??!
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 349 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (30)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (31)
  • Braking
    4.1 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (30)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (29)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (30)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (30)
  • Handling
    3.9 (29)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (30)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (30)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (30)
  • Features
    3.6 (28)
Previous
Next
Steven P.

Steven P.

  • 2 reviews

Lemon

published

I purchased my 2012 LW Ford focus 6 months ago, the car has travelled 58,000 kilometers, it's a 5 speed Manual and the electric power steering Assist has failed twice and once while driving almost causing an Accident. it now needs a new power steering rack that will cost well over 2,000 dollars to replace and get fitted. the check engine light has come on twice also. I'm getting it fixed and will be looking at trading it in for something else.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
See all answers
bearcat91

bearcat91BEACHMERE

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Quality Vehicle

published

Purchased in September 2020 for A$27,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jill B.

Jill B.

  • 2 reviews

Loved the car BUT dual clutch went at 60,000 km, Ford uninterested, then again at 69,000 km!

published

Being retired we use the car for local trips or longer road trips. Car used 4-5 times a week and is regularly serviced by Ford or NRMA Motorserve who replaced the clutch at 60,000 at our expense. We wrote to Ford Australia and they told us "out of guarantee" The dual clutch went again on a country trip at 68,000 km. Assessed by Ford service centre as having "failed". Told it would be replaced under guarantee by Ford for Free. Waiting for 2 weeks....

Purchased in March 2013 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ford Focus SA ST-Line Hatchback

published

Perfect first car with all the safety features and modern goodies. One of the best cars to drive, sticking to the corners even when giving it a boot full from the Michelin Pilot Sport rubber. Can’t complain about the noise from the 3 pot either, very sporty after all it is the ST-Line Model. Can’t wait to soak up the open road and clock those kilometres up as I’m sure it will be very reliable unlike the troublesome LW model with the Powershift transmission.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Best Car I’ve ever Owned!

published

Bought a 2011 Focus Trend Sedan Powershift used July 2018. Been an awesome car ever since. Very fuel efficient, really fun to drive, loves the corners. The boot has good space and is spring loaded so you just press the key and open it goes. 10/10. Onto the next Focus now!

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tyrone Bandara

Tyrone BandaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very unreliable car.

published

2013 model purchased from a dealership for $10k in 2020.
Automatic transmission failed.
Unknowingly had 2 recalls.
Ford didn't even send a letter/email/call about the recalls.
Rung Ford and they couldn't book it in for over a month. So do I just keep paying for this car while it sits for over a month and pay even more to hire a car to use while I wait. Poor effort from Ford, both with their products and service.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
6inOZ

6inOZAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

DO NOT!! I REPEAT DO NOT BUY ONE!

published

My 17 year old daughter saved up 8k to buy a decent car! She bought a 2012 Ford Focus less than a year ago and had so far spent over $5k!! It’s a piece of absolute crap! I feel so sorry for her! And don’t even get me started on the recall!!! Steer well clear! She could have bought a brand new Kia with 7 year warranty! But only just learning that now!!

Purchased in July 2019 for A$80,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 21 likes

Refined and sporty

published
Spiro H.

Spiro H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Well Built

published

I have just sold my 2017 LZ auto hatchback. In my 2 and a half years of ownership I found it to be well built with few discernible rattles or squeaks, the structure was very rigid. The rear view camera is large & clear. The controls are simple to use and it had a good heater and cool air conditioning. Over 18,000 km I averaged 8.8 L/100 km, with 90% of the km's being city/metro driving. It's initial acceleration was not overly brisk but once at 40 km/h and above its mid range performance was strong. At 110 km/h its revs were 2,000 rpm. The ride was a bit firm around town, dropping the tyre pressures from the recommended value helped improve the ride. Overall I was happy with the car and had no problems.

Purchased in November 2017 for A$22,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Zippy car with plenty of features

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
David B.

David B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

A Great Car

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Etheridge Ringwood for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Oranges

OrangesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So impressed - better than I imagined.

published

Very happy with my Focus sport, great handling especially on winding roads - sticks to the road, so easy to handle and so responsive. Great acceleration -I beat everyone off the lights even the most powerful cars.
Comfortable drivers seat. Plenty of oomph to overtake on highways.Everyone who has driven my car is impressed - a delight to drive.

Purchased in January 2019 at Ford Dealers for A$25,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jasmine V.

Jasmine V.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

2014 Ford Focus lemon

published

I purchased a Ford Focus 2014 model.
59,000kms only 5 months out of warranty and my steering rack has failed. There was a recall for the 2014 Ford Focus manufactured in August between the 8th and the 15th for steering gears incorrectly placed. Mine was built on the 15th of August 2015 but yet no recall was accompanied with my vin. I nearly had an accident when it failed. Ford have declined to fix this under good will even though it’s a manufacturer fault.

This is happening too often. Accidents, failures. It’s a joke. We should all come together and actually take these issues to the media. Out them and show Australia how crap there vehicles are.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
See all answers
Michael

MichaelPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good enough that I traded it in for another Focus

published

Purchased for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Rubbish from new

published

Purchased in January 2015 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cloe B.

Cloe B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Flimsy interiors

published

The interior is flimsy plastic with inner door being able to be pulled off easily, lower seat area breaking ans basically feeling like the whole thing can fall appart. Ive never had a car with such flimsy interiors. Otherwise drives nicely with enough power for a small car.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Samhilly

SamhillyPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good carto U

published

On 12000 on my 3rd Focus . No Problems Current model L W Focus 2016 M K 11 Diesel. Travel to work every day.All services carried out.No problems from mechanic.Dont bother.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Rebecca

RebeccaPerth, WA

Lemon car and bad customer service

published

Purchased in November 2014 for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Jboy

JboyFar North Queensland, QLD

Ford Focus Trend 2012 LW

published

Hi, bought a Ford Focus 2012 Trend LW with 115,000kms on it. The car had been fantastic. Had no issues at all. Too all the people who don’t even own one yet have an opinion to ‘Stay well away from them’ maybe you should spend your time on issues you actually know about. Obviously some Ford Focus cars 2011-2016 had problems, but that doesn’t mean all had problems. There are good ones around and the technology of this car is ahead of its time. Cheap to buy, runs extremely well, smooth ride and comfortable interior with all the mod cons and cold a/c. I would buy another 5 of them. Don’t listen to the naysayers. Problems on these cars should have been fixed so if you are looking at one don’t hesitate as they are well priced. J

Purchased in June 2018 at Auction.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Meg

MegNortheast, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Amazing car, so many extras, solid and plenty of zip

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Jett B.

Jett B.asked

Focus LW Mk2 (2012-2015)

After washing my 2013 Ford Focus Manual with around 75,000kms, 2.0L Petrol. I started the car, let it idle for a bit, then reved it slowly to around 3000rpm. After releasing the accelator the engines reves died down and the engine was shuddering and shaking before it stalled. After the engine stalled there was a noticeable smell coming from the engine. Let it sit for a few minutes and drive it back into the garage. Get back in the car around an hour later as I needed to go out and leaving my estate which is quite steep, travelling up the hill in second gear like I usually do and the engine just starts revving up and down, it felt like I was jumping on and off the accelator, got to the point where the engine felt like it was about to konk out, mind you this was having my foot flat on the accelator while this was happening. So I decide to keep driving to the destination and haven’t had problem since, around a month ago it happened. I did have the fuel tank recall done around a week before this so maybe it could have been something to do with that? Just wondering if anyone else has had the same issues. All comments welcome.

No answers
Paul F.

Paul F.asked

Focus

Can you help me? I have a Ford Focus ghear 1.6 do you no we’re the crankshaft senor is in the engine and do have pictures of we’re in engine

No answers
Krish

Krishasked

Focus

Hi Guys,
I am comparing between a ST line and Hyundai I30 N line premium. Both are equally packed with features and looks good. Question though, why we don't see many Focus on road . The newere one looked very upmarket as I have a 2018 golf comfortline and its at par in built quality. Hyundai felt very plasticky though.

Hyundai I30 is the second best seller after obvious leader Corolla, but Ford is down to 150 cars compared to 1400 from Hyundai I30.

can someone through some light on how is their experience with the 2020 ST line ? Any issues that I should be aware of ? Even car reviews online say its a very nice car to drive, but dont see any on road.

Thanks in advance.
Srini

2 answers
Cameron M
Cameron M

I would 100% go with the Focus. The older models did have issues but the ST-Line is a completely new car and is really good. It it’s lots of fun to drive, handles beautifully. In Europe, specifically the UK, the Focus is the second best selling car and the i30 is not very common at all. A friend also has an ST-Line and loves it, he praises it for the handling too. The three cylinder sounds particular good.

Krish
Krish

Thanks Cameron. I Know, ford is a top seller in UK. so this is just an Aussie market thing and nothing wrong with the car as such? And importantly, I have heard a lot of compliant about Ford dealer ship. The last thing you need is a service issue. And hopefully ford doesn't pull the plug on Focus just like it did in the US.

Hope to hear from a owner who has owned it atleast for a year now.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$29,990A$28,990A$34,490A$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.