??!
16 photos
Mitsubishi Mirage

Mitsubishi Mirage

LA and CE
4.3 from 75 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
38
4 star
24
3 star
8
2 star
4
1 star
1

paulhags

paulhagsPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Such a good car

published

I use it as a work car I bought it new 2013 now done 130000km so far one set of brake pads and a set of tyres bloody unbelievable I get 4.2 to 5 liters per 100km

Purchased in March 2013 at Mandurah Mitsubishi for $11,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Geoff_H

Geoff_HCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good value when bought 2nd hand

published

Purchased in July 2017 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Catharina Strydom

Catharina StrydomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Most economic and reliable car I've had

published

My manual Mitsubishi Mirage use n fraction of the petrol my previous car used. Services are reasonable and it's a reliable car with built in Bluetooth, and ample space. When back seats are folded down, a washing machine fits inside. We have transported many bulky things in this little car. I recently replaced tyres and they were cheap. Great car!

Purchased in April 2013 at Norris Motor Group Brisbane for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mohamed sekek

Mohamed sekekGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

!!! Best car Ever !!!

published

I bought this car in 2014, never had a single problem, in 3 years ran like a bullet, cheap to run, very easy to drive. Buy it your will never lose.

Purchased in October 2014 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Manda

MandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

The best little car!

published

My first car was a Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 model second hand that I learnt to drive in I’ve only had my licence for about 6 yrs and I am also a bit older and had no idea how to drive! Never had one problem whatsoever! Excellent on fuel. I got my Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 serviced every 10,000kms and never had 1 problem. A bit small was my only issue and also being a 2 door was a bit hard to get in and out of the back. I would highly recommend this beauty of a car to anyone that is learning to drive, so so easy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

K O

K OPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Chris

ChrisGold Coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

I love my mirage... but

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Sorry

SorryAlice Springs, NT

  • 2 reviews

Aircon blows hot air within 11 months in my new mirage

published

The noise levels are a major concern. It rattles on the highways which is a bit scary. Car manufacturers should be honest in providing good quality cars even if the prices are higher. Such cheap cars should not be allowed legally to be sold. It is not worth it. I don’t recommend this car to even my worst enemy

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

nfaruqi

nfaruqi

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car !

published
BodySedan
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Carolynne Beazley

Carolynne BeazleyNorth Turramurra

  • 2 reviews

awesome car - couldn't ask for more for the price!

published

Performs really well, nimble on the road. Haven't noticed much noise. Interior does look cheap but functional
Legroom surprisingly amazing - we actually fit in 4 adults quite comfortably and we're all over 6'1"!! We were shocked.
Really cost efficient to run - slow to go through petrol
Not very powerful up the hills, but really does the job well enough nonetheless.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018

GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good for a short work commute.

published

Those criticising the Mirage's looks should compare it to the Nissan micra.
My Mirage had to have the manual gear box replaced at 24000 km. A vibrating sensation was noticeable through the pedals.
The dealer said Mitsubishi had changed manufactures and the replacement shouldn't give me any bother. Has anyone had this problem, or know whether the replacement gear box is of better quality than the original. To their credit Mitsubishi replaced it under warranty, but if it fails again within say 25,000 km, the cost could ruin me.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionThe manual gearbox had to be replaced under warranty at 23000 km. Does anyone know if the replacement box Mitsubishi fit is any better than the original. I was told by the dealer the replacement box comes from a different manufacturer.
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Jani

JaniSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very fuel efficient!

published

This car is a great value car! Very cheap on petrol, 4.6L/100km, and hence the running costs are very low. The overall driving experience was positive, except the fact that the engine is a little loud when you have to accelerate. The interior is about right for the money you are paying for it. As a tall 6 foot man, I could fit comfortably inside. However, one thing is that the interior looks a little cheap, with plastic used in most places. Apart from this, the design is perfect.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Tim L

Tim LOxenford

  • 4 reviews

Good car - especially for the price

published

If you are paying less than $15 grand for a car then you have to expect some trade offs. However after driving the car for a while, the highway noise can be a little loud but not overly so and handling is great. The bluetooth has had some issue with Android phones but only happens in a blue moon. The voice recognition is great with a 90% match on the names i say. You do have to keep manually importing the phone contacts into the car for any changes.

Service is cheap with fixed price servicing every 15k kms and super cheap to run. I get about 5L/100 on my daily commute

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Eric

EricSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Great fuel efficient small car

published

This car is extremely well in fuel efficiency. It cost me about $35 for a full tank of fuel. Even though this is a lower end small car, it still equipped with a great Bluetooth system. I can play my favourite music in the car connecting to the spotify app from my iphone.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Great car for short distance

published

Compact car that saves fuel, small and easy to park. I only need to pump once a fortnight and it only costs my about 30 dollar. Easy maintenance as well as sleek design. I would recommend for a short distance drive around town. Very comfortable and spacious as the back seat can be adjusted to lie flat.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
nic

nicmelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

OK first car

published

I don't mind this car, it gets me from A to B, but it is a bit noisy and I'm not a huge fan of what it looks like. Petrol is affordable which is good and when I'm driving around a lot it'll usually last me 2 weeks even with a small tank. It fits a lot more in it than it appears which is handy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Caroline

CarolineHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my purple Mirage

published

This car is very fuel economical. I use it for work and considering the size of the car, I get all my work equipment in with no problems. We've had no mechanical problems after nearly 3 years. The dashboard is simple but easy to use. Legroom is ok for all the family. My only complaint and it's a small one, due to the size of tyres they need to be changed more frequently than on a bigger car. Reliable, economical and a big bang for a small buck.

BodySedan
BadgeOptions
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014

aziz

aziz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Great little car very easy to manage i like driving it beautiful colour and looks. It is very economical on fuel. Air conditioner could have been better. Bluetooth connectivity is also a plus point. Usb connectivity. Full tank that costs around 30$$ can easily do 370 -390 kms which is pretty good.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Emily Victoria Bridges

Emily Victoria BridgesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good first car

published

Driving experience is enjoyable, suits my needs perfectly as a single person living in the city. Handles well, is kind of noisy but not any different to other cars in the same price range.
I don't like that the car doesn't have a centre console, but again this seems to be usual. Legroom is perfect for me (167cm). It's tough fitting three adults in the back comfortably, but can be done!
Thus far it's been extremely reliable and cheap to run. I fill up usually for around 20 bucks and a full tank lasts around 500kms

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

DGD

DGDBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

AWESOME

published

Admittedly this is my first car that wasnt 10 years old, so I may have low standards, but oh my god I love this car so much. I have had it over 3 years now and have had zero issues except for a flat tyre. It uses almost no fuel and it easy to fit in little spaces and can turn on a penny. If anyone is after a nifty little car this may be the one for you!

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Veronica R.

Veronica R.asked

Does it have power steering

1 answer
Mohamed sekek
Mohamed sekek

Yes just check before you buy


Zak

Zakasked

Mirage CE

Hi guys, which oil viscosity I should use for it?
10w30 or 10w40?
My car has done 140k & it's 2000 model

Thanks a lot

No answers

Armani S

Armani Sasked

Mirage CE

How to change engine oil?

1 answer
sthajay
sthajay

It is easy but if you dont have knowledge please check youtube videos if you are willing to do it. But i recommend take it to mechanic. Dont risk it.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Sport CVT

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Sport CVT (2013-2019)

1 review
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) LS
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) LS

2 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Sport Manual

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Sport Manual (2013-2019)

1 review
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) ES Manual

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) ES Manual (2013-2019)

6 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS CVT

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS CVT (2013-2019)

5 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) ES Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) ES Manual

No reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) ES CVT
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Sedan) ES CVT

No reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage CE
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Mirage CE (1996-2003)

32 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Black Edition

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) Black Edition (2013-2019)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Manual

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Manual (2013-2019)

6 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) ES CVT

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) ES CVT (2013-2019)

11 reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Plus Pack Manual

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Plus Pack Manual (2013-2019)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Plus Pack CVT

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) LS Plus Pack CVT (2013-2019)

No reviews
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCarsCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCarsCarsCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $15,490$17,500$13,990$13,490$15,250$14,500$16,500$15,990$16,090$12,990$14,990$16,990$17,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)ManualManualAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Automatic and ManualAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)ManualAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)ManualAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels14" Alloy15" Alloy14" Alloy14" Steel15" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy13" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy14" Steel15" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5455544355555
Seats5555555555555
Fuel Consumption4.6 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.6 L/100km4.7 L/100km5 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.7 L/100km4.8 L/100km4.7 L/100km4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 35 L42 L35 L35 L35 L42 L42 L50 L35 L35 L35 L35 L35 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.2L
Max Power57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm69kW @ 5500rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm126Nm @ 3000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm100Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailandThailandThailandThailandJapanThailandThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 1996Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2003

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.