??!
21 photos
Holden Commodore

Holden Commodore

VE, VZ, VY, etc...
4.1 from 414 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.1

414 reviews
5
(214)
4
(104)
3
(40)
2
(26)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (49)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (50)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (49)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (50)
  • Braking
    4.7 (49)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (50)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (50)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (50)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (50)
  • Handling
    4.6 (50)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (50)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (50)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (50)
  • Features
    4.3 (49)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Bluey Bonzano

Bluey BonzanoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

2009 Omega Sportwagon

published

Best car I’ve owned in 40 years of driving. Bought my ‘09 wagon with 39,000 kms on the clock, now has 127,000 kms. The first few years I would get it serviced by the book’s recommendation at 15,000 kms intervals, however once it got to 100,000 kms I learnt from other VE owners that this is way too long between oil & filter changes so I now do them myself ever 7,500 kms. These cars have a reputation of worn/stretched timing chains, but I believe if you do more regular oil & filter changes it will reduce the likelihood of oil sludge buildup, which from what I’ve researched, is one of the main reasons for the timing chain issues along with incorrect oil use. I would not hesitate recommending this car.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
See all answers
audible

audiblePerth, WA

  • 26 reviews
  • 11 likes

It's a good car! Just don't tell a Commodore fan.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Holden Dealers for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
jimm

jimmMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Excellent value for money

published

Bought a calais v tourer with 7 year warranty and 7 year free road service , after 2 years and 44.000kms the wagon has been great , services are capped and still on orginal tyres. Having the top of the range model helps with my opinion somewhat , if you can afford it dont go for the base model ( your missing out big time ) , the kids love the huge panoramic sunroof and the leather massage heated and cooling seats are a bonus, the only issue has been that the rain sensor dosent work but thats fairly in significant.
Also the growl from the v6 on startup is a nice touch.....

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean M.

Dean M.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap rubbish with terrible support.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GMITCH

GMITCHAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car, great price, economy size and power

published

ZB wagon RS. Had the car now for about 6mths. Spent $27k with 5,000km. Fantastic car, very happy with it. Sturdy, very quick, cheap to run, tonnes of room, especially in boot. I fit three bike racks on roof (really sturdy roof-rails) which makes it even more versatile. It's relatively basic in a time when all cars beep and try to drive themselves. Oh. I turn off lane control and auto stop!
I get it serviced at my own mechanic, far more reliable.
Only cons;
-Underpowered headlights (I'm gonna replace!)
-No factory towbar
-duco scratches easily and dash material hard to dust (I'm talking really minor)

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Talia

TaliaSydney, NSW

Great Car Crap service

published

Took my car for under warranty repairs and service at Paul Wakeling Holden in Campbelltown. They had the car all day when they rang me to tell me it needs new engine and wont be able to do it for another 3 weeks. To my surprise when I went to pick it up, they charged $400 for a service and would not give me the car back unless I paid.

Why would any mechanic complete a service on an engine when it needs to be replaced. As I said, the car is amazing (minus the engine replacement) but the service from the Holden Dealer is just disgusting, even the attitude whilst talking to the staff was 0/10.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Chooks

ChooksSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great reliable car few issues

published

Purchased my late 2000 Commodore executive with police pack from Brisbane government auctions 40,000km.
Its been a great car to drive and still goes like new no rattling 20 years on and 170,000km.
The only issue was a pully collapsed, still ran, replaced myself. Had roof lining replaced as heat damaged .
Secrete is change oil and filter regularly, keep cooling system serviced .
Hate to sell love the car.

Purchased for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Michael012

Michael012Melbourne

  • 76 reviews
  • 21 likes

Classic large wagon but end of an era!

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I'm in love !!!

published

Just recently purchased my Holden Commodore 2015 SS
Doesn't get any better than that!!!
Everything about the styling to the Power!! My goodness the Power
God I hope I keep my License lol

Just jokes on a lighter note
Just love this car, And I have owned many cars in last 35 years
So pretty much see a great car when I see one

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HaleyJ1008

HaleyJ1008Great Southern, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

Absolutely love this car!

published

Purchased in April 2020 for A$8,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Gary H.

Gary H.Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Proof that Holden kept the very best until last.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

great 2004 commodore wagon

published

nearly 400, 000 ks still strong and no problems with my 04 commodore i service it often , maintain it myself , use it daily , take it for long runs , no mechanic touches it ,, use good oils , and STP every change

Purchased for A$3,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Matt L.

Matt L.

  • 4 reviews

VF SV6 Sportswagon.

published

Purchased in July 2015 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sean Q.

Sean Q.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome family all rounder - shame they're not made any more

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Vicki E.

Vicki E.Wimmera, VIC

I LOVE MY SEXY RED 2008 VE SS

published

I'm so happy with my red 2008 VE SS I got it in the memory of my son an at moment in shed waiting to get fuel pump in her
Gotta except things to go wrong when buying any car

Purchased in December 2018 at Car City for A$12,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
daz

daz

  • 17 reviews
  • 8 likes

no problems great car ve omega

published

Purchased in September 2007 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bill Leslie

Bill LeslieHobart, TAS

Fantastic All Rounder

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Motors Holden.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Great car to drive

published

Brought my vx commodore series 2 December last year with a 198000 on the clock great car to drive runs well had to replace a few things due to last owner but my girlfriends family don't thinkt's reliable because I paid 1200

Purchased in December 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pancho

PanchoSydney, NSW

The best left till last !

published

How good is this Calais V with LS 3 V8, my daily driver that puts a smile on the dial every time behind the wheel. Can sit 3 mates and 4 sets of clubs comfortably in the boot on long trips or short haul with the family. My early 911 might handle better but the Calais is hard to beat as a powerful all rounder, no better value.

Purchased in October 2016 at Holden Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Surprisingly Good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Maria L.

Maria L.asked

Commodore VY (2002-2004)

Have a VY Calais 2004 drove it to work 1/2 hr drive to work. Car sit outside for 8 hours I drive 2-5 mins down the road and the car has shut down no power. First time it did this it blow engine con relay a few days later the starter relay and just yesterday it did it again. Have had battery and alternator check they are all good. Just wondering if it may have something to do with amps and subwoofer been installed and installed professional. Can one got the answer please

No answers
Ashley K.

Ashley K.asked

Commodore VF (2013-2017)

Where do I find the release latch for the boot in the boot ?

No answers
aldo

aldoasked

Commodore VZ (2004-2006)

holden statesman 2005 wl
my email home863677@gmail.com.
i wish to know to disable the radio from showing from the dashboard screen.
i use the dashboard screen to show the speed o meter.
but if some change the radio station , it cancels the speed o meter and show the radio settings.
i like to remove the radio reading from the dashboard screen.
thank you

1 answer
Paris P
Paris P

I think in the dash settings you may be able to turn it off. When you put the key into the ignition don't turn the engine on. Just turn on accessories and wait for the dash to ask you to enter the menu and follow the prompts.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$40,990A$43,990A$51,990A$51,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km5.8 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power191kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 3750rpm235kW @ 6800rpm235kW @ 6800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.