??!
23 photos
Holden Cruze

Holden Cruze

JG, JH, YG
2.4 from 410 reviews

Reviews

(71)
(59)
(41)
(44)
(195)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (19)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.2 (18)
  • Handling
    2.6 (17)
  • Braking
    2.9 (18)
  • Suspension
    2.8 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.2 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (18)
  • Interior Design
    2.9 (18)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (18)
  • Features
    2.4 (18)
  • Comfort
    2.8 (18)


Ms Wichman

Ms WichmanPerth, WA

Accident Prone

published

Purchased in April 2019 at CarGiants Jandakot, WA for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Terrible car, stay away, a rip off from holden GM

published

Bought on 2016, when it was 15000 KM, used for 2 years, towed 6 times from freeway, loss of power, coolant leaks, ignition coil failure, faulty gearbox, changed all cooling system, And it continue, stay away from this car, save your money.

Purchased in April 2016 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

lachlan

lachlanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Transmission is utter garbage

published

Had no idea about the disgusting reputation of the reliablity of this car before purchase, but that has since changed quite rapidly. After being sold a 2009 auto cruze lemon (with only 80,000kms), i will never touch a holden again. Dont just take my word, this shitbox has a plethora of problems that can be elaborated upon by brief internet searches.

NOTE: my vehicle needs a tranny replacement, costs $3800 aud.

Purchased in November 2019 at Carsales.com.au for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Danielle S.

Danielle S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great Family Car

published

We have had our Cruze for almost 4yrs now and we still love it like the day we first bought it. Its been used for daily commute to work and up and down dirt roads with no dramas. We have put on well over 70,000km since purchasing and have had no major dramas with it. We get it serviced regularly to the service book recommendation and have had no major issues mechanically. One of the best cars I have owned and would happily buy another again if I had to!

Purchased in January 2017 at Motorama Holden for $21,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Cooling system faults. Continuesly.

published

Have replaced the coolant system completely and some componants several times in two years. Also replaced the coil pack four times during this period. The car has been teken to several mechanics and auto electricians with good reputations and the same problems keep returning. Wouldn't recommend to anyone to ever consider purchasing a cruze.

Purchased in July 2017 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Nicole C.

Nicole C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

I am worried

published

Purchased at Holden Dealers for $30,000.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andygee1982

Andygee1982

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I will never buy holden again!

published

Purchased in December 2018 for $9,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Worst car owned

published

Missus owned this car, endless problems like everyone else. Finally transmission failed after 2 years of owning, paint fainted, endless electronic problems. Spent more to fix the car than it costs

Purchased in June 2013 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ted

Ted

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great run around car

published

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter458

Peter458Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Worst Car Ever

published

Purchased in March 2014 for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Raves

RavesSouth East Queensland, QLD

Holden Cruze JH

published

I have a 2013 holden Cruze hatch SRi2. Engine check light is on car runs fine, sometimes it turns off. But when I turn corners it jolts only sometimes . Doesn’t jolt any other time. Feels like driving with old Sparks and ignition coils but they were changed about a month ago.. Not to sure what’s making it jolt around corners?

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
See all answers

Aleks

AleksGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish!!! Every 30k needs rebuilt engine. Thermostat housing, engine oil cooler, and radiator.

published

60000 km
Replaced 2 times
Radiator, engine oil cooler, thermostat housing, spark plugs and ignition coil.
Very bad car. Also problems with transmission gears. Cat converter block. Diesel cruse even more problems

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Jenny

JennySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Reasonable car

published

September 2016 we purchased Z series Holden cruise . Had a problem with the O2 sensor which Holden fix . Had no trouble since. It has been reliable comfortable has heated seats nice little family car .

Purchased in September 2016 at Holden Newcastle .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers

Pieter

Pieter

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Expensive repairs

published

My daughter bought one a year ago 1.6 turbo auto. Originally it drove well , then 10 mths later at 150k it had a few coolant leaks and codes coming up , due to leaks being hard to get to ie removing the turbo and manifold etc water pump leak and timing belt , thermostat code on along with other issues the mechanic bill was quoted at $4300 parts and labour. We traded the car in asap as she couldn't afford the repairs. Before the issues it drove well and had plenty of power it was still driving ok when traded but those upcoming repairs blew us away.

Purchased in May 2018 for $7,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Schmick

Schmicknope

  • 4 reviews

Holden Cruze - poorly designed

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $12,600.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Craig D

Craig DHunter Region, NSW

The biggest SHAME of Holden

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Holden Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Angry customer

Angry customerGippsland, VIC

Absolutely disgusting car!

published

Purchased in September 2016 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tyres and brake rotors worn out at 50000kms

published

Purchased in April 2013 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

julie  claire

julie claireNortheast, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Biggest piece of rubbish

published

Lost power travelling up "hills", kept telling the mechanic, Low and behold recall months later. Near misses when loses power between double roads.
Now sitting on the side of the road

Purchased in August 2014 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mani

ManiPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy Holden

published

Purchased for an owner when clocked at 60000km and now done 115000k. Have had issues from the very 1st month. My friend says that his bmw maintenance would cost less than the cruze. Same issues like every other here. Auto transmission, coolant oil mix, head gasket blown, error codes etc.. Most of the mechanics I went to suggested me not to buy Holden ever!

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Dale C.

Dale C.asked

Hi there everyone I can see anything on the small screen in the centre of the the instrument panel when I turn the car on is it the led or a fuse ?

No answers

Pam W.

Pam W.asked

My engine light stays on all the time,then my skids light comes on and the car seems to lose power. I pull over Then restart the car and the skids light goes off but the engine light stays on, then in some occasions the skids light comes on and the engine light comes on and flashes !! Can you help me please.
It’s been back and forth to get repaired but they just get a code and it goes off then after getting home comes back on again everytime. Regards. Pam

No answers

Linda

Lindaasked

Can I replace just 1spark plug

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.