??!
35 photos
Mazda 3

Mazda 3

BM, BL, BK, etc...
4.2 from 490 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (75)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (73)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (68)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (71)
  • Braking
    4.3 (72)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (71)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (65)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (69)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (71)
  • Handling
    4.4 (70)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (72)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (73)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (71)
  • Features
    4.0 (70)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Grace D

Grace DGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

After sales pretty ordinary

published

Transporting my mother to and from doctors appointments and also shopping, very well looked after and low km for 42 month old car. Rubber on drivers side has began to split, was told because I constantly open and close the door, my sister also has the same model car was brought just before I brought my car and no problems. Mazda refuses to believe that it was faulty in the first place. Not even offered to charge me cost price. I will never have it serviced for the place where I brought it from nor will my sister. I will never buy a Mazda.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers

Airbag Malfunction

published

Bought my brand new car had it 2 weeks came up with airbag Malfunction return to dealer they have had my car for 2 months & still not fixed not happy

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2020
Design
Boot Size
See all answers
solo

soloSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 3 car computer

published

We bought a new Mazda 3 car and after 100000 kilometres the computer of the car need replacement.
I think some items of the car like the computer must last twice that. Paid about 40000 for the car I don't think is a good buy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David P.

David P.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Good car... can be great with a few upgrades.

published

I use the car for commuting. It is a fantastic highway cruiser. With the 18 inch wheels with dunlop tyres it is very loud on coarse chipped road (unbearable).. I stuck dynamat in the doors and boot and upgraded the speakers. This has made a big difference.

Purchased in June 2018 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cheyne H.

Cheyne H.South East Queensland, QLD

Gorgeous car

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Oldmac for A$32,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cameron

CameronMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 28 likes

U2 Said it best ... Lemon

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Peta

PetaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A car that does so well

published

I have taken a lot of car for my car and only twice has it stopped and required a new battery . Very minimal issues with the car.
1st the aircon vents I have had one come apart
2nd the cd player is having issues but only at 12 years of age
3rd the clip that hold the rear headrest in place has come away
4th the clear coat seal is coming away from around the rear panel windows and along the door strips . That is the only major issue and will cost me the value of the car to replace , but for a 12 year old car that has only just done 100,000km it is very good and I have no other issues

Purchased in July 2012 for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pas

PasSydney, NSW

Great run around

published

Purchased for A$7,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Katie M.

Katie M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I love this car and will upgrade to the same again

published

Purchased in March 2015 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
slowmo

slowmoSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Decent car with a case of form over function

published

Purchased in February 2020 for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nathan

Nathan

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loved this car. Great steering. Looks fab. Fussy dashboard, tight rear seat and "okay" for noise and comfort.

published

Purchased in January 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Paul B.

Paul B.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don't ever buy a MAZDA ABS brake units fail.$3300 for new unit

published

Our 2011 Mazda 3 went into Mazda for 80000 service at 500 dollars this included brake fluid flush. Not long afterwards the brake pedal became soft, took the car in early before 90000 service to get it looked at, after Wanneroo Mazda first said there is nothing wrong and on my insistance they did find something wrong and bleed the brakes again and brake pedal went back to normal. One and half day later the same problem returned and I took it back only to be told the ABS unit is faulty and needs to be replaced for 3300 dollars, searches on internet reveal this is a all to common problem. Do not buy a MAZDA.
Wish someone had told me this sooner.

Purchased in February 2011 at Mazda Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Stacey G.

Stacey G.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Problem car

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Paris

ParisSydney, NSW

Terrible Car

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Mazda Dealers for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
cookie

cookieSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don’t believe the hype, Mazda can do better.

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LachlanG

LachlanGPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great car

published

First brand new car I have ever bought and no regrets. Car drives brilliantly - preferred this model over turbo alternatives, considerably smoother and I know will go for miles. Has held its value very well as expected too. My only negative would be that it’s a little noisy when starting but you get used to it.
Had it for 70k kms now and hasn’t missed a beat.

Purchased in July 2017 at Mazda Dealers for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Carlee

Carlee

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

I loved this car!!!!

published

Words can not explain how much I loved this car, i bought it at 14thousand KMs and had it until 80k when I unfortunately rode it off this car looks and feels so good one the road with a 2.5 litre engine it picked up speed as quick as you can click your fingers it was very reliable and smart the petrol wasn't incredible usually 50-60 for a full tank and only lasting a week but I don't drive like a grandma. If I could drive this car again I would I loved her so so so much NOTE: this car saved my life, I crashed it at 100kms and hour and I came out basically untouched the car crumbled around me but by that happening I survived!

Purchased in October 2016 at Mazda for A$22.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Robbie_D

Robbie_DSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable, safe and great to drive but the road noise is unbearable

published

Purchased in June 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lachlan

LachlanSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good small car

published

Fuel efficient, easy of use, this car is so much fun to drive i love every minute of it!! Mazda are a good brand so i decided to try this car and was super impressed!

Purchased in May 2020 at Pickles Auctions for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
dom

domAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

Have had the car for a month, no issues to speak of. Amazing fuel efficiency, great for the city, good performance. Fun to drive with manual transmission.
Hatch has a lot of space inside, and can get a lot in the back. And looks good too.

Soul Red colour is great too.

iStop can be a bit annoying, however you can turn it off.
Map updates for built in navigation can be costly.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$14,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 25

Questions & Answers

PAUL I.

PAUL I.asked

3 BK (2004-2008)

WHAT TYPE OF FUEL SHOULD I USE

No answers
Lisa

Lisaasked

3 BL (2009-2013)

My daughter just brought 2012 Madza 3 and there is a gap in dash looks like it has expanding in the heat and the clips have come off. I have google it its been recalled in the US but nothing here in Australia.
As anyone else had this problem?

No answers
Alex H.

Alex H.asked

3 BL (2009-2013)

my automatic mazda keeps jumping to from normal gears to AT

1 answer
Scott
Scott

There's a common problem with the transmission control module (TCM) on Mazda 3's. It's likely to be the cause if your car is now a few years old. You can test this by using an OBD2 tester and reading the error code. If you are not familiar with this, then best take it to an auto electrician and get them to read the code for you. If you find an error then you can buy a new one (expensive), buy a 2nd hand one (hard to find, could end up with the same issue after a while), or get your TCM repaired (no one in AUS does this - but the US company listed below can do). The repair cost with postage for me was about $500AUD. Hope this helps.
www.shop.modulerepairpro.com

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 43 Mazda 3
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$28,629A$28,629A$30,380A$30,380
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors4444
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5.3 L/100km5.2 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 51 L51 L51 L51 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power114kW @ 6000rpm114kW @ 6000rpm114kW @ 6000rpm114kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019
Compare all 43 Mazda 3

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.