??!
29 photos
Honda Civic

Honda Civic

8th Gen, 9th Gen, 9th Gen Ser II, etc...
4.3 from 235 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (33)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (30)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (32)
  • Braking
    4.4 (31)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (26)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (30)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (31)
  • Handling
    4.5 (31)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (30)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (30)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (30)
  • Features
    4.3 (30)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Techsavvy

TechsavvySydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect reliable car for the price

published

I've had one for the past 5years with over 125k on the odometer, ~40k are mine without any faults. The most reliable car I have ever owned. This is a great car for work commute or a-b but don't expect to have fun

Purchased in April 2015 at Alliance Motor Auctions for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks Techsavvy on providing a review on your 9th Generation Civic. Its great you find it a perfect and reliable vehicle. Wishing you many more years of happy Honda motoring. Regards Kiara

Year2500

Year2500Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Reliability, Low maintenance

published

I bought my Civic Gli in Oct 1999 brand new. Use for daily commuting. Do schedule services myself. Now 265,000 km on the clock. Never missed a beat. It is still mechanically perfect. Replaced battery and tyres twice, muffler and front brake pads once recently. Paintwork still shiny. Nice and clean engine bay even though never washed. Trim, dashboard, carpet and roof lining are still in perfect condition. No complaint at all. Planning to buy a new Honda Civic or Jazz.

Purchased in October 1999 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year1999
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Nev S.

Nev S.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Oil dilution problems

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Honda Dealers for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
8 comments
Nev S.
Nev S.

Don’t deny the problem Honda helpers. My Honda rs 100% has an oil dilution problem!!! Buyer beware people.. these motors are faulty, Honda know it and won’t help.

Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Nev S.
Nev S.

Hi Honda, I have contacted Honda Australia by email and phone. they’re referred me to a dealer. I have contacted a dealer via email and I have had NO response from them. Over to you again please....

Cars

Find out how Honda Civic compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Danielle

Danielle

  • 3 reviews

Best. Car. EVER!

published

My first Civic was purchased in 1999 and was a-mazing! Reliable, sporty, economical and fantastic resale. Nothing changed with any of that with the latest model. Honda driver for life!

Purchased in July 2017 at Honda Dealers for A$32,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
2 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks Kindly for your lovely review Danielle, it's always pleasing to hear our customers enjoying our products and becoming advocates for the brand. Thanks Kiara

Danielle
Danielle

Absolutely! Huge fan!

Stef

StefVictoria

Absolutely love my car!

published

Use my car everyday either to travel 20 up and back to work or for weekend drives. So reliable! Love the sunroof and heated seats- cools fast in summer and warms fast in winter! Super comfy, sporty and safe.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Stef, thanks for leaving a review. It's always encouraging to hear our customers enjoying the great features & benefits of owning a Honda Civic. In your case, you've got summer and winter all sorted! ! Thank you Kiara

kingshopper

kingshopperNSW, 2071

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Reliable Car

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Eastside Auto Centre for A$25,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Kingshopper, thank you for a great review, it's always pleasing that our Civic is bringing you so much joy with the features and great fuel economy. We wish you many more years of great 'enjoyable' motoring in your Honda vehicle. Cheers Kiara

Old faithful!

published

Bought mine second hand with 40 000 kms on the clock. Ive had it for 8 year now and has 170 000kms on the clock, has not missed a beat. Still drives exceptionally well and has shown me why Honda's have such a great name.

Purchased in June 2011 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Stephen

StephenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 20 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it!!

published

I love the look of new Honda Civic. I like the hatch better than sedan as it looks more sporty. Love the fuel efficiency as well. It has apple car play where I can play videos for my son when we’re parked waiting. I use most of the time as my wife has a different car for herself and family use. I also got a few accessories from the dealership which made it look cooler. My only wish was I wish they have an option to change the seat to leather because the next model with leather seats is $5000 expensive than what I bought.

Purchased in September 2019 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hey Stephen, It's always great to hear our customers enjoying the many great features that the Civic brings, which you've mentioned plenty! Perhaps the next model upgrade could be the RS Model :) Cheers Kiara

Jai H.

Jai H.

  • 4 reviews

My favouritist car yet!

published

Comfy, kinda sexy looking. Okay I’m a girl and I care about things like that. But she drives well, has guts when I need, plus all the bells and whistles.

Purchased in November 2017 at Honda Dealers for A$37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks for the review Jai, sounds like the Civic RS is treating you well with comfort, style, power and loved the added note of bells and whistles :) We wish you many more years of happy motoring. Cheers Kiara

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Honda Civic compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kaz

kazmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

best car ever owned

published

Bought in Sept - 17 , done 85,00km since . Never missed a bit. This is the best car I have ever owned.
I drive a lot and needed a reliable cur with good performance.
This car is fast, reach 100km/hour in 6.7 sec.

reliablity and performance in one package.

Purchased in September 2017 for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Kaz, thanks for sharing your review, we always appreciate to receive feedback that their Honda is the best car they've owned. We wish you many years of trouble free motoring with great reliability and performance! Thanks Kiara

Adnan M.

Adnan M.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Awesome performance

published

Honda has always been a class to drive. It's a low maintenance car with lots of benifits like smooth drive, low fuel consumption and high performance. Much recommended to the people

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks for the great review Adnan. It's great to hear your feedback. on how much 'Joy' your Civic is bringing you. We do hope this journey continues for many more years of happy motoring. Thanks Kiara

McDuck

McDuckMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ticks lots of boxes.

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bergs

BergsMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2008 Honda Civic - Lots to like, if you can live with the really loud road noise and other irritating short comings

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$4,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jessica T.

Jessica T.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

My favourite ever car!

published

I use my Honda Civic everyday and it is honestly the best car Ive ever owned. The interior is designed well, great fuel efficiency and loads and loads of space!

Purchased in August 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
corey

coreyboyne island

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Brought secondhand for $500. Been the best $500 I ever spent. Paint is quiet soft and clear pealed fairly quickly however it's never broken down and never given me problems which is what you would expect from a Honda motor vehicle.
Seats aren't as comfortable for longer trips but around town is great on fuel and with the manual transmission it is very zippy

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Honda Civic compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michele

MicheleSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Car

published

Great car has everything I need . Would like to have a bit more power but apart from that drives well nice and quiet . Sound system is great . Bluetooth excellent. Not used to the button hand brake

Purchased in September 2019 at Suttons Honda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Honda’s definition of parking sensor limitation - ‘car wash’ is categorised under ‘bad weather’

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Lopezjose7

Lopezjose7Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun to drive !

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kim D

Kim DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Surprisingly roomy

published

This was a great car, comfortable and surprisingly roomy. I hired this car when on holidays and am seriously considering purchasing it after the way it performed. Nice power when taking off and cruises smoothly on the highway. Economical and easily fitted our suitcases and us

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Honda Civic ticking boxes but not lighting up the sky

published

Family car, school run, work, city driving you name it the Civic does it all. It has plenty of space and fuel economy is great. The engine seems to lag a little when accelerating and runs longer when coming off the gas. Handling is good but not superb and just lets the car down a little. The spec inside with apple car play and other blue tooth devices is excellent allowing connectivity with the phone as well as rear view camera ability. Most of all the wife loves the car, however it just isn't a drivers car for me but does tick a lot of boxes very well indeed

Purchased in May 2008 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Nev S.

Nev S.asked

10th Gen (Hatchback) RS (2016-2021)

Anyone else getting a raw petrol smell in their crankcase oil?

No answers
Wayne L.

Wayne L.asked

Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

changed rear brake pads on 2011 honda civic one side breaks very hot. Any ideas?

No answers
Cole T.

Cole T.asked

Civic 9th Gen (2012-2015)

Hi there i have a 2014 Honda Civic si sedan, I started to notice a musty smell in the car and began to realize the floor carpet was wet on the passenger front side I’m assuming it’d the ac condensation tube anyone else ever have these problem and best way to fix thanks !

1 answer
Stephen
Stephen

I have read that same problem before when I did my research before buying the car but so far I haven’t experience it. I don’t know if it is with the older models or maybe my car is still fairly new that’s why it hasn’t happen to my car yet.

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

Compare all 17 Honda Civic
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$31,990A$22,390A$27,990A$33,690
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4444
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km6.4 L/100km6 L/100km6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 47 L47 L47 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power127kW @ 5500rpm104kW @ 6500rpm127kW @ 5500rpm127kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque220Nm @ 1700-5500rpm174Nm @ 4300rpm220Nm @ 1700-5500rpm220Nm @ 1700-5500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 17 Honda Civic

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.