??!
18 photos
Mazda 6

Mazda 6

GG/GY, GH, GJ, GL
4.3 from 191 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
108
4 star
53
3 star
16
2 star
6
1 star
8

Sagar S.

Sagar S.

  • 4 reviews

Still beats newer cars

published

Own 2011 Mazda 6 luxury sports, bought cheap in 2017, has sat nav, Bluetooth. Great looks too. Unique headlight, added light bar too for country road driving. Outruns newer car of similar range

Purchased in May 2017 at Carsales.com.au for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andrew S.

Andrew S.

  • 2 reviews

Long term durability was not there

published

Disappointing sums up the 2010 Mazda6 classic. A great car to drive but was let down by three major items that went at once. They were clutch, gearbox (2nd started to crunch even with clutch pushed in) and the air conditioning unit stopped working. Even my 17 year old 626 was better than this and my original 323 is still going after 250ks.

As I said the car was great to drive but the headlights and the Bluetooth were poor. The headlights were an easy fix but the Bluetooth system was not good in dialling numbers which could take five to six goes.

Thank goodness I sold the car and my current 2010 Mazda3 SP25 has been faultless and a great drive and reclaims my faith in Mazda's products.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

jod73t

jod73tMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

OK but some disappointments

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dooli

DooliCanberra

  • 24 reviews

Surprising for the bottom of the range!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Rolfe Mazda Belonnen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Way too much Ford "quality" in this car.....

published

Purchased in January 2017 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter D

Peter DMid North Coast, NSW

Have a 2008 Mazda 6 wagon since new. Needs new sas module.

published

Have a 2008 Mazda 6 wagon since new. 121230 kms. Air bag light now comes on and off continuously. Mazda service department in Taree attended to this yesterday. But light came on before I had left their building. Flashes on and off continuously. Mazda Taree stated a new module is needed. Cost including labour is $1170. Do I need this. Vehicle runs perfectly except for this.

Purchased in February 2008.

Year2008

Neil

NeilChristchurch

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful Car

published
BodyWagon
BadgeGSX
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Adequate, but nothing more.

published
BodySedan
BadgeClassic Sports
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2008

Onases

Onases

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car, comfortable and smooth

published

I got the car and it only had 26k on it
Transmission and engine were very smooth
It had alot of power fir a 4 cylinder engine which i didnt expect.
Took it with the family to Canberra and back for a day drive and it was beautiful on the hwy so i took it to Wollongong, the Entrance etc

It had alot of boot space
Sound system was the best
Biggest mistake i made when i sold it

BodySedan
BadgeClassic Sports
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Affordable model with good driving experience

published

Own this car for about 2 years now. Pretty good driving experience. Happy with mileage too. Overall a good purchase for this budget. Own this car for about 2 years now. Pretty good driving experience. Happy with mileage too. Overall a good purchase for this budget. Own this car for about 2 years now. Pretty good driving experience. Happy with mileage too. Overall a good purchase for this budget.

BodySedan
BadgeGS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Perfect for your first car

published

Generally reliable car but with age it declines. Have had multiple trips to the mechanic for leaks and replacing air filters. It really started to decline in health at 150,000 KMs. I drive the car on a daily basis. The car is serviced every 10,000 KMs at ultra tune. The drive is smooth and feels like luxury without the dent in your wallet

BodySedan
BadgeClassic
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015

smart cookie

smart cookieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor Vision, but a comfortable drive.

published

The Good:
This Mazda 6 belongs to a friend who lives in Brisbane and I borrow it on a regular basis when I am in Brisbane.
The car is well appointed and runs smoothly and is comfortable to drive around town or on long distances ie Brisbane to Sydney and there is heaps of leg room for front and rear passengers,

The Bad:
Front windscreen view is obscured by a black box ( I guess containing the proximity sensors) that is attached to the front screen behind the rear view mirror. Not only is the driver and passenger view reduced but the box looks quite ugly. Rear vision is limited due to the low rake of the rear roof line

BodySedan
BadgeLuxury
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Robbo

RobboMelbou

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vehicle, nearly drives itself

published

Had my mazda 6 touring now for three months. great vehicle to drive, never puts a foot wrong. the vehicle has many features to aid your driving with auto lights, auto wipers, auto headlamp adjust, sensors that help position the vehicle front/rear and corners. also a great benefit is the cross traffic sensors which alert you of oncoming vehicles when backing out of driveway or carpark. I have owned mazdas before, but none as good as this.

BodySedan
BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Dave H

Dave HPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • 6 GH
  • Verified purchase

Affordable luxury

published

I chose the Touring model. Highly recommend. Love the leather interior and the little things that make it such a joy to drive.

Bought it 2nd hand with 70,000kms on the clock. Now at 120,000 and it's no different.

A smooth running car with low running costs and no mechanical issues thus far.

BodySedan
BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Gopi

GopiPerth

  • 2 reviews

Love my Mazda 6

published

I love my Mazda 6. Smooth driving and great handling on road on dry and wet weather. The outside looks really slick The interior is beautiful with the leather trims. Everyone who rides in my car for the first time really the like the inside. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good affordable car.

BodySedan
BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Gustavo

GustavoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Audi eat your heart out

published
BodyWagon
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Jamie

JamieHobart

  • 4 reviews

Great driving experance

published

We love our car as it handles very well on the road and even better in raining conditions. The widow wipers get a little sicky and then when having to use them sometimes scrape but replacing those fixed that issue and we replaced the rims as the stock look rubbish. But the car drives very well

BodyHatch
BadgeClassic
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

C.Liu

C.LiuSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great all around car

published
BodySedan
BadgeLuxury
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Jason

JasonPerth

  • 7 reviews

Great car with luxurious trim

published

Ive owned this car now for 6 months and its still an absolute pleasure to drive.
Fuel economy is not the rated 6.6, im getting around 7.1 or 7.2 l / 100 km which is still good.
Interior is beautifully done, all leather, nice trim, great sat/nav stereo
Ride is very quiet and smooth, take off is very good. Not a fan of the i-stop but can be easily deactivated (read forums)
Fixed price servicing,

Have been very happy with this car, I have the GT variant and it looks spectacular.

BodySedan
BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

terrywang

terrywangSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Practical yet fun to drive family hatch (GH)

published

Purchased in October 2011 for $33,450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Allan

Allanasked

Mazda6s purchased in 2014. Front Ball Joints need replacing. Should this happen in a car that has done just 98,000km? Manufactures warranty?

No answers

Mphodi

Mphodiasked

How long is the fan belt?

No answers

Shaun R.

Shaun R.asked

Can I buy headlights from other year models that will fit my 2007 Mazda 6?
Thank you

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.