??!
35 photos
Mazda 3

Mazda 3

BM, BL, BK, etc...
4.3 from 456 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
241
4 star
146
3 star
35
2 star
15
1 star
19

Tashii

TashiiSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

My Mazda is Da Bomb!

published

I use my Mazda to get me from A to B on weekends and mu husband uses it for work during the week so it gets a workout! I love my Mazda 3 - it's just the size for me and I live the hatch back style. The boot is a good size and I like the look of the dashboard and the comfy seats. I wish it had built in sat nav but that will have to be my next car! I get it serviced yearly and I only had one very small oil leak issues once in 5 years.

Purchased in July 2015 at Mazda Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Hervey Bay Captiva 7

Hervey Bay Captiva 7Hervey Bay

  • 5 reviews

Had this car for 3 months now. 50,000 klms . So impressed !!

published

Beautiful intetior.
Great motor and transmission.
Great fuel economy on longer highway drives.
A real drivers car.
Luxurious for the price.
Bought 2nd hand at Brisbane dealer.
Have driven 5,000 Kim's so far.
Best hatchback I have ever owned.


Fed Up

Fed Up

  • 2 reviews

The Downsides of the Mazda 3 2019 Model

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
MaryMary

MaryMarySydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Car

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andrew S.

Andrew S.

  • 2 reviews

Great car for most purposes

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark S.

Mark S.Illawarra, NSW

Best Car we have owned

published

Used for shopping, travels, visiting and around town. Never ever misses a beat. Serviced every 10K and both my wife and I feel special every time either of us are in the drive seat. 6 speed auto is smooth as, power for the 2Litre is Zoom Zoom as they say, and all area's of this car are very well thought out. Paid 24K for the car new and we both Love it.

Purchased in December 2017 at Wollongong Mazda for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Maged

Maged

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car

published

For my private use and family outings
Also to go shopping once a week with it
I use this car everyday. No issues with the car. I usually use my car for family transport and my use.

Purchased in March 2019 at Airport Toyota Service Centre for $250,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Abegail

Abegail

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome car

published

We often use our car going to work and travelling during weekend and it is really a nice car.
We use this everyday.
We do get a service every 10K kilometer. The mechanic was good the check the baattery, update the GPS and check all the tires and replace it if necessary

Purchased in August 2017 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ukg

ukgMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

This is a great car to drive. had this for 11 yrs and never missed a pin. I just love this car. A future car will be from Mazda family of sure.

Purchased in June 2010 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pete E.

Pete E.South East Queensland, QLD

Great car, let down by some of the gadgets

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Pete E.
Pete E.

I forgot to add that Android Auto is a waste of space in the current configuration, you get more from the Mazda Connect system via Bluetooth than AA linked by cable and no way to edit what is available.


Fabi

FabiFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect car!

published

Overall a great family car! I drive it everyday to commute to from work, as well as family outings. It’s economical, comfortable and it’s ingenuity makes driving easy and safe.

Purchased in February 2019 at Westco.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kevin Collings

Kevin CollingsNorth-East, TAS

  • 4 reviews

Always wanted to own a Mazda

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Vicki W

Vicki WSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Lovely car

published

I drive a lot and was looking for something comfortable and economical - I have had my car now for 3 years and nothing has ever gone wrong with it. The sound system is great as are the seats etc.
The only issue I have with it is the road noise however understand it is not an $80,000+ car!

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sand

Sand

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Adore this car! Heavenly to drive

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David Irv

David IrvWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Car has excellent driving comfort especially on long drives.

published

When driving the car for the first time it was so smooth in driving, the cost of running is very minimal which is excellent for the budget. Excellent car that is easy to park in busy streets.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alvin P

Alvin PPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Exceeding Expectations

published

My Mazda 3 is used daily commuting to work and back. This car has never skipped a beat and delivers more than I had expected, especially with it holding a low price tag compared to other vehicles in its class. It may not be the quickest car, but it's fun to drive....

Purchased in March 2014 at Mazda Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Michael Moxon

Michael MoxonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Runs well and very economic.

published

I travel 1500Km's a week in this for work use, on all types of roads.
The car is in use at least 8 hours a day 7 days a week and is serviced every 15000kms.
The car is great on fuel only 6L/100km average.
Paint work needs improvement as there has been chipping that Mazda refused to repair within the first 12 months because they said it was caused by bird poo despite the car being washed once a fortnight.

Purchased in August 2017 at Mazda Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ben

BenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Europeans... Watch Out!

published

Our family purchased the Mazda 3 as a get around city car... the Mazda's interior is beautiful and quiet when driving. It is fitted with all you need. Love it

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bill G

Bill GSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

The Perfect Upgrade

published

With my old car nearly 10 years old it was time to upgrade. Test drove 3 different manufacture's cars but nothing compares to the comfort or style of this car.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Keith Williams

Keith WilliamsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Phenomenal Car

published

Bought one for the Mrs and both us are even more impressed than we thought we would be! Mazda are at the top of their game. We purchased this as a brand new car in December 2018 to replace her 2008 Mazda 3. For such a competitive price point, there is really nothing to criticize. It feels very solid and capable and is very nice to drive. She loves the technology, in particular blind spot mirrors.

At time of writing, the car has traveled 6000klms faultlessly. It had its first baby service and hasn't required anything since. There are no annoyances or issues we can pick with the car. So far it is averaging 6.8L/100km and we are happy with that. Would buy another one in a heartbeat.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Bel L.

Bel L.asked

Radio text - has anyone had any success with getting the radio text feature turned on? The feature is there & radio text is displayed when the park brake is on, but as soon as you deactivate the park brake the option goes away, siting its a safety issue to display the text. Yet when using Apple CarPlay you can see all the text you want & can navigate around all the settings & apps while travelling at 110kms.

2 answers
Fed Up
Fed Up

Sounds like another "option" Mazda provides that doesn't allow any actual options to be selected ... you can only have what Mazda says you can have ?? But I haven't used this setting, so am only assuming it behaves like other "Mazda Options" which give you no options, similar to a number of settings I have used on the Mazda 3 that behave in this manner.

Bel L.
Bel L.

Yep, it certainly seems that way. Poor form Mazda. I had a 2017 Mazda 3 which I LOVED & only traded-in because I thought I was upgrading when the next gen came out. I am now regretting that decision. So many features I had in my previous Mazda are now unavailable in my new one. Its so frustrating. I feel like Im being treated like a moron who is incapable of making decisions about their driving experience. I love driving but I am not enjoying driving this car. This will no doubt be my last Mazda.


kylie

kylieasked

I have a mazda 3 2013 model. When I got my car I payed for the paint protection now 6 years have passed and half of my car is peeling and Mazda will not touch it as they say its due to bird poo and chips and general dirt . My whole roof is almost white and not in patches either and my door handle and my bonnet. I do not even believe they done anything paint protection at all - Does anyone know how I can get my car tested to see if if it was indeed put on my car or not?

1 answer
Kevin Collings
Kevin Collings

Hi Kylie, I did some online research for you and from the general chat all I get is that modern paint on cars should not need extra protection anyway and it is only sold as an added extra to make us spend more...yes we got it too, so going on this I would say that your car paintwork was not up to scratch originally and Mazda are avoiding the issue by blaming you. I don't know how you proceed from here except by saying to Mazda that every car on the road that is 6 years old should look like yours if the dirt etc is the reason your paintwork has deteriorated so badly and that it is about time these manufacturers stood by their products and looked after their customers. Good luck.


niko87

niko87asked

Has anyone had any rough shifting of the gears in the auto Mazda 3? (Particularly the newish models 2016+). Especially when cold in the start or weird shifts like it feels the gears up-shift but the revs still remain high?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.