?
? !
17 photos
Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

MB, MA, MD, MC
4.3 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (13)
  • Braking
    4.7 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (13)
  • Handling
    4.3 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (13)
  • Features
    4.5 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Flawed gearbox

published

If it wasn't for the gearbox I would be happy with this car, over 1100km range from 70l tank of diesel.
2014 mc tdi lx wagon with 85000 on the clock, still looks like new in engine compartment but just had major gearbox failure.
Spent over $6000 getting dual clutch repaired at 70000km.
I would strongly advise to not even consider buying a Ford with a dual clutch sports shift transmission as they are flawed, extremely complex and expensive to repair. The mechanic currently with the car has a Ford Kuga with 40000km also with a failed transmission.
Now most likely scrap the car as I'm reluctant to waste more money and just accept the loss of probably over $12000
I think I'm off Fords for life after this experience.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Year2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A little disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very fuel efficent family car

published

Purchased in February 2012 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Beware of unreliable Powershift transmission!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
7empest

7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris F.

Chris F.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent

published

The Mondeo is a daily driver but has done long trips as well. The 2 litre turbo diesel is relaxed and comfortable. Handling good. Massive room in hatchback. good long distance tourer, economical . Return trip to NSW half the cost in fuel compared to a Falcon ...or a BMW 325 which it replaced.

Purchased in January 2020 at motorwell for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg

GregSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, Reliable and great safety features packed in a car.

published

Great economy, power and agility, love it .145,000 from 89000 hasht missed a beat.
2litre Diesel has some surprising grunt in it.
Airbags all round including rear seatbelt bags.
Been through several falcons but love this comfort and no brake wobble after time from overheating brakes.
A joy to drive, hate adding kms to it for work purposes.

Purchased in November 2017 at Action Auto Group for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nick i.

nick i.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Mostly good. Bit of a slow gearbox holds it back.

published

This car does the job. I have the diesel version and extremely fuel efficient. Only problem is when you accelerate at low speeds there is a massive lag which can be quite frustrating. Trying to pull out into a gap in traffic can be difficult. Other than that it’s a very functional car in all other aspects. Fantastic boot space. Great for bikes and don’t need a roof rack.

Purchased in January 2016 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick_S

Nick_SSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great car. Fast, reliable, spacious, comfortable, great on fuel.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 28 reviews
  • 21 likes

Started out as great vehicle, but now...

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2018 at Byrne Ford for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

LOVE this Superstar Car!!!

published

Love love love our Ford Mondeo! Had this car for over 5 years and it has NOT ONCE let us down. Only been to the mechanic once of twice for minor issues. Great family car too. Massive boot! Highly recommended!!!

Purchased in March 2013 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Grahame.N

Grahame.NTuggeranong 2620, ACT

Amazing vehicle

published

My Mondeo would have to be one of the nicest car's I have driven. It's very smooth powerful and quite loads of room for passengers and in the boot fantastic car to own.

Purchased in February 2019 for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jessta

JesstaPerth, WA

  • 35 reviews
  • 34 likes

Brilliant and so smooth and quiet.

published

Bought the Titanium MY 18.75 model last week and what a fantastic decision it was. This car is so nice to drive, smooth, quiet and powerful. What this car does not include should be on the list. Voice recognition is outstanding and seamlessly connects to my mobile phone within seconds of starting. Safety features are incredible. Can't wait to finish working out all the gadgets and how they function. Very under rated car and should definitely be pushed much harder by Ford. Love it.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sheree.G

Sheree.GWestern Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely the best car ever!

published
BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Narelle Sneddon

Narelle SneddonSouth Australia

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Beautiful car to drive

published

I love my car it’s awesome reliable lovely to drive couldn’t be happier leather interior, its a turbo diesel drives smooth and also has a sunroof I could not of asked for a better car i love showing it off it sticks to the road and has awesome performance must have

BadgeTDCi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bobby Boardshorts

Bobby BoardshortsMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Hidden gem of a car

published

My first Modeo wagon was back in 2010 and this is my third one(renew every 3 years) and the best so far. This car has excellent road handling, heaps of torque, all the bells & whistles you need in a car such as
-easy to use touch screen with no fuss sat nav
-alloy wheels
-driving lights
-huge cargo space
-usb ports
-great sound system
- parking sensors
The list goes on. I also occasionally drive my wife’s Audi and this car comes pretty close for comparison to drive.
I do approx 45,000 kms a year and have had no issues with any of my Mondeo’s.
If your looking to buy a wagon just take it for a drive, you wont be disappointed.

BadgeAmbiente
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wayne

WayneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle .. early Mondeo tarnished this one for no reason

published

We had a 2009 petrol Mondeo for 6 years and only problem was manifold swirl flap solinoids went faulty with a code coming up . Cost was $150 to replace. That also increased the performance of the engine too. Please of leg room in the back and a very generous hatch area.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Iron man

Iron manGREVILLIA

Performance advantages

published

I think it's very good in terms of performance, and it's very quiet
I love the interiors, the only thing that's not enough is the internal space
Clutch joint point is very good grasp, but the various stalls are relatively smooth. Car steering power is just right, but there are auxiliary parking and other intelligent systems, parking in a bit effortless, security greatly improved.

BadgeST
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnnie

JohnnieAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

Been an amazing car. No issues at all. Love it and will keep this car for a long time. Drives really well. Comfortable on long trips. Heaps of room. Highly recommend it.Made in Belgium by Ford. Europeans know how to build cars. Nice styling and shape.Cannot believe no issues in 9 years.

BadgeXR5 Turbo
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HarryGopal

HarryGopalLaunceston, TAS

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love this beauty.

published

Well I have always been a Mondeo Man. Used it in UK for more than 5 years, use this beauty down under. No major problems. I drive around in Tasmania so sometime cold starts gives me a knocking sound. But after 15 minutes drive it goes off otherwise its a brilliant vehicle. Good average 6L/100 KM in highways and urban driving gives me around 7.4/100 KM. Love to drive this European/American beauty in Australian roads.

BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJune 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

w gurr

w gurrasked

MD (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2021)

where are the mondeo available a s the local ford dealers are not aware of a 2021 mondeo hatch 5 door
diesel being available what dealer has them

No answers
Ray williams

Ray williamsasked

Mondeo MA (2007-2008)

Whine type noise for5 to 10 mins, then disappears,not sure where from , car drive so well, has all up to date services.

2 answers
Mark L.
Mark L.

Gee Ray probably need to be more specific i.e is the whine present when engine is cold or while accelerating or while cruising at constant speed or when accelerating or underload? Could be caused by many different components. Could be the belt that drives the alternator and power steering pump and water pump and aircon compressor worn and slipping when cold. Could be a worn water pump bearing or bearing in aircon compressor on its way out. Could be a worn power steering pump. These components are mounted on drivers side of engine and you could listen with car idling and bonnet raised to pinpoint component. Could be caused by noisy bearings in the idlers and tensioners that guide the cam belt if this service is overdue.

Ray williams
Ray williams

Noise, ( whine only comes in over 20 kms, seems to last longer now the temperature has dropped, once engine is warmed up it disappears,cannot check noise while idling, It's not there,

Barrie

Barrieasked

Mondeo MD (2015-2021)

12/2015 Mondeo titanium hatchback
glass roof blind does not close all the way, it stops about 2 inches short.
anyone got any ideas ?

No answers
See all Ford Mondeo questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Mondeo

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $35,040$49,340$42,340$33,190
TransmissionAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power149kW @ 5400rpm132kW @ 3500rpm132kW @ 3500rpm149kW @ 54000rpm
Max Torque345Nm @ 2700rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm345Nm @ 2700rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.