??!
1 photo
ALDI Jindurra Eye Fillet

ALDI Jindurra Eye Fillet

1.9 from 39 reviews

Reviews

1.9

39 reviews
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(28)
Previous
Next
Jack Thorpe

Jack ThorpeMid North Coast, NSW

Happy dog

published

Tried a piece of fillet steak on BBQ could not chew it dog had to eat it other three pieces were done in the oven two and a half hours and still disappointing dog has food for a few days now

Purchased in July 2020 for A$24.00.

bosso

bossoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bloody Awful

published

I have previously defended the product on Facebook when negative comments were posted. We have generally only bought Eye Fillet which was very tender. We tried another last night and none of family of 4 inc 16 and 19 year old could eat it, it was so tough. Our dog liked it, but that's all it could be used for!

Purchased in September 2020.

John M

John M

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

Normally excellent eye fillet to eat but very tough in the last few months. Very disappointed.

Purchased in September 2020 at ALDI for A$25.99.

Food & Drink Products

Find out how ALDI Jindurra Eye Fillet compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst piece of meat i've ever eaten. Eye fillet should melt in your mouth. You wouldn't melt this with a flamethrower.

published

Jindurra meat from Aldi, avoid at all costs, the worst I've ever eaten.

Purchased in September 2020 at ALDI for A$23.00.

Remi

Remi

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Aldi eye fillet terrible

published

Several months ago we were introduced to Aldi whole rib fillet. The first 2 were great. Since then they've been shocking - tough, stringy, nothing like rib fillet. Very disappointing.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$23.00.

Luke C.

Luke C.Peel, WA

Worst I've ever had.

published

I bought a pack of 'Canstar' award scotch fillets and they were quite chewy even medium rare. Tried a pack of porterhouse and they were almost inedible. Stay away or at least return them till they stop buying poor quality meat.

Purchased in August 2020.

jennifer.mark.336

jennifer.mark.336AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Aldi Scotch Fillet tough as old leather

published

Ive been buying my meat from Aldi for years and have always found it to be amazing...until now. I paid $23 for some scotch fillet that I pan fried medium rare how we like it. It was inedible it was that tough. I struggled to cut through it with a steak knife! Its scotch fillet!! Thats generally unheard of with scotch fillet. The dogs were happy...we couldn't eat it. I will NEVER buy ALDI Jindarra scotch fillet again. Describing it as horrendous is even being too generous. Avoid avoid avoid.

Purchased in August 2020 at ALDI for A$23.00.

Greg

GregSunbury

  • 3 reviews

Porterhouse is rubbish

published

I've tried aldi a number of times and compared to same priced steaks at Coles they are rubbish. I have a good quality cast pan which is perfect for cooking but aldi steaks are almost inedible.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$7.00.

Fed Up

Fed UpSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lucky I've got all my own teeth!

published

You couldn't eat this steak if you didn't have all your own teeth!
Tough as old boots. Tasteless

Purchased in May 2020.

Food & Drink Products

Find out how ALDI Jindurra Eye Fillet compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cheryl

CherylMid North Coast, NSW

The toughest fillet steak

published

I have a returned three lots of Jindurra meat. The toughest fillet steak I have ever brought in 50 odd years of cooking medium rare meat. Never again thanks Aldi.

Purchased in June 2020.

house95

house95AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible sotch fillet

published

It appears that Aldi has dropped their quality on their meat. 12 months ago l went out of my way to buy their scotch fillet. Bought some and found it to be tasteless, chewy. Im taking it back to the store for refund.

Purchased in July 2020 at Aldi halls head for A$24.00.

val tufrey

val tufreyHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

We also found the Jindurra porterhouse steak inedible

published

Turned us right off aldi steak.
Fancy them saying the lady couldn't cook steak. What an insult

Purchased in September 2019.

Aldi porterhouse rate

published

I used the cooking method recommended on the Jindurra label for medium well, but the tv advertised "can cut it with a butter knife" porterhouse steak needed a hand saw not a knife made of butter as it is very tough.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$17.53.

Anne G

Anne GSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Dreadful Small Piece of Fillet Roasting Beef.....

published

I bought a small piece of roasting beef - had the shape and size of fillet. Price was $11:50. On our very basic income I thought what a bargain price for a gorgeous roast! Not so. Cooked well and rested. With anticipation I sliced into beef - shock, horror the meat did not come away cooked with a gorgeous pink centre. No rather these very nasty looking slices fell away from the knife into 4/5 lumps! What have these meat suppliers done? Glued? Sneaky nasty practises.....unimpressed......l

Purchased in July 2020 at Yass Aldi.

James  B M

James B MSydney Surrounds, NSW

Porterhouse Steak

published

Late last year (2019) bought their Porterhouse Steak. It turned white on the BBQ and it's texture was of pork. No longer trust their meats. Lamb chops maybe if they don't look like pork.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$22.00.

Food & Drink Products

Find out how ALDI Jindurra Eye Fillet compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael F.

Michael F.Darling Downs, QLD

TOUGH AND INEDIBLE

published

Bought Scotch fillet at Dalby store 7/07/2020. I know how to cook steak. This was so tough we were unable to eat it. More grissle than fillet, we gave it to the dog, do not waste your money, it was akin to the leather used on blundstones and that is being favorable.

Purchased in July 2020 at Dalby for A$21.00.

John W.

John W.Perth, WA

Porterhouse steak

published

Cooked it on the barbeque and every piece started to twist and curl, it was grissel and so tough you could not cut it with a knife, we had vegetables for dinner that night, the steak was so tough the dogs ate it the next day never again will I buy steak from aldi again its a disgrace

Purchased in June 2020 at Byford for A$21.00.

Jed Silverman

Jed SilvermanSydney, NSW

Dry brined for 2 or even 3 days, beautiful steak.

published

Either I got lucky twice or people don’t know how to cook eye fillet. Dry brined for 3 days, cooked on a very hot skillet, medium rare to rare - for $20 a kilo (on special), thoroughly enjoyed it

Purchased in June 2020 at ALDI.

niels

nielsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tough meat

published

Meat has been very ordinary lately , tried the rib eyes last week , tough and very fatty , and by the way I know how to cook steak , might have to look else where for my meat now unfortunately

Purchased in June 2020 at Epsom .

Michael M.

Michael M.Canberra 2600, ACT

Ordinary is flattering

published

Hasn't anyone else noticed yet - meat from ALDI is very poor quality. Enough to send me back to a real butcher!

Purchased in May 2020.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Len M.

Len M.asked

Where is jindurra

2 answers
dabs
dabs

Jindurra does not exist.
Aldi just name it that name - they claim the meat is Australian, but will not tell anyone where it comes from in Australia.
Search Aldi Jindurra on Google - plenty of Q's, especially on FB ;)

Bruce
Bruce

All of the gold goes overseas, we Aussies are left with the dross.

peter m.

peter m.asked

When does current special finish 19.99 per kilo

2 answers
Bruce Coates
Bruce Coates

You would have to check with Aldi.

Henry B.
Henry B.

Most times it is available, not always at $19.99, but it is still great value.
H.Barker

Borgy

Borgyasked

Which is the best way to cook Jindurra Eye Fillet from Aldi ensuring a tender meal?

1 answer
Pert
Pert

Heat your pan until it's smoking. Then add olive oil. 2mins on one side and 2mins on the other. 2 mins in the oven and bring out and rest for 3 mins. This all depends on the thicness of the slices. Also remove tendon.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.