?
? !
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 354 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (37)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (34)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (35)
  • Braking
    4.1 (35)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (35)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (33)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (35)
  • Handling
    3.9 (34)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (35)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (35)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (35)
  • Features
    3.6 (33)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mg08

Mg08Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Owner of three LR Focus’

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2018 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jenny I.

Jenny I.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

transmission clutch shudder

published

Have car back into dealer this week as slipping in gear then not being able to get reverse gear. This will be the 7th or 8th time the same problem has been fixed and quite frankly I'm am over it. I travel on my own a lot and never know if or when this problem will happen again it's quite frightening. Car manufactured December 2012 and I purchased it in June 2013. I love a lot of thing about it except for gearbox.

Purchased in June 2013 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig

CraigGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lemon broken faulty Car from new that has cost me thousands in "Attempted repairs"

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deano

DeanoPerth

  • 17 reviews
  • 12 likes

A Fabulous Advertisement for Ford's Competitors

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dzenan

Dzenan

  • 3 reviews

Melon of a car

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Perfect Small Car if you’re in the Market!

published

We bought the car in 2013 brand new, a 2013 Focus Titanium with the Sports Executive Pack petrol and its been a terrific car throughout the 150,000kms we’ve thrown at it. It’s really a drivers car and handles beautifully, and it has lots of tech including Adaptive Cruise control which takes a bit of stress out of freeway driving. The only thing is the smaller screen which hasn’t been too much of an issue, it’s really simple to use despite all the buttons you’re inundated with! 10/10! Will definitely be buying another Ford Focus!

Purchased in March 2013 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steven P.

Steven P.

  • 2 reviews

Lemon

published

I purchased my 2012 LW Ford focus 6 months ago, the car has travelled 58,000 kilometers, it's a 5 speed Manual and the electric power steering Assist has failed twice and once while driving almost causing an Accident. it now needs a new power steering rack that will cost well over 2,000 dollars to replace and get fitted. the check engine light has come on twice also. I'm getting it fixed and will be looking at trading it in for something else.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bearcat91

bearcat91BEACHMERE

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Quality Vehicle

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $27,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jill B.

Jill B.

  • 2 reviews

Loved the car BUT dual clutch went at 60,000 km, Ford uninterested, then again at 69,000 km!

published

Being retired we use the car for local trips or longer road trips. Car used 4-5 times a week and is regularly serviced by Ford or NRMA Motorserve who replaced the clutch at 60,000 at our expense. We wrote to Ford Australia and they told us "out of guarantee" The dual clutch went again on a country trip at 68,000 km. Assessed by Ford service centre as having "failed". Told it would be replaced under guarantee by Ford for Free. Waiting for 2 weeks....

Purchased in March 2013 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ford Focus SA ST-Line Hatchback

published

Perfect first car with all the safety features and modern goodies. One of the best cars to drive, sticking to the corners even when giving it a boot full from the Michelin Pilot Sport rubber. Can’t complain about the noise from the 3 pot either, very sporty after all it is the ST-Line Model. Can’t wait to soak up the open road and clock those kilometres up as I’m sure it will be very reliable unlike the troublesome LW model with the Powershift transmission.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best Car I’ve ever Owned!

published

Bought a 2011 Focus Trend Sedan Powershift used July 2018. Been an awesome car ever since. Very fuel efficient, really fun to drive, loves the corners. The boot has good space and is spring loaded so you just press the key and open it goes. 10/10. Onto the next Focus now!

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tyrone Bandara

Tyrone BandaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very unreliable car.

published

2013 model purchased from a dealership for $10k in 2020.
Automatic transmission failed.
Unknowingly had 2 recalls.
Ford didn't even send a letter/email/call about the recalls.
Rung Ford and they couldn't book it in for over a month. So do I just keep paying for this car while it sits for over a month and pay even more to hire a car to use while I wait. Poor effort from Ford, both with their products and service.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
6inOZ

6inOZAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

DO NOT!! I REPEAT DO NOT BUY ONE!

published

My 17 year old daughter saved up 8k to buy a decent car! She bought a 2012 Ford Focus less than a year ago and had so far spent over $5k!! It’s a piece of absolute crap! I feel so sorry for her! And don’t even get me started on the recall!!! Steer well clear! She could have bought a brand new Kia with 7 year warranty! But only just learning that now!!

Purchased in July 2019 for $80,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 21 likes

Refined and sporty

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Spiro H.

Spiro H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Well Built

published

I have just sold my 2017 LZ auto hatchback. In my 2 and a half years of ownership I found it to be well built with few discernible rattles or squeaks, the structure was very rigid. The rear view camera is large & clear. The controls are simple to use and it had a good heater and cool air conditioning. Over 18,000 km I averaged 8.8 L/100 km, with 90% of the km's being city/metro driving. It's initial acceleration was not overly brisk but once at 40 km/h and above its mid range performance was strong. At 110 km/h its revs were 2,000 rpm. The ride was a bit firm around town, dropping the tyre pressures from the recommended value helped improve the ride. Overall I was happy with the car and had no problems.

Purchased in November 2017 for $22,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Zippy car with plenty of features

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David B.

David B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

A Great Car

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Etheridge Ringwood for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oranges

OrangesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So impressed - better than I imagined.

published

Very happy with my Focus sport, great handling especially on winding roads - sticks to the road, so easy to handle and so responsive. Great acceleration -I beat everyone off the lights even the most powerful cars.
Comfortable drivers seat. Plenty of oomph to overtake on highways.Everyone who has driven my car is impressed - a delight to drive.

Purchased in January 2019 at Ford Dealers for $25,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jasmine V.

Jasmine V.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

2014 Ford Focus lemon

published

I purchased a Ford Focus 2014 model.
59,000kms only 5 months out of warranty and my steering rack has failed. There was a recall for the 2014 Ford Focus manufactured in August between the 8th and the 15th for steering gears incorrectly placed. Mine was built on the 15th of August 2015 but yet no recall was accompanied with my vin. I nearly had an accident when it failed. Ford have declined to fix this under good will even though it’s a manufacturer fault.

This is happening too often. Accidents, failures. It’s a joke. We should all come together and actually take these issues to the media. Out them and show Australia how crap there vehicles are.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael

MichaelPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good enough that I traded it in for another Focus

published

Purchased for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

anyone had issues with this model? looking to buy one as long as it's not a lemon ,and it is manual

1 answer
Jenny I.
Jenny I.

Hi Peter, I probably can't make a comment on a manual MK1 but trust me if you think of buying an auto, my advise would be to RUN as fast as you can away from it. I have had nothing but trouble with the gearbox in mine and have just had it fixed for the 9th time, so fingers crossed they got it this time. Good luck but buy another brand.

Seren

Serenasked

Focus

Hi I have a 61plate ford focus titanium I have a heating problem it works in all areas but to my feet why what could it be ?

2 answers
bearcat91
bearcat91

Do you mean 19? IF IT IS the current model there are buttons between the temp dials for upper and lower air con outlets. Press for on or off.

Seren
Seren

no its 2011 and yes to change were u want the air to come out works but no heating comes out at the feet area

Sal

Salasked

Focus LV (2009-2011)

Diesel auto model. Does this have the transmission problem?

No answers
See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $29,990$28,990$34,490$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.