??!
15 photos
Holden Astra

Holden Astra

TS, AH, BK, etc...
3.6 from 264 reviews

Reviews

3.6

264 reviews
5
(93)
4
(77)
3
(31)
2
(33)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (18)
  • Handling
    4.6 (17)
  • Braking
    4.7 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (17)
  • Features
    4.0 (17)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (17)
Previous
Next

Finally said goodbye to my 18 year old Astra

published

Purchased in January 2003 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Shel

ShelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Almost a year when I bought this car. Have to say one of my best cars I ever bought. Fits within my budget and an excellent fuel consumption. Very spacious

Avinesh Lal

Avinesh Lal

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car

published

I bought Astra LT almost a year ago. So far i had no issues with this car. A very comfy ride and spacious. Good value for money if you are looking at a good price

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jessica

JessicaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love my small car

published

Needed to trade in my old car (a very sad day.) This was for safety reasons. This car is for commuting to and from work and other personal use trips. The car is reliable and loves a long trip on the freeway. It has much more power than my previous small car. It's heavy and strong, unlike a lot of other small cars. Would highly recommend.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Philip

PhilipCroydon

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

First small car, fun to drive.

published

My Astra is a 2020 RS Black Edition.
Packed with features, this car is a delight to drive. Smooth, quiet, beautiful ride, and performance in the warm hatch category. I've driven most of the Astras competition which are very good, but this cars European roots certainly shine through. So glad to have purchased one of these cars at a fabulous end of Holden in Australia price. Having driven large cars all my life, I didn't want to downsize to a buzz box. The 1.6 litre turbo in this car is a little pocket rocket, I love it.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Renewed my joy of driving

published

Purchased in February 2020 for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robert

RobertPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very good car ! I do 1000kms a week . Never let me down

published

I work with my astra 2017 sedan LS+ .
Got it second hand from the car dealer.
Never had a problem.
Plenty of power with that little turbo .
Very cheap on fuel, i think my average is 5.9 Liters for 100kms.
I put lots of kms on cars cuz I am a sale rep.
Very happy with that .

Purchased in September 2019 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

My ownership experience

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
R.V.

R.V.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Nice drive

published

Purchased new in April 2018 for just over 20 thou. for the R+.
Has done over 30,000 Kims now.
This car has been quite reliable and economical. Plenty of go in the 1.4 Ltd donk.
Has excellent handling and good onboard tech. Although the forward collision alert seems to come on at odd times. But very comfortable car to drive.
Well worth the purchase price.

Purchased in April 2018 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice commuting

published

Have driven nearly 30000km in 11 months. No problems to date (except for faulty battery which was replace under warranty during service). Great fuel economy 6.9l per 100km which is good considering I have to drive over a mountain 365m high twice daily. Car reacts good and sits well on the road. Good in corners and not noisy. Plenty of space both in the booth and back seats. I am 6'4 and have no trouble sitting in front of back seat. For $16999 end of year sale great bargain.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for A$29,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for A$14,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BERnAced7

BERnAced7Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for A$2,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tashy T.

Tashy T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Snazzy car

published

The Hokden Astra is a snazzy little car, very nifty, reliable, and keeps for a long time if cared for properly. I absolutely loved the Holden Astra got me thru alot.

Purchased for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Holden Astra compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stan Z

Stan ZPerth, WA

Astra La Vista Baby

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$16,985.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little car...solid build

published

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ashleigh H

Ashleigh HThe Mallee, VIC

Great little run around

published

The Astra RSV is comfy, stylish and has great features. The Adaptive Cruise Control has failed numerous times and the Bendigo dealership was unable to detect the problem. The features are lacking compared to our Calais V - no front camera, no windscreen display projection and manual seat adjustments. Overall, a good car but getting faults fixed is proving to be a problem.

Purchased in December 2018 at Holden Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sharon

sharonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... do not buy one

published

I bought this car 2017 holden Astra R as demo model 60kms brand new, only done 40,000kms in a year... car was shuttering called dealership and( I piston had failed on motor )....40,000 on clock holden replacing Piston under car Warranty ...holden are not offering any thing else . DO NOT. BUY problems already at 40,000 KMS thinking what else is going to go wrong on this now.

Purchased in January 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Hi have 2008 auto astra and it has started not using 4th gear and I have to change manually in first 3 gears and no 4th
Turn it off and start again and it fine for short while then does the same thing again
Has any one had this issue

No answers
Dee C.

Dee C.asked

BK (Hatchback) R Auto (2016-2020)

Does the r bk have parking assistance

No answers
Dee C.

Dee C.asked

BK (Hatchback) R Auto (2016-2020)

Does the r bk have auto warning lane and auto brake collision.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.