??!
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 333 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
102
4 star
77
3 star
38
2 star
28
1 star
88

Cloe B.

Cloe B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Flimsy interiors

published

The interior is flimsy plastic with inner door being able to be pulled off easily, lower seat area breaking ans basically feeling like the whole thing can fall appart. Ive never had a car with such flimsy interiors. Otherwise drives nicely with enough power for a small car.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Samhilly

SamhillyPerth

  • 4 reviews

Very good carto U

published

On 12000 on my 3rd Focus . No Problems Current model L W Focus 2016 M K 11 Diesel. Travel to work every day.All services carried out.No problems from mechanic.Dont bother.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Rebecca

RebeccaPerth, WA

Lemon car and bad customer service

published

Purchased in November 2014 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Jboy

JboyFar North Queensland, QLD

Ford Focus Trend 2012 LW

published

Hi, bought a Ford Focus 2012 Trend LW with 115,000kms on it. The car had been fantastic. Had no issues at all. Too all the people who don’t even own one yet have an opinion to ‘Stay well away from them’ maybe you should spend your time on issues you actually know about. Obviously some Ford Focus cars 2011-2016 had problems, but that doesn’t mean all had problems. There are good ones around and the technology of this car is ahead of its time. Cheap to buy, runs extremely well, smooth ride and comfortable interior with all the mod cons and cold a/c. I would buy another 5 of them. Don’t listen to the naysayers. Problems on these cars should have been fixed so if you are looking at one don’t hesitate as they are well priced. J

Purchased in June 2018 at Auction.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Meg

MegNortheast, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Amazing car, so many extras, solid and plenty of zip

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Belinda

BelindaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fabulous little zip around car

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Etheridge Ford .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jeremy D

Jeremy DAU

  • 2 reviews

an OK get around car

published

brought a 2009 focus 170,000 km on the clock started off a pretty smooth ride. very spacious hit the 180,000 mark & the engine mount collapsed & has started jumping out of gear with a flutter in the clutch.not great on fuel on short trips a lot better on the hwy.overall it does the job that can be expected of a $4000 car.

Purchased in February 2018 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Trudy M.

Trudy M.Perth, WA

Optional extras ~ power steering

published

Bought my 2011 Ford Focus Sports brand new from the day of purchase had issues but it was all in my head or my driving apparently...
3 clutches replaced, TCM module replaced and 1 week after the TCM was replaced power steering went.
It is a money pit and according to Ford unroadworthy.
These days my focus sits in its parking bay and never moves.
I can't afford to pay out the finance which is not even mine on it so I can't even sell it... So I pay the rego and just sit and look at it... Hate Ford.. Never again

Purchased in July 2017 at Rangeford for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Power Steering Malfunction

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Ringwood Mazda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ben Ash

Ben AshHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

2009 Ford Focus sedan -Ford Australia uninterested

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Private for $5,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Young GrandDad

Young GrandDadSouth East Queensland, QLD

I find this car great. Know your rights to have car fixed.

published

I had same steering malfunction. Given the car had 65000k on it and car was serviced by ford each time and cost over $30k new i simply told Ford i would lodge complaint with Qld fair trade, such low kilometres is unreasonable given your own warranty is for 100 thousand kilometres. They offered to cover 40%. I told them your parts, your labour marked up and only 40%? Kept calm, filed as i said and Ford paid 100%. Do not believe ford customer care. You are covered by consumer laws.

Purchased in April 2012 at Bryan Byrt Ford for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Benzev

BenzevWhangarei

  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Pleasantly surprised!

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Good Things

Good Things

  • 2 reviews

So disappointed!

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $22,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Grant

GrantFar West, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Get the Diesel LT TDCI

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Shona

ShonaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

My Ford experience

published

After seven years of using this car every day I can honestly say it has been a dream car. Still looks amazing and drives well despite quite high Kms, so much so we bought a second had one for my daughter's first car.

Purchased in May 2012 at Denmac Ford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
lovehouses1992

lovehouses1992South East Queensland, QLD

Wouldn’t buy another one ever again

published

Purchased in January 2011 at Ford Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Concreteangel

ConcreteangelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Dodgy transmission, electronics messing up

published

Bought my car new, had no steering wheel fluid cap. When I went back, dealer just rolled his eyes and gave me one.
Car shakes and jolts due to a dodgy transmission and is currently in a class action.
USB port fails in hot weather and cigarette lighter port no longer functions.
Interior is badly designed, there’s nowhere to put anything, I’m forever trying to balance my bits and bobs in the cup holder.
Boot cover snapped off not long after purchase.
Don’t think I’ll ever buy a ford again.

Purchased in March 2013 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lauren

LaurenPerth, WA

DONT GET A FORD FOCUS

published

Last year I purchased a late 2011 Ford Focus titanium. It had at the time only done 60,000kms. It had a full service history, but hadn’t been used frequently over its lifetime. I started to use it as my main car and nearly immediately i experienced jerking, high revs and no take off speed. I put my car in to a ford dealer in January, the extended warranty had ran out the month before. They have wiped their hands clean and not given me a cent of contribution. It is really disgusting that you can wipe a car off that has done that amount of kilometres. It is now going to cost roughly $6000-$8000 in repairs and I am struggling to see that this gorgeous well looked after car is nothing but a ride off!!!!

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

cousijack

cousijackPerth, WA

Very good overall vehicle with only reasonable economy

published

I sadly had the Trend auto model before and after 3 years traded it back in on the 2016 LZ sport. The one exceptional thing about the Trend was fantastic fuel economy and repeatedly went from Perth to Toodyay return ( 200k's ) for 11 litres of fuel. The LZ uses 17 litres for the same trip. Not particularly good. Average for outer Perth use is between 8-9 litres per 100. I was told by Ford service it's normal and no adjustment can me made. There is also an occasional smell of petrol coming from under the bonnet but again Ford service can find nothing wrong. Those things apart it's a decent car with enough power for a 72 year old like myself and in just over 2 years and 14000 km's nothing has gone wrong with it.

Purchased in January 2017.

Year2016

Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Gear box problems

published

Was my wife’s car we ended getting a new one out of it but not before ford blamed us for “driving like nanas “ and telling us it was our fault the dual clutch system kept breaking down to the point where I tried to pull out of an intersection and the car just stopped with my foot flat to the floor wouldn’t go at all . Nearly got t boned by a van . But eventually they gave us a new one . Sold it straight away though .

Purchased in April 2014 for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

Julio B.

Julio B.asked

Hello How Difficult is to replace the heater core on my FocusLW MkII. And if this procedure is explained in the workshop manual.Thanks

No answers

James S.

James S.asked

Does this model have a timing chain or a timing belt

No answers

Glenn H.

Glenn H.asked

Is there any issue with the Lz 2015 manual gearbox? Has there been any recalls over this gearbox?

2 answers
Belinda
Belinda

Sorry Glenn, I don't know, my Focus is an auto, it's great, quick and responsive.

Ian
Ian

I have a 2017 focus sport auto LZ
It's a standard torque converter gearbox. No issues what so ever. Previous models with the PowerShift transmission were a problem.
45000klms on the clock. No squeaks or rattles. It's just the same as I drove it off the lot.
Cheers


Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.