??!
21 photos
Holden Commodore

Holden Commodore

VE, VZ, VY, etc...
4.1 from 411 reviews

Reviews

4.1

411 reviews
5
(211)
4
(104)
3
(40)
2
(26)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (46)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (47)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (46)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (47)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (48)
  • Handling
    4.6 (48)
  • Braking
    4.7 (47)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (48)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (48)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (48)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (48)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (48)
  • Features
    4.3 (47)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (48)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dean M.

Dean M.Perth, WA

Cheap rubbish with terrible support.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GMITCH

GMITCHAU

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic family car, great price, economy size and power

published

ZB wagon RS. Had the car now for about 6mths. Spent $27k with 5,000km. Fantastic car, very happy with it. Sturdy, very quick, cheap to run, tonnes of room, especially in boot. I fit three bike racks on roof (really sturdy roof-rails) which makes it even more versatile. It's relatively basic in a time when all cars beep and try to drive themselves. Oh. I turn off lane control and auto stop!
I get it serviced at my own mechanic, far more reliable.
Only cons;
-Underpowered headlights (I'm gonna replace!)
-No factory towbar
-duco scratches easily and dash material hard to dust (I'm talking really minor)

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Talia

TaliaSydney, NSW

Great Car Crap service

published

Took my car for under warranty repairs and service at Paul Wakeling Holden in Campbelltown. They had the car all day when they rang me to tell me it needs new engine and wont be able to do it for another 3 weeks. To my surprise when I went to pick it up, they charged $400 for a service and would not give me the car back unless I paid.

Why would any mechanic complete a service on an engine when it needs to be replaced. As I said, the car is amazing (minus the engine replacement) but the service from the Holden Dealer is just disgusting, even the attitude whilst talking to the staff was 0/10.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chooks

ChooksSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great reliable car few issues

published

Purchased my late 2000 Commodore executive with police pack from Brisbane government auctions 40,000km.
Its been a great car to drive and still goes like new no rattling 20 years on and 170,000km.
The only issue was a pully collapsed, still ran, replaced myself. Had roof lining replaced as heat damaged .
Secrete is change oil and filter regularly, keep cooling system serviced .
Hate to sell love the car.

Purchased for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Michael012

Michael012Melbourne

  • 61 reviews
  • 18 likes

Classic large wagon but end of an era!

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

I'm in love !!!

published

Just recently purchased my Holden Commodore 2015 SS
Doesn't get any better than that!!!
Everything about the styling to the Power!! My goodness the Power
God I hope I keep my License lol

Just jokes on a lighter note
Just love this car, And I have owned many cars in last 35 years
So pretty much see a great car when I see one

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

HaleyJ1008

HaleyJ1008Great Southern, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

Absolutely love this car!

published

Purchased in April 2020 for A$8,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gary H.

Gary H.Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Proof that Holden kept the very best until last.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

great 2004 commodore wagon

published

nearly 400, 000 ks still strong and no problems with my 04 commodore i service it often , maintain it myself , use it daily , take it for long runs , no mechanic touches it ,, use good oils , and STP every change

Purchased for A$3,000.00.

BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt L.

Matt L.

  • 4 reviews

VF SV6 Sportswagon.

published

Purchased in July 2015 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sean Q.

Sean Q.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome family all rounder - shame they're not made any more

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vicki E.

Vicki E.Wimmera, VIC

I LOVE MY SEXY RED 2008 VE SS

published

I'm so happy with my red 2008 VE SS I got it in the memory of my son an at moment in shed waiting to get fuel pump in her
Gotta except things to go wrong when buying any car

Purchased in December 2018 at Car City for A$12,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
daz

daz

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

no problems great car ve omega

published

Purchased in September 2007 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bill Leslie

Bill LeslieHobart, TAS

Fantastic All Rounder

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Motors Holden.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great car to drive

published

Brought my vx commodore series 2 December last year with a 198000 on the clock great car to drive runs well had to replace a few things due to last owner but my girlfriends family don't thinkt's reliable because I paid 1200

Purchased in December 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pancho

PanchoSydney, NSW

The best left till last !

published

How good is this Calais V with LS 3 V8, my daily driver that puts a smile on the dial every time behind the wheel. Can sit 3 mates and 4 sets of clubs comfortably in the boot on long trips or short haul with the family. My early 911 might handle better but the Calais is hard to beat as a powerful all rounder, no better value.

Purchased in October 2016 at Holden Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Surprisingly Good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mirrabucca

mirrabuccaCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

18 years.. Still great.

published

Purchased in September 2000 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

This is Perfect! I won't be discontinuing the use of this Car

published

I bought this car from a car sale yard back in 2013 (2000 vx Commodore station wagon) and I've never had that much of a problem with this car which the only problem I had was that it needed a new "iac valve". At that time a "professional mechanic" told me that it had this problem or that problem" which kept affecting my hip pocket $$$ in the end. So I then took my car to a "back yard mechanic" who found the problem, which all it needed was a new "iac valve" never had a problem ever since. This is the best car I've ever owned and still is in 2020

Purchased for A$4,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Roger T.

Roger T.South East Queensland, QLD

This VY is good, only use privately

published

After reconnecting battery leads, imobiliser light on dash wont off and key wont turn in ignition. Always have had to usekey in door lock to open car as remote buttons never worked for years & had no problems in starting. How do get to turn ?imobiliser off

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Lorraine

Lorraineasked

Commodore VX (2000-2002)

I have a 2002 vu Ute 3.8 litre uno when a car takes off and the gearbox slips well it’s not actually slipping it’s pulling back but only on take off I have replaced gearbox,any ideas

No answers
Jo K.

Jo K.asked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

Hi there, I have VZ Commodore sedan battery went completely flat, I've charged it started the car now its showing srs air bag fault. Is this normal? Will the srs airbag fault go away once battery charged?

No answers
nifty

niftyasked

Commodore VX (2000-2002)

How much oil do I put in after changing the oil filter

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.