??!
16 photos
Mitsubishi Mirage

Mitsubishi Mirage

CE, LA
4.3 from 78 reviews

Reviews

4.3

78 reviews
5
(40)
4
(25)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (8)
  • Handling
    3.9 (8)
  • Braking
    4.4 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (7)
  • Features
    3.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (7)
Previous
Next
Colin M.

Colin M.Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great very cheap car, much better than expected

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

This is is a perfectly safe car which I bought a few years ago & I love driving EVERY DAY

published

Every review from USA is rubbish, MY Mitsubishi PINK HATCH has given me & my family in Sydney Australia nothing but safety & pleasure! The steering is unbelievable, the breaks in an emergency lock immediately! I feel save in my MM which I drive every day of every year on local town roads, highways, motorways! I use my car everyday, I service it every 6 months with the same mechanic who also advises on any replacement tyres etc. Latest from the mechanic was that SHE was in good condition, so keep up the regular services & "SHE" will last me a long time!

Purchased for A$9,000.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
b19ckr9bb1t

b19ckr9bb1tAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap cheerful car to get you from A to B

published

Overall driving experience is nothing to shout about. Main thing is it's a cheap car to buy on the second hand market. I think the suspension is pretty appalling but for the price I suppose I cannot expect top quality. Cheap to run from rego, insurance and fuel efficiency basis.

Purchased in February 2015 for A$5,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
paulhags

paulhagsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Such a good car

published

I use it as a work car I bought it new 2013 now done 130000km so far one set of brake pads and a set of tyres bloody unbelievable I get 4.2 to 5 liters per 100km

Purchased in March 2013 at Mandurah Mitsubishi for A$11,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Geoff_H

Geoff_HCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good value when bought 2nd hand

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Catharina Strydom

Catharina StrydomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most economic and reliable car I've had

published

My manual Mitsubishi Mirage use n fraction of the petrol my previous car used. Services are reasonable and it's a reliable car with built in Bluetooth, and ample space. When back seats are folded down, a washing machine fits inside. We have transported many bulky things in this little car. I recently replaced tyres and they were cheap. Great car!

Purchased in April 2013 at Norris Motor Group Brisbane for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mohamed sekek

Mohamed sekekGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

!!! Best car Ever !!!

published

I bought this car in 2014, never had a single problem, in 3 years ran like a bullet, cheap to run, very easy to drive. Buy it your will never lose.

Purchased in October 2014 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Manda

MandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

The best little car!

published

My first car was a Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 model second hand that I learnt to drive in I’ve only had my licence for about 6 yrs and I am also a bit older and had no idea how to drive! Never had one problem whatsoever! Excellent on fuel. I got my Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 serviced every 10,000kms and never had 1 problem. A bit small was my only issue and also being a 2 door was a bit hard to get in and out of the back. I would highly recommend this beauty of a car to anyone that is learning to drive, so so easy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012
K O

K OPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisGold Coast

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

I love my mirage... but

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Sorry

SorryAlice Springs, NT

  • 2 reviews

Aircon blows hot air within 11 months in my new mirage

published

The noise levels are a major concern. It rattles on the highways which is a bit scary. Car manufacturers should be honest in providing good quality cars even if the prices are higher. Such cheap cars should not be allowed legally to be sold. It is not worth it. I don’t recommend this car to even my worst enemy

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
nfaruqi

nfaruqiSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car !

published
BodySedan
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Carolynne Beazley

Carolynne BeazleyNorth Turramurra

  • 2 reviews

awesome car - couldn't ask for more for the price!

published

Performs really well, nimble on the road. Haven't noticed much noise. Interior does look cheap but functional
Legroom surprisingly amazing - we actually fit in 4 adults quite comfortably and we're all over 6'1"!! We were shocked.
Really cost efficient to run - slow to go through petrol
Not very powerful up the hills, but really does the job well enough nonetheless.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good for a short work commute.

published

Those criticising the Mirage's looks should compare it to the Nissan micra.
My Mirage had to have the manual gear box replaced at 24000 km. A vibrating sensation was noticeable through the pedals.
The dealer said Mitsubishi had changed manufactures and the replacement shouldn't give me any bother. Has anyone had this problem, or know whether the replacement gear box is of better quality than the original. To their credit Mitsubishi replaced it under warranty, but if it fails again within say 25,000 km, the cost could ruin me.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionThe manual gearbox had to be replaced under warranty at 23000 km. Does anyone know if the replacement box Mitsubishi fit is any better than the original. I was told by the dealer the replacement box comes from a different manufacturer.
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Jani

JaniSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very fuel efficient!

published

This car is a great value car! Very cheap on petrol, 4.6L/100km, and hence the running costs are very low. The overall driving experience was positive, except the fact that the engine is a little loud when you have to accelerate. The interior is about right for the money you are paying for it. As a tall 6 foot man, I could fit comfortably inside. However, one thing is that the interior looks a little cheap, with plastic used in most places. Apart from this, the design is perfect.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim L

Tim LOxenford

  • 4 reviews

Good car - especially for the price

published

If you are paying less than $15 grand for a car then you have to expect some trade offs. However after driving the car for a while, the highway noise can be a little loud but not overly so and handling is great. The bluetooth has had some issue with Android phones but only happens in a blue moon. The voice recognition is great with a 90% match on the names i say. You do have to keep manually importing the phone contacts into the car for any changes.

Service is cheap with fixed price servicing every 15k kms and super cheap to run. I get about 5L/100 on my daily commute

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Eric

EricSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fuel efficient small car

published

This car is extremely well in fuel efficiency. It cost me about $35 for a full tank of fuel. Even though this is a lower end small car, it still equipped with a great Bluetooth system. I can play my favourite music in the car connecting to the spotify app from my iphone.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Great car for short distance

published

Compact car that saves fuel, small and easy to park. I only need to pump once a fortnight and it only costs my about 30 dollar. Easy maintenance as well as sleek design. I would recommend for a short distance drive around town. Very comfortable and spacious as the back seat can be adjusted to lie flat.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
nic

nicmelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

OK first car

published

I don't mind this car, it gets me from A to B, but it is a bit noisy and I'm not a huge fan of what it looks like. Petrol is affordable which is good and when I'm driving around a lot it'll usually last me 2 weeks even with a small tank. It fits a lot more in it than it appears which is handy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Caroline

CarolineHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my purple Mirage

published

This car is very fuel economical. I use it for work and considering the size of the car, I get all my work equipment in with no problems. We've had no mechanical problems after nearly 3 years. The dashboard is simple but easy to use. Legroom is ok for all the family. My only complaint and it's a small one, due to the size of tyres they need to be changed more frequently than on a bigger car. Reliable, economical and a big bang for a small buck.

BodySedan
BadgeOptions
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Shan

Shanasked

LA (Hatchback) LS CVT (2013-2020)

Hi, I just purchased a 2014 mirage and in trying to figure out why the aircon isn't blowing cold air, I've noticed the radiator fan isn't spinning - that I have seen. I haven't done any long trips in it yet, generally only 10 minute drives so far. My question is, how long should it take for the fan to kick in? I am scared to drive far in case the fan isn't working!
Thank you for any help!

1 answer
j.chilton5
j.chilton5

Radiator fan should only kick in when it needs to i.e. it won't spin as soon as you turn on the car. It will eventually start spinning when you are stuck in traffic (you'll hear it click on) but shouldn't need to if you're driving in normal conditions as there is enough cooling via the normal airflow over the radiator.

Phil

Philasked

Mirage CE (1996-2003)

2002 mirage 1.5 manual. What are the timing belt service intervals please

1 answer
Koala27
Koala27

I do mine every 100,000 km - also change all the other belts and check water pump for leaks while doing the timing belt. replacing a leaky pump works out cheaper if done during the timing belt replacement.

Melanie Diss

Melanie Dissasked

Mirage CE (1996-2003)

I have a manual Mirage 2003 As the engine is fairly basic I'd like to do basic maintenance; oil change, oil filter replacement,brakes etc myself. Where is the best place to find D.I.Y. information?
Any ideas would be great, thanks!

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.