??!
13 photos
Mitsubishi Lancer

Mitsubishi Lancer

CJ, CG/CH, CE, CF
4.3 from 229 reviews

Reviews

4.3

229 reviews
5
(122)
4
(73)
3
(16)
2
(6)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (16)
  • Handling
    4.4 (16)
  • Braking
    4.5 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (16)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (16)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (16)
  • Features
    3.6 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (16)
Previous
Next
Dominic N.

Dominic N.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Solid 1st car

published

Purchased in July 2016 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Miguel C.

Miguel C.Sydney, NSW

Reliable wagon

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Private for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David H.

David H.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far great medium size car

published

Just bought lancer ch 2007 sedan 5 speed manual with 137200 km for $3800. Was looking to get either golf or astra lm glad I bought the lancer. Few days into getting car took it for full service mechanic said car is in great condition the only thing apart from full service had to change was timing belt and top gasket cause was leaking oil to spark plugs. Mechanic said just keep serving the car and should last a long time. Thought cause of age of car would have to fix a lot of things but no just service gasket and timing belt. Glad I bought the lancer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Car City for A$3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tyrone Bandara

Tyrone BandaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very well built cars

published

I've had 3 of these cars in the last 11 years. They tick all the boxes of a reliable buzz box. I always end up going back to one of these. Classic 90s japanese car with a simple functional design.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Martin

MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love my Lancer!

published

This is my third Lancer and I have yet to be disappointed. The economy and driving experience are very good, and it looks pretty stylish too. Repairs are relatively inexpensive. My only criticism is that the build seems a bit tinny, and I don't think it would do well in a bingle.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harman

HarmanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s good economical car but its standard going downhill from old models !!

published

I bought 2017 ls model version although it’s my 4rth lancer I owned but I wanna let the new buyers know their few issues with newer models let me go thru!!
Noisy on the fwy !
Very poor quality body! Poor plastic crap !! Everywhere on the car..
the rear window looks like missing something like edging rubber collecting all rubbish!!
Even in boot and in engine compartment so much of gap!!
The cvt ( constant variable transmission) it’s junk everyone don’t buy I will never buy this transmission again!!

Purchased in June 2017 at Mistubishi for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Big D

Big DPerth

  • 78 reviews
  • 85 likes

Does its Job Very Well

published

Compared to its Competition, The Lancer is a great little car and very good value for money.
It was still built in Japan, and the quality shows through.
Great list of standard features. In other cars would have to go up a level or two to get the same.
Drives nicely, and is quite economical.
Can accommodate 2 teenagers in the back, 3 if they're skinny, and has a huge boot.

5 year warranty and capped price servicing.

CVT is for everyone, but it does the job.

Purchased in June 2016 for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amelia

AmeliaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Loved having this car!

published

I got a 2009 model (automatic) in September 2011 and owned it until March 2019 (only sold because I moved overseas). Over the 8 years, no issues with the car other than two re-calls which Mitsubishi fixed immediately. I got it serviced when required as per mechanic and considering I used it a lot for work everyday, very happy with no issues, just the standard brakes, tyres etc. Cost about $60 to fill up and so efficient.

Purchased in September 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ash Smithh

Ash SmithhPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

mitsubishi lancer vr 2008

published

its a reliable car that has never broken down, value for money with fuel economy even after all these years it still runs the same as the first day i brought it. zippy and compact than another 4 door normal family sedan

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Reliable, cheap on fuel, economical and sporty.

published

I use my CE Mitsubishi lancer frequently to and from work, long drives down the coast to see family and occasional surfing trip. I have had the car serviced on the due dates with no faults mentioned by my mechanic. It's no v8 but it's perfect for me. I highly recommend this vehicle for the average family.

Purchased in February 2019 at Private for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Car giving peace of mind

published

Our old 2001 Magna after some 17 years giving us cost free motoring. Other than normal maintenance. Suddenly became costly to maintain. We required a car suitable for two persons. So after spending some weeks looking for a suitable replacement we decided on the Mitsubishi Lancer. We could not be any happier with our choice. Comfort, driving and little ongoing costs. Car required to be serviced only once per annum. Very happy Mitsubishi customer

Katie

KatieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Affordable luxury

published

This car has great fuel consumption and is a pleasure to drive. It has so many options that contribute to the overall quality of the vehicle making it feel and drive like a luxury car. At a great price it definitely puts it ahead of the competition. Recommend a test drive if in the market for a new sedan as I’m sure like myself you won’t be disappointed.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

15 years old and never let me down

published

Purchased in June 2004 for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ashliegh.D

Ashliegh.DCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

If I could rate it a zero, I would.

published

Purchased in April 2016 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
B Tra

B TraIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

I have the manual version of the lancer SX MY11. This car has been very promising. It is durable and has yet to cause any problems. The interior is a little outdated, but I swapped the headunit for a touch screen aftermarket, giving it a great look. It is responsive and a fun drive. The paint job is an issue though, i have noticed the clear coat peeling off ever so slightly already which is quite worrying. All in all, mechanically it is top notch, but the paint work is something that mitsubishi really should have paid closer attention to.

Purchased in November 2018 at private for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Жалолиддин А.

Жалолиддин А.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great car with plenty of power

published

I got my car with 200k on the clock
I had it for a year and All I can say about car is only positive. Plenty of power to get up and go. Thirsty engine that's because it was my first car and loved to rev. I had 15l/100km in city

Purchased in June 2017 for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Matt

MattMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

Love it and use is every day it’s mt work car and my day to day car it’s great I love the new one and the only thing is that it has to be a good one

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
See all answers

Unusual vibrations when switch on the ac

published

When I on the ac it start to vibrate like usual.when I put on gears d it's like mill please help me to fixed it and running condition is like little hard than other cars it's like little vibration and not getting idala up properly what to do please email me

BodySaloon
BadgeXLS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002
Ninian

NinianCairns

  • 3 reviews

Best money spent.

published

My boyfriend and I have Lancer, never had a single problem with it. :) My partner is a mechanic and recommended me to buy this car over any car! Transmission is smooth, aircon works really great. I drive to uni and for placements which is a bit of a distance but never had any problems. Amazing car!

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Lachlan B

Lachlan BCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good old car

published

Car is now 10 years old and bought second hand. Previous owner clearly didn't look after it well due to paint chips scratches and stone chips being all over the paintwork. Mechanically, it still runs perfectly after 170 000km and feels reliable to drive.

Would recommend Lancers if you're looking for a good reliable car, just watch out for paint peel on the older models.

BodyHatch
BadgeActiv
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Dylan M.

Dylan M.asked

Lancer CE (1996-2003)

My question is on relation to the relay fuse box in the engine bay- With the 1996/1999 Mitsubishi lancer ce, what are the square fuses with clear tops called. Does anyone know What is the actual name for them?
If someone could help me out, it would be appreciated!

No answers
Douglas M.

Douglas M.asked

Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

why does my Mitsubishi 2011 Vr Lancer have a squeak in the front right brake area after being driven for a short while about 20klms???????

No answers
Rona S.

Rona S.asked

Lancer CJ (2007-2015)

do the lancer 2014 LS have a timing belt if so when is it due to be replaced please

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.