17 photos
Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

MB, MA, MD, MC
4.3 from 119 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ford

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (16)
  • Braking
    4.8 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (16)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (16)
  • Handling
    4.4 (16)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (16)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (16)
  • Features
    4.6 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Genghis7777
Genghis7777Christchurch
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great value for money, modern looks, lots of luxury features

published

Purchased at Turners for $19,790.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Richard Kulla
Richard Kulla
  • 2 reviews

A worthy purchase

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tricky
Tricky
  • 3 reviews

No SUV for me. A luxury sedan for me.

published

This petrol engine Ford Mondeo ticks all of the boxes for me. Comfort with style and economy if driven sensibly. (Total average economy of 8.3 litres per 100 km since purchase over 1 year ago.) AEB, radar cruise, cross traffic alert & auto dipping headlamps are just some of the luxuries that are standard in this vehicle. It's a shame that Ford no longer import this vehicle.

Purchased in July 2020 at Used Vehicle Sales for $32,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Flawed gearbox

published

If it wasn't for the gearbox I would be happy with this car, over 1100km range from 70l tank of diesel.
2014 mc tdi lx wagon with 85000 on the clock, still looks like new in engine compartment but just had major gearbox failure.
Spent over $6000 getting dual clutch repaired at 70000km.
I would strongly advise to not even consider buying a Ford with a dual clutch sports shift transmission as they are flawed, extremely complex and expensive to repair. The mechanic currently with the car has a Ford Kuga with 40000km also with a failed transmission.
Now most likely scrap the car as I'm reluctant to waste more money and just accept the loss of probably over $12000
I think I'm off Fords for life after this experience.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Year2014
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul
PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A little disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Mark L.
Mark L.
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very fuel efficent family car

published

Purchased in February 2012 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Beware of unreliable Powershift transmission!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
2/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
7empest
7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Chris F.
Chris F.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent

published

The Mondeo is a daily driver but has done long trips as well. The 2 litre turbo diesel is relaxed and comfortable. Handling good. Massive room in hatchback. good long distance tourer, economical . Return trip to NSW half the cost in fuel compared to a Falcon ...or a BMW 325 which it replaced.

Purchased in January 2020 at motorwell for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg
GregSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, Reliable and great safety features packed in a car.

published

Great economy, power and agility, love it .145,000 from 89000 hasht missed a beat.
2litre Diesel has some surprising grunt in it.
Airbags all round including rear seatbelt bags.
Been through several falcons but love this comfort and no brake wobble after time from overheating brakes.
A joy to drive, hate adding kms to it for work purposes.

Purchased in November 2017 at Action Auto Group for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
nick i.
nick i.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Mostly good. Bit of a slow gearbox holds it back.

published

This car does the job. I have the diesel version and extremely fuel efficient. Only problem is when you accelerate at low speeds there is a massive lag which can be quite frustrating. Trying to pull out into a gap in traffic can be difficult. Other than that it’s a very functional car in all other aspects. Fantastic boot space. Great for bikes and don’t need a roof rack.

Purchased in January 2016 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Nick_S
Nick_SSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great car. Fast, reliable, spacious, comfortable, great on fuel.

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel
DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 34 reviews
  • 23 likes

Started out as great vehicle, but now...

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2018 at Byrne Ford for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5

LOVE this Superstar Car!!!

published

Love love love our Ford Mondeo! Had this car for over 5 years and it has NOT ONCE let us down. Only been to the mechanic once of twice for minor issues. Great family car too. Massive boot! Highly recommended!!!

Purchased in March 2013 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Grahame.N
Grahame.NTuggeranong 2620, ACT

Amazing vehicle

published

My Mondeo would have to be one of the nicest car's I have driven. It's very smooth powerful and quite loads of room for passengers and in the boot fantastic car to own.

Purchased in February 2019 for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Questions & Answers

Brony
Bronyasked
Mondeo

Hi I have a knocking kind of vibrating sound coming near the pulleys can anyone help me out with what it could be

15 answers
Brony
Brony

It's a 2011 2.0 litre diesel

Mark L.
Mark L.

cambelt service is due every 10yrs or 200000klms.Noise could be a worn cambelt tensioner or worn water pump bearing or air cond compressor bearing.Best get it checked before driving much further as failing water pump bearing or tensioner could cause cambelt to break and extensive damage to the engine.

Mark L.
Mark L.

if its the air cond compressor bearing making the noise may be able to get bearing replaced or if its too far gone you will need a new compressor

Rosali Alvero
Rosali Alveroasked
Mondeo MB (2009-2010)

Problem with rear window washer - no water coming out when rear window wiper turned on. Holes where water is suppose to be ejecting from has been cleared/cleaned thoroughly. Front windscreen washers/wipers working well. Can someone help?

4 answers
Mark L.
Mark L.

Hi I assume the reseviour has water in it. Can you hear the pump motor operate whilst standing near the rear of the car. Im not sure but pump motor may be fused with fuse located in fuse box. Could be a blown fuse if motor isnt operating.

Rosali Alvero
Rosali Alvero

Thanks for your response. But are there separate fuses for front & rear washers? The front ones are working fine. Btw, the reservoir is full.

Mark L.
Mark L.

stand at the rear outside of the vehicle and get someone to operate rear washer.if motor for washer pump is working u should hear it buzzing away.If it doesnt work i.e no noise then pump motor is blown or fuse is open circuit .Havent checked fuse box but should be on seperate ccircuit and hence have a seperate fuse.

Garrett L.
Garrett L.asked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

I have 2010 Ford Mondeo automatic and when you put the car into reverse and give it gas it keeps cutting out why does the car do that

No answers
See all Ford Mondeo questions

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Ford Mondeo

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $35,040$49,340$42,340$33,190
TransmissionAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power149kW @ 5400rpm132kW @ 3500rpm132kW @ 3500rpm149kW @ 54000rpm
Max Torque345Nm @ 2700rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm345Nm @ 2700rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.