23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kia? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (17)
  • Braking
    4.4 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (16)
  • Handling
    4.2 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (14)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (14)
  • Features
    3.8 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Engine Pinging on a brand New 2020 car

published

Bought a new KIA Rio bought in September 2020 and the engine is pinging. I have read how others have the same problem and KIA won't or can't do anything about it, so it could be a factory problem. Please reach out we need to do something!

Purchased in September 2020 for $21,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peter S
Peter SAdelaide
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Car could be so good with a few tweaks

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
CC RIDER
CC RIDERSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t buy this car

published

The car was running fine for the first 2 months. This was purchased new in October 2020. The engine overheats when air con is on. Apple car play always cuts out. It’s been towed to Kia twice in a month. Now the car over revs on take off before it hits its gear and also will not reverse. Got towed to Kia again, been there for 3 days without resolution so far. I will never buy a Kia again. As a contractor I am losing income everyday I’m not on the road and this will eventually cost me more than what the car is worth. I will be exercising my rights for a full refund or a brand new car. Unacceptable for a new vehicle.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Benson
John BensonPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

I want my money back

published

Nicely packaged little car, big on features.
One of the selling points of this car was the wireless apple car play, the problem is that it does not work. Brand new out of the factory, on the way home from the dealer and it failed. The only feature of the infotainment system that works regularly is the radio.
Then there is the cruise control, works most of the time, but randomly it will not turn on, you just have to wait till your next drive for cruise control.
Another feature is the lane keeping assist, sometimes this works perfectly, other times it is a fight. It will try its hardest to steer you out of your lane! The irony is that if you let it, the lane alert will sound, warning you of lane departure :(

Purchased in September 2020 at Kia Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John Benson
John Benson

It is now July 2021 and the fault still remains, no news from Kia.
The dealer and Kia Australia no longer answer my emails.
I hate driving this car!

Richard
RichardGreat Southern, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Engine misfire and labouring solved. Free

published

Appears many comments on these cars missing (misfire, running rough).

Commonly it’s the coil pack, which gets replaced solving the problem. Expensive though.

I just found that a small amount of engine oil can leak from the rocker cover gasket and get on the side of the coil pack, and penetrate the rubber boot. This causes a shorting, arcing of the spark.

Clean off the oil, remove the lower boot from the coil and clean that too. Also clean deep inside the chamber leading to the spark plus, with a rag.

My engine misfire was completely solved

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Anto
AntoBrisbane
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic little car

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for $18,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
KT lee
KT lee
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Compact cute car!

published

I bought this as my first new car. It drives well and I can park it in the tightest spots! The only issue is that the windscreen wipers don’t cover the whole screen!

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Miss Honest
Miss Honest
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hire car - sad when my car was repaired and I had to return it!

published

Wasn't expecting much when I picked up the Rio as a hire car while mine was being repaired. Very pleasantly surprised. The turning circle was impressive, it was quick off the mark and was quite gutsy for such a small engine. Good manual gearbox. Interior was simple but functional, decent air con and radio, reasonable storage space and legroom. Excellent fuel economy. If I was ever going to buy a small car again, it would be a Rio.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Madeleine Cahill
Madeleine CahillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

Easy to drive, Apple car play is simply the best, so user friendly. Easy to make calls when driving, use the maps, listen to podcasts etc. Only downside is the car doesn't have a lot of go. Great for zipping around metro areas, not that great going up hill or on the road.

Purchased in August 2019 at Kia Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin
VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 30 reviews
  • 6 likes

Everyday car

published

Good for everyday use and long smooth road driving. Fuel efficient running to a vacation trip but with its ground clearance, load capacity should be lesser than the limit to run normally.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
MrSquigglesPencil
MrSquigglesPencilFar North Queensland, QLD

Good until repairs needed

published
Build Quality
Value for Money

Underpowered piece of crap

published

Got it as a loan car when my car is due for a new airbag. The automatic one is a piece of crap you need to use manual mode if you want better pickup on hill. The fuel consumption is terrible as well. I would say at least Toyota Echo and Daihatsu Sirion are better than that.

Build Quality
Value for Money
niloc79
niloc79South Australia
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Becoming annoying

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nadine D.
Nadine D.Perth, WA

I love my little car BUT

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Edwina H.
Edwina H.
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

great first car

published

could not of asked for a better first car. she stuck by me through thick and thin, I definitely did not treat her right, typical female andeverything. not sure how I managed not to blow the engine up. came close, twice. just wish I had been as kind to her as she with me, as I could not afford the inevitable surgery she needed from lack of service and cheap dodgey repair work

Purchased in June 2011 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper
Not Happy Camperasked
Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

7 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

Not Happy Camper
Not Happy Camper

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn
Robynasked
Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg
Mikeygasked
YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.