??!

See the Best Convertible in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Put off BMW for life

I bought my 2002 BMW 318i with low km in 2017 because another driver at work liked BMWs. I saw this one on eBay at auction about $2k and went to see it. Having seen it I got soft for maybe the first time in my life and offered the guy what he wanted for the car, $5000. Roof liner drooped, radio wouldn’t turn off. And ‘ohh no, we don’t have service record books’.. dead ringer for a problem.
Never have I made such a soft hearted and soft headed mistake but at the time all I wanted to do was stop my wife from having to drive me 1/2 hour to work and back every day and $5000 I was willing to pay for that. And I’ve paid for it ever since.
First up was windscreen (cracked), and service the guy said he’d pay for .. ~ $400. Aircon didn’t work but regass got it going for a few months.
Then the coolant system had problems - leaks. FIxed one myself when it blew up at traffic lights and steam went everywhere. $100. Still problems - Replace entire radiator $900.
Had oil leaks; let it go and kept putting in oil till (kept it at safe level ) boss at work complained it smelled too much of it. I then took it to a local mechanic that had a ‘BMW expert guy’. Damn to hell thats where the fun really began.
$2300 for partial oil leak repair. Took it out of the mechanic and in less than 2km it started with rough running so bad I thought I’d thrown a conrod. Back next day. Mechanic took for short drive, his around corner from me and voilà ! That’s strange. It works. Took another 1km back towards home. Rough and guts again. Back to mechanic again, angry. ‘We think it could be spark plug coil packs, and by the way - your radiator is leaking‘ ; $450 more. Took it away, no better. Took to radiator guys which said ‘not the stuff we did’ - it’s a part on bottom of the engine, needs a mechanic. Took to a different local mechanic who specialises in European cars and BMW. $500 for coolant leak problem, and now after looking at engine problem; ‘you need timing chain done’ ; $1800. Got it back. Still had rough running but not like conrod thrown, just noisy and like marbles in engine. Took back ‘could be CSV valve ‘ $500. Got it back. No better.

So far this car has cost me nearly $12000.

My kids and wife have given me hard time over it including fights on holiday. Lost any reputation of being professional transport and knowing mechical things through it.
It now has more problems than when I took it to the first suspect mechanic. It’s worth next to nothing. It breaks down randomly in middle of busy intersections.

Whatever you do

DON’T BUY ONE !!!!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

I am a motor car and heavy vehicle mechanic, I have worked on diesel engines for a few years after my apprenticeship. 29 years ago I was in a Commodore racing team as the team head mechanic. I have tones of experience when it comes to motor vehicles, I hold a semi-trailer licence and have driven semi-trailers, and heavy rigid vehicles for a living prior to joining the NSW Police Force in Feb 1988. I have undertaken NSW Police Advanced driving course I was High-Speed Pursuit Gold Licence holder. Last year we purchased a BMW 2008 320d turbo diesel auto luxury sedan with 149,000km on the speedo.

I would just like to say the 320d turbo diesel is the nicest car I have ever driving, it has many safety features it is very strong in case of an accident. It is a very well built car, easy to work on and parts are a lot cheaper than any other cars on the road. For instance, the huge air cleaner was $100 it lasts for five years in normal conditions, the oil filter genuine is $24. The fuel filter was also cheap. It only takes 5 litres of synthetic oil in the engine. The air conditioning cabin filter was $50 and was very easy to replace my 17-year-old daughter replaced it. The auto transmission requires no servicing at all. There were a couple of little things we had to fix up but I am fastidious with our cars. These are extremely nice cars and run circles around the competition.

Diesel BMW cars only not SUVs and I wouldn't buy a Petrol BMW. Our 320d uses 7- 8 litres of diesel per 100km on average. As far as the motor goes I have replaced all of the fan belts, changed the coolant system and flushed it out. I have also replaced the rear window lifters as I know they are a problem and get stuck down if open as they don't get used enough due to the great heater and air cond system. The window lifters were $200 each fitted I did both rear windows just for peace of mind even though they were working ok. The boot is huge.

The interior is plush with thick very good quality leather and just exudes luxury/quality. I would not take any BMW to a BMW Dealership for servicing myself, that is my own opinion we have a privately owned mechanical workshop who services and repairs BMWs close by they have all of the equipment to work on BMWs and know everything about them and are also very reasonably priced.

The work I cannot do as I am nearly 60 he does. I cannot get down and pull off wheels or do any heavy work anymore etc. The car is fitted with run-flat tyres that you can travel at 80km an hour for 200km should you get a puncture. Believe it or not, they are basically half the price of my Pajero tyres, about $180 each. In a crash, it would be one of the safest cars on the road in my opinion. It has the stability controls, ABS, etc as well as several airbags. Look for a low kilometre 2008-2009 E90 luxury pack with sunroof etc will only cost you about $14,000 or less depending on where you buy it from. North Sydney is a good place to start as they all seem to own them down there.

We paid $12,000 from a private seller for our's in a metallic light gold colour. Importantly all of the service books were up to date and it was in near new condition. On the road it is very surefooted and even though I have owned heaps of cars over the years and had a brand new SS V8 Police Commodore or XR8 Falcon Highway Patrol car replaced every 6-8 months for my 9 years in the NSW Police Highway Patrol section this BMW would run rings around anything I have owned in the past as far as handling, braking and comfort, quality goes.. It is no slug either you wouldn't know if was a diesel you were driving one if I didn't tell you. 9/10 for this car.

Please Note: The above comments are my opinion/experience only remain guarded when buying any second-hand car. Some people may disagree with my opinion and that is fine. I take no responsibility for my comments in this review.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

I've had an 03 325i for 4 years with 148km, now with 212km and I can say they are a beauty to drive and fairly easy to work on compared to newer cars in general. Just get a scanner and it'll tell you everything you need to know. There are things that break such as the fuel pump, expansion tank, water pump, wheel bearings, a/c, window regulators and oil filter housing gasket. These are all the things I've replaced, all on my own. And this car has never broken down while I was on the road. I find these car to be under powered for an inline six with only 184 HP but then you look at the 330i with 240. This car still gets up to speed faster than some 2019 cars. If you live where it's cold, this car will cause you a lot of sensor problems as it ages and rust will form, that is what I'm dealing with now and it will eventually die or just be too problematic to deal with. I wouldn't suggest this car for an average joe . These are classic cars especially the m3 which can cost 10,000 CAD and up, so parts are pricey along with labour which is why seomeome who is capable of working on these cars would love it.

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

I was in the market for a luxury sedan in early 2018. For me it had to drive descently with raw driving experience, have reasonable grunt, not too thirsty (not above 7 L/100km on average), comfortable, and good looking (in my eye) with a descent interior. After some background work I narrowed it to, BMW 320d, Mercedes Benz C 250d, Audi A4 Tdi/ TSI, Volvo S60 D4 Luxury, VW Passat ( sorry Lexus was not for me, and I am not a huge fan of Porsche). Others such as Maserati were tad more than what I wanted and perhaps bit of an over statement in my view.

BMW 320d gave me everything I wanted. Looks aggressive enough and pleasurable. Not too conspicuous. Interior trim seemed minimalistic, but very driver oriented and good quality.

The drive was so smooth, engaging, and raw. The most impressive was the cornering. All others accelerated well, and hit 100 the acceleration seems slightly less linear. But BMW 320d, accelerated from 100 on freeway it is as if the car is saying “I just only got started”.... smooth linear acceleration. Cornering is just perfect.

I bought it. So happy after 1 year. No issues so far. Fuel economy is 5.1 L/ 100 km on average.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

The best car you can have

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

It is an absolutely beautiful car

I have 330i series BMW 2016 model with innovation and luxury offers put together in a Tanzanite color. My car was manufactured for me as there was no car available to my requirement. It took 6 months to manufacture and deliver it. I love this car and find its navigation and display in the windscreen extremely useful and convenient.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineExclusive Innovations
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

I bought the car secondhand with 64000kms in 2014 and it has been more reliable than my first 3 series, as well as more reliable than my previous Honda Accord Euro.

Great car to drive with weighty steering that’s feels more involving. And generally the engine and transmission has been no problem, but there have been a few things that have been issues.

Expect to pay more for tyres. As there is no spare tyre, your only choice is run flats which are generally more expensive and give a harsh ride.

THERE IS NO DIPSTICK! As i have never had great luck with cars, i do like to check the oil once every two weeks. Unfortunately after I purchased I realised that it has an “electronic” dipstick where the car tells you how full it is. So far so good, there has been only 2 times in 4 years it has asked to top up with 1 litre of oil in and I’ve had no problems. However i am weary of aging German technology.

Also I’ve had issues with the two rear window regulators breaking and dropping the windows. As you don’t want to park anywhere without securing your car, I had to get these fixed quickly and was $450 each time.

Personally it has been a fun car to drive and pretty reliable in terms of the engine and transmission. Things to consider is that its not a Toyota and will cost more to fix if/when stupid things like window regulators fail.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Where do i start?

Where do i start with this car? A lemon from the get go.. we had to replace two lots of electric windows and put the proper sized battery in. We had a BMW 318I.
Car kept just randomly dying after driving it to go out then get back in it to leave and nothing. :/ it did this to me on the bypass on my way to work. Lucky i had enough time to pull over. I lost many shifts and my son and i were constantly stuck at home because of this car. Was also stranded out with my son several times. Not happy. Took it to MANY mechanics who couldn't find the problem. Got sick of wasting money and still not fixed.
This car had many electrical issues the back windows never worked plus we had to get the air bag replaced. This car cost us an extra $5000 ontop of our loan and interest AND nearly split my husband and I up. And we bought this car because we thought it would be safe for our family.
Its been on the back of a tow truck more times than i can count.
Finally got rid of it and I've never been happier with my new car. Will never be buying ANYTHING BMW again.

BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

I have a 2001 325i sedan, 3rd owner, currently has approx 130k kms on the clock.
I got it at a steal and luckily it has not been thrashed. Engine clean as a whistle. No oil leaks. Slight transmission leak.
This thing has enough power to feel safe and confident overtaking on the open road, it jumps off the line like an eager sprinter. I cant imagine, despite being 17 years old it has lost much power.
The steering is slightly heaver than some might be used to, especially small hatch owners, but i like like this. A much higher feel of security at speed.
I am sure you would know, it guzzles up fuel and filling the 63 litre tank is not cheap. Parts are not too bad, given its age, there are a lot of bits and pieces lying around.
I LOVE THIS CAR!

Negatives:
Interior roof lining has collapsed in (approx $200-400 to fix)
Radio and audio system is very very average - will replace it at some point.

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
12 Months Update: So far i have had the following issues - drive belt snapped (probably should have checked it before), cheap fix approx $200, DIY. Cooling system - had to redo entire system, radiator, hoses, expansion tank, thermostat etc approx $1300. Expected for these models, would recommend doing it as preventative maintenance. Apart from that all seems to be going well.

An amazing car to drive!

Having owned over 25+ vehicles through my driving years, from Fords, Holden's, Honda's, Nissan's, Alfa Romeos and more, I can say without hesitation that the BMW Coupe I purchased less than a month ago is the most complete car I have ever experienced. The cars road manners are impeccable, it just feels like it's glued to the road, whether winding through the hills or cruising down the freeway. The control layout and driving position are a joy to behold; from the moment you sit in the beautifully sculpted Leather seat, you feel so comfortable. The 2 Litre Diesel engine has surprising pickup for it's size and power output, particularly in the mid-range area, where the abundant torque makes overtaking swift and effortless. Factor in the amazing fuel economy (well over 1000kms to a tank on the open road) and the car makes a strong statement for owning a diesel powered car. I might add, I have owned 3 diesel engined vehicles before, but nothing like this. It puts a smile on my face every time I drive it!

BodyCoupe
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Perfect, 340i sedan

I bought my 340i sedan as an ex demo car. It is an M Sport in black metallic and was built May 2017 and I bought it in November 2017 with 2500km. Saved just over $20000 on new price.
This car is by the far the best BMW I've owned; all the technology works perfectly. It has connected drive with internet access and the driver assist package that includes auto braking, lane deviation etc. LED headlights give excellent night vision. The updated I-Drive has been modified for easier access to all functions. The Voice recognition works perfectly; you can call numbers with your phone connected to bluetooth, change radio stations, call up music from the USB drive or inbuilt hard disc. The Head UP display is amazing; this should be compulsory on all new cars. A camera detects the speed limit information on road signs which is then displayed on the windscreen beside your current speed. Plus navigation directions are also displayed on the HUD. You never need to take your eyes off the road to check your speed or the limit; its always right in front of you projected onto the windscreen
The car is quiet, comfortable, extremely fast and surprisingly economical. Its just turned over 6000km and fuel consumption is showing at 7.8l/100km for a mix of driving. Very good for a 3.0 litre turbo with 245kw of power.
All round excellent and a superb car

BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great driving experience except for the tyres

I bought this car in 2016 when it was two and half years old with only 13,000 kms on the clock. I bought it via a dealer, but it was a deceased estate - hence the low kms. I have been very happy with it. I love the way it drives - the dynamics are sharp and the 2 litre turbo is very responsive. After all, you buy a Beemer for the driving experience and I'm very pleased with it in that regard after years of driving company cars - Falcons, Commodores, Aurions. It looks great and the the finish is very good. The modern line with oyster upholstery is very attractive and cool for Qld's warmer climate. I drive it in the normal setting most of the time and get 10L/100kms around town and about the same on the open road. I find the stop-start quite rumbly on restart, so generally turn it off. My main grumble is runflat tyres. They make for a bumpier ride on anything other than smooth highways and they are completely unsuited to long distance driving in Australia. No doubt they are fine on the German autobahns. So I don't take it much out of the SE of Qld where I can be sure of getting a replacement tyre. That means the old Toyota Aurion gets to do all our long distance travelling - it's a great car to drive in a straight line and more economical on the highway than the Beemer. My local mechanic services the BMW now it's out of warranty and he is far more reasonable than the BMW dealers.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Best car I have ever owned

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

My very first car

Bought it second hand, but love the car as it’s classy and as diesel car, it saves a lot of money. People might feel it’s a little bit noisy but it is perfectly fine with me. Dashboard is clear, and you can pretty much know all the functions without reading the manual.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Great value car

Great smooth driving car! For it's price it is an affordable BMW. I would highly recommend purchasing the 330i over the 320i as it has much more power and a sport and sport + mode. 0-100 in 5.8 seconds and with a great interior and exterior with the m sport package.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Always a Legend

Service price is very fair with independent BMW mechanic after warranty expired. Quality is excellent compare to 4 cylinders 3 series. Always sporty and eye catching. Only replaced the Adaptive Headlight in past five years. No oil leak, no roof leak. I have to say 335i is a good choice.

BodyConvertible
Badge335i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

This is great car.

Great performance & very easy to handle. Petrol consumption is on average 7 to 8 per litre. Plenty of leg room in frond but back leg space is not much.
Disappointed with the rest in the wheels. It is a 2015 sedan,they said it is not the manufactures fault. Not satisfied with that.

BodyCoupe
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
It was rust on the wheels

Beautiful car to drive

I have recently purchased a 2007 325i BMW with the Msport pack and suspension. I find this car to be very sleek. The navigation, front and rear sensors and multimedia are all easy to use. The shape and size of the car is perfect for day to day driving. I find a slight lag if I need to take off quickly into traffic but besides that the performance is perfect. Very happy with this car. Car is quiet and has lots of room. Runs perfectly.

BodyCoupe
Badge325i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Hi, I live on the far south coast of NSW and have had since new a 2016 BMW 328i M Sport Gran Turismo which currently has travelled 25,500 kms. While the car drives very well, what drives me crazy is the very harsh ride and the creaking/squeaking noises in the cabin when driving on sealed suburban and regional roads that do not have a smooth surface. Roads with imperfections are a shocker. When friends travel with me they say "What are all those creaks/squeaks?" Yes, very embarrassing indeed. I'd like to know the cause of this noise but suspect it may have something to do with the big and heavy M Sport 19" light alloy wheels with very low profile run-flat tyres - 225/45/R19 (front) and 255/40/R19 (rear) - and tight suspension. Driving in Eco or Normal mode makes no difference whatsoever. I would be most grateful for any advice, please. Regards, Ronald Dove
4 answers
I think you need to check it out with a mechanic. Could be anything from suspensions to interior.Thank you RW1891. That covers quite a wide field. The car still has 6 months left on the factory warranty and is due for its next service with the dealer in May. I previously sent an email to the dealer's service manager describing all the issues but so far have not received a response.If you hear it from the wheel well then it's most likely your control arms but a car with such low km should not have that problem. If you can't hear it on the outside then I would not worry. But it wouldn't hurt to get someone to look at it but that'll cost you $$ especially if you don't have a warranty. If it's something major, sell the car before it becomes more noticable. These newer BMW cars are literally money pits as they age. The older ones 2004 and before are bulletproof. Based on my experience driving all kinds of bmws/German cars. Too many sensors in these cars. A s class has 120 modules so imagine the pain it is to fix these. I've charged people thousands for these type of repairs. Computers take more time to fix especially if you need a 25,000 dollar scanner just to find out the problem but that doesn't always work

Been thinking about getting a 2005 E90 330i, are there any particularly bad known issues with this model, engine wise (N52 engine I think) or with anything else to do with the car? Don't really want to be continually spending money on fixing it.
1 answer
Hi Jez P, these are wonderful cars to drive. The steering feedback and the road grip of these are awesome. Some of those do suffer from coil pack issues, and injector issues. But my understanding is those are not common and rather common problem is their plastic water pumps rear with time. Check the car with a good independent bmw mechanic. That is worthy. Not buying the car because of fear of these issues at least in my view is like dumping a Victoria’s Secret model because she caught a common cold - happens sometimes, but nothing to split hair upon.

I was looking at buying my sister a 2005 320i E90. It has 300,000kms (yes I know thats a lot) but the engine seems great in it. It has had the whole top end replaced recently. It has a new cooling system plus new gaskets throughout. It's a manual too if that changes anything. And the high kms are because they live out of town and were driving into town almost everyday putting at least 1,000kms on it a week. So my question is, is it worth taking a look at? She will only have it for a year until she gets off her P plates and can afford the car she wants.
1 answer
Hi Kaylee, My current 320D replaced my 2002 318i which had 210,000 kms on the clock. It was an ex-diplomatic car which had about 35,000kms on it. My daughter drove it for a couple of years and we sold it to a friend last year who is very happy with it. Our first BMW was a 1986 525e which was still going strong with over 340,000klms last we heard(about a year ago). The bottom line in my opinion and experience is that the mechanicals in BMWs are so good that they will go forever (!) provided they are serviced meticulously. Things like seals, gaskets and suspension rubber boots will of course wear out/perish and can be expensive to replace. Only real problem we had was with the 525e which like your 320i had the top end replaced at about 180,000klms. In summary unless your 320i has very good service credentials at such a high mileage, I would be wary, as repairs might bring tears to her eyes. The engine is not the only costly thing; think shock absorbers, transmission, ball joints, engine cooling system, electricals etc.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.