??!
34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.8 from 86 reviews

Reviews

(40)
(19)
(7)
(6)
(14)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Braking
    3.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (5)


Sean W

Sean WSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

IBB

IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for $1.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ghostwhowalks

ghostwhowalks

  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Michael

MichaelHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bmwfan

BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

RW1891

RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Larry

Larry

  • 2 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Chris

ChrisSyd

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Girish

GirishNSW, 2132

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is an absolutely beautiful car

published

I have 330i series BMW 2016 model with innovation and luxury offers put together in a Tanzanite color. My car was manufactured for me as there was no car available to my requirement. It took 6 months to manufacture and deliver it. I love this car and find its navigation and display in the windscreen extremely useful and convenient.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineExclusive Innovations
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Nate

NatePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

laalaa14

laalaa14Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Will

WillPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

published
BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Will
Will

Craig

CraigMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

An amazing car to drive!

published
BodyCoupe
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Tejume

TejumeGreenway

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

published

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

BrianG335

BrianG335AU

  • 4 reviews

Perfect, 340i sedan

published
BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
David H

David H

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great driving experience except for the tyres

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Sue

SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have ever owned

published

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Sylvia

SylviaBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

My very first car

published

Bought it second hand, but love the car as it’s classy and as diesel car, it saves a lot of money. People might feel it’s a little bit noisy but it is perfectly fine with me. Dashboard is clear, and you can pretty much know all the functions without reading the manual.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Xav

Xav

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value car

published

Great smooth driving car! For it's price it is an affordable BMW. I would highly recommend purchasing the 330i over the 320i as it has much more power and a sport and sport + mode. 0-100 in 5.8 seconds and with a great interior and exterior with the m sport package.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Ostsee

OstseeSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Always a Legend

published

Service price is very fair with independent BMW mechanic after warranty expired. Quality is excellent compare to 4 cylinders 3 series. Always sporty and eye catching. Only replaced the Adaptive Headlight in past five years. No oil leak, no roof leak. I have to say 335i is a good choice.

BodyConvertible
Badge335i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Muhmmd Z.

Muhmmd Z.asked

Hi,

I’ve bmw 320i e90 2007, the engine oil level light (yellow) went off that engine oil level is below minimum. I topped up with 1L then I checked oil level and the indicator showed that oil level is OK. One week later, engine oil light went off again, i checked oil level and indicator showed that +1L of engine oil is needed to be topped up, I did add 1L. Two weeks later, engine oil light went off again, I checked the level, it was below minimum, then I checked the oil level again just 2hours later and oil level was OK (above minimum) !!!! [There’s no any oil leak at all]. Can I please know what’s going on with engine oil in my car???!!!

Thanks!

No answers

Ronald D.

Ronald D.asked

Hi, I live on the far south coast of NSW and have had since new a 2016 BMW 328i M Sport Gran Turismo which currently has travelled 25,500 kms. While the car drives very well, what drives me crazy is the very harsh ride and the creaking/squeaking noises in the cabin when driving on sealed suburban and regional roads that do not have a smooth surface. Roads with imperfections are a shocker. When friends travel with me they say "What are all those creaks/squeaks?" Yes, very embarrassing indeed. I'd like to know the cause of this noise but suspect it may have something to do with the big and heavy M Sport 19" light alloy wheels with very low profile run-flat tyres - 225/45/R19 (front) and 255/40/R19 (rear) - and tight suspension. Driving in Eco or Normal mode makes no difference whatsoever. I would be most grateful for any advice, please. Regards, Ronald Dove

4 answers
RW1891
RW1891

I think you need to check it out with a mechanic. Could be anything from suspensions to interior.

Ronald D.
Ronald D.

Thank you RW1891. That covers quite a wide field. The car still has 6 months left on the factory warranty and is due for its next service with the dealer in May. I previously sent an email to the dealer's service manager describing all the issues but so far have not received a response.

Bmwfan
Bmwfan

If you hear it from the wheel well then it's most likely your control arms but a car with such low km should not have that problem. If you can't hear it on the outside then I would not worry. But it wouldn't hurt to get someone to look at it but that'll cost you $$ especially if you don't have a warranty. If it's something major, sell the car before it becomes more noticable. These newer BMW cars are literally money pits as they age. The older ones 2004 and before are bulletproof. Based on my experience driving all kinds of bmws/German cars. Too many sensors in these cars. A s class has 120 modules so imagine the pain it is to fix these. I've charged people thousands for these type of repairs. Computers take more time to fix especially if you need a 25,000 dollar scanner just to find out the problem but that doesn't always work


Jez P.

Jez P.asked

Been thinking about getting a 2005 E90 330i, are there any particularly bad known issues with this model, engine wise (N52 engine I think) or with anything else to do with the car? Don't really want to be continually spending money on fixing it.

1 answer
RW1891
RW1891

Hi Jez P, these are wonderful cars to drive. The steering feedback and the road grip of these are awesome. Some of those do suffer from coil pack issues, and injector issues. But my understanding is those are not common and rather common problem is their plastic water pumps rear with time. Check the car with a good independent bmw mechanic. That is worthy. Not buying the car because of fear of these issues at least in my view is like dumping a Victoria’s Secret model because she caught a common cold - happens sometimes, but nothing to split hair upon.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.