10 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

Hatchback, Sedan, Fastback N (See All)
4.3 from 83 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Expert Review

i30 1.6L Turbo N Line Hatchback

Hyundai offers both a full ‘N’ performance i30, and also this, the i30 N Line. It takes a few sporty cues both superficially and under the bonnet to try and provide a cost-effective but fun-to-drive ‘warm hatch’ - not quite a full ‘hot hatch'.

Read Now

i30 N 2.0L Turbo Hatchback

It's the review I've been looking forward to since I started reviewing cars here at ProductReview.com.au. The i30N is back and it's better than ever. It's a hot hatch that'll conquer the track, make ridiculous sounds and it's an ideal grocery-getter. The big question is, should you buy it over cars like the Toyota GR Yaris, Golf GTi, Golf R or even a Ford Focus ST?

Read Now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (42)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (40)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (38)
  • Braking
    4.6 (36)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (36)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (34)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (35)
  • Handling
    4.7 (34)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (35)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (35)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (36)
  • Features
    4.7 (35)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Rick
RickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 10 reviews

There's better out there

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Maughan Thiem.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pcmiller13
pcmiller13Northern Region, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best car yet!

published

Purchased in November 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
i30 Owner
i30 Owner
  • 2 reviews

Powerful and had no single problem

published

I had the diesel hatchback for 6 years and had no single issue. Very powerful for a small-medium hatchback and easy to drive. I've been to unpaved roads number of times and had interstate long road trips with it. Amazing this little can do so much.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
f1fanatic
f1fanaticPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

should have upgraded over a decade ago

published

great car, first upgrade since 2006 and boy has technology come forward big time.
everyday use is great, makes the ride just so much more enjoyable with connections galore, just love it

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gio R
Gio RSouth West, WA
  • 7 reviews

Fantastic Car

published

This is car number 4 from the Hyundai-Kia family
Purchased new in March 2021 i30 6speed manual
Great addition of safety feature as per entry level
The all new digital display makes it so appealing to the younger drivers
Apple car play having connectivity issue since brand new,awaiting for resolution
Fuel consumption is below the declared values
Very happy so far

Purchased in March 2021 at Hyundai Dealers for $25,450.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mick Woolagoodga
Mick Woolagoodgasydney
  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Hyundai always good.

published

Reliable user friendly car which has all the options I need. Service intervals are realistic and affordable. Service department is professional and run like clockwork. Couldn't be happier with my purchase!!

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

lou
louWellington Point
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good reliable car

published

I recently sold my i30 simply because I'd upgraded to an i40 and as a single mum, don't need two cars. It was mechanically brilliant - never had any issues with it hence, my purchase of another Hyundai. I'd owned it three years. The only downside is the manufacturers use of cheap rubber window linings and handles. The linings were all broken and falling to pieces and the handles were covered in a silver plastic that had the the exception of a few leftover ugly bits, had peeled off showing beige plastic handles underneath.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Bruno
BrunoNewcastle
  • 2 reviews

Really Nice Car to drive

published

The car has been always serviced at the recommended intervals at the dealer it was bought from and is just a daily driver and is such a nice car to drive.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pam
pamSydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

bad maker and service that I come across

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $22,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
westy50
westy50Peel, WA
  • 6 reviews

Excellent Vehicle

published

We have driven this car 60000 KLM since we purchased it, including a trip from W.A. to N.S.W. It is a great car around town or on the open road with plenty of power for overtaking or hill climbing. The only thing I have found is that it is not the best with 4 adults over a long drive, fuel return average is around 6 litres to 100 KLM.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vickie
VickieSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent car

published

With lockdown haven’t used it much but it goes so well has been very reliable haven’t had any problems. It is serviced yearly with Hyundai with road service and Navman serviced

Purchased in October 2020 for $25,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glen
Glen
  • 3 reviews

I really love this car, we have had Hyundias for the last 10 years. We just the the way this car drive, it is very comfortable and has lots of features inside the car. The storage features that you don’t find in other cars
Places for sunglasses. Maps cc storage and so on.

BodyHatch
BadgeActive X
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
echo
echo
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I should have done more research

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,000.

Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff
GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really good buy for the money!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
B. Johnson
B. JohnsonSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good and simple car

published

Great car that has been easy to drive and own for the last year. The base engine still has enough power and is fuel efficient. Not too expensive to buy.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Katherine
Katherineasked
i30

I have had my basic i30 hatch for a month. I know there are alarms connected so some features e.g. lane assist. However I have no idea what alarm belongs to what feature. I have worked out a couple but the rest of the beeps and pings are a mystery. I don't see any messages flash - besides the start up lights on the dash don't last for 3 seconds so I can barely read them anyway. Is there a way of finding out one alarm from another?

1 answer
Rick
Rick
Alan M
Alan Masked
i30 PD Hatchback 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi N Line Premium (2017-2022)

Has anyone done an ECU/Air intake/Throttle response unit upgrade and if so what products? Thanks

1 answer
verheijen
verheijen
jw09
jw09asked
i30

Hi Fellow i30 owners I am struggling to understand why my 2013 i30 diesel hatch is using more fuel than the 2013 Tourer I had. It was unfortunate that my Tourer had been stolen and subsequently written off. I was so impressed with the fuel consumption ( 5.5/l/100klm = 750 - 900 per tank) I sought out another i30 from that year only to be gravely disappointed getting 7.1 - 8.8L/100klm = 450 - 650km per tank can anyone shed light on this issue and anyway it can be rectified

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 23 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390.00$27,790.00$34,990.00
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4FJ
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200150kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 23 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.