??!
13 photos
Mitsubishi Lancer

Mitsubishi Lancer

CJ, CG/CH, CE, CF
4.3 from 222 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
118
4 star
71
3 star
16
2 star
6
1 star
11

Amelia

AmeliaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Loved having this car!

published

I got a 2009 model (automatic) in September 2011 and owned it until March 2019 (only sold because I moved overseas). Over the 8 years, no issues with the car other than two re-calls which Mitsubishi fixed immediately. I got it serviced when required as per mechanic and considering I used it a lot for work everyday, very happy with no issues, just the standard brakes, tyres etc. Cost about $60 to fill up and so efficient.

Purchased in September 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ash Smithh

Ash SmithhPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

mitsubishi lancer vr 2008

published

its a reliable car that has never broken down, value for money with fuel economy even after all these years it still runs the same as the first day i brought it. zippy and compact than another 4 door normal family sedan

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dave

DaveHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Reliable, cheap on fuel, economical and sporty.

published

I use my CE Mitsubishi lancer frequently to and from work, long drives down the coast to see family and occasional surfing trip. I have had the car serviced on the due dates with no faults mentioned by my mechanic. It's no v8 but it's perfect for me. I highly recommend this vehicle for the average family.

Purchased in February 2019 at Private for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Car giving peace of mind

published

Our old 2001 Magna after some 17 years giving us cost free motoring. Other than normal maintenance. Suddenly became costly to maintain. We required a car suitable for two persons. So after spending some weeks looking for a suitable replacement we decided on the Mitsubishi Lancer. We could not be any happier with our choice. Comfort, driving and little ongoing costs. Car required to be serviced only once per annum. Very happy Mitsubishi customer


Katie

KatieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Affordable luxury

published

This car has great fuel consumption and is a pleasure to drive. It has so many options that contribute to the overall quality of the vehicle making it feel and drive like a luxury car. At a great price it definitely puts it ahead of the competition. Recommend a test drive if in the market for a new sedan as I’m sure like myself you won’t be disappointed.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

15 years old and never let me down

published

Purchased in June 2004 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ashliegh.D

Ashliegh.DCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

If I could rate it a zero, I would.

published

Purchased in April 2016 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

B Tra

B TraIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

I have the manual version of the lancer SX MY11. This car has been very promising. It is durable and has yet to cause any problems. The interior is a little outdated, but I swapped the headunit for a touch screen aftermarket, giving it a great look. It is responsive and a fun drive. The paint job is an issue though, i have noticed the clear coat peeling off ever so slightly already which is quite worrying. All in all, mechanically it is top notch, but the paint work is something that mitsubishi really should have paid closer attention to.

Purchased in November 2018 at private for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Жалолиддин А.

Жалолиддин А.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great car with plenty of power

published

I got my car with 200k on the clock
I had it for a year and All I can say about car is only positive. Plenty of power to get up and go. Thirsty engine that's because it was my first car and loved to rev. I had 15l/100km in city

Purchased in June 2017 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Matt

MattMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

Love it and use is every day it’s mt work car and my day to day car it’s great I love the new one and the only thing is that it has to be a good one

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
See all answers

Unusual vibrations when switch on the ac

published

When I on the ac it start to vibrate like usual.when I put on gears d it's like mill please help me to fixed it and running condition is like little hard than other cars it's like little vibration and not getting idala up properly what to do please email me

BodySaloon
BadgeXLS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002

Ninian

NinianCairns

  • 2 reviews

Best money spent.

published

My boyfriend and I have Lancer, never had a single problem with it. :) My partner is a mechanic and recommended me to buy this car over any car! Transmission is smooth, aircon works really great. I drive to uni and for placements which is a bit of a distance but never had any problems. Amazing car!

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Lachlan B

Lachlan BCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good old car

published

Car is now 10 years old and bought second hand. Previous owner clearly didn't look after it well due to paint chips scratches and stone chips being all over the paintwork. Mechanically, it still runs perfectly after 170 000km and feels reliable to drive.

Would recommend Lancers if you're looking for a good reliable car, just watch out for paint peel on the older models.

BodyHatch
BadgeActiv
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Mandy page

Mandy pageBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Great reliable car this is my 2nd lancer this one was new. Haven't had any problems cost of services are capped . The car has enough power but sensible enough not to get speeding tickets. Very stylish picked the blue and it's pretty good at hiding the dirt. Would recommend this car for any buyer

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

blinky19

blinky19

  • 3 reviews

2017 lancer cf

published

Great car. Only bought it because of its size internally. Way bigger than a Mazda 3. Not the most fuel efficient on the market. I get around 10/L per 100km city driving. That drops to 7/L on freeways. CVT makes this car a nugget but great going up the mountains. 5 year warranty plus free roadside also sweetened the deal. So far so good.

BodySedan
BadgeLS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Love the car but fuel consumption is expensive

published

I have owned my beautiful Mitsi Lancer Ralliart for just over 2 years. I love everything about this car except that this car does a maximum of 350km to 380km a full tank and has to use Premium 98 petrol.
The car is beautiful inside and is amazingly stunning on the outside.

BodySedan
BadgeRalliart
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Merc Primur

Merc PrimurPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

A good simple vehicle but needs engine refinement.

published

I had this car for review from a relative who bought the car and I am pretty happy with the way it performs, it has everything you need in a small car, the 2.0l engine has a decent amount of power, however there is a little bit of coarseness in the upper Rev range but it is not to noticeable. But overall I think it looks good and drives well.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Chris

ChrisCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

expensive to fix man

published

This car is good if you maintain it properly. However, it is very expensive to fix even just for a low speed crash. Can go to 10000! I assume the lancer has a bad product quality regarding product itself, not referring to the passengers safety. So if you broken ur lancer better just get rid of it and move on! Typical Japanese car.
And sometime ABS does not work at all. So forget about it and go whatever else!

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Matty B

Matty BBrisbane

Most reliable car i have owned.

published
BodyWagon
BadgeVR-X
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2004

Reliable but boring

published

Just sold my 1.5 year old Lancer with less than 7000k for much less than I paid in April 2017, while they are great reliable cars they are not for anyone who enjoys driving. Very slow and the suspension is super sloppy to the point of feeling dangerous, you have to slow down to advisory speeds or you could crash, it also wandered when the road camber changed, our 4x4 handles better. I couldn't justify the huge loan for a boring, slow, poor handling car. EVO's and Ralliarts may be good but clearly they have little in common with the base models. I'm unsure how they can justify calling it a sport, side skirts and spoiler don't create sports handling.

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Andrew A.

Andrew A.asked

I have a 2005 Mitsubishi lancer wagon the car cranks over but will not fire up. I've replaced all the fuses and relays checked timing belt but still nothing. I had the smart scan on it and it's telling me the TPS is to far away will this stop the car from starting

No answers

Zac A.

Zac A.asked

How is it possible to even change a seat belt over in a 2 door 2003 lancer ce? The plastic trim doesnt look like its going anywhere

No answers

Dave

Daveasked

5/2001 CE 4 door Sedan.
* Will a wagon drivers door fit my car?
* Is airbag steer wheel A simple bolt on & connect wire (mine has aftermarket wheel)
* Keys lost, can I simply buy a 2nd hand transponder key & igntion Switch set off another 2001 CE and install and it will work? Was quote $650 for duplicate key - huh!!??!! Thx

1 answer
Andrew
Andrew

As far as the door is concerned my best advice is contact your local dealer. In regards to your key problem is concerned are you a RAC member if so you may be covered by them fora replacement key otherwise shop around locksmiths in your area. Salsa check if there is a specialist car keying locksmith in your area.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.