??!
14 photos
Nissan Pulsar
3.9 from 162 reviews

Reviews

(64)
(57)
(19)
(7)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (10)
  • Handling
    3.2 (9)
  • Braking
    3.4 (10)
  • Suspension
    2.9 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.3 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (10)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (10)
  • Features
    3.2 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (10)


CVT transmission failed second time

published

CVT failed second time. It is a known issue to Nissan
First time they replaced the whole CVT and at that time my car was under warranty. Now it would cost be a lot. They should cover it under warranty as CVT should come with separate warranty.
This is absolute failure of Nissan but they are not fixing the issue

Purchased in June 2013 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
See all answers

Dulamjav T.

Dulamjav T.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy Nissan Pulsar Please!!! CVT failed

published

CVT transmission failed at 100,000km then It costs around $6000. I would read reviews before my purchase. Nissan's known fault with the CVT transmission Again please don't buy NISSAN PULSAR

Purchased in October 2017 for $10,300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sarah W.

Sarah W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Reliable and well built

published

This has been an excellent car. The only thing that I has an issue with was the rear view mirror fell off but Nissan replaced it even thought it was out of warranty. Its not the speediest car but its reliable, safe and very economical. It has amazing handling. I would defiantly purchase a Nissan again. Only annoying thing is the stereo does not pair with IPhone contacts.

Purchased in December 2013 at Nissan Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickDarling Downs, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Nissan Junk

published

I bought a 2005 Nissan Pulsar last week with 140,168 klms on it. On the way home with it there were times it would stall and need to be restarted. This week it cant start and the compression is very low on all cylinders. What a complete piece of junk. I have always had Toyota in the past and this kind of problem will never exist with any Toyota that only has 140k on it.
I should have known better from the problems with the Navara I had, never ever ever buy a Nissan......


Pete

PeteWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent medium sized car for daily driver

published

I've owned this car from new for six years and done 190,000 km in it. Apart from an inexplicable early failure of interior heating element replaced under warranty, I've had no issues at all. Only replaced tyres, battery, windscreen due to stone chips and rear shocks. It is the most economical and super reliable car I've ever owned and at 61 years of age that's saying a lot. It's also a comfortable car for long drives and fits four adults easily. The boot is massive too. My only complaints would be it's got no pulling power if you are loaded down and climbing hills or towing but it was never built for that and the back seats don't fold down. That's it for complaints.


CVT replaced

published

Bought my B17 in March 2018 2nd hand. In December the CVT transmission failed as expected at 67k. Fully replacement of transmission made by Nissan Australia under warranty.
Made to 85k in 8 months and still going.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jacqueline U.

Jacqueline U.South East Queensland, QLD

If I knew about the CVT in Nissan Pulsars B17 wouldn't of brought it.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Carzoos for $11,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

D P.

D P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for the price but CVT went Kaput just like many others.

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Hugh Weerawardane

Hugh WeerawardaneSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

CVT failed at 67998 kms

published

My car is a 2014 Nissan Pulsar auto ST (B17). I live in Sydney, on 15 May 2019, on our way to Canberra, the CVT failed, car was taken to Nissan Dealer in Mos Vale. I made the Nissan Dealer aware that this particular Nissan Model had previously reported problems with the CVT. On Monday the 20 May, I was told by the Nissan Dealer that CVT has failed and Nissan Australia has accepted to replace it under warranty. I picked up the car on Saturday the 8 June. Mos Vale Nissan has done an excellent job and now I feel its like a new car with a brand new CVT. Have noticed a an improvement in fuel consumption.

Purchased in October 2015 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lana

LanaHobart, TAS

  • 7 reviews

Excellent car and price is affordable

published

Have been driving my pulsar for 8 months now and love it. It’s 2015 build, automatic, runs perfect and very good on fuel, only takes about 6litres per 100kms.

Spacey inside and the boot can fit a lot of things - pram, bike, other bags, e.g groceries.

Runs smooth and gets up to speed quick.

Highly recommend

Purchased in September 2018.

BoughtUsed

Pulsar 2013 , transmission gave up on me at 80000kms

published

I just use the car locally for shopping or picking up and dropping off the kids. The car is serviced every 6 months regularly . I don't do more than 13 000 KMs a year at a Toyota service centre . I only use unleaded 98 fuel , top range petrol.
The car failed in the middle of a busy road . AAMI towed it to a Nissan dealer . 2 days now and haven't heard from them other than transmission problem. Toyota gave me 5 years warranty including manufacturing warranty . It is apparently expired . The cost to replace transmission might be up to $7000.
Anything can be done about this transmission short life ? All mechanics say Nissan pulsars have a faulty transmission by nature

Purchased in March 2014 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sisterliz

SisterlizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great to drive

published

I use this car at least daily for school pick ups running kids around, visiting friends going to appointments etcThere have been no issues with the Car, it is serviced as reccomended by the Book

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Not happy

Not happySydney Surrounds, NSW

Not happy with nissan pulsar cars

published

Hi bought a 2014 nissan pulsar only had the car for two years broke down it is going to cost 4600 not happy had it serviced it is up to about 114 000 km so been serviced it should not have happened ..eny suggestions what to do i dont have that sort of money to get fixed.

Purchased in September 2016 at Oz car for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wajeeha

WajeehaVictoria

Faulty transmission

published

I have a 2013 nissan pulsar sedan. And serviced on every 10,000 kms. It's only used 71,000 kms.I take my car to one of the mechanics as my car(Nissan Sedan 2013) stopped in the middle of freeway and this happen few times, I have found that the transmission have fault.I take it to the Nissan Dandenong Victoria Nissan office and its more than 2 months my car is in there service station.They asked about the service history I provide the service book and now they are asking about the invoices. The manager and the staff is too rude and they are not claiming for the warranty as they said they will and even not giving back my car which is still in there service station.

BodySedan
BadgeST
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
2 comments
Wajeeha
Wajeeha
Wajeeha
Wajeeha

jane

janeBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Only one problem with the car.

published
BodySedan
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Nissan Pulsar N16 Review

published

Nisan Pulsar N16 year 2000 model
Great little car has lasted 19 years to date and still running

issues over 19 years

cam crank sensors and rear sensor
lights flickering
key immobilser stopped but now working again just get a new key with a new transponder programmed to vehicle
apart from that has been very reliable car
Japanese cars are the best.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2003

Brian

BrianSouthside

  • 2 reviews

beautiful car

published

We own a 2013 sss pulsar - automatic - only issue we have really had that has stopped it driving was a flat battery(which was my own fault) fantastic amount of power, handles well and is fuel efficient! We would only sell it to upgrade to something with more seats

BodyHatch
BadgeSSS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

It's very good except power

published
BodySedan
BadgeST-L
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Reddy

ReddyCanberra

CVT issues in the car

published
BodySedan
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013

david

davidwerrington downs

trouble with gearbox

published
BodySedan
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Donna

Donnaasked

I have a 2016 Nissan Pulsar, it has done less than 50,000ks. I been told that the gearbox is broken.

Is this a common problem for Nissan Pulsars?

1 answer
Younus Khan
Younus Khan

Yes CVT is common problem
They will replaced it


dljacko

dljackoasked

I have a 1999 N15 Hatchback and have had a hit from the rear. Rather than scrapping it I can get a 1996 model from a friend for parts but am unsure if everything is the same. I know the front grille and bumper are slightly different but am not sure about everything else.

No answers

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

1998pulsae motor was pinging then when you'd get 2 2000rev start surging now it stoped it's got fuel pumping up it's got spark

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.