28 photos
BMW 5 Series

BMW 5 Series

Sedan, Touring, Gran Turismo
4.4 from 15 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.4
15 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Nicole_Larsen
Nicole_LarsenAU
  • 6 reviews

the very best

published

Seriusly the very best car i have ever owned. Its a pleasure to drive and always gives me a smooth safe drive. perfect for the whole family. Love it best

Purchased in October 2019 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
MSH
MSH
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a white elephant difficult to maintain

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Luther
LutherLAKE MANCHESTER
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a great car.

published

It's a trusted vehicle that I use mostly on my way to and from work and occasionally on weekends, and it's also very useful.
I use it a lot of times, at least 80 miles a time, use it for a long time, feel it is also part of my body, feel great!

And there were no problems after the arrival, except normal maintenance, never carried out maintenance.

BodySedan
Badge550i
LineGran Turismo M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jessica
JessicaPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful looking car

published

We bought this car new from the bmw dealers as its a beautiful designed car. The seats are soft and comfy to sit on for long distance driving and the fual usage is great getting at least 300ks in one filled up tank. The side mirrors are a tat smaller than our last car but over all we love our new car

BodySedan
Badge523i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Cars

Find out how BMW 5 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AZ84
AZ84NEWCASTLE
  • 2 reviews

loving my 535i

published
BodySedan
Badge535i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
jjmmav
jjmmav
  • 38 reviews
  • 15 likes

Magic Carpet Ride - 550i is a super vehicle

published
BodySedan
Badge550i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Trevor S
Trevor SAU
  • 6 reviews

Best car I ever had

published

This model was by far the best car I ever had. I absolutely loved it and went through a huge grieving period when a Toyota klueger put a dint in the back wheel and the insurance assesors classed it as a write off. God I miss it - especially on a lot of Sydney-Melbourne and country trips. It was just beautiful to look at and drive... prior to this I had a 93/95 BMW 5 but the heater hoses played up and I now have the BMW 7 where the heater hoses also played up. The 5 is still my all time favourite. Other cars 86calais, suz800, hydexcel,89berlina...

BodySedan
Badge530i
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
ddg90
ddg90Shortland, 2307
  • 2 reviews

Great car

published
BodySedan
Badge523i
LineSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Justin L.
Justin L.
  • 4 reviews

This is perfect!!!

published

This is really nice car. The appearance is fantastic and pretty easy to control. My car is white 520i and it's really save the fuel. Also, when I drive my BMW on some hills, I can really feel the engine is powerful!!! I think if you are looking for a car, BMW 5 series can be a nice option!

BodyHatch
Badge520i
LineModern Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Cars

Find out how BMW 5 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
happy_camper
happy_camperSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Bmw 520d f10 2016 model

published

About to receive my new BMW 520d. Coming all the way from Germany.

Ordering and specifying options was relatively straight forward.

The service provided by the BMW dealer was good during the sales process and delivery.

I have bmw advantage which means free servicing for 4 years because my employer is a member.

Orlando
Orlando
  • 24 reviews
  • 21 likes

Difficult to find a better sedan of this size

published
BodySedan
Badge535d
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
David Johnson
David JohnsonNSW, 2570
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have TWO 528i E39 Sedans Smooth and quiet

published
Badge528i
BodySedan
Cars

Find out how BMW 5 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
squala
squalaVictoria, 3172
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Probably the best 5 Series model BMW made

published
Badge528i
Transmission5-speed automatic
macca535i
macca535i
  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

Bad

published

nice car to drive good handling ability when its not at the bmw dealers getting fixed. i have been embaressed so many times having it towed on a tray truck no r.a.c.v servicemen can fix the problems

break downs unreliable to scared to take it on a long trip

GeorgeW
GeorgeW

Agree, Agree, Agree.. Well said

Lordknaps
Lordknaps

Questions & Answers

Kiarnah C.
Kiarnah C.asked
5 Series

Do you have to be over 30 to drive the BMW series 5?

1 answer
Ay
Ay

I bet you try budget direct car insurance quote? I shopping around and finally find Allianz car insurance is the fair to go

Johny Chugh
Johny Chughasked
5 Series

Hi.. How is the performance of BMW Series 5 520d. Looking for used car 2015-2016. Is it worth buying as I drive around 600-700km a week.
Regards

No answers

Get an answer from our members

BMW 5 Series

Details

Compare all 22 BMW 5 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $89,990$97,190$109,990$109,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.2 L/100km6.2 L/100km6.2 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L68 L68 L68 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power135kW @ 6500rpm135kW @ 6500rpm185kW @ 6500rpm185kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque290Nm @ 1350-4250rpm290Nm @ 1350-4250rpm350Nm @ 1450-4800rpm350Nm @ 1450-4800rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2017Mar 2017Mar 2017Mar 2017
Compare all 22 BMW 5 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.