8 photos
Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI

Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI

S212, W212, A207, C207 (See All)
4.3 from 8 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.3
8 reviews
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Mike4343
Mike4343Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Fantastic large wagon. Great value as a second hand purchase

published

This 2011 e250 diesel wagon had 40k kms on it when I purchased for $37k in Oct 2017.

Now just ticked over 55k Kms and has not missed a beat. Whilst it is a large car for shopping runs it easily accommodates 5 adults plus a couple of kids in the fold up boot seats. The economy is fantastic and overall it really comes into its own on highway runs. Syd - Melb @5.9l/100kms in comfort.

The only drawbacks seem to be limited clearance and occasionally the auto box hunts gears at around 45km/h.

Would I buy again? Most definitely.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2017 for $38,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ovi
Ovi
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Safety issue with E250 W212

published
BodySedan
LineBlueEFFICIENCY Elegance
BadgeE250 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rba901
rba901Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Solid

published

Owned our 2012 e250 for nearly 2 years now, covered 24k. It has been very reliable, a pleasure to drive in most circumstances, though traction was an issue in the wet but after replacement of rubber the others had just gone off with age. We average around the 8/100kms around the town, our best run was driving to Melbourne from Sydney, the trip computer told us we still had 800km until empty, incredible result with 4 adults and luggage. Only problem we suffer is ground clearance, you need to be careful.

BodyWagon
LineBlueEFFICIENCY Avantgarde
BadgeE250 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe
JoeHunter Region, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best car I have ever owed

published

E250 diesel. Goes like a petrol car, very smooth and responsive. For a big vehicle it is very economical. Seven seats is handy for the kids and the occasional extra friend. Back seat flatten with a flick of a switch. Most things electric as one would expect. Very practical with the extra bonus of being in a Mercedes. It is the driving position that really does it for me. Being 6 ft 4 in is very spacious and leaves space behind my seat for the kids, unlike Japanese cars. The sound system and Nav is at my finger tips and you can change channels 3 different ways. Looks good as well. Like a Volvo it ages well.

BodyWagon
LineBlueEFFICIENCY Avantgarde
BadgeE250 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ROBERT STUTSEL
ROBERT STUTSEL
  • 27 reviews
  • 18 likes

GREAT CAR BUT COULD BE BETTER

published
BodySedan
LineE250 CDI
BadgeE250 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Serious Business
Serious BusinessSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Can't stop smiling

published

Best car easily of the 16 I have owned. Seven seater for all the family (7 kids, luckily three have left the coope so we sold the Tarago). The ride is magnificent. The grunt is powerful. The 10 speaker Harmon Kardon with rear bass boost speaker even makes the teenagers smile. Wifey loves her one button seat memory that puts everything back in place after I drive it (seat up/down, back/forth, tilt/recline, headrest, mirrors, steering wheel in/out/up/down). Really, too many things you can't even imagine to go on about. Magnificent car.
Everything. Inclusions, ride, seating, grunt, navigation, cd/dvd, bluetooth

BodyWagon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
domie48
domie48Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good

published

We have a V6 and it very economical to run and get 8.5 liters per hundred on the highway. We love those extra features like the sun-visor that slides on its shaft to block out the sun on the side window. The electric seats .
SO smooth to drive.
Service costs. You cannot get a quote before your service is due because the on board computer will have codes logged and that will determine how much work is required. Anywhere between $400 & $2000. They do lack a drink holder.

BodySedan
Digger11
Digger11

$670 for a basic service and $870 for the 4 year one. A bit more expensive than a Holden, but the oild alone is nearly $250 worth.
Beautifully built car that is a dream to drive.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
SandyG
SandyGSouth Brisbane
  • 41 reviews
  • 33 likes

Good

published

Great buy as a used vehicle if well maintained avoid buying a new one as you lose 50% of its value. Only buy one if it is well serviced and maintained
A very well built solid motor vehicle. Very comfortable to drive with brilliant build finish. Smooth drive train.
Service costs will send some owners to the wall wiper blade replacement is insanly dear $375 for replacement units. Tramsmission leaks are common with vehicles with lower use than usual which is common being doctors etc buy these cars and they spend alot of time in parking lots and alot of these owners only service them every 12 months 15,000km which is too long.

BodySedan
Digger11
Digger11
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

wgt
wgtasked
E-Class E250 CDI

Hi I am considering a 2010 mercedes e250 cdi avantgarde with 44k on the clock - just concerned about the maintenance costs; I drive ~800km per week highway speeds. Can you give me any advice please on the running costs for this car? thanks

3 answers
Ovi
Ovi
rba901
rba901
wgt
wgt

thanks for the responses - dilemma solved as it has been sold!

ken
kenasked
E-Class W212 (2009-2016)

Is it expensive maintenance cost if buying the car at around 100 000 kms?

1 answer
Janice S
Janice S

Sorry - can't help with this answer, as I purchase new and don't keep for that amount of mileage.

Janice S
Janice Sasked
E-Class E250 CDI

My E400 Mercedes AMG Sedan purchased new December 2015 has required tyres to be replaced three times. It rides rough due to type of tyres and now one particular tyre has to be replaced for the second time and the rim is damaged. This was caused no doubt by the rough way it rides. Can all the tyres and rims be replaced, so that the it rides more smoothly and doesn't cause so much damage. I had a BMW 7 series for many years prior to this and not one flat tyre in all that time. It rode very smoothly over speed humps and any small potholes. Luxury car, not a luxury ride.

2 answers
JW19
JW19
Janice S
Janice S

Thank you JW19 for responding. It is the AMG package. I am now informed by my Mercedes Service Manager that it is not possible to do this with this particular model.

See all Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI

Details

Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI
CategoryCars and ConvertiblesCars and WagonsCars and SedansCars and Sports Cars
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2009Jan 2009
Discontinuation dateDec 2013Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2015
Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.