??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.7 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (19)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
  • Braking
    4.7 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (20)
  • Handling
    4.6 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (19)
  • Features
    4.0 (19)
Previous
Next
Lindsay G

Lindsay GGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent hatch highly recommended.

published

Bought this Astra in February 2020 after owning ST Fiesta, Honda Civic hatch x 2, Focus, Nissan Maxima, Kia Cerato, I am extremely happy with this car, very solid European feel, quiet, enough power, not one issue after 8000ks, love this car, fun to drive, comfortable, reverse camera could be better.

Purchased in February 2020 for $19,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Pandie

PandieCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

2009 Hatch

published

German design makes for lovely traction and handling.
Seems to be lacking some features my old 2006 Commodore had, although I haven't thoroughly searched through the manual properly:
No option for digital speed readout.
No switch for automatic headlights.
No sunglasses holder.
No Bluetooth in factory sound system.
Only one cupholder (although it will accommodate a wider cup that wouldn't fit in the Commodore's holder.
Otherwise, I'm happy.

Purchased in September 2020 for $3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Finally said goodbye to my 18 year old Astra

published

Purchased in January 2003 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shel

ShelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Almost a year when I bought this car. Have to say one of my best cars I ever bought. Fits within my budget and an excellent fuel consumption. Very spacious

Incentivised ReviewNo
Avinesh Lal

Avinesh Lal

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car

published

I bought Astra LT almost a year ago. So far i had no issues with this car. A very comfy ride and spacious. Good value for money if you are looking at a good price

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jessica

JessicaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love my small car

published

Needed to trade in my old car (a very sad day.) This was for safety reasons. This car is for commuting to and from work and other personal use trips. The car is reliable and loves a long trip on the freeway. It has much more power than my previous small car. It's heavy and strong, unlike a lot of other small cars. Would highly recommend.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Philip

PhilipCroydon

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

First small car, fun to drive.

published

My Astra is a 2020 RS Black Edition.
Packed with features, this car is a delight to drive. Smooth, quiet, beautiful ride, and performance in the warm hatch category. I've driven most of the Astras competition which are very good, but this cars European roots certainly shine through. So glad to have purchased one of these cars at a fabulous end of Holden in Australia price. Having driven large cars all my life, I didn't want to downsize to a buzz box. The 1.6 litre turbo in this car is a little pocket rocket, I love it.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Renewed my joy of driving

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Robert

RobertPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very good car ! I do 1000kms a week . Never let me down

published

I work with my astra 2017 sedan LS+ .
Got it second hand from the car dealer.
Never had a problem.
Plenty of power with that little turbo .
Very cheap on fuel, i think my average is 5.9 Liters for 100kms.
I put lots of kms on cars cuz I am a sale rep.
Very happy with that .

Purchased in September 2019 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

My ownership experience

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
R.V.

R.V.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Nice drive

published

Purchased new in April 2018 for just over 20 thou. for the R+.
Has done over 30,000 Kims now.
This car has been quite reliable and economical. Plenty of go in the 1.4 Ltd donk.
Has excellent handling and good onboard tech. Although the forward collision alert seems to come on at odd times. But very comfortable car to drive.
Well worth the purchase price.

Purchased in April 2018 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mark

MarkHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice commuting

published

Have driven nearly 30000km in 11 months. No problems to date (except for faulty battery which was replace under warranty during service). Great fuel economy 6.9l per 100km which is good considering I have to drive over a mountain 365m high twice daily. Car reacts good and sits well on the road. Good in corners and not noisy. Plenty of space both in the booth and back seats. I am 6'4 and have no trouble sitting in front of back seat. For $16999 end of year sale great bargain.

Purchased in November 2018 for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
BERnAced7

BERnAced7Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Tashy T.

Tashy T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Snazzy car

published

The Hokden Astra is a snazzy little car, very nifty, reliable, and keeps for a long time if cared for properly. I absolutely loved the Holden Astra got me thru alot.

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Stan Z

Stan ZPerth, WA

Astra La Vista Baby

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $16,985.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little car...solid build

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Haley C.

Haley C.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

My speedometer is not working on my Holden Astra TS series 2004 what is the problem with it.

No answers
Michael R.

Michael R.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi i have 2008 astra automatic and sometimes the car wont start until i tap the gear shift lever. When it dosent start the electrics come on, it just wont turn over. No warning light come either. Any ideas?

2 answers
Pandie
Pandie

The gear shift handle isn't quite closing the circuit to allow start. It's just a fraction of a millimetre out of alignment. Not worth fixing.
Just keep tapping it when it won't start.
No biggie.

Michael R.
Michael R.

Thanks mate. Sometimes it wint start at all and it takes 10 minutes of back n forth etc. I also want to get rid of it and not irritate the next owner.

Roy W.

Roy W.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi, 2005 Holden Astra CD AH Automatic, seems to be try to take off in 3rd or 4th. I change it manually and it runs fine. Occasionally All the gear selection lights All light up when selecting gears . There are No noises or gear slip. It has derated a few times, won't go over 80 kph, and won't go over 30 kph. Shut it down for 10 minutes and it starts and runs fine again. Cheers Roy

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,740$25,790$29,790$26,240
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 48 L48 L48 L48 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm110kW @ 6500rpm147kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm240Nm @ 2000-4000rpm280Nm @ 1650-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaPoland
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.