2015

Answer this

Hi Jacks. All the models are identical, they're just different colours. As for the fringe parts, I think that all straighteners would be pretty much the same, as there has to be some distance between the plates and the outer case so prevent burning the scalp. Having said that, we've never had anyone mention that they cant straighten fringes well. If you wanted to try ours we do offer a 14 days money back guarantee for you to try it. If not 100% happy you get a full refund. Warm regards, Dalma.

Hi I am travelling to the US, does this have dual voltage?! Can I use this on towel dried hair ?! ( I had one which said something like "wet to dry",ages ago and I could use it on towel dried hair , I think the brand was Remington) Thanks

Chandrika asked on Sep 22, 2014

Answer this

Hi Chandrika. Yes the straightener has dual voltage and will work in the USA. You can also use it on dowel dried hair (IE very slightly damp) but not on wet hair.
Warm regards
Dalma

I really tossing between couple of hair straighteners. I have thick long frizzy black hair. just wonder OZhead will do the job as after using some straighteners my arms are in pain?

jakirap asked on Aug 05, 2014

Answer this

I've got naturally curly hair and I straighten my hair for 5 mins every morning. Works really well for me. I My hair is shorter now though but I would recommend it and hopefully it does work for you. It is the best straightener I've used by far and I've used quite a few.

My hair is the same and if you section your hair (back - front) then it should last all day.
After washing my hair it takes me 10mins to straighten it properly, then I may need to 'touch it up' every other day for a few mins.
OzHead straightners also don't damage the hair, and they make it look really healthy... Would def recommend!
Hope this helps

So my GHD has died and I am actively looking for a replacement hair straightener. I'm currently torn before between a couple of brands, Ozhead being one of them. I would really like to give a Australian company a go but I am hesitant due to the number of reviews that state they had problems with the straightener and had to send them back, yes they commened the speedy turn around on this but this is still making me wary. Did you encounter a known bad batch? I'd be interested in seeing some videos and photos with before and after shots, I found a few on Instagram & facebook but I didn't find them to be overly impressive. Seeing something like this could seal the deal for me. Over to you....... impress me ;)

Kelly asked on Mar 29, 2014

Answer this

Hey Debbie :) Thanks very much for getting in touch. The reason that we have probably more than the average number of reviews after replacements, is that we send a letter asking people to leave feedback on Product Review on how they rate us, along with their replacement straightener. I think many people get the run around claiming on any warranty nowadays in general. So, because we replace almost immediately, it seems people are more likely to leave a good review after having a good experience and fast service. There's a 14 day money back guarantee for you to try it out at least, and we'll even cover the postage if you're not 100% satisfied :) If you have any questions please give us a shout on 02 4334 4991 . Kindest regards Dave.

what's the heat range and what are the different models currently available ?

shay asked on May 28, 2013

Answer this

There is only one heat, you can't change it. I think it gets up to 200 degrees.

The heat range is actually from around 100 degrees on the lowest setting up to around 230 degrees (+/- 5%) but you need to wait a few minutes for it to get to at least 210 degrees for the heat to be good enough for lasting results. 220 degrees plus, gives a really long lasting hold that should be good all day, even for humid conditions.

Can you curl your hair with this product?

Roachelle22 asked on May 12, 2013

Answer this

Yes you can. I Got on line and watched a video on how to do it. Works well..

Yep, I curl my hair with it all the time. It works really well if you know how. Go to Youtube and watch some tutorials.

How much price for his iron. would you mind to sent me the rice please?

kulina thapa asked on Mar 11, 2013

Answer this

The straightener by itself is only $139.95 + shipping from www.ozhead.com.au

where do you get this product in australia? and how much is it?

annabella asked on Jan 23, 2012

Answer this

All of the information is through their website:

http://www.ozhead.com.au/

Is it ceremic?

They are ceramic plates and you can buy for approx 175 including shipping. Or buy the 2 pack which comes with 2 straighteners, 2 mini travel straighteners and accessories for approx 250 including shipping

(That's not for the think pink brand) for the latest MK3 model

I have fine, straight/wavy hair,will this straightner be too powerful for my hair? will it burn or damage my hair? Where do I buy a Think Pink and what is the approximate cost? Thankyou

Maria asked on Jul 26, 2011

Answer this

hi i also have fine wavy hair but alot of it as my hairdresser says, every time i wash my hair it goes friz bomb on me so i use this lovely straightner and minutes later look decent it lasts until my next hair wash 2 to 3 days later i use it on high but it has 3 settings i put it through slowly and it has never burnt my hair in fact it makes it look shiny i bought mine from www.ozhead.com.au for $149.95 plus post it was well worth the money and they have a 3 year guarentee cant really go wrong with this one hope ive helped you

OZHEAD have a temperature control setting from 180 - 230 degrees. Just set it on the lowest setting and increase in increments until you find a setting that is right for your hair!

My best friends previous straightener was constantly burning her hair, since I bought her the OZHEAD, she hasn't burnt her hair once. Her hair is now silky, smooth and healthy!!

She loves it at much as I do!

I got the latest MK3 model

One of the reasons you will find that the OzHead straightener doesn't burn your hair is the way that the heat plates are made. When we were investigating different kinds of ceramics, we found that many were prone to "hotspots" IE some areas of the plates would get WAY hotter than others. Imagine holding a candle under a saucer. The saucer will get really hot where the candle was but the rest of the area will be cold. In other words the heat distribution is not even.

Although some straighteners can advertise that they heat to 220 degrees, the reality is that is an average temperature. Some areas of the heating plates can be much hotter and thats why they burn your hair.

The OzHead straightener produces a vert even heat distribution and is not prone to the same kind of hot spots :)

Hope this helps.