??!
24 photos
BMW 1 Series

BMW 1 Series

E81, F20, E82, etc...
4.3 from 41 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
26
4 star
8
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
2

Dina

DinaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews

I love this car

published

Bought this car I'm.so in love with it it's very lux and very reliable car my kids love it too I service this car every km that is required never had any issues with this car when I had taken to the service

Purchased in January 2019 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

SKT

SKTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

BMW 118i a fun car to drive

published

Purchased in July 2018 at BMW Dealers for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jim C

Jim CGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Accomplished entry level compact driver's car

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

M140i LC1

published

Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car - very reliable

published

Excellent car. Very reliable and economical, It has plenty of torque and smooth ride for long trips. Rear leg room is a bit tight. My car has been driven over 180K and I had to clean the intake manifold and replace the DPF. Use after market as BMW charges $3 to 4K for a replacement. Ali Express and eBay has many vendors of people selling DPF's. I have had the car regularly serviced and it has been very reliable. City economy is around 6.5 to 7.5 L/100.
Highway at 110 kmh is around 5.2 to 5.6 L/100 depending on road surface, winds and rain.

BodyHatch
Badge123d
Line(No Line)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2010

Pavel

PavelSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car!

published
BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineSport Line
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

miac28

miac28Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Excellent car, has it all, very comfortable with great headroom

published

Love this car, it has great power, comfort, handling and safety. It's also got a great navigation system with voice control. Can't fault this car at all to be honest. It also seems to have more headroom than other vehicles and is a pleasure to go on holiday trips with.

BodyHatch
Badge118d
Line(No Line)
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Georgina

GeorginaPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

Always been a fan of European vehicles, so glad I purchased this car. It is very reliable, and is super fuel efficient. I used to have a petrol Fiesta and I spent $70 a week on fuel, now I only spend $70 a fortnight!!! Very spacious in the back for a hatchback so it is fine with the kids. Has never given me any issues, and is really zippy and quick off the mark. Love it!!

BodyHatch
Badge120d
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

EmD

EmDPerth

  • 7 reviews

Awesome driving experience

published

If you want a rear wheel small hatchback with plenty of refinement, comfort, safety then consider a BMW 1 series. I had a 2005 120i and it was economical, reliable and incredibly enjoyable to drive. The rear wheel drive enhanced the feel of stability on the road. Servicing cost were within normal limits for car the same age. A very fun,stylish and refined driving experience

BodyHatch
Badge120i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Karen Shep

Karen ShepSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little city car and gentle on the petrol...A+

published

Driving experience is great with flat run tyres and iDrive. Mine is a diesel so a bit more grunt.
Queenslanders BEWARE when I bought mine from Townsville BMW (sent to Brisbane) I asked 15 times is it a 2015 on the compliance plates - yes its a 2015.
They paid the first years rego so the following year when I got the rego car is 2014! They can lie in Queensland as the model is 'considered a 2015' because that's when it arrived in Australia. No other state in Australia can a dealer get away with it.

Took the shine of the car but I still love it.

BodyHatch
Badge118d
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 18 reviews
  • 18 likes

Ultimate driving machine, it is!

published
BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineUrban Line
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

I am going to love my partners new BMW

published

Great car runs well like handling on road like luxurious, interior car is being serviced so only had a short drive so far. It is my partners car and is at the mechanics as I mentioned Black very smart and easy to park I have not yet had a highway drive at 100kph but my partner has and it ran beautifully.

BodyHatch
Badge116d
Lineunknown
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Fran K

Fran KPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

BMW Series 1 with extras

published

No other car in the same price range can compare to the handling of a BMW. I love the interior as I have the upgraded interior beige leather seats and the wooden trim, heated seats and sunroof - feels luxury, comfortable and definitely worth the money. The running costs are cheap! The car is very economical in terms of petrol. However, the best part of the BMW has to be the navigation system, self-parking features and reverse camera. Second BMW owned to date but best one yet!

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineUrban Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Mckin

MckinMalvern

  • 7 reviews

Rear wheel with Agile Movement

published

I have the M sport package, it has good performance, love the acceleration, and you can hear a very deep bass exhaust noise. Great for lady driver.
The interior is pretty similiar to all BMWs, its very solid. but the only down side is going through speed bumps i can hear some weird noise coming from the car, like plastic-y sound falling apart. But it didn't bothers me.
Its a lady driver, so not much wear and tear, fuel consumption is 11.5L/100km in urban area on 95 fuel.

BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Daniel Huynh

Daniel Huynh

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Very suitable car for a young single person

published
BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Anna G

Anna GPerth

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

It has the best navigation system I have ever used in a car. It has all the functionality that a new car has - the automatic features like lights, windows, windscreens, voice control, electric seats, sensors and rear cameras. Would not go to another car brand since hopping on the BMW wagon.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

David Perth

David PerthPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

A ripper

published

The 125i has about 160kw and handles like a go kart. Great fun to drive and can be pushed Sadly RWD is being replaced with FWD and I don't think they will be the same. Leather interior is well finished, outside trim is a step up from the 120i and looks really smart. The car is a pleasure to drive short and longer distances. Road and wind noise well within reasonable limits. Suspension handles the car will.
The not so good..nothing! We really enjoy the car. It's fun, looks great, and is well put together (so far anyway).

BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Simon66

Simon66Adelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great handling, otherwise rubbish. Dont buy the hype about German Engineering...get a Toyota or Mazd

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
Line(No Line)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Nick

NickNewcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

An exceptionally accomplished car. Best in class.

published
BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Charlie66

Charlie66Perth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The perfect small, "family" sports car

published
BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Sport
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Andy

Andyasked

Does anyone know if the 56 plate bmw 1 series 2.0l msport is the N47 or M57 engine ?

No answers

Michael C.

Michael C.asked

Hi fellow BMW drivers, I have a 2008 120i 5dr hatch and it has only done 71,000km. I have had it for a year now and recently I noticed it has a blue-ish smoke from the exhaust upon take off only. Do you know what this could be? I'm really concerned as it has low km's. I love the car and am very happy with it. Thanks, Michael.

2 answers
Karen Shep
Karen Shep

No I don't have that??? Do you get it serviced with BMW? Karen

Simon66
Simon66

I have an 2005 e87 120i with 140k on the clock. Just started blowing smoke in a big way after sitting at traffic lights for a bit. That's usually Valve Stem seals. PCV valve is another potential failure point. Google 120i problems you'll be horrified with the problems these things have. Seriously these things are rubbish, had to replace my differential at 85k. It leaks oil from the sump gasket, from the o rings on the solenoids in the front of the head, and water from the back of the engine. They're a fantastic thing to drive...but like most Bimmers once out of warranty they're a disaster.


natural

naturalasked

I'm considering a 2006 model 130i but am concerned about some road tests suggesting the ride is really harsh. I don't know whether this depends on the car having the M sport suspension package (can you get a 130i without that?) but not so long ago I sold a 325ti simply because the ride was uncomfortable (and it did have M sport suspension). Anyone care to offer an opinion on ride quality?

4 answers
Rich
Rich

We bought a 325i in 2007 and the suspension was standard with run on flats - terribly crashy initially. Eventually the run on flats improved and now the ride in the 325i is excellent.
I was worried with the 125i with sports suspension combined with run on flats would be harsh too, but not so - really firm but supple too.
Would suggest the tyres are key.

Steve K
Steve K

Hi Natural most sports suspension have a harder ride softer rides usually confined to normal luxury models . if u like soft rides best to go Japanese or the larger BMW merecedes models .You can get the 130i standard non sports model but then you sacrifice handling and the ride is no different from a equivalent Japanese Honda .Hope this helps

Rich
Rich

The run on flats we now have on our 2007 325i are Continentals. They are provide a much better ride quality than the original tyres. On the new 125i we have Pirelli run on flats - also provide a good ride quality.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.