??!
3 photos
Holman iWeather Station

Holman iWeather Station

2.4 from 124 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Lynn

LynnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Designed to last?

published

Rain gauge and anemometer failed. Most recently the outside temperature fails to register on the screen. Runs batteries flat within days. Wind vain does not give correct direction. The product barely made it out of warranty before the failures started. Holman responses to other's complaints do not give confidence.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Don C.

Don C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Good start, then very disappointing

published

Worked for first year, but ~13mos the base station began chewing batteries. Now <2yrs old battery life <2weeks! Holman says unit's faulty, can't fix, buy a new one. Looking elsewhere.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
wilsr

wilsr

  • 43 reviews
  • 51 likes

If you want a clock - buy a clock!

published

Purchased at Bunnings.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Products

Find out how Holman iWeather Station compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarioM

MarioM

  • 2 reviews

Extremely inaccurate wind and rain data

published

I've since returned the unit to Bunnings after 1 month of use.

The anemometer was wildly inaccurate, telling me that during actual hurricane force winds it was only indicating 2 kph and then the opposite when there was no wind at all indicating 15 kph.

Then the rain gauge telling me we had 999.9 mm of rain in the morning was the final straw.

I've since left the Holman range alone and am now using a Nylex weather station, which seems to report accurate readings.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$89.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jeff

JeffPerth, WA

Look elsewhere

published

Battery life after six months terrible, connections to battery corrode quickly, "stainless fittings" leaving rust marks on my white wall, wind vane constantly doing 360's, just out of warranty and it's a bin job, save up and purchase something of better quality.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Graeme

GraemeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Like its owner: the older it gets the worse it gets

published

Purchased from Bunnings 18 months ago. Holman WS5029 $99. Worked well for first year. Latest batteries (also from Bunnings) lasted 4 weeks on indoor unit. Holman book says batteries on indoor unit should last 12 months. Info wiped when batteries fail. This is going back to Bunnings - fails the ACCC rules.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Bob T.

Bob T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great unit. Been waiting ages to get one. Over the moon.

published

Seems to be a great unit. Time will tell. Happy so far. Has all the weather features I wanted in a unit. Works well in my house. Easy to set up and install. Instructions are well written and easy to follow.

Purchased in May 2020 at Mitre 10 for A$99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Tim T.

Tim T.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

So many angry reviews, haha

published

The range is satisfactory, battery longevity is satisfactory and there’s lots of really cool information on its easy to read screen. I don’t understand the negative reviews

The brackets included for attaching are weak and shouldn’t be used. I’ve attached mine to my tv antenna mast and it works like a treat

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$89.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

hard to read

published

the screen is very hard to read as you have to have it on the right angle and in the right light . One battery indicator symbol has gone . also the light stopped working after a couple of months.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$89.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Products

Find out how Holman iWeather Station compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pedro

PedroCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Look outside... if you buy one of these you will still have too

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$150.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Farmer

FarmerSouth Australia

Don’t buy. You’ll regret it.

published

Very small wifi range. Less than 10metres. Poor quality screws/bolts and brackets. (Bolts had burrs on them and bracket tore under light pressure) difficult to adjust display settings and can’t change what day it displays.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$110.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
rekreK

rekreKRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Can't do anything right - Find another PWS, this is garbage for so many reasons

published

Setup parameters are not saved.
North/South orientation is not respected, so have to point north, which has solar panel in wrong direction
Timezone is ignored, so you end up with rain accumulation resetting at 11am
Accuracy is dubious, rain was always less than manual guage just 20m away, wind was always lower than local BOM
Batteries lasted 2 months, despite the solar panel, since its roof mounted, not very easy to replace them, whole reason I wanted solar - less maintenance.
No local cache when internet or power is down, so if if either happens, all data is lost for the period.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Frustrated

FrustratedWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't see a thing.

published

WS5209 - bought December 2019. Easy to assemble and set up. Seems to work quite well but for some reason 0.7mm is it's favourite reply for any drizzle. I could be wrong though as it's almost impossible to read the screen. I have to hold it under a bright light at just the right angle to be able to read the display. It seems to be a fairly reliable unit but it's painful with the lack of brightness and sharpness on the screen.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello, Thank you for your review. The rain fall is recorded in 0.7mm increments. The screen should be solid and black, easily read at eye level. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Frustrated
Frustrated

I know what I would expect of the screen...
If the rainfall is recorded in increments of 0.7mm, how do I get readings of 2.2, 11, 16.5, 54.5, 29.2 and 5.5mm?

kiwi842

kiwi842Central Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 11 likes

Should have left it on the shelf

published

The temperature sensor sits less than 10 metres from the read out unit and periodically displays the temp and humidity readings like 2 or 3 times a week, and when t does give a reading it so minute to see.
It does not record any info even for 24hrs.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jill

JillPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Design flaws

published

Battery cover on sensor won't slide in, so I had to stand on a ladder and unscrew the whole thing. Not much fun reaching above your head with tiny nuts and bolts. I had to use making tape to secure it. Let's see how long it lasts.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Products

Find out how Holman iWeather Station compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rommel

RommelSydney Surrounds, NSW

Look somewhere else.

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$150.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
J.Cox

J.CoxSouth West, WA

Parts for ws5029 not available

published

Have Holman ws5029 unit purchased in August 2017. Unit made in12/2016. At first outdoor batteries lasted 6-8 months. Recently battery life has dropped to 2-3 months. Last week the outdoor transmitter died. Contacted Holman and was told the frequency had been changed since my unit was manufactured and the older unit parts are no longer available. Nothing can be done but to buy a complete new unit. The failure of a $15 part makes a $150+ unit worthless. Great for them, not so great for me. I'll be looking else where for my next unit.

Purchased in August 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$179.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Outside Unit keeps failing

published

I received this WS5029 as a present in January 2020. Since then I've replaced the batteries in the outside unit twice as it keeps failing. Not to much fun we you have to climb on the roof to replace them every couple of weeks.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$89.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Steve, for product support, please call us on 1300 716 188. Thank you!

Wren

WrenMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Hopeless

published

Got this for Christmas 2018. The batteries only last about a week or so- forever replacing them. It makes a super on going expensive gadget. Also, when the batteries go flat and are replaced the darn thing has to be reset all over again. We should have taken it back to Bunnings- prob too late now. Try any other brand but this one.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$100.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Susan C.

Susan C.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Useless

published

I got my iweather station as a gift for Xmas 2018. For the display I have to change my batteries every month. The display sets off an alarm even thought nothing has been displayed for over 4 weeks after the batteries have supposedly gone flat. Now the rain is not being registered. I would of taken it back only I don’t have a receipt as it was a gift. The instructions are not worth the paper they are printed on

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Hilary M

Hilary Masked

We have a WS5061 and readings for inside and outside went silly. Changed batteries in both units and inside reading now works fine, but won't pick up the outside unit temperature. (The outside unit temperature is also now working fine; just no "connection" between the 2 units. We have done everything the book says and still won't pick up outside reading. We have not changed anything else except the batteries. At the moment we might as well throw the whole thing away. Any suggestions. Hilary

No answers
Mark

Markasked

I have a Holman W55019 which needed new batteries as the screen was dulling. Once changed i can't get it to work. The screen is on, and I tried holding the "mode" button for 3 sec with no success. Also pushed the re-set button on the back with no success ? any ideas ?

No answers
Joe

Joeasked

Are you able to change the reading time for daily rain amount? Was is the current reading times?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holman representatives

Details

CategoryProducts
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.