??!
34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 91 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (10)
  • Braking
    4.2 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (10)
  • Handling
    4.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (10)
  • Features
    4.4 (10)
Previous
Next
Mr T

Mr TSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for A$75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dan U.

Dan U.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car I have ever purchased.

published

I picked up my 2020 BMW 340 Xdrive in March 2020. With the lockdowns in Melbourne - car has only done 3000Km in 8.5 months. During that time the car has been back for repairs than its been anywhere else.
1. Assisted Driving system failed while doing 100km on M1. Car went across 2 lanes.
2. Computer goes offline
3. Assisted parking system keeps failing and throwing errors
4. Rattling sunroof
None of these issues were fixed. BMW keeps reloading the software and handing it back saying its fixed. As a consumer of BMW, you have no other choice but to keep going back to them to get the car fixed. Right now they have had the car for 2 weeks and still no idea on when it will be fixed.
Terrible service, terrible product.

Purchased in March 2020 at BMW Dealers for A$119,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Aidan

Aidan

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lovely

published

A very sleek stylish and comfortable car best feature adjustable height so if too tall it's a perfect car for you while also providing comfort and extremely well gas mileage

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Class leading model with impressive technology.

published

The new 3 series truly sets the bar for its class and segment. I have enjoyed over 8 months of ownership and there isn’t one thing I could fault nor any issues I’ve faced. The 330i has fantastic power and fuel economy - getting around 850km to a tank and that includes some spirited driving too. The technology that’s bundled as standard is first rate with much of it found only as ‘optional extras’ on the competition (A4, C Class). In a segment that’s shrinking (mid-size luxury sedans) giving a rise to SUV’s, I’m content and glad I made this purchase and wouldn’t consider anything else.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
A. Romano

A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series they have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sean W

Sean WSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for A$99,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
IBB

IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for A$1.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ghostwhowalks

ghostwhowalks

  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Michael

MichaelHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bmwfan

BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
RW1891

RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Larry

Larry

  • 3 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Chris

ChrisSyd

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Girish

GirishNSW, 2132

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is an absolutely beautiful car

published

I have 330i series BMW 2016 model with innovation and luxury offers put together in a Tanzanite color. My car was manufactured for me as there was no car available to my requirement. It took 6 months to manufacture and deliver it. I love this car and find its navigation and display in the windscreen extremely useful and convenient.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineExclusive Innovations
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Nate

NatePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
laalaa14

laalaa14Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
PerthResident

PerthResidentPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

published
BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident

36 Months update:
Had to replace front suspension and do some work on an oil leak - another $2500.
there cars are pricey! BUT I STILL ENJOY DRIVING IT. HELP

Craig

CraigMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

An amazing car to drive!

published
BodyCoupe
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Tejume

TejumeGreenway

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

published

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
BrianG335

BrianG335AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect, 340i sedan

published
BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Kris

Krisasked

Coupe

Hi guys.I m thinking to get a 330d E92.What are your thoughts about this vehicle?Thanks

1 answer
Sean W
Sean W

I would choose any Petrol model any day over the desiel.
Nicer to drive in more than one way.
Less issues with filters too,

Janet K.

Janet K.asked

3 Series

Hi. I have bmw 320i series3 touring with 144000km. It's engine oil level drops after some millage,no evidence of leakage.I am using engine oil 5W-30 and serviced on time. When I add oil shows OK but after 500km to 800km show low level.What could be the problem?

No answers
Ursela

Urselaasked

3 Series

My BMW 318es e90 2008 just switch off while driving. What can be the problem. We replace the fuse box, new battery and front brakes recently. What can be the problem?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$73,953A$73,953A$77,105A$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4444
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.