2 photos
Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor

Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor

W204, W203, S203, etc... (See All)
3.5 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
TTaT
TTaTSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

C200 Kompressor - one of the best cars i've owned, and i've owned a lot.

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark M.
Mark M.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Mercedes proving poor products knowingly.

published

Low quality Timing chains tensioners etc knowingly used by Mercedes in the w204 c200 engines. I will never buy another one. Lost a customer for ever !!!! Why destroy your previous good reputation?

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joseph34
Joseph34Sydney, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Mercedes C200K W204 Engine Timing Chain Failed Miserably. Very Disappointed And Costly.

published

My C200K W204 2008 car had to be towed to the nearest garage on 06/02/2018 and had the timing chain, timing chain tensioner, exhaust and intake camshaft adjusters, cam magnets and cam adjuster wiring harness replaced, costing $4,800.00 (inc. GST). The timing chain and camshaft adjusters system are supposed to last the life time of the car but failed miserably at 150,3590 KM. Apparently this is a common issue with M217 engine design after reading reviews by other Mercedes owners in Australia and US. Very disappointed with such prestigious and expensive car. Would be better off with a Japanese or Korean made car.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineClassic
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
shazartist
shazartistWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Excellent car to drive

published

An old car now at 2008 but a good car. Still drives nicely and it has some good features I like. it handles nicely and is quiet. light and whippers turn on Automatically and the door locks at 20 ks. The only thing it does not have which I would have liked is cup holder and split seat.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineClassic
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jo Blogger
Jo Blogger
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect little car

published

It’s a very good looking car. I have the evo plus version with the full body kit.
The drive is very smooth doing 0-100 in 6 seconds. To full up the tank $70.
Leather two tone interior seats are comfortable and look great.
Insurance isn’t that expensive either.
It handles well round corners and has the kick down to go fast. It has paddle gears on the steering wheel and handle break next to the break . I wouldn’t buy anything else but a Mercedes moving forward.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineEvolution
BodyCoupe
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good car

published

Bought it used in 2010 with 100 000 km, now 315 000 km. I mostly drive countryside roads with a heavy right foot. I change motor oil and filter every 12 000 km, Mobil 1 new life 0w40 engine still in perfect condition. Have not replaced timing chain and probably I won't, no stretch and in good condition. I do my own service and change easy parts myself. Most reliable car I ever had.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineAvantgarde
BodyWagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SDL75
SDL75Sydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I loved this car and then the warranty ended.

published

I have owned this car from new and while all cars breakdown, this does seem to have a few quirks that haunt me. The sunroof has been joyful but it has clogged and leaked from very early on. The sound-system, a harmon kardon option is truly amazing but the sub is so powerful it can loosen the parcel shelf, which now makes for a permanent rattle. And as per all modern goods, all the surfaces are showing age. What a shame we can't have things that age gracefully.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineAvantgarde
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Chris Wingate
Chris Wingate
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

W203 C200 Kom BEWARE of the 271 engine (PIG)

published
BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineElegance
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Armani
ArmaniWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car but not good for rural areas

published
BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineAvantgarde
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
david
davidSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Horrible experience

published
BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineElegance
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam
Sam
  • 2 reviews

Not bad car

published

Well everyone expect MB to be something that never ever break. We bought second hand C200 Kompressor and in general are happy with it. Fuel consumption is reasonable for a 4 cyl. car. Looks nice inside and out, little uncomfortable on longer trips (may be because of low profile tyres) and space is not bad for car that size. Mercedes service not sure what to say about them because since we bought car we look after it (replacing oils, filters, spark plugs etc). Just did 100 K service and found that fuel filter was never replaced (that's why I don't take to the dealers, service car with someone that you know and can trust or DIY). In general not top of the range but not bad little car.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Whenitmatters
WhenitmattersMelbourne
  • 2 reviews

I don't regret trading my BMW in

published
BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineAvantgarde
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JW19
JW19Sydney, NSW
  • 25 reviews
  • 15 likes

Solid cruiser, built well, suspension is designed for comfort

published
BadgeC200 Kompressor
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
m4631949
m4631949
  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellent

published

This is my second C-class (C200 W204 COMPRESSOR AVANTGARDE) I have it for 6 months now, and I just love it! Mercedes just makes you feel like a part of the car, and it goes where you want to go.
Looks good, handles fantastic, made in Germany (not China!), one of the safest cars on the road. Without speed cameras on the road, life would really be wonderful.
Navigation system is complicated, but nothing that some studying and playing with can't cure. Windscreen wipers should be a bit better quality. It is a bit sluggish on hills, but it is only c200.

BadgeC200 Kompressor
LineAvantgarde
BodySedan
A.24
A.24

Can you please recommend a good Merc service, I really can't trust mine any more and don't know where to go.

raggs
raggs

"First class autos" in Burswood, WA have been excellent. been customer for 4 years. specialise in merc/bmw/audi

JS
JS

Not Baker Motors

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Kanda v.
Kanda v.asked
C200 Kompressor W204 (2007-2009)

how much petrol consumption in urban drive 1 Litre per how many KM ( 1.8 L Engine size 1796 cc)

No answers
Troy G.
Troy G.asked
C-Class C200 Kompressor

I got 2001 C200 kompressor which I wanna do abit of work to.ive ordered the smaller pulley but I don't know best exhaust system and size to go for best performance

No answers
Mohammed Y.
Mohammed Y.asked
C200 Kompressor W203 (2000-2007)

How do i differentiate W203 2000 to 2007 model from the body?

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor

Details

Compare all 5 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor
CategoryCars and Sports CarsCars and WagonsCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and Sedans
Release dateJan 2001Jan 2000Jan 2001Jan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2007Dec 2001Dec 2007Dec 2007
Compare all 5 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.