18 photos
Mazda 2

Mazda 2

DE, DY, DJ, DL (See All)
4.3 from 181 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mazda? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
  • Braking
    4.5 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (20)
  • Handling
    4.5 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (20)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (20)
  • Features
    4.1 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Tom
Tomperth
  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

The daggy aesthetic keeps prices low

published

Purchased in February 2022 for $4,400.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eli
EliRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Will not buy a Mazda again

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gio R
Gio RSouth West, WA
  • 7 reviews

Overall Great Car

published

Purchased in May 2021 at Mazda Dealers for $25.45.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
harleydhoneybone
harleydhoneyboneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Perfect little car

published

I’ve always had larger commodores so making the switch to a little hatch was a big change but I haven’t regretted it one bit.
I brought a used ‘07 DE series 1 Genki early 2019 for 4200 with 130k on the clock.
For a 14 year old car she still goes great! The fuel consumptions amazing, nippy and easy to park, good acceleration, nice smooth gear changes.

The suspension is a little stiff and there’s a bit of road noise which you can definitely hear even more when the back seats are folded down but other then that, I honestly can’t point out any other flaws.
A great safe little car :)

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josephine73
Josephine73Western Australia
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Should have stuck with Toyota

published

Car purchased brand new from a dealer in 2015. Has driven beautifully, quite spacious, roomy enough for the family. Good fuel economy. Great car until last week when out of nowhere, the Variable Valve Timer Actuator died. No power to drive above 60km/hr and definitely undriveable. Car has always been serviced by Mazda and just recently serviced a month ago. Mazda will not rectify this new problem, even though the component should last the life of the car. This appears to be a common problem with Mazdas and with Mazda refusing to fix the issue - look on the AAC website. So $3500 out of pocket even though it's only just under 6 years old. I should have bought another Toyota. No problems with that one in 22 years.

Purchased in December 2014 for $23,000.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Testing386
Testing386Sydney, NSW
  • 26 reviews
  • 9 likes

Super practical hatch!

published

This is the second Mazda 2 hatch we have owned, and our fourth Mazda.

Decided on the GT after experiencing the benefits of the Vision package in our Mazda 3.
Car is a delight to drive and park.

Surprising amount of storage with the second row folded down. I regularly fit a lawn mower and gardening gear when I have to tend my parents' home. Load area is short though - our line trimmer handle sticks out over the centre console.

The only disappointment is that actual fuel consumption has not matched the claimed figure. We are hoping this will improve as the engine loosens up with more kilometers.
Five year warranty and five year roadside assist make Mazda a safe purchase.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jacqui
JacquiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it

published

I love my Mazda. She is zippy, low maintenance and economical. I have had her nearly four years, get her serviced yearly and never any issues. Fantastic purchase, I will get another. Highly recommended.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Deo Balraj
Deo BalrajPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 Automatic 2019

published

This vehicle is used mainly to travel to the University on daily basis and for local run arounds. This vehicle is very light on fuel and is only 6 months old and the interior still smells like a new vechile. It is good value for money and has 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $19,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

AUGUSTO R.
AUGUSTO R.
  • 3 reviews

The perfect small car

published

You can feel and see the materials quality, the standard features for the price are more than what I expected. Very cheap in petrol, definitely I would recommend this car.

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gr3y
gr3yVictoria
  • 6 reviews

good but side mirrors have terrible BLIND SPOT

published

terrible blindspot on both side mirrors. maybe im just use to my ford fiesta, but with this car, i have to do a full head to body check. also had an odour coming from airconditioning. mazda applied some lemonade freshner during service, but odour came back.
otherwise, gps dashboard is good, controls good. steering wheel is very light. doors shut quietly.
more fuel efficient than my ford fiesta, brakes a bit more sensitive though.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Neomal Perera
Neomal Perera
  • 2 reviews

Gem of a car

published

Purchased in October 2013 for $9,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Linda
LindaSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A lemon

published

Have purchased a Mazda 2 only one year old. I have broken down 3 times in 3 weeks. Have taken it to Stanmore dealership and it broke down a week later. Took it to Artarmon dealership had it serviced and asked for them to fix the problem and it broke down 2 days later. I am currently on the side of the road waiting for a tow truck. This is beyond a joke.
Artarmon refused any assistance. Said it was my responsibility to get the car to them. I asked if they would provide me with a car and they refused. Asked if they would provide Towing no was the answer. It’s an automatic start. With sky active technology. I am 67 years old and purchased this car believing it was reliable. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED.

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda Artarmon .

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little car

published

Bought new ex-demo. Commute to work great on fuel although a little noisy and the speedo is over on the actual speed compared to the cruise control. Love the reverse sensors they’re a life saver! Comfy and zippy to drive and looks good. I have the dynamic blue colour and always getting compliments. Bluetooth is annoyingly slow and sometimes crap. Sometimes ding sounds from the passenger floor but apparently nothing wrong with it. Overall no major issues but only had it 2 months so far.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike G
Mike G
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

240,000 km and never had a spanner put on the engine.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2005 at Grand Prix Mazda for $17,999.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Davbarg
DavbargPeel, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Has proved to be a great buy

published

Had the car for 2 years now and could not be happier. Great mileage 6.1 k's per 100 k's average over the 2 years. Comfortable, nippy, great electronics voice activation for phone, navigation, music etc. Cannot say enough about this little beast it is trult phenomenal. Could not be happier.

Purchased in September 2017 at Mandurah Mazda.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

JALCAN
JALCANasked
2 DE (2007-2014)

How do I charge my iPhone on the Mazda2 2014

No answers
may
mayasked
2

why my dashboard light colour at night is red,is that normal with mazda 2 neo sport

No answers
ron
ronasked
2

there seems to be a vibration noise when pressing the gas peddle some times ,sounds like it could be coming from the exaust pipe or the muffler ?any one else had or have this problem thanks.

No answers
See all Mazda 2 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $21,140.00$23,140.00$24,150.00$22,150.00
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 44 L44 L44 L44 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.