?
? !
18 photos
Mazda 2

Mazda 2

DE, DY, DJ, DL
4.3 from 177 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (15)
  • Braking
    4.7 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (16)
  • Handling
    4.7 (16)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (16)
  • Features
    4.2 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Testing386

Testing386Sydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 9 likes

Super practical hatch!

published

This is the second Mazda 2 hatch we have owned, and our fourth Mazda.

Decided on the GT after experiencing the benefits of the Vision package in our Mazda 3.
Car is a delight to drive and park.

Surprising amount of storage with the second row folded down. I regularly fit a lawn mower and gardening gear when I have to tend my parents' home. Load area is short though - our line trimmer handle sticks out over the centre console.

The only disappointment is that actual fuel consumption has not matched the claimed figure. We are hoping this will improve as the engine loosens up with more kilometers.
Five year warranty and five year roadside assist make Mazda a safe purchase.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jacqui

JacquiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

I love my Mazda. She is zippy, low maintenance and economical. I have had her nearly four years, get her serviced yearly and never any issues. Fantastic purchase, I will get another. Highly recommended.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deo Balraj

Deo BalrajPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 Automatic 2019

published

This vehicle is used mainly to travel to the University on daily basis and for local run arounds. This vehicle is very light on fuel and is only 6 months old and the interior still smells like a new vechile. It is good value for money and has 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AUGUSTO R.

AUGUSTO R.

  • 3 reviews

The perfect small car

published

You can feel and see the materials quality, the standard features for the price are more than what I expected. Very cheap in petrol, definitely I would recommend this car.

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gr3y

gr3yVictoria

  • 6 reviews

good but side mirrors have terrible BLIND SPOT

published

terrible blindspot on both side mirrors. maybe im just use to my ford fiesta, but with this car, i have to do a full head to body check. also had an odour coming from airconditioning. mazda applied some lemonade freshner during service, but odour came back.
otherwise, gps dashboard is good, controls good. steering wheel is very light. doors shut quietly.
more fuel efficient than my ford fiesta, brakes a bit more sensitive though.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Neomal Perera

Neomal Perera

  • 2 reviews

Gem of a car

published

Purchased in October 2013 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

A lemon

published

Have purchased a Mazda 2 only one year old. I have broken down 3 times in 3 weeks. Have taken it to Stanmore dealership and it broke down a week later. Took it to Artarmon dealership had it serviced and asked for them to fix the problem and it broke down 2 days later. I am currently on the side of the road waiting for a tow truck. This is beyond a joke.
Artarmon refused any assistance. Said it was my responsibility to get the car to them. I asked if they would provide me with a car and they refused. Asked if they would provide Towing no was the answer. It’s an automatic start. With sky active technology. I am 67 years old and purchased this car believing it was reliable. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED.

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda Artarmon .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great little car

published

Bought new ex-demo. Commute to work great on fuel although a little noisy and the speedo is over on the actual speed compared to the cruise control. Love the reverse sensors they’re a life saver! Comfy and zippy to drive and looks good. I have the dynamic blue colour and always getting compliments. Bluetooth is annoyingly slow and sometimes crap. Sometimes ding sounds from the passenger floor but apparently nothing wrong with it. Overall no major issues but only had it 2 months so far.

Purchased in November 2019 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike G

Mike G

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

240,000 km and never had a spanner put on the engine.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2005 at Grand Prix Mazda for $17,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Davbarg

DavbargPeel, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Has proved to be a great buy

published

Had the car for 2 years now and could not be happier. Great mileage 6.1 k's per 100 k's average over the 2 years. Comfortable, nippy, great electronics voice activation for phone, navigation, music etc. Cannot say enough about this little beast it is trult phenomenal. Could not be happier.

Purchased in September 2017 at Mandurah Mazda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam U.

Sam U.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Not in the quality expected

published

Got one with just over 100k on the clock but having difficulties with power steering and seatbelt pre tention sensor. These kind of issues are not expected with a reputable japanese manufacturer and repair cost would be more than 2000$ atleast. Never buy Mazda again :( Going back for Toyota.

Purchased in August 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KayH

KayH

  • 2 reviews

This is a perfect car for me!

published

My life wouldn't be the same without it! I've had a Mazda 2 for almost 10 years now and if I was to replace it - it would also be another Mazda 2 but this time I would purchase a White one! It is easy to park, great to drive, and the steering is really well balanced - other makes that I tried before purchasing my Mazda 2 were very light in the steering that's why I chose a Mazda 2.
I use my car most days for family transport, visiting friends and family and getting to appointments.
I use my car depending on what I have on that week.
I have my car serviced by following the manual instructions also depending on whether I'm out of the country on holiday mostly every year or when it needs something to be looked at which is hardly ever.

Purchased in February 2010 at Mazda Dealers for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Neetng

John NeetngSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

ultra reliable

published

2003 model, 150,000km on clock - demo with 400k when bought, cost 16,000 with anti rust and tinting.
pro's- never failed, regular service every 10,000 till 100,000 then every 20,000 by Kmart after warrenty expiry. Service / replacements - tyres, 2 new battery, break pads, fluids; thats it :) would buy another mazda 2 in a heartbeat. highway top on trip to Vic from Qld - 140-160Kph. not a hickup. No squeeks or leaks. spares cheap as if needed from wreckers galore - runs on 91 [ per book ]. Cons- can't think of any.except the tinting on one back window is starting to peel but that's a third party install

Purchased in February 2003 at Grand Prix Mazda for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jane

janeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Automatic transmission fail.

published

I Bought Mazda 2 neo 2016 in April 2017 as demo car. The car done only 18000 Km and have major problem with transmission.3 weeks ago when I was reversing there was big noice under car. Took car straight to Mazda, was told transmission slipping. They reprogram on the computer transmission. After 2 weeks the same problem. now car can't be drive.Propably they must replace whole gearbox.Manufactures faulty gearbox. I lost trust in Mazda. I don't know if some Mazda 2 owners have similar problem ?

Purchased in April 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James Breen

James BreenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great car and could be even better for peanuts

published

We bought this Mazda 2 Neo model 2nd hand with 38000 on the clock, My mechanic said these cars are trouble free and l agree. A delight to drive,great seats and a stylish overall feel when driving. My only annoyances are are few dash rattles,crackles ( vibrating cable noises?) when driving on certain textured roads or bumps. The other annoyance is the lack of reverse camera in a 2016 built vehicle (bewildering when rear vision is so restrictive) l suppose it's my fault for not buying a more expensive model to get such a basic feature. The 12 mth service intervals are a big plus and the Mazda Brighton service dept are outstanding to deal with. This is my 2nd Mazda in 7 years and won't be my last.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James C.

James C.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

a good car

published

A very good reliable car but it is not fuel efficient and can be expensive to service if you service it through the dealer. However, I am still very happy with the car.

Purchased in February 2015.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G. Hix

G. HixHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

A good fit for a family car

published

As our first family car this is a pleasant purchase, the dealership was also very friendly. Lately everything I am buying has turned out great. My new iPhone, furniture from desired living and now this fantastic car which drives like a dream

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lyna

LynaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

Love my baby Mazda 2

published

Bought this baby brand new in 2010 at Mazda Dealer Edwardstown and I still love it. It's an economical little hatch that takes me to A to Z everyday, and has plenty of room to store groceries. I can fold down the chairs to give it more room when needed. Needless to say it's been reliable I haven't had any issues with it breaking down on the road.

Purchased in June 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeffro

Jeffro

  • 2 reviews

Good economical small car

published

We drive our little Mazda 2 everyday and have found it to be very easy to drive and fuel efficient.We have only owned this car for 4 months but it has been very reliable and fun to drive.It also has no problem carrying 4-5 people

Purchased in January 2019 at Melbourne's Cheapest Cars for $8.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AJB

AJBIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Mazda 2 Neo - I love my new Zoom Zoom!

published

After 6 months of using public transport my Husband finally bought me a car. Having owned a Mazda 2 previously I was keen to purchase another and was not disappointed. With added extra's now on the basic Neo model (rear parking sensors, wing mirror retract button and bluetooth) I was very impressed. Also managed to get floor mats thrown in at no extra cost. I bought the manual as it was cheaper.
I use daily for a 20 minute drive to/from work and running errands at weekends. No issues so far, I am very happy with my new car.

Purchased in March 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $15,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Steve B.

Steve B.asked

2 DY (2002-2007)

I have 2006 Mazda, have had it for years and been running smoothly but yesterday I felt like the car had a hiccup then the AT and engine lights on the dashboard came on. After a minute the AT light was gone but the engine light stayed the whole day. Can anyone please tell me what the issue is? Thank you.

No answers
Pam

Pamasked

2

Has anyone else had problems with their Mazda2 Neo 2016 a/c as mine has stopped working they told me it was the a/c clutch and would cost $2,500 to fix it? Have had the car since new.

No answers
Kylie

Kylieasked

2 DY (2002-2007)

Hi I have a blown head gasket and have a mate fixing it for me but hes made the mistake of not marking where the timing chain needs to be and now hes upto putting it all back together but doesn't know where it needs to line up? Can anyone help plz ??

No answers
See all Mazda 2 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $21,140$23,140$24,150$22,150
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 44 L44 L44 L44 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.