??!
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 132 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(57)
(37)
(20)
(10)
(8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (10)
  • Handling
    4.1 (8)
  • Braking
    4.2 (10)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (8)
  • Features
    4.3 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (8)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (9)


Madeleine Cahill

Madeleine CahillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

Easy to drive, Apple car play is simply the best, so user friendly. Easy to make calls when driving, use the maps, listen to podcasts etc. Only downside is the car doesn't have a lot of go. Great for zipping around metro areas, not that great going up hill or on the road.

Purchased in August 2019 at Kia Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews

Everyday car

published

Good for everyday use and long smooth road driving. Fuel efficient running to a vacation trip but with its ground clearance, load capacity should be lesser than the limit to run normally.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers

MrSquigglesPencil

MrSquigglesPencilFar North Queensland, QLD

Good until repairs needed

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Underpowered piece of crap

published

Got it as a loan car when my car is due for a new airbag. The automatic one is a piece of crap you need to use manual mode if you want better pickup on hill. The fuel consumption is terrible as well. I would say at least Toyota Echo and Daihatsu Sirion are better than that.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

niloc79

niloc79South Australia

  • 11 reviews

Becoming annoying

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Nadine D.

Nadine D.Perth, WA

I love my little car BUT

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Edwina H.

Edwina H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

great first car

published

could not of asked for a better first car. she stuck by me through thick and thin, I definitely did not treat her right, typical female andeverything. not sure how I managed not to blow the engine up. came close, twice. just wish I had been as kind to her as she with me, as I could not afford the inevitable surgery she needed from lack of service and cheap dodgey repair work

Purchased in June 2011 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Worst Car ever!

published

in 4 years and just 35000km was replaced steering rack, steering Coolum, steering motor, steering wheel, battery, suspension for the trunk, dash board was loose 3 times, ODO replaced.
Just to note I bought the SI so a very expensive version. Please do not Buy Kia!

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers

Sarah

Sarah

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing little car

published

Bought my Kia brand new and the features that I got with the car make it one of the most affordable small cars on the market with the most features. Only 4 speed with auto so can get a little slow at times, but overall a smooth and quiet drive with lots of comfort

Purchased in March 2019 at valley motor group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
OldManEmu

OldManEmu

  • 15 reviews

Great Little Car runs on the smell of an oily rag

published

Purchased in February 2009 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Johnny

JohnnyHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good little car minor problems but good

published

I bought this to save some money on petrol... think it was about 17k we had it almost 4 years and it was always serviced on time alway cleaned and polished... it was kept absolutely mint....
decided to sell it and get a bigger car (not Kia) one yard didn’t even want it as a trade on a 40k car... so while they are a good little car there is NO resale value for them, same year Corolla holds it value far better...

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

free soul

free soulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be nice if it didn't conk out from time to time

published

I like the Rio, it is light on fuel, drives smoothly etc.
The only problem with mine is that sometimes stop dead, engine conks out and refuses to restart for 10 or more
minutes. It would be OK if it was a simple as taking it to the mechanic and getting them to read the engine diagnostics, but no, no engine light, no diagnostics. So it's just a matter of replace this, replace that. Is it the fuel pump, is it the immobiliser, is it the crank shaft sensor? Who knows, but spend lots of money getting the mechanic to change each and everything it might be.
So yeah, good car, but not happy with the lack of diagnostics for what is clearly a significant issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018

karizma

karizmasydney

  • 8 reviews

Wont buy Kia again.

published

Kias seem like an ok car but unfortunately they do not last. Once youve done about 100,000km everything starts to go wrong. Air con and windows are first to go then you're up for couple of grand repairs at least every 6 months. Better off getting a japanese car. They last a bit longer.

BodyHatch
BadgeNA
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006

Sayyed

SayyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very good car

published

I am driving my kia 2009 from last 2 n half years as a Uber 6 days a week 12 hours a day with no problem at all just oil change break pads and tyres. Good on fuel. One tank gives me 500 kms. For engine using penrite 5w 40 . And that’s it

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Ali Baba

Ali BabaMelbourne

Good first car

published

I bought a second hand Kia Rio JB Sedan from a private seller when I was a university student and kept it for about 4 years, mainly for commuting to and from work. It is a good car to buy if it's your first car as it's economical to run and has enough space for adults at the back and a large enough boot.

The downsides of this particular car was that the paint started to wear out even though it was garaged every night and the seats are not that comfortable for long drives. Eventually, I upgraded to a bigger, better car.

BodySedan
BadgeJB
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Paola

PaolaMelbourne

  • 10 reviews

Love This Hatchback Car

published

The most compact and reliable car I ever had. I got brand new my car from the dealership and since then I haven't had any issue. Just minor changes as any other car. I used my car on a daily bases. Very economic in petrol, wear works perfectly. Space and comfort is great. I have used many time to make my move outs and surprise everything fits (except the mattress and bed frame) Highly recommended model and brand!

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012

Anna G

Anna GMackay

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Linda

LindaBrisbane

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great to drive

published

Our Kia Rio is a great sized car for us. We are able to use it as and when we like, small enough to park but large enough to take friends or family with us. Cheap to run and we love being able to play our music via the radio as well as having the ability of Bluetooth.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Julie

JulieMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Just Perfect

published

Great and economic car. It served me when i was single and after having family. Never stopped just run smooth. Even its ideal for long trips never let u down. Its a daily car that u can trust driving it. I do a regular service and never had any problems that cost u alot of money. Just regular service

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Rose

RoseGeelong

  • 5 reviews

Great little Car

published

The Kia Rio is a great little car! I use my to drive to and from work and run errands around town, it’s such a smooth drive and really enjoyable to drive. I use my car every day and only have to fill my tank fortnightly! If you’re looking for a cheap car to fill this is the car for you. Only needs servicing every 10,000ks and never have I experienced any issues

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Pablo

Pabloasked

2013 SLS 6sd auto. What is the maximum size I can fit to my 17in rims. I am thinking 215/50/R17 to lessen road noise and smooth out the ride.

2 answers
Patrick
Patrick

Hi
Have you had any luck mate?

Pablo
Pablo

after warnings about illegal tyre sizes & possible problems with electronics ABS ESC etc I have stayed with the same size. I have fitted 205/45R17 88Y FEDERAL ST1 on DEC 10th. Much more quiet but still a little bumpy. So far so good.


Tony N.

Tony N.asked

Can I use a bkr5ek spark plug in my 2006kia rio

No answers

Jim

Jimasked

Hi all,

I have a 2009 Kia Rio. Only got 70,000 km on the clock. recently, have found if the car is cold (I.e. been sitting for a day or two without being driven), when it is switched on, it is really, really hard to get into gear - I.e you have to shove it into gear with some force, and at times it makes grinding noises to go with it. Once you get out on the road and drive for a couple of minutes though, it all goes away and the car is fine.

Anyone got some suggestions as to what the problem may be, before I send a mechanic on a wild goose chase?

Cheers
Jim

2 answers
Johnny
Johnny

Needs the clutch adjusted, or the cable has stretched abit...

Jim
Jim

Thanks Johnny, much appreciated. Not sure whether you know, but can you explain why it only occurs when the car is cold but is ok once it warms up? We wondered whether there might be a sensor or something playing up, but happy to take your advice on it so that we can get them looking in the right spot at the mechanics :)


Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.