?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 139 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (16)
  • Braking
    4.4 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (12)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (15)
  • Handling
    4.3 (14)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (13)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (13)
  • Features
    3.8 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Peter S

Peter SAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Car could be so good with a few tweaks

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CC RIDER

CC RIDERSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t buy this car

published

The car was running fine for the first 2 months. This was purchased new in October 2020. The engine overheats when air con is on. Apple car play always cuts out. It’s been towed to Kia twice in a month. Now the car over revs on take off before it hits its gear and also will not reverse. Got towed to Kia again, been there for 3 days without resolution so far. I will never buy a Kia again. As a contractor I am losing income everyday I’m not on the road and this will eventually cost me more than what the car is worth. I will be exercising my rights for a full refund or a brand new car. Unacceptable for a new vehicle.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Benson

John BensonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I want my money back

published

Nicely packaged little car, big on features.
One of the selling points of this car was the wireless apple car play, the problem is that it does not work. Brand new out of the factory, on the way home from the dealer and it failed. The only feature of the infotainment system that works regularly is the radio.
Then there is the cruise control, works most of the time, but randomly it will not turn on, you just have to wait till your next drive for cruise control.
Another feature is the lane keeping assist, sometimes this works perfectly, other times it is a fight. It will try its hardest to steer you out of your lane! The irony is that if you let it, the lane alert will sound, warning you of lane departure :(

Purchased in September 2020 at Kia Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard

RichardGreat Southern, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Engine misfire and labouring solved. Free

published

Appears many comments on these cars missing (misfire, running rough).

Commonly it’s the coil pack, which gets replaced solving the problem. Expensive though.

I just found that a small amount of engine oil can leak from the rocker cover gasket and get on the side of the coil pack, and penetrate the rubber boot. This causes a shorting, arcing of the spark.

Clean off the oil, remove the lower boot from the coil and clean that too. Also clean deep inside the chamber leading to the spark plus, with a rag.

My engine misfire was completely solved

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anto

AntoBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic little car

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for $18,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KT lee

KT lee

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Compact cute car!

published

I bought this as my first new car. It drives well and I can park it in the tightest spots! The only issue is that the windscreen wipers don’t cover the whole screen!

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Miss Honest

Miss Honest

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hire car - sad when my car was repaired and I had to return it!

published

Wasn't expecting much when I picked up the Rio as a hire car while mine was being repaired. Very pleasantly surprised. The turning circle was impressive, it was quick off the mark and was quite gutsy for such a small engine. Good manual gearbox. Interior was simple but functional, decent air con and radio, reasonable storage space and legroom. Excellent fuel economy. If I was ever going to buy a small car again, it would be a Rio.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Madeleine Cahill

Madeleine CahillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

Easy to drive, Apple car play is simply the best, so user friendly. Easy to make calls when driving, use the maps, listen to podcasts etc. Only downside is the car doesn't have a lot of go. Great for zipping around metro areas, not that great going up hill or on the road.

Purchased in August 2019 at Kia Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everyday car

published

Good for everyday use and long smooth road driving. Fuel efficient running to a vacation trip but with its ground clearance, load capacity should be lesser than the limit to run normally.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MrSquigglesPencil

MrSquigglesPencilFar North Queensland, QLD

Good until repairs needed

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Underpowered piece of crap

published

Got it as a loan car when my car is due for a new airbag. The automatic one is a piece of crap you need to use manual mode if you want better pickup on hill. The fuel consumption is terrible as well. I would say at least Toyota Echo and Daihatsu Sirion are better than that.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
niloc79

niloc79South Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Becoming annoying

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nadine D.

Nadine D.Perth, WA

I love my little car BUT

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Edwina H.

Edwina H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

great first car

published

could not of asked for a better first car. she stuck by me through thick and thin, I definitely did not treat her right, typical female andeverything. not sure how I managed not to blow the engine up. came close, twice. just wish I had been as kind to her as she with me, as I could not afford the inevitable surgery she needed from lack of service and cheap dodgey repair work

Purchased in June 2011 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst Car ever!

published

in 4 years and just 35000km was replaced steering rack, steering Coolum, steering motor, steering wheel, battery, suspension for the trunk, dash board was loose 3 times, ODO replaced.
Just to note I bought the SI so a very expensive version. Please do not Buy Kia!

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

Sarah

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing little car

published

Bought my Kia brand new and the features that I got with the car make it one of the most affordable small cars on the market with the most features. Only 4 speed with auto so can get a little slow at times, but overall a smooth and quiet drive with lots of comfort

Purchased in March 2019 at valley motor group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
OldManEmu

OldManEmu

  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Little Car runs on the smell of an oily rag

published

Purchased in February 2009 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnny

JohnnyHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good little car minor problems but good

published

I bought this to save some money on petrol... think it was about 17k we had it almost 4 years and it was always serviced on time alway cleaned and polished... it was kept absolutely mint....
decided to sell it and get a bigger car (not Kia) one yard didn’t even want it as a trade on a 40k car... so while they are a good little car there is NO resale value for them, same year Corolla holds it value far better...

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
free soul

free soulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be nice if it didn't conk out from time to time

published

I like the Rio, it is light on fuel, drives smoothly etc.
The only problem with mine is that sometimes stop dead, engine conks out and refuses to restart for 10 or more
minutes. It would be OK if it was a simple as taking it to the mechanic and getting them to read the engine diagnostics, but no, no engine light, no diagnostics. So it's just a matter of replace this, replace that. Is it the fuel pump, is it the immobiliser, is it the crank shaft sensor? Who knows, but spend lots of money getting the mechanic to change each and everything it might be.
So yeah, good car, but not happy with the lack of diagnostics for what is clearly a significant issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
karizma

karizmasydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Wont buy Kia again.

published

Kias seem like an ok car but unfortunately they do not last. Once youve done about 100,000km everything starts to go wrong. Air con and windows are first to go then you're up for couple of grand repairs at least every 6 months. Better off getting a japanese car. They last a bit longer.

BodyHatch
BadgeNA
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
Michael G.

Michael G.asked

Rio

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

3 answers
Jeremy W
Jeremy W

I'll take it back that shouldn't be happening that young there a 7 year warranty

Michael G.
Michael G.

I have it booked in again this week. Fingers crossed they can fix it.

Michael G.
Michael G.

Took my car back today. They finally found the vibration in the driver side vanity mirror in the sun visor. They are ordering a new sun visor for me. I am very greatful because it was driving me insane.

See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.