23 photos
Holden Cruze

Holden Cruze

JG, JH, YG
2.4 from 427 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (35)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (35)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (34)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (34)
  • Braking
    2.9 (32)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.2 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.2 (30)
  • Suspension
    2.6 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (33)
  • Handling
    2.6 (32)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (33)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (32)
  • Comfort
    2.8 (32)
  • Features
    2.6 (32)
Previous
Next
BoughtALemon
BoughtALemonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Total Lemon, Worst Car Ever Owned

published

Purchased in February 2021 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5

Worst Holden vehicle ever made. Must read review if you are looking to purchase this car.

published

Transmission blew twice, cost $4500 in total, 1st and 3rd cylinders misfired. Plenty of issues with the car, worst car ever, would not recommend to anyone. Had the 2011 CDX JG. Definitely Australia’s worst car. Slow, unreliable and definitely worth buying something else. Dealer offered me $1k, ended up private selling for $5k. Bought for 7.5k + around $6k in repairs so was a big loss on my end.

Purchased in January 2018 for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Mel
Mel
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If I could give 0 stars I would

published

I had this car for a year and drove it collectively for 3 months as the other 9 it was broken down. The car would stop in the middle of me driving on main road, coolant would boil and it was one problem after the other! Worst decision I’ve ever made purchasing one of these.

Purchased in August 2016 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

If I were a service advisor I would suggest a stick of dinamite.

published

If you fix something, something else breaks then you fix that and the first thing breaks again.
Stay away

Never have I seen a this vehicle with no issues had to replace a oil filter housing just the other week.

Stay away!!!

Incentivised Review No
Cars

Find out how Holden Cruze compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul J
Paul JNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Lemon re badged Daweo

published

Spent more time in dealer than in driveway but they could never fault it until we caught them out. Slow and gutless looks nice but driving it was garbage . Was a family car that family hated

Purchased in January 2017 at Holden Dealers for $19,990.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5

9 years old and still going strong.

published

Our Cruze was purchased in 2012 brand new. 1.8 litre non turbo. In 8 years never had a single repair. Now in 2021 at 115.000kms last service needed new coil pack and plugs and a slight leak from driveshalf seal. Got fixed and back to running strong. Also needed new break pads at 80,000 but that’s expected. Does over 500kms a week for work never given me any grief. Can’t complain overall for age of car. Stick to log book servicing and it pays off.

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Julie
JulieBrisbane
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Do not buy this car

published

I would give this 0 stars if possible. Never EVER buy this car. If you see a used Cruze for sale - don’t do it no matter how good a deal it appears to be. We purchased this car brand new in 2013. For the first 2-3 years it was ok with no major issues. Then it just started falling apart. Coolant issues, engine light going on and off, constant oil leaks amongst other issues. After years and thousands of dollars we recently discovered the turbo, water pump and cylinders were all falling apart/not working and the car has now been sent to the wreckers where it belongs. Every single mechanic we have seen cringes when would tell them we had a Holden Cruze. Just don’t do it.

Purchased in June 2013 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Emily
EmilyHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

WORST EXPERIENCE

published

Bought this car second hand at 116km. after 6 months had so many issues, the car would stop in the middle of the road spent thousands, called nrma for 3 seperate reasons then the last time it got towed they said I needed a new engine which would cost $7000.... every mechanic told me this is the worst car. DO NOT BUY

Purchased in June 2020 for $5,300.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Aaron S.
Aaron S.Gippsland, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Save yourself the headaches and believe all the bad press.

published

I downgraded my car so I could get a home loan. I wanted a cheap run about. I read all the reviews on the Cruze but thought surely they can't all be duds so took a chance and bought a Cruze. I got about 10000ks from it before I started having issues. I had the car for a year and half and in that time needed to replace the thermostat , water pumper , turbo , numerous cooling hoses and oil pipes. After fixing all these the turbo started leaking again ! So enough was enough and I sold it. Purchased a Lancer which was made in the same year. I've now had the lancer for three years and not a single issue. Believe the reviews on the this poorly built car and save yourself some money and get something else.

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how Holden Cruze compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill D.
Bill D.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not perfect but has been a totally dependable car

published

Purchased in July 2010.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
maddog
maddog
  • 5 reviews

Rubbish

published

I my opinion the biggest load of rubbish to hit the streets with all the recalls, overheating, transmission problems and various other flaws. Drive one (eject yourself first though) over a cliff.

Incentivised Review No
Performance
2/5
Braking
2/5
Acceleration / Power
1/5
Gear Shifting
1/5
Suspension
1/5
Fuel Efficiency
2/5
Handling
Design
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Boot Size
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Features
Lukey P from Canberra
Lukey P from CanberraAustralian Capital Territory
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Built like a tank, a good drive, a little annoying

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how Holden Cruze compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amy
AmyMurray Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Terrible car

published
Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Mel P.
Mel P.South East Queensland, QLD

Shitbox

published

Already replaced engine , cooling system , thermostat , the engine light won’t leave me alone. Hasn’t even done 150xxxkm.
If you are reading this and considering purchasing one, DONT DO IT!
Never again

Purchased in September 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kylie R.
Kylie R.New South Wales

Holden cruze lemon

published

Had oil in the sump dish had to repla e coil pack and spark plugs twice oil went through hole water system had every part water goes through replaced had 3 water bottles 2 thermostates the list goes on $6000 in repares

Purchased in November 2014 for $12.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Questions & Answers

Rachel W
Rachel Wasked
Cruze JG (2008-2011)

G'day. I'm really hoping someone can help me out with this problem.

A hose that is covered with a silver heat shield material, that sits just to the bottom left of the aluminium plate in front of the engine, I don't know if it is an oil cooling hose, has split, and even the Holden man at spare parts call centre didn't know what the hose is so I'm sure he sent the wrong one because it doesn't have heat shield on it. The road service mechanic couldn't tell me the hose name either, so my car is just sitting there waiting for me to fix her.

I desperately need a hose number, or part name. If anyone can help me out I would be very happy!!

No answers
Jimmy D.
Jimmy D.asked
Cruze JH (2012-2016)

Just bought a JH 2013 Cruze and after turning off the car there is a faint computer like noise coming from the dash and it won't turn off even after an hour when the cars in park and switched off

No answers
Steve.O
Steve.Oasked
Cruze

I have a 2015 Holden Cruz, all of a sudden the heating is not blowing out warm air, does anyone know what may be the cause.

No answers
See all Holden Cruze questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Cruze

Details

Compare all 18 Holden Cruze
Holden Cruze YG
  • Discontinued

Holden Cruze YG (2002-2006)

4.0
(1)
CategoryCars and Small / Compact SUVsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Sedans
Starting Price $23,790
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power104kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque176Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016
Compare all 18 Holden Cruze

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.