??!
34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.8 from 89 reviews

Reviews

3.8

89 reviews
5
(43)
4
(19)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(14)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (8)
  • Handling
    4.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.0 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (8)
  • Features
    4.6 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (8)
Previous
Next
Aidan

Aidan

  • 5 reviews

Lovely

published

A very sleek stylish and comfortable car best feature adjustable height so if too tall it's a perfect car for you while also providing comfort and extremely well gas mileage

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Josh

JoshCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews

Class leading model with impressive technology.

published

The new 3 series truly sets the bar for its class and segment. I have enjoyed over 8 months of ownership and there isn’t one thing I could fault nor any issues I’ve faced. The 330i has fantastic power and fuel economy - getting around 850km to a tank and that includes some spirited driving too. The technology that’s bundled as standard is first rate with much of it found only as ‘optional extras’ on the competition (A4, C Class). In a segment that’s shrinking (mid-size luxury sedans) giving a rise to SUV’s, I’m content and glad I made this purchase and wouldn’t consider anything else.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
A. Romano

A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series the have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean W

Sean WSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for A$99,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
IBB

IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for A$1.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ghostwhowalks

ghostwhowalks

  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Michael

MichaelHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bmwfan

BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
RW1891

RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Larry

Larry

  • 3 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Chris

ChrisSyd

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Girish

GirishNSW, 2132

  • 7 reviews

It is an absolutely beautiful car

published

I have 330i series BMW 2016 model with innovation and luxury offers put together in a Tanzanite color. My car was manufactured for me as there was no car available to my requirement. It took 6 months to manufacture and deliver it. I love this car and find its navigation and display in the windscreen extremely useful and convenient.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineExclusive Innovations
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Nate

NatePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
laalaa14

laalaa14Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Will

WillPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

published
BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Will
Will
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Craig

CraigMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

An amazing car to drive!

published
BodyCoupe
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Tejume

TejumeGreenway

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

published

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
BrianG335

BrianG335AU

  • 4 reviews

Perfect, 340i sedan

published
BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
David H

David H

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great driving experience except for the tyres

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Sue

SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews

Best car I have ever owned

published

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

alexander h.

alexander h.asked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

Are the side mirrors powered on a 318i 2004 BMW and lf so how do you engage to make them work

No answers
Muhmmd Z.

Muhmmd Z.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hi,

I’ve bmw 320i e90 2007, the engine oil level light (yellow) went off that engine oil level is below minimum. I topped up with 1L then I checked oil level and the indicator showed that oil level is OK. One week later, engine oil light went off again, i checked oil level and indicator showed that +1L of engine oil is needed to be topped up, I did add 1L. Two weeks later, engine oil light went off again, I checked the level, it was below minimum, then I checked the oil level again just 2hours later and oil level was OK (above minimum) !!!! [There’s no any oil leak at all]. Can I please know what’s going on with engine oil in my car???!!!

Thanks!

No answers
Ronald D.

Ronald D.asked

3 Series F34 (2013-2020)

Hi, I live on the far south coast of NSW and have had since new a 2016 BMW 328i M Sport Gran Turismo which currently has travelled 25,500 kms. While the car drives very well, what drives me crazy is the very harsh ride and the creaking/squeaking noises in the cabin when driving on sealed suburban and regional roads that do not have a smooth surface. Roads with imperfections are a shocker. When friends travel with me they say "What are all those creaks/squeaks?" Yes, very embarrassing indeed. I'd like to know the cause of this noise but suspect it may have something to do with the big and heavy M Sport 19" light alloy wheels with very low profile run-flat tyres - 225/45/R19 (front) and 255/40/R19 (rear) - and tight suspension. Driving in Eco or Normal mode makes no difference whatsoever. I would be most grateful for any advice, please. Regards, Ronald Dove

4 answers
RW1891
RW1891

I think you need to check it out with a mechanic. Could be anything from suspensions to interior.

Ronald D.
Ronald D.

Thank you RW1891. That covers quite a wide field. The car still has 6 months left on the factory warranty and is due for its next service with the dealer in May. I previously sent an email to the dealer's service manager describing all the issues but so far have not received a response.

Bmwfan
Bmwfan

If you hear it from the wheel well then it's most likely your control arms but a car with such low km should not have that problem. If you can't hear it on the outside then I would not worry. But it wouldn't hurt to get someone to look at it but that'll cost you $$ especially if you don't have a warranty. If it's something major, sell the car before it becomes more noticable. These newer BMW cars are literally money pits as they age. The older ones 2004 and before are bulletproof. Based on my experience driving all kinds of bmws/German cars. Too many sensors in these cars. A s class has 120 modules so imagine the pain it is to fix these. I've charged people thousands for these type of repairs. Computers take more time to fix especially if you need a 25,000 dollar scanner just to find out the problem but that doesn't always work

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.