?
? !
15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 347 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (57)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (59)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (54)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (52)
  • Braking
    4.6 (52)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (52)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (49)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (50)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (50)
  • Handling
    4.4 (49)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (53)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (53)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (54)
  • Features
    4.4 (53)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

I30 Junk - After sales service is worse than the car

published

I purchased the car new. After 2 months it developed creaking noises from the rear. I lost count of the amount of times that I took it back to the dealer. After 4 years of failed attempts for the dealer to try to identify or repair the problem they said they don't know how to fix it and told me to stop bringing the car back. Terrible car. Worse service. Never buy a Hyundai

Purchased in June 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
peter venz

peter venzSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rabbit 1. Hyundai I30 Zero.

published

Look it's a great little car for driving around town but today we bit a Rabbit (hare) on the road and the whole front fender smashed to pieces. Never have I seen a car fall apart from hitting a little fluffy rabbit. And the whole front piece needs to be replaced. They need to be built a little stronger surely.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
echo

echo

  • 4 reviews

I should have done more research

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sasa S.

Sasa S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Gearbox problems! Unwilling to deal with the obvious issue!!

published

Nice and friendly people at dealerships, but most likely trained to fend off the more expensive warranty issues. I have been there 3-4 times reporting an obvious issue with the gearbox (dual clutch, 2017 I30 diesel), and every time - 'it is fine', 'it is normal', or even - 'you need to learn to drive a dual clutch car'....

Before purchasing Hyundai, I heard it is one of the best servicing brand in Australia!

Makes me think they want to push it out until not under warranty? And certainly makes me want to go for another brand!

First chance, will post a video of the car shaking and jumping. So you can see for yourself if that is normal. Been driving like that for a good 1.5 years! Disappointing!

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff

GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really good buy for the money!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
B. Johnson

B. JohnsonSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good and simple car

published

Great car that has been easy to drive and own for the last year. The base engine still has enough power and is fuel efficient. Not too expensive to buy.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blako

Blako

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for a great price

published

Have the manual version of this car and it's a pretty good all rounder. It can run on 91 which is odd for a turbo and I was able to get a brand new one for $24k so the value has held up really well.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Culprit

CulpritGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Next Level Hyundai

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at Berwick Hyundai for $34,094.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Doreenrunner

DoreenrunnerMelbourne

  • 44 reviews
  • 27 likes

Price high design and quality low

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
luke

lukemelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good cheap runabout

published

Purchased for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NICK

NICKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Safety defect weak structural

published

I have clipped to back of the 2019 hyundai i30 hatch with less than 3km/h( walking pace ) with my 1997 volvo sedan and after the insurance assesment the car has sustained structural damage with nearly 2k in repair bill. With not a single scratch on my cars front bumper in general cars panel are made to absorb and deflect the impact to certain points but in this case such a damage in speed that is less than 5km/h indicates that this car will be complete write off in the speed above 5km/h and not safe at all and should not be on the road at all.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Little Alexei

Little AlexeiSydney, NSW

What a nice surprise!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Col Crawford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car and never misses a beat

published

I use this car to travel to work and home. Also family transport. It never stops. Service it every 10000kms. It is built well, very reliable and very comfortable. Has all the bells and whistles even though it is the base model. . I just replace factory tyres 6 months ago(Bury in mind we are in November 2020 now and I bought it in 2015). I have never replaced the factory brake pads as of yet. It doesn't use a drop of oil. I would recommend this car to anyone who want a reliable hatch back. It has a little 1.8 litre petrol engine and a 6 speed automatic.

Purchased in November 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon

SimonChristchurch, NZ

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has its good and bad points

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
i30 Driver

i30 DriverHunter Region, NSW

Much better than expected

published

Bought the car, a 2007 build 2.0 litre petrol 5 speed manual hatch just over a year ago with about 315,000 km up. Now at 325,000 kays. Going well, no real problems. Good reliable vehicle and fairly economical - just under 7L/100k fuel consumption.
Handles quite well and is fairly nippy on the road.
Engine is powerful enough without being amazing.
Clutch and gearbox pretty good, gearbox much better after an oil change.
Pretty roomy inside and carries big stuff without problems thru the hatch and folding rear seats.
Didn't cost much so I didn't expect much but it's been way better than I would've believed.
Good little car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Facebook Marketplace for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
zknight

zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great car, heaps of features, but horrible programming/tech

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Caitlin W

Caitlin WGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Long term owner, no regrets!

published

Have owned my 2016 activex since new and it has been amazing. I have had no mechanical issues with the car, and have been impressed with servicing through Hyundai as each service has been the exact capped cost with no surprises! Had a slight issue early on with carplay/Bluetooth and bad call quality, however this was rectified promptly with a software update within the cars system. Car drives beautiful both in the city and country highways, nice and quiet and smooth. Very happy with the car and plan on keeping it (even though when I purchased I intended to upgrade at the 4-5 year mark). Boot is very spacious and the flat fold rear seats have been very handy when moving house and could fit large items such as a TV cabinet and hall table!

Purchased in December 2016 for $20,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Failed DCT gearbox and horrible customer service

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
brizzyguy2000

brizzyguy2000South East Queensland, QLD

As good as a mercedes.

published

I bought a 2018 2Litre premium and I love it. I came out of a 1994 Falcon which didn't have all the bells and whistles my i30 has. I love all the safety features.....Although I don't use my sunroof and hot and cold seats very much, it is nice to know they are there. The other day I wasn't paying as much attention as I should and alarms went off to tell me I was gaining on the car in front of me too fast!! I also love the adaptive cruise control......it slows and speeds up by itself.
My friend bought a mercedes 250 and is totally jealous as he paid twice as much for much the same features.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vishal

VishalSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Samla

Samlaasked

i30

This morning my i30 made the freezing warning sound without the ice light coming up on the dashboard. The sound went on for much longer than it would normally if it was letting me know about temperature and happened about 5 times on a 10 minute journey. Does anybody know why or what it means?

1 answer
echo
echo

Sorry I'm in Australia

Kim D.

Kim D.asked

i30

My reverse camera doesn’t beep when close to fence or anything,how do I fix that

No answers
vicktor

vicktorasked

i30 PD 2.0L Petrol GDi Active (2017-2021)

Why steering power very heavy on new facelift i30 hatch active?

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.