??!
15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 329 reviews

Reviews

4.2

329 reviews
5
(196)
4
(70)
3
(25)
2
(15)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (39)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (41)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (38)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (37)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (40)
  • Handling
    4.5 (37)
  • Braking
    4.6 (40)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (38)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (38)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (38)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (41)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (41)
  • Features
    4.4 (41)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (42)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
brizzyguy2000

brizzyguy2000South East Queensland, QLD

As good as a mercedes.

published

I bought a 2018 2Litre premium and I love it. I came out of a 1994 Falcon which didn't have all the bells and whistles my i30 has. I love all the safety features.....Although I don't use my sunroof and hot and cold seats very much, it is nice to know they are there. The other day I wasn't paying as much attention as I should and alarms went off to tell me I was gaining on the car in front of me too fast!! I also love the adaptive cruise control......it slows and speeds up by itself.
My friend bought a mercedes 250 and is totally jealous as he paid twice as much for much the same features.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vishal

VishalGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ricci

RicciSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Death Trap WARNINING!!

published

Purchased in January 2011 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gavman

GavmanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Great car for the money and plenty of kit!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at John Hughes Car Sales for A$21,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Demetris K.

Demetris K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car

published

I use this car for work. It has a kick and good motor.
I drive it every day. Its due for service soon, but seems prefect and can not complain. Very good car

Purchased in January 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
wisernow

wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Reliable with a few faults.

published

Brought the i 30 CW in 2012. No problems so far. It is a diesel so has adequate torque to move the car. Good build quality and finish. No major repairs apart from servicing and replacement of brake pads and an engine mounting. However the drivers seat is not the best design and haven't been able to find the ideal position to suit me. Interior gets very hot even in slightly warm weather as the tinting is not the best. Otherwise no complaints. Reliable and robust.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lara

LaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

The design is nice but it's not a robust car

published

I liked the design and features, however the car is very tinny any minor impact results in a big damage. I find the quality of steel is not the same as in German or even most Japanese cars.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 39 reviews

Bumpy ride

published

I wasn’t impressed with this car as the ride was very bumpy. Granted, our roads aren’t the best in Australia but with the suspension on this car I felt every bump in the road.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Year2019
Design
Comfort
See all answers
Sj W.

Sj W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great little car

published

This car is the perfect run around car. I don't recommend for families at all. It is quite small trying to get babies in and out, you end up hurting your back.

Smooth driving. Perfect for learner or first cars.

Purchased in February 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for A$12,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zoe D.

Zoe D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • i30
  • Verified purchase

So happy I went with Hyundai i30

published

This was my first brand new car! I love it
Everyone comments on it
Its amazing value for money and quality!!
I cant believe how big the boot is for a smaller car and its looks are amazing since they updated the model!
Im so happy with it and love driving it!

Purchased in March 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Nice car until it breaks down

published

The car itself is fine when it works. Nice to drive and great arrange of features.

However, our Hyundai SR has been horribly unreliable in its first year. Car has already broken down twice and sits in the dealership today. Worst of all Hyundai Customer Care is shocking. They deflect all issues to the dealer and all repersentatives I've spoken to are rude.

Don't make the mistake of thinking Hyundai are now world beaters. They still seem to sell unreliable cars with a poor quality of service.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
wannabeepro

wannabeeproSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 1 like

Would I buy a HYUNDAI i30 again? The answer is NO!!!!!

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Hyundai Dealers for A$26,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ibfragalot

ibfragalotVictoria

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

i30 N Performance - WOW.

published

Incredible car.
+ Over 200kw hot hatch for just 42k on the road
+ Drives like a regular i30 when commuting, then hit N mode, and ___WHAM!!!!____ it just LAUNCHES.
+ Fixed price service for life of car (relatively cheap)
+ Great quality interior
+ Has been reliable so far (12k)
+ Economical, even when sticking the boot in occasionally
+ Kids love it. Perhaps a little too much!
+ Does'nt "stand out", a definite sleeper.
- Did have a wiring issue early on, seatbelt reminder kept going 'bing bing' when I hit a bump, drove me crazy, but Hyundai service team fixed it after 3 short visits (all planned as they worked through simple to more complex troubleshooting processes, which was understandable)

Purchased in April 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for A$40,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 24 reviews

Smooth driving...

published

It has a spacious boot load capacity and the features are very useful and it’s recommended for a family who loves travelling even in long trips carrying a lot of baggage.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

The Europe factor without the Euro poverty, my initial impressions.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
redly

redlyCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST CAR YET

published

Value for money Good warranty Great on fuel Good resale value and Just a totally great family car I have had mine since 2010 and its the family car we use daily

Purchased in January 2010 for A$24,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Linda

LindaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car

published

Love our baby it's our 3rd i30 and there will probably be a 4th. Awesome car never had a problem. The interior is roomy and comfortable. The exterior is gorgeous and it's so easy to drive!!!

Purchased in August 2018 at Norris Motor Group .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
red s.

red s.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Comfort all around!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for A$24,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MrsBuckley5

MrsBuckley5Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Love my i30!

published

I purchased the car in 2013. I was concerned about a smaller car after having had a Magna sedan and a Ford wagon (work car). I need not have worried. It is the best car I have ever had. I love it. It is so roomy, front and especially in the back for passengers' legs. I do short, medium and long trips and it has never let me down. The car is serviced yearly. I drive it most days. It is as good as if I had brought it yesterday. Not sure that today's car would match this one! Plenty of boot room. Great fuel economy - 9.5/100KM. Would recommend this car, even for a second car.

Purchased in June 2013 at Nunawading Hyundai for A$29,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Shanelle Lawrence

Shanelle LawrenceSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Not a single issue. I love my car!

published

I purchased my Hyundai i30 GD Series II back in 2016 and I haven't had a single issue since.
It still runs like it is brand new! The customer service I received from Hyundai when buying my car was amazing and I am so glad I chose this car.

I have always kept my services regular and not once have I had any problems. The internal sound recording system is my favorite part!! I can record any songs I love on the radio or my phone and listen to them later.

Purchased in January 2016 at Sinclair Hyundai Penrith for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

Patricia P.

Patricia P.asked

i30 PD 2.0L Petrol GDi (2017-2020)

Hi, does anyone know where in the navigation settings I can turn off the “you are exceeding the speed limit” voice. Very loud and distracting and happens when we go from 99 to 100.
Many thanks :)

No answers
Ray W.

Ray W.asked

i30 PD (2017-2020)

We bought a 2019 I30 auto petrol model , it has a surging problem whilst driving. Has anybody have this problem

1 answer
Patricia P.
Patricia P.

We had a problem with our 2011 model delaying when accelerating and then taking off (surging) was going to cost us about 4 grand to fix as it was out of warranty. Suggest to make a note of when it happens and let Hyundai servicing know so it is on record if it becomes more of an issue. Can’t remember what the actual problem was as we traded it in.

Carol Hall

Carol Hallasked

i30 GD (2012-2016)

The AUX, iPod USB on multimedia GD-02 have disappeared from screen so cannot use iPod in car. Did get an error msg but disappeared before I could write it down.
How do you fix this

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.