Thermomix TM5 Questions

29 questions from our users
Product generations:

TM5

How do you ‘shut down’ thermomix after putting it in to transportation mode?

Joasea asked on Dec 22, 2017

TM5

Im in the middle of making mashed potato in my TM5 and invariably the butterfly whisk dislodges mid way thru cooking. is there a trick to securing the whisk so this doesn't happen?

Han asked on Dec 08, 2017

Answer this

I think it's a common problem. Just search in Google and you will find a few videos to show you how to secure it properly. Otherwise just ask your consultant ☺

Yes, if you twist the butterfly clockwise it will hook slightly under the blades and help hold it in position. Try doing this when it’s empty to get the hang. Then checking it’s still correct once you’ve filled the bowl. Good luck.

Thanks so much for the tips. Very grateful. I'll give it another go. Very frustrating atm. :(

TM5

Was wonder if I bought 2nd hand chips of ebay will they work in my machine?

cheryl ellis asked on Nov 15, 2017

Answer this

Yes they would because the Thermomix is isolated from the internet. The problem of chip registration may occur over time as using the Cook-Key means registering your chip to open up the recipes to your online account. If someone had already registered the chip you’d need to ensure they de-register it online before buying it. Worst case, you could still use the chip on the machine directly. The internet access Cook Key is a bolt-on, and the machine is essentially “dumb”. I’m sure future models will be properly internet enabled, but right now it isn’t - which is good!

TM5

Do you think it is good for only one person or a waste of money?

Dash asked on Nov 07, 2017

Answer this

Hi there,

It's definitely good for one person! A lot of the meals you make in it can be frozen. Plus, there's lots of stuff you will use it for that aren't dependent on a number of people (like sauces, loaves of bread, chutneys, chicken stock, milling your own flour, making your own butter etc). If I lived on my own, I'd get one for sure - it's a less cleaning than all the pots and pans you still use for one person!

Hope that helps.

Beth.

The short answer is yes, but I concur with Beth in that a freezer is a good idea. There are some other advantages too around risk eg. no chopping and cutting yourself, pans boiling over, hot plate left on, having to stir continually etc. Definitely a good buy for a single person, as long as you actively use the product. If you just hate cooking altogether it won’t change that - it just makes it a lot easier.

TM5

Is the plastic parts in TM5 BPA FREE?

Gie asked on Sep 24, 2017

Answer this

Hi Gie,
yes, all plastic components (made of food-grade polyethersulfone - PES) of the TM5 are BPA free.
For the sake of completeness I should add that, however, trace amounts of BPA have been used in the lid of the Varoma and Measuring Cup for the older TM31 model solely for the purpose of hardening. I remember reading that Vorwerk acknowledged this and commissioned a couple of toxicological investigations to ensure there is no transference to food matter; all test results were below what is called (in laboratory terms) Limit of Detection (LOD) for BPA compounds, noting that the WHO trigger value for BPA detection is approximately 300 times higher than the LOD; thus, I would say those parts are suitable for cooking food. By comparison, some clothing, coating and cosmetic products are way more hazardous to human health than the Thermomix plastic components.
Hope this helps.

TM5

Do you think it's safe to carry a TM5 through 3 flights on checked luggage? TIA

Lídia R asked on Sep 13, 2017

Answer this

No way. The checked luggage gets thrown around with great abandon. Carry it on with you.

I personally wouldn't take the risk. I've seen how the treat luggage when loading it onto planes and off.

Oh, I was hoping so much to have a positive answer .... I've been hearing here and there that traveling with it on the cabine not always works. And having three flights ahead is way too stress for me.
it seems the machine it's bigger than the info I checked about cabin measures.

TM5

After selecting "Transportation Mode" I get the message "Please shut down ". What do I do? Do I just turn the power off?

Judy H asked on Jun 11, 2017

Answer this

Press the big silver button until it shuts down. You should always avoid shutting it down by just unplugging it.

Do just as Harmamic says. Keep your finger on the big silver button until the sign comes on saying Thermomix will now shut down. You should shut your machine down this way after each use.

TM5

to thicken up a sauce do you take the m/c off and sit the basket ontop instead? thankyou (tm5)

sophie s asked on Mar 24, 2017

Answer this

apologies - I don't waste my time using the thermomix for sauces - quicker, easier, less time consuming, less washing up with 1 x saucepan + spoon to stir sauce...alternatively, use 1 x microwave safe container + sauce mix + spoon - using microwave - check progress each 30 - 45 seconds...a much better and easier way to achieve your sauces - Just how you like them...:]]]

Definitely. More moisture can evaporate without contents splashing over the kitchen surfaces. Plus, you can still walk away and let the Thermomix cook rather than labouring yourself with a wooden spoon.

TM5

Is it possible to have the Thermomix as carry on luggage?

Alli asked on Jan 10, 2017

Answer this

The blades are not permitted on board. I'm sure there are size restrictions to carry on luggage. If you take the blades out & it fits the size then take it on board!

It's also quite heavy so I'm not sure it would be within the carry on luggage allowance on all carriers.

Hi, l took my thermo as a carry on to Perth. I was told that it fits perfect in overhead lockers. Wrong! ...l held the fight up as I sat waiting with my Thermomix sitting on my lap, while as they arranged for it to go on another flight ...it was quite stressful!!
But l did get through with the blade :)

Hi, l took my thermo as a carry on to Perth. I was told that it fits perfect in overhead lockers. Wrong! ...l held the fight up as I sat waiting with my Thermomix sitting on my lap, while as they arranged for it to go on another flight ...it was quite stressful!!
But l did get through with the blade :)

Oh Manda. That sounds like it wasn't a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to reply. I'm wanting to bring one overseas and don't like the idea of it going into the belly of a plane..... the luggage comes out looking like they don't care about them let alone what might happen to a fragile article...

TM5

Can the Tm5 overheat? Is 90mins cooking on the Varoma temp too long?

Kylee Jo Marere Smith asked on Dec 12, 2016

Answer this

Hi Kylee Jo Marere Smith,
No, it shouldn't overheat, provided there is sufficient water/liquid in the mixing bowl, the Thermomix should not overheat. Never allow the bowl to go dry when cooking with the Varoma.
The rule of thumb is that 500g of water/liquid is evaporated every 30 minutes of cooking time, so just keep an eye on that and you should be fine.
Hope this helps.

TM5

How much the price for Thermomix TM5? Thank you

Guliyar asked on Nov 11, 2016

Answer this

$2,000

TM5

Is Thermomix worth the money?? I'm about to purchase one but hearing all these stories about customers burning themselves, I'm kind of freaking out. Any advice???

Tamm asked on Aug 13, 2016

Answer this

If you follow directions you will be fine, the Burns from the Reports are from the last model. Go to the facebook group TM5 Hints recipes and you will find many people asking for reviews like yourself with hundreds replying

Nobody would want or expect to be burnt whilst cooking and I'd say from my experience that the blade being so sharp is more likely to be a hazard than burning, those who have been burnt mustn't have followed the instructions on how to use the machine and expect user error rather than the machine being at fault - It's not rocket science.
As for value everyone is a little different. If you love cooking or want to be a better cook it's great, if your new to cooking the chip makes life simple and you can make almost anything. Use it and you'll never stop.

Hello, I also delayed purchasing due to all the hype about burns in the media. I thought I'd wait and see what happened, before I purchased. However,
after having a demo, and talking to a few friends who own a thermomix, I decided anyone can misuse an appliance, and make a big song about it. Noone bothers going to the media or the supplier if they burn themselves on a boiling jug of water or a hot saucepan of soup, so why would they for any other appliance.

Thermomix have put a range of safety warnings on the TM5 now, so we should all be aware.

I took the plunge and purchased the TM5, I love it, its a great appliance, it is very quick at blending or mixing, or kneading etc...... I followed the book for the first few recipes. I found I needed to experiment for a few days before I got the hang of the speeds, and settings, and temperatures as I don't cook by the book or the recipe chip. I love it, it makes cooking super easy, it can stir and heat while I am doing something else. Definitely great for time saving and multitasking. I have made many batches of boiling hot soups, do be careful. I treat boiling and/or hot sugary foods with respect whether I'm using a thermomix or a slow cooker. No burns yet, I have no idea how they got the photos we saw in the media. There are fewer utensils to wash up, almost mess free! It is a different way of cooking, and a lot of fun, I've experimented with a range of recipes, which have made me more creative. I truly love it and wouldn't worry about the media, just get cooking!!! It is super easy for any recipe that normally needs constant stirring over a hot stove, like fudges, custards, sauces, gravy, choux pastry. In the long run it would cut costs, as its very simple to make pastry. I wish I'd bought this years ago now.

TM5

Does anyone make fudge, caramels and other confectionery in theirs? Or gelato?

Sweetgirl asked on May 22, 2016

Answer this

my friend does and she got the recipe from community recipes. it is to die for.

TM5

My daughter has lent me her theromix which I just love but she did not include the instruction book I am wanting to cook a recipe which is not in recipe book do I just remove recipe chip?

Anne Diston asked on Mar 29, 2016

Answer this

Leave the chip in place. Just use manually.

Download this instruction book and away you go:

TH31:
https://www.thermomix.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Instruction-Manual.pdf

TM5:
https://www.thermomix.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Thermomix-TM5-Instruction-Manual.pdf

TM5

If you are living on your own, is this suitable for all your cooking needs?

julie asked on Mar 21, 2016

Answer this

Julie as you probably know they are quite expensive to start.
I can only say that it has been a wonderful addition to my kitchen. Most of the recipes freeze so you could have a serve and freeze the rest in portions. There are so many varied recipes on line to choose from online or on the recipe chips. My daughter bought one and I thought it was a big extravagance , however once I saw what she was cooking in it and I had a demo I also decided to buy one and am certainly not sorry.You can do so much in it. Go onto recipe community on line or search Thermomix recipes to get an idea of the recipes etc. I must say I like the idea of cooking from scratch and knowing exactly what I'm eating. ....Happy cooking Kath

Yes.

TM5

Can I make a TM31 model receipe on the new TM5?

LazyChef64 asked on Mar 04, 2016

Answer this

You sure can :)

Thanks!

just keep in mind the maximum amounts & dont exceed them :)

TM5

Just made a brave decision an purchased a brand new TM5 from Spain. Will I have to pay custom duty? Does anyone have any experience buying from overseas in relation to the quality of the product? The seller has 100% positive rating.... Thanks.

Fluffs asked on Nov 17, 2015

Answer this

As the value is over $900 and the seller has to declare the value you may have to pay customs duty. You will also not have a warranty in Australia should anything go wrong. There will also be no demonstration of the machine and depending on the power supply in Spain you may have to use a transformer to operate it and they can be bulky. Personally I don't think it is worth it.

you may find this is only a toy when you get it - people have been caught like this. There are no "cheap" new Thermomixs available anywhere in the world.

Actually i love my Tm5 from Spain! Delivered quickly and saved me $500....

Did you have any issues with the power etc?

No, it came with a neat Australian adaptor. Same watt & volt. I had to buy the recipe chip, but thermomix website sells this or gumtree :) I won't get ongoing support from consultants but there's a lot of help out there (facebook, blogs, etc.)

I purchased a TM31 from Spain 5 years ago and I had no issues with the power whatsoever. You just need a little adaptor to fit in the Australian plug. Another option is to go to the Thermomix office in your city. They can change the plug and cable for $27.00. I just have changed the plug on my Thermomix today, that's how I know.
I purchased my TM31 from an online service similar to Gumtree in Spain, and a friend that was travelling in Spain near my seller and went to pick it up, pay it on my behalf and brought it with her on the plane (I had to buy a TM transport bag as well). My friend had to check in the blades, and then carry the Thermomix as hand luggage. I will always be grateful for her incredible help. I save a few hundreds too. It is a bit risky, but I if you don't take risks in life... what can I say... I guess everyone is different. It worked for me and I love it to bits. Good luck with your decision.

This is just the kind of question I was looking for! I saw a Thermomix advertised on eBay in Spain. It was advertised as an unwanted gift. I was a dubious about it and, luckily, I was able to retract my bid. I had a feeling it waould attract customs duties and then would end up costing just as much as one bought here and without a warranty. I found out we have a rep/demonstrator about 30 km from here so I will buy it locally, it is much safer. I would like to know, though, whether you, David, work for Thermomix or are non-biased?

TM5

Anyone know how to safely service a TM5 at home? I was able to find a matching thread for the screws at the back, but will need a thinner extension piece to get to the four inset. It's not obvious however if this will easily allow access to the innards. The unit is short circuiting the house power when attempting use, after earlier getting clean pins message. I fear some water has penetrated down through the pins. After two days of attempting to dry it out in the sun by the window it is still shorting out. Alternatively I need a service agent on the NSW Central Coast.

Johnald2 asked on Aug 20, 2015

Answer this

You need to contact your consultant or head office to get it repaired. I would not be attempting to fix it yourself but that's your call. If your not sure who to contact I would start with the Australian website, good luck!

Did theyrepair or replace. That's my concern $2k for only 2year warranty and I too on the central coast wonder how efficient service is?

thermomix service is generally brilliant. Also talk to your consultant. If you no longer have one ask them to assign a new one.

I thought it was a lifetime service warranty?????

TM5

Just wondering how much to purchase an extra jug?? Thank you

Lisa Sullivan asked on Jun 19, 2015

Answer this

don't know - sorry
regards,
mark.

Go onto the thermomix web site and you can buy any spare utensils, jugs, lids and it will tell you how much they are.

Oh I wish the extra jugs were still available

extra jugs are available for short periods of time on the thermomix website or ordering through a consultant till the end of June.

They are over $300 new. However if you go onto Facebook there are many TMX items for sale, including bowl sets.

TM5

Are the accessories that come with purchase of the tm 5 adequate for general purpose, or will I have an irate husband, having to spend more $$$$ after a very expensive original purchase?

barbara keyes asked on Jun 12, 2015

Answer this

Nope, I haven't had to buy any other accessories at all. The only thing I have bought are cook books and a thermoserver.

I think the steamer and the strainer are ok.
We have the insulated servers too, but you could easily get away without them.
We just have the basic cookbook with the chip on the side.
regards,
mark.

Thanks. Helpful.

The Thermomix 5 comes with the steamer (Varoma), simmering basket, butterfly whisk and spatula. When you host your first demo after purchase, you will receive a 2.6L Thermoserver. These are not available for general sale but can be bought at a subsequent demo for $30. It also comes with the Basic Cookbook and recipe chip. There are many other books available but it is not essential to purchase more books since there are thousands of free recipes on recipecommunity.com.au as well as other sites.

1 of 2 pages


Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.