??!
35 photos
Mazda 3

Mazda 3

BM, BL, BK, etc...
4.2 from 479 reviews

Reviews

4.2

479 reviews
5
(247)
4
(152)
3
(40)
2
(17)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (66)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (64)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (60)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (63)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (63)
  • Handling
    4.4 (62)
  • Braking
    4.4 (63)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (62)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (58)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (63)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (64)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (64)
  • Features
    4.0 (63)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (63)
Previous
Next
Paul B.

Paul B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Don't ever buy a MAZDA ABS brake units fail.$3300 for new unit

published

Our 2011 Mazda 3 went into Mazda for 80000 service at 500 dollars this included brake fluid flush. Not long afterwards the brake pedal became soft, took the car in early before 90000 service to get it looked at, after Wanneroo Mazda first said there is nothing wrong and on my insistance they did find something wrong and bleed the brakes again and brake pedal went back to normal. One and half day later the same problem returned and I took it back only to be told the ABS unit is faulty and needs to be replaced for 3300 dollars, searches on internet reveal this is a all to common problem. Do not buy a MAZDA.
Wish someone had told me this sooner.

Purchased in February 2011 at Mazda Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stacey G.

Stacey G.

  • 3 reviews

Problem car

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paris

ParisSydney, NSW

Terrible Car

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Mazda Dealers for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cookie

cookieSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Don’t believe the hype, Mazda can do better.

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
LachlanG

LachlanGPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great car

published

First brand new car I have ever bought and no regrets. Car drives brilliantly - preferred this model over turbo alternatives, considerably smoother and I know will go for miles. Has held its value very well as expected too. My only negative would be that it’s a little noisy when starting but you get used to it.
Had it for 70k kms now and hasn’t missed a beat.

Purchased in July 2017 at Mazda Dealers for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Carlee

Carlee

  • 10 reviews

I loved this car!!!!

published

Words can not explain how much I loved this car, i bought it at 14thousand KMs and had it until 80k when I unfortunately rode it off this car looks and feels so good one the road with a 2.5 litre engine it picked up speed as quick as you can click your fingers it was very reliable and smart the petrol wasn't incredible usually 50-60 for a full tank and only lasting a week but I don't drive like a grandma. If I could drive this car again I would I loved her so so so much NOTE: this car saved my life, I crashed it at 100kms and hour and I came out basically untouched the car crumbled around me but by that happening I survived!

Purchased in October 2016 at Mazda for A$22.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robbie_D

Robbie_DSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews

Reliable, safe and great to drive but the road noise is unbearable

published

Purchased in June 2006.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lachlan

LachlanSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good small car

published

Fuel efficient, easy of use, this car is so much fun to drive i love every minute of it!! Mazda are a good brand so i decided to try this car and was super impressed!

Purchased in May 2020 at Pickles Auctions for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
dom

domAU

  • 5 reviews

Great car!

published

Have had the car for a month, no issues to speak of. Amazing fuel efficiency, great for the city, good performance. Fun to drive with manual transmission.
Hatch has a lot of space inside, and can get a lot in the back. And looks good too.

Soul Red colour is great too.

iStop can be a bit annoying, however you can turn it off.
Map updates for built in navigation can be costly.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$14,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy

SandyVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

Has been very reliable and easy to maintain. Looks great and well thought out design. Will almost definitely get another one. No negative feedback to be honest

For a well sized car the fuel economy is very good and the mechanic said he finds it easy to work on as he sees so many of them

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
niloc79

niloc79South Australia

  • 12 reviews

Brilliant! Just a few small niggles

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Will

Will

  • 2 reviews

Reliable car

published

Have our Mazda 3 Neo automatic for over 8 years with 110k. Mostly city driving but have done between Melbourne to Sydney. Never missed a beat and only replaced consumables. Would recommend.

Purchased in December 2011.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

A Massive Lemon - being factual

published

Top of the line Astina hatch.
Problems with the infotainment system saying no sat nav installed after one month .
Front drivers side shock absorber creeks all the time , MAZDA said cant find fault

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paul V

Paul VHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Rapidly Becoming A Major Disappointment

published

Purchased new in September 2019 from Maitland Mazda. Recall Issues (2) January 2020. Have now got problem with Info System turning itself off / freezing etc. Waiting on dealer to investigate with Mazda Australia (?). Have like others also had trouble with Cruise Control function and have now simply turned off. Do like some of improvements to past Mazdas ( have had 6 previously ) particularly road noise reduction but for a "new" car there are obviously quality control issues. When driving cannot help wonder "what next" which is a bit off putting.

Purchased in September 2019 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bisleyoz

Bisleyoz

  • 2 reviews

Very poor fuel consumption

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$24,470.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mandabelle

MandabelleSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Amazing car!!!

published

We got a Mazda last year and are absolutely loving it. So smooth and the style is perfect. Wouldn’t drive anything else!! Used every day to get to work no issues at all

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda Dealers for A$25,690.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 22 reviews

Great car, crap to work on.

published

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
Owner

Owner

  • 2 reviews

Zoom Zoom

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel D Lay

Daniel D LayBonnyrigg

  • 10 reviews

Stress free

published

I drive daily to work and taken the car up and down the coast for little getaways. I have owned my Mazda 3, for nearly 5 years and mever had a problem. No regrets choosing this car as it has been hassle free so far.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Braking Issue and Mazda don't take responsibility

published

Purchased car in August 2019. Accident in Oct 2019 due to the braking issue (recalled Dec 2019). Emails to Mazda detailing this issue well before they issued the recall. Subsequently 3 more incidents with this braking fault between Nov 2019-Dec 2019. Police reports, insurance reports and claim for excess to be covered by Mazda Australia submitted to Mazda Australia early January 2020 but they have refused to do this yet they admit the fault in my car. Disappointing service through Mazda Australia Customer Service leaving a very disgruntled Mazda owner (3rd Madza I have purchased) and has ensured I will not buy another Mazda again.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
See all answers
Page 1 of 24

Questions & Answers

Alex H.

Alex H.asked

3 BL (2009-2013)

my automatic mazda keeps jumping to from normal gears to AT

1 answer
Scott
Scott

There's a common problem with the transmission control module (TCM) on Mazda 3's. It's likely to be the cause if your car is now a few years old. You can test this by using an OBD2 tester and reading the error code. If you are not familiar with this, then best take it to an auto electrician and get them to read the code for you. If you find an error then you can buy a new one (expensive), buy a 2nd hand one (hard to find, could end up with the same issue after a while), or get your TCM repaired (no one in AUS does this - but the US company listed below can do). The repair cost with postage for me was about $500AUD. Hope this helps.
www.shop.modulerepairpro.com

Chris

Chrisasked

3 BL (2009-2013)

Why do the headlight washers keep popping out by the self’s?
How do you put them back in?

No answers
Diana K.

Diana K.asked

3 BK (2004-2008)

Does the 2005 5speed manual mazda3 have cruise control

2 answers
niloc79
niloc79

It may have been an option on the base model. I found a few online with cruise control and a few without. Hope this helps

Diana K.
Diana K.

Thankyou

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.