??!
17 photos
Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

MB, MA, MD, MC
4.3 from 114 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (12)
  • Braking
    4.7 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (12)
  • Handling
    4.3 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (12)
  • Features
    4.5 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Very fuel efficent family car

published

Purchased in February 2012 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Beware of unreliable Powershift transmission!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
7empest

7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris F.

Chris F.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent

published

The Mondeo is a daily driver but has done long trips as well. The 2 litre turbo diesel is relaxed and comfortable. Handling good. Massive room in hatchback. good long distance tourer, economical . Return trip to NSW half the cost in fuel compared to a Falcon ...or a BMW 325 which it replaced.

Purchased in January 2020 at motorwell for A$9,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Greg

GregSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, Reliable and great safety features packed in a car.

published

Great economy, power and agility, love it .145,000 from 89000 hasht missed a beat.
2litre Diesel has some surprising grunt in it.
Airbags all round including rear seatbelt bags.
Been through several falcons but love this comfort and no brake wobble after time from overheating brakes.
A joy to drive, hate adding kms to it for work purposes.

Purchased in November 2017 at Action Auto Group for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
nick i.

nick i.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Mostly good. Bit of a slow gearbox holds it back.

published

This car does the job. I have the diesel version and extremely fuel efficient. Only problem is when you accelerate at low speeds there is a massive lag which can be quite frustrating. Trying to pull out into a gap in traffic can be difficult. Other than that it’s a very functional car in all other aspects. Fantastic boot space. Great for bikes and don’t need a roof rack.

Purchased in January 2016 for A$13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nick_S

Nick_SSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great car. Fast, reliable, spacious, comfortable, great on fuel.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews
  • 18 likes

Started out as great vehicle, but now...

published
  • +1

Purchased in February 2018 at Byrne Ford for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

LOVE this Superstar Car!!!

published

Love love love our Ford Mondeo! Had this car for over 5 years and it has NOT ONCE let us down. Only been to the mechanic once of twice for minor issues. Great family car too. Massive boot! Highly recommended!!!

Purchased in March 2013 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grahame.N

Grahame.NTuggeranong 2620, ACT

Amazing vehicle

published

My Mondeo would have to be one of the nicest car's I have driven. It's very smooth powerful and quite loads of room for passengers and in the boot fantastic car to own.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jessta

JesstaPerth, WA

  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Brilliant and so smooth and quiet.

published

Bought the Titanium MY 18.75 model last week and what a fantastic decision it was. This car is so nice to drive, smooth, quiet and powerful. What this car does not include should be on the list. Voice recognition is outstanding and seamlessly connects to my mobile phone within seconds of starting. Safety features are incredible. Can't wait to finish working out all the gadgets and how they function. Very under rated car and should definitely be pushed much harder by Ford. Love it.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sheree.G

Sheree.GWestern Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely the best car ever!

published
BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Narelle Sneddon

Narelle SneddonSouth Australia

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Beautiful car to drive

published

I love my car it’s awesome reliable lovely to drive couldn’t be happier leather interior, its a turbo diesel drives smooth and also has a sunroof I could not of asked for a better car i love showing it off it sticks to the road and has awesome performance must have

BadgeTDCi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Bobby Boardshorts

Bobby BoardshortsMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hidden gem of a car

published

My first Modeo wagon was back in 2010 and this is my third one(renew every 3 years) and the best so far. This car has excellent road handling, heaps of torque, all the bells & whistles you need in a car such as
-easy to use touch screen with no fuss sat nav
-alloy wheels
-driving lights
-huge cargo space
-usb ports
-great sound system
- parking sensors
The list goes on. I also occasionally drive my wife’s Audi and this car comes pretty close for comparison to drive.
I do approx 45,000 kms a year and have had no issues with any of my Mondeo’s.
If your looking to buy a wagon just take it for a drive, you wont be disappointed.

BadgeAmbiente
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Wayne

WayneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle .. early Mondeo tarnished this one for no reason

published

We had a 2009 petrol Mondeo for 6 years and only problem was manifold swirl flap solinoids went faulty with a code coming up . Cost was $150 to replace. That also increased the performance of the engine too. Please of leg room in the back and a very generous hatch area.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Iron man

Iron manGREVILLIA

Performance advantages

published

I think it's very good in terms of performance, and it's very quiet
I love the interiors, the only thing that's not enough is the internal space
Clutch joint point is very good grasp, but the various stalls are relatively smooth. Car steering power is just right, but there are auxiliary parking and other intelligent systems, parking in a bit effortless, security greatly improved.

BadgeST
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Johnnie

JohnnieAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

Been an amazing car. No issues at all. Love it and will keep this car for a long time. Drives really well. Comfortable on long trips. Heaps of room. Highly recommend it.Made in Belgium by Ford. Europeans know how to build cars. Nice styling and shape.Cannot believe no issues in 9 years.

BadgeXR5 Turbo
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
HarryGopal

HarryGopalLaunceston, TAS

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love this beauty.

published

Well I have always been a Mondeo Man. Used it in UK for more than 5 years, use this beauty down under. No major problems. I drive around in Tasmania so sometime cold starts gives me a knocking sound. But after 15 minutes drive it goes off otherwise its a brilliant vehicle. Good average 6L/100 KM in highways and urban driving gives me around 7.4/100 KM. Love to drive this European/American beauty in Australian roads.

BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJun 2011
Joe nguyen

Joe nguyenSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best car I’ve driven or owned

published
BadgeZetec TDCi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMay 2018
azure105

azure105

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Underrated car, such a pleasure to drive

published
BadgeTitanium
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Sergio D.

Sergio D.asked

Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

Does anyone know if the transmission limited function is also just a “safe limp home” mode due to other issues. I don’t think the gearbox is misbehaving. My obd2 scanner didn’t identify any codes but digging down deeper I found 4 codes all related to switches.
C1513 - Brake switch circuit error
C1702 - Variant coding error
C1102 - Battery Voltage Low
C1283 - Yaw rate & G sensor-signal
Would any of these switches lead to a limp home mode

3 answers
Mark L.
Mark L.

Hi Sergio dont know the answer to that but often with modern cars if the Battery is suspect it will cause the computer to play up. Seeming there is a code for low battery check the condition of the battery with a tester to see if that is the problem.

Sergio D.
Sergio D.

Thanks for that Mark. I should have added that the battery was changed about 12 months ago by the RACV. Next to all the codes it says “current” so I assume these codes are not historic and never cleared

Sergio D.
Sergio D.

Thanks Mark, I should have said that battery was replaced within past 12 months. Next to the code, it says current so I don’t think it was code has been there since before replacing battery.

Tracey H.

Tracey H.asked

MC (Wagon) (2010-2014)

Hi
I have 2010 Mondeo Diesel 6 speed auto I was driving on highway this morning and warning came up " transmission hot touch brake" I pulled over turned if off only for about 2 mins then continued on my way kept leaver in Drive and warning did not appear again, Does any1 know why this warning may have appeared ?

2 answers
Mark L.
Mark L.

Hi Tracey sounds like transmission has gotten too hot for some reason and computer has told you to put the brakes on and slow down so it can cool down. Hopefully transmission is only due for an oil and filter change. Check log book to see when this was last done. Needs to be done every 60000klms max!!! When this is done get mechanic to check computer with scan tool to see if any error codes were logged.

Mark L.
Mark L.

Tracey put some newspaper on the ground under the engine gearbox and see if there are any leaks overnight from the transmission as it could be low on fluid. Topping up or changing the transmission fluid is a bit of a fiddly process. If its leaking definitely a problem and will cause transmission to overheat as will overdue for a change transmission fluid service.

Peter C.

Peter C.asked

Mondeo MB (2009-2010)

car was running fine i was trying to do oul chance but the sump plug could not come out so i took the cor of the ramps and now the car wont start the dash board reads engane malfuion

1 answer
Mark L.
Mark L.

yeah a friend done an oil change on ramps on a nissan pulsar and a similar thing happened. Guessing got something to do with excessive oil flowing down past the valves and getting sucked into the engine through valve stem seals because of the angle of the car on the ramps when he refilled the engine with oil. Think it fouled the Maf sensor causing error code. Might have to reset error code with scan tool and clean egr system if error reoccurs. I assume engine is running ok? I am not a mechanic and only know what Ive picked up from doing.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$35,040A$49,340A$42,340A$33,190
TransmissionAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power149kW @ 5400rpm132kW @ 3500rpm132kW @ 3500rpm149kW @ 54000rpm
Max Torque345Nm @ 2700rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm345Nm @ 2700rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.