35 photos
Kia Cerato

Kia Cerato

TD, LD, YD, BD
4.1 from 266 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (57)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (55)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (54)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (56)
  • Braking
    4.6 (54)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (53)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (50)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (53)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (56)
  • Handling
    4.5 (55)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (55)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (55)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (55)
  • Features
    4.5 (55)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

terrible auto transmission

published

this car is brand new and has less than 1000 klms.my wife has complained to me about the transmission since she picked it up.i told her she has to get used to it..finally i drove it and it is awful to drive,so took it back to gateway kia and the quality control fellow by the name of [Name Removed] took it for a run and said it was perfectly normal..i told him if this transmission is normal KIA are in for big trouble (as far a future sales are concerned)..we also own a 2009 kia cerato bought new and have had no issues at all with this car.

Purchased in May 2021 at Gateway Motor Group for $27,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BGK
BGKSouth East Queensland, QLD

This vehicle ticks every box !

published

I have been a car enthusiast for 50+ years and at various times have owned most brands available & driven many types and models. 10 years ago I would have laughed if someone had said I would own a Kia. Not today. I am very impressed with every aspect of my Cerato Hatch ( safety pack ) and the warranty is a bonus. I'm sold on Kia.

Purchased in July 2020 for $18,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
R_macca
R_maccaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Car but Buyer beware of the Turbo version when starting the vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Cerato compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James H.
James H.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST VALUE FOR MONEY!

published

I have had this car for 3 years and it still looks amazing! I love it! It's super comfortable and has amazing features for the price. In its range its the best.... hands down.

Purchased in July 2018 at Peter Warren Automotive for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joseph C.
Joseph C.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

7 year warranty is fake

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Kia Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
trevor t.
trevor t.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Just perfect

published

My cerato gt is brilliant.
Has all the necessary safety features drives beautifully, particularly on the open road. So many features, a joy to drive. Great
powerful acceleration, perfect smooth gear change in the auto transmission. What more, this is a wonderful machine. The interior is sporty & finish is great, very high tech materials. Love my Cerato GT.

Purchased for $31,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Big T
Big TMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value, adaptive cruise not so great

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Kia Dealers for $22,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Kapitoshka
KapitoshkaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 50 reviews
  • 84 likes

Great, but not perfect pocket rocket of the car

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Kia Dealers for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Brett M.
Brett M.
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hard to find better value for money!

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Cerato compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angie M.
Angie M.Northeast, VIC

Great looking car lots of features

published

Love the look sound n safety features of the car
Though have issues with sensors that don’t pick up items when reversing
Very comfortable roomy car with good speed pick up

Purchased in September 2020 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Much better than I expected !

published

daily driver , 142k since I got it as new back in August 2018 ( MY19 - a current model ) , regular servicing , no issues so far even breaks have 60% to go.

manual + 2.0L engine is a good combination , I do not feel it is underperforming on highways .

6.3L per 100km in average , 91 RON

Apple Play connection & large info screen are good but info system reboots itself sometimes while driving , may be once a month or every 5k - it takes around 10 sec to reboot - a minor issue actually .

It is easy to lock car keys in the boot as opening boot and doors buttons are not synchronised .

There is no a second row aircon - it could be a problem for some .

Purchased in August 2018 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
cah
cah
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Goes well and good on fuel

published

Reliable little car thats good on fuel yet still zippy. Highway driving will get you about 5.5L/100km and on average in the city it sits around 7-9L/100km very comfortable and can be fun to drive. the internals are nice and modern. slightly cheap build quality but you would expect that from a cheaper car.

Purchased in October 2016 at Kia Dealers for $19,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tim
TimSydney, NSW

Packed with features, great car

published

Had this as a long term rental. Shocked at how good it was. Solid feel. Lane Keep Assist is literally a life saver on long drives. Large for a small hatch. Punchy smooth engine. Great ride good balance between comfort and handling can really tell it's been tuned for Aussie roads. A great small hatch much better than Corolla which is soulless and heavy and dead in comparison.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Winnie
WinnieSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Beware of Servicing Costs. Price Gouging

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2019 for $33,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
niko87
niko87Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 98 reviews
  • 48 likes

Better than a (2018) Mazda 3

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Cerato compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Wade B.
Wade B.asked
Cerato

Good day I have an eps error on my 2010 cerato when I connect a device to check where the error is it can't find any errors and Idea how to turn the eps error off

No answers
PETE
PETEasked
Cerato

Anyone have auto transmission problems on a 2020 cerato, especially when its cold, ours holds in gear way too long before changing especially up hills.

No answers
Ian
Ianasked
BD (Sedan) (2018-2021)

Anyone know what size the fuses are in the cabin fusebox. TIA.

No answers
See all Kia Cerato questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Cerato

Details

Compare all 26 Kia Cerato
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $31,990$19,990$21,490$23,690
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.8 L/100km7.6 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power150kW @ 6000rpm112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 26 Kia Cerato

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.