??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 255 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
86
4 star
76
3 star
31
2 star
32
1 star
30

Mark

MarkHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews

Nice commuting

published

Have driven nearly 30000km in 11 months. No problems to date (except for faulty battery which was replace under warranty during service). Great fuel economy 6.9l per 100km which is good considering I have to drive over a mountain 365m high twice daily. Car reacts good and sits well on the road. Good in corners and not noisy. Plenty of space both in the booth and back seats. I am 6'4 and have no trouble sitting in front of back seat. For $16999 end of year sale great bargain.

Purchased in November 2018 for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BERnAced7

BERnAced7Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tashy T.

Tashy T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Snazzy car

published

The Hokden Astra is a snazzy little car, very nifty, reliable, and keeps for a long time if cared for properly. I absolutely loved the Holden Astra got me thru alot.

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Stan Z

Stan ZPerth, WA

Astra La Vista Baby

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $16,985.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Adrian

AdrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little car...solid build

published

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ashleigh H

Ashleigh HThe Mallee, VIC

Great little run around

published

The Astra RSV is comfy, stylish and has great features. The Adaptive Cruise Control has failed numerous times and the Bendigo dealership was unable to detect the problem. The features are lacking compared to our Calais V - no front camera, no windscreen display projection and manual seat adjustments. Overall, a good car but getting faults fixed is proving to be a problem.

Purchased in December 2018 at Holden Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

sharon

sharonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... do not buy one

published

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... car was shuttering called dealership and( I piston had failed on motor )....40,000 on clock holden replacing Piston under car Warranty ...holden are not offering any thing else . DO NOT. BUY problems already at 40,000 KMS thinking what else is going to go wrong on this now.

Purchased in January 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017

Ngoc Nam Nguyen

Ngoc Nam NguyenSydney

  • 2 reviews

Emission and TCS light always on, pressing gas takes long time to increase speed and noisy engine

published

Hi, I just bought an old car and just recently it has some problems:
* Emission and TCS light always on
* Whenever speed back to 0 (red light, traffic), pressing gas takes long time to increase speed
* Engine has a weird noise

Can someone please help and let me know what's going on?

Thanks in advance.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

perry

perryNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

family car

published

serviced twice a year used for visiting relatives around the state excellent on fuel economy sum long like to sydney or larger regoinal citys liks dubbo or mudgee shopping trips to larger towns mostly over an hour away or doctors appoinments eye or heart specialist, vacation driving to the coast

BodyWagon
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007

Nico

Nico

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seriously disappointed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
Engine Size2.2L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007

Excellent small car

published

We chose the Astra RSV 1.6 turbo
Terrific car for our small family and recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable performer.
It’s fuel economy around town with Aircon on is about 7L/100km and is quite easy to drive with minimal road noise.
Holden have completed the first two services so far without anything extra needing to be fixed.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Electreks P

Electreks PAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car we've owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Troy

TroyGLENHAVEN

A car from Germany with excellent design and engineering and SH$% Build quality!

published
BodyWagon
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016

xtowen

xtowenwollongong

wonderful fora little car

published

this car is just enough for myself , small but is put down the back seat the room is big enough for any loading. I service the car once a year but never have problem , i can not believe this car allready been 11 years. never have any big issues,

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013

BBBrisbane

BBBrisbaneQLD, 4101

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

published

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Nick B.

Nick B.Dunsborough

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Dave B.

Dave B.asked

Hi my astra roof switches are dead with no beep the back windows won't go down but the front do and my boot lock won't lock it's as if there is no power to the hood just wondering if it's a fuse or relay any help would be great

No answers

Aijah T.

Aijah T.asked

removing the stereo, but someone previously stuffed with it. looking for a workshop manual to see how it was originally
2001 holden astra

1 answer
Steve3500
Steve3500

Wiring diagram for the steroids is in the Haynes manual


Aijah T.

Aijah T.asked

trying to get the radio out and need to see how the original was in as someone has previously stuffed around with it
2001 holden astra

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.