??!
14 photos
Nissan Pulsar
3.8 from 171 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (18)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (18)
  • Braking
    3.3 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.8 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.1 (14)
  • Suspension
    2.9 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (16)
  • Handling
    3.2 (15)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (16)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (16)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (16)
  • Features
    3.4 (16)
Previous
Next
Ramraja

Ramraja Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

This is worsts car don’t buy my car transmission is gone

published

No good I was driving car suddenly stop when I press Exeter not moving my car is gone noises it’s is on warranty transmission problem please tell me what to do

Purchased in December 2013 at Dandenong Nissan pulsar for $21,900.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Adz

AdzSydney, NSW

Transmission faults

published

My nissian pulsar is used for getting to and from work I was unaware of transmission fault with this car it is a factory fault.my car transmission blew after 6 years.I would not buy one of these unless has had gearbox overhaul.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
See all answers
Billy

BillyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Bullet proof engine absolutely outstanding longevity perfect runaround car.

published

Had this car for the last 5 years from my boss who sold it to me for $150 . cost $600 to put it on the road done now around 300Thous clicks been through Hell and Back I mean everywhere from city to Bush to high country even some 4wd tracks and its absolutely bullet proof. Just give it the old 10km yearly service and You can't go wrong I mean it will not disappoint you and never let you down .
I use it to work and it's a definite investment for cost savings very cheap to run .

Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Saahil

SaahilSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth buying this car. Don't waste your money

published

I brought this car 3 years ago from his previous in 2017..just driven to work and home in Sydney metro area mostly. Always regular service with registered mechanic. Extended warranty expired few months ago. 80k transmission failed. Mechanic told me its a common problem with this model of Nissan and second hand gearbox will cost around 4K plus $800 fitting. This car not worth buying and Nissan Australia is not helping at all to sort this. Don’t waste your money.

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

CVT transmission hard to drive

published

Bought it from the Dandenong nissan dealership everything so far so good with this car but the worse transmission experience
Acceleration feel worse
Don’t recommend this car
Compare to Toyota CVT no good

Purchased in August 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Reddy

ReddySydney, NSW

CVT Transmission failure

published

I brought this car two years old from his original owner in 2015.just driven to work and home in Sydney metro area mostly .always regular service with registered mechanic .Around 85000kms transmission failed.so my mechanic told me its a common problem with this model and after contacting Nissan they agreed to repair as goodwill.So beware of this model with transmission.

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
See all answers
Jerry

JerryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

2014 st-s hatch Auto

published

Took a risk on buying this car has it was an x rental but was so cheap I decided to go for it as car came with full service history and a list of all issues it ever had. Brought her in 2017 with 45000k’s 3 years later she has now done 88000 and other than regular servicing we have not spent one extra cent on anything. The car has good power considering only 1.6, the roomiest back seat of all the hatches and uses around 8ltrs per 100k’s. So for $10000 it’s been a fantastic buy and we couldn’t be happier.

Purchased in November 2017 at Hertz Rental for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Jerry
Jerry

Sorry forgot to mention car does have the Pulsar turbo issue with fuel gauge..... very annoying but defiantly not a deal breaker

Good honest car!!!

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Display name

Display nameSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Beware CVT Transmission

published

Car is mostly driven on a freeway, family car & meticulous service history. At 160000kms the CVT transmission went on the vehicle. It has got a lot more kms than most who have CVT issues but 160000 for the trans needing to be replaced is not acceptable. Nissan haven't wanted to know about the issue, i will never purchase another Nissan again, or any vehicle that has a CVT trasmission.

Purchased in September 2018 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

CVT transmission failed second time

published

CVT failed second time. It is a known issue to Nissan
First time they replaced the whole CVT and at that time my car was under warranty. Now it would cost be a lot. They should cover it under warranty as CVT should come with separate warranty.
This is absolute failure of Nissan but they are not fixing the issue

Purchased in June 2013 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
See all answers
Dulamjav T.

Dulamjav T.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't buy Nissan Pulsar Please!!! CVT failed

published

CVT transmission failed at 100,000km then It costs around $6000. I would read reviews before my purchase. Nissan's known fault with the CVT transmission Again please don't buy NISSAN PULSAR

Purchased in October 2017 for $10,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah W.

Sarah W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Reliable and well built

published

This has been an excellent car. The only thing that I has an issue with was the rear view mirror fell off but Nissan replaced it even thought it was out of warranty. Its not the speediest car but its reliable, safe and very economical. It has amazing handling. I would defiantly purchase a Nissan again. Only annoying thing is the stereo does not pair with IPhone contacts.

Purchased in December 2013 at Nissan Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mick

MickDarling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nissan Junk

published

I bought a 2005 Nissan Pulsar last week with 140,168 klms on it. On the way home with it there were times it would stall and need to be restarted. This week it cant start and the compression is very low on all cylinders. What a complete piece of junk. I have always had Toyota in the past and this kind of problem will never exist with any Toyota that only has 140k on it.
I should have known better from the problems with the Navara I had, never ever ever buy a Nissan......

Pete

PeteWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent medium sized car for daily driver

published

I've owned this car from new for six years and done 190,000 km in it. Apart from an inexplicable early failure of interior heating element replaced under warranty, I've had no issues at all. Only replaced tyres, battery, windscreen due to stone chips and rear shocks. It is the most economical and super reliable car I've ever owned and at 61 years of age that's saying a lot. It's also a comfortable car for long drives and fits four adults easily. The boot is massive too. My only complaints would be it's got no pulling power if you are loaded down and climbing hills or towing but it was never built for that and the back seats don't fold down. That's it for complaints.

CVT replaced

published

Bought my B17 in March 2018 2nd hand. In December the CVT transmission failed as expected at 67k. Fully replacement of transmission made by Nissan Australia under warranty.
Made to 85k in 8 months and still going.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacqueline U.

Jacqueline U.South East Queensland, QLD

If I knew about the CVT in Nissan Pulsars B17 wouldn't of brought it.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Carzoos for $11,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
D P.

D P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for the price but CVT went Kaput just like many others.

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hugh Weerawardane

Hugh WeerawardaneSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

CVT failed at 67998 kms

published

My car is a 2014 Nissan Pulsar auto ST (B17). I live in Sydney, on 15 May 2019, on our way to Canberra, the CVT failed, car was taken to Nissan Dealer in Mos Vale. I made the Nissan Dealer aware that this particular Nissan Model had previously reported problems with the CVT. On Monday the 20 May, I was told by the Nissan Dealer that CVT has failed and Nissan Australia has accepted to replace it under warranty. I picked up the car on Saturday the 8 June. Mos Vale Nissan has done an excellent job and now I feel its like a new car with a brand new CVT. Have noticed a an improvement in fuel consumption.

Purchased in October 2015 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lana

LanaHobart, TAS

  • 7 reviews

Excellent car and price is affordable

published

Have been driving my pulsar for 8 months now and love it. It’s 2015 build, automatic, runs perfect and very good on fuel, only takes about 6litres per 100kms.

Spacey inside and the boot can fit a lot of things - pram, bike, other bags, e.g groceries.

Runs smooth and gets up to speed quick.

Highly recommend

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed

Pulsar 2013 , transmission gave up on me at 80000kms

published

I just use the car locally for shopping or picking up and dropping off the kids. The car is serviced every 6 months regularly . I don't do more than 13 000 KMs a year at a Toyota service centre . I only use unleaded 98 fuel , top range petrol.
The car failed in the middle of a busy road . AAMI towed it to a Nissan dealer . 2 days now and haven't heard from them other than transmission problem. Toyota gave me 5 years warranty including manufacturing warranty . It is apparently expired . The cost to replace transmission might be up to $7000.
Anything can be done about this transmission short life ? All mechanics say Nissan pulsars have a faulty transmission by nature

Purchased in March 2014 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Toe

Toeasked

Pulsar N16 (2000-2005)

My Nissan Pulsar Q 2002 auto gets stuck in 1st gear after sitting at traffic lights, I have to pull over & turn it off & on & then it's fine. It happens randomly. Sometimes once a week & Sometimes twice a day. It has been well looked after & only has 120 000 kms on the clock

No answers
Marcel B.

Marcel B.asked

Pulsar

Why does My 2005 nissan pulsar sometimes start instantly and sometimes starts only after the motor turns over some 20 times

No answers
Brett J.

Brett J.asked

Pulsar B17 (Sedan) (2013-2017)

Hi I have a Nissan pulsar b17 2017 my fan's not working where can I find the relay for it

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $22,990$24,790$29,990$29,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power96kW @ 6000rpm96kW @ 6000rpm96kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque174Nm @ 4800rpm174Nm @ 4800rpm174Nm @ 4800rpm240Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2017Dec 2017Dec 2017Dec 2017
Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.