21 photos
Holden Commodore

Holden Commodore

VE, VZ, VY, etc...
4.1 from 433 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (67)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (68)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (67)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (67)
  • Braking
    4.7 (68)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (69)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (68)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (68)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (69)
  • Handling
    4.6 (68)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (67)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (69)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (69)
  • Features
    4.3 (67)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Pete
PeteFremantle
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Holden VZ Berlina is reliable and Australian built

published

Purchased in May 2007 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Peter Collins
Peter CollinsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful Car when behold.

published

I purchased a ZB Commodore VXR ,a couple of months ago, I was very impressed on the first drive and I had to have one. The technology and the safety features are remarkable. I can not fault the whole car it is beautiful to drive and sit in and I just can not get enough of it , when i go out for milk I go via the Adelaide hills just so I can drive more it is nothing unusual for me to do fifty ks just to get milk I love it. The German Commodore has been very underestimated well it is good for the buyers because the price dropped considerably from new.
One gripe is no spare wheel , I am not too pleased about that one.

Purchased in September 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cuspub
CuspubGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The last of what has become a genuine legend

published

I am so pleased to have purchased a brand new (back in 2016) Holden Commodore SSV Redline, the last of the breed and without doubt, the absolute best. Upgrades from the first generation Redline made the Commodore the closest thing to a HSV that Holden had ever produced.

I've had a blast with this car, it has been ultra reliable, Holden themselves were (up until they effectively left town - so to speak - were; from a servicing perspective) absolutely amazing.

I've owned new Mercedes amongst approximately 10 new cars, and the Redline has proven (even as a 5 year old vehicle now that gets driven maybe once a month), the best car I have ever owned.

Ian
IanMelbourne, Victoria
  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

A classic - Milestone from Holden

published
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gerard p.
gerard p.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

SS Redline

published

I use my car for fun, it is an awesome car to drive with sooo much power, the exhaust has a great sound and the acceleration is unbelievable for a unmodified standard car

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2019 for $46,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Wock
WockWadalba
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car but terrible service

published

Purchased car new in 2018 and then Holden announced it was leaving Australia . Had a minor oil leak and it took holden 10months to get the small part from overseas to fix it ! They don’t care about customers now they have left Australia ! Would never had purchased a Holden if I know there were leaving our shores !

Purchased in June 2018 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Les
LesNortheast, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car.

published

Bought this 2011 model, VE Series 2 wagon in 2015 with only 24,000 kms on the odometer. Now has 132,000 on the clock and has been great. Brakes replaced, nothing else has gone wrong.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Nigel
Nigel
  • 2 reviews

Best car I've ever owned.

published

I use this car for business. Regular trips from NSW mid north coast to Brisbane, Melbourne and occasionally Adelaide.
Effortless driving and an absolute pleasure. I'm devastated that I can never buy another.

Purchased in January 2015 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dennis b
Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Holden ZB CALAIS 75000ks

published

Car driven every day for commuting 100km round trip to work and back plus running children around its service is every 12k and easy to do yourself and $349 at Holden After 75000 faultless klms and 7.7 lts per 100 ks for this size car I’d buy another one the only thing I’ve had to do is adjust the headlights five minute job and add a earth from the motor to the body as in my opinion the car was short of a good earth ground other than that drive and enjoy. I have had and still have other German cars and for half the price it stacks up very well it was a little bit noisy on the highway but tyres changed that study tyre pressure I found 34 front and 30 back really improved ride noise and under steering

Purchased for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ostsee
OstseeSydney, NSW
  • 23 reviews
  • 9 likes

The Very Last Aussie Legend

published

I owned an SSVR since new. Not perfect, but excellent. Good value, well designed. I also added the W310 kit to it so pretty powerful and sound is very nice.

Purchased in September 2014 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
FAULTY
FAULTYVictoria

Concern and questionable

published

Purchased in May 2015 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
John R
John RMelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great car

published

Bought demo model 2 years ago, great car to drive, has everything extra you could want, safety features as good as it gets, good value for money, it’s well looked after, never had any issues, plan to keep it long term, have an old Commodore to do the shopping and believe this car keep in mint condition will be valuable eventually one day, time will tell, as not many of these have been imported to Australia.
Only negative it doesn’t have a spare wheel which l think is dumb.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Under marketed vehicle

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Joe Smith
Joe SmithGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best affordable wagon of all time which sadly isn't made anymore.

published
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Freezer
FreezerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing car

published

We purchased a commodore 2016SV6VF11 with 70.000 kilometres after owning mostly Ford’s duel fuel or dedicated.. what a fantastic car for daily driving especially freeway when we need to keep the foot off because it can easily creep up such amazing power and pick up.. It’s such a comfortable ride with great seats and stylish including the beautiful interior especially at night with everything lit up for easy vision…. Now done 105.000 no issues with anything and service very affordable. Sadly these cars are now hard to find and have become expensive to buy… Love our Red commodore fantastic!!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Questions & Answers

Phillip
Phillipasked
VF (Sedan) (2013-2017)

Does these 2014 vf Calais have belt or chain and do they need to be changed

No answers
Karen
Karenasked
Commodore VE (2006-2013)

I have a 2010 SV6 Commodore and every time I start my car the windscreen wipers activate for a few seconds and stop in the middle of the windcreen
what could cause this?

No answers
Robert M.
Robert M.asked
Commodore VF (2013-2017)

I have 2015 vf s2 wagon that, keeps showing error fault for steering lock. But the car has push button start, should I do an ecu reset to clear the fault?

2 answers
Pete
Pete

It maybe the sender unit fault. My service light did the same.

Robert M.
Robert M.

OK thanks Pete, I'll check it out see what happens. I'll let you know:>)

See all Holden Commodore questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Commodore

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $40,990$43,990$51,990$51,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km5.8 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power191kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 3750rpm235kW @ 6800rpm235kW @ 6800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.