6 photos
Ozito 700W 410mm Electric Pole PHT-410

Ozito 700W 410mm Electric Pole PHT-410

2.8 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ozito? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.8
12 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    Fftsx
    Fftsx
    • 8 reviews

    Brushes wearing out also destroys the commutator

    published
    Incentivised Review No
    Lily
    LilyNSW, 2150
    • 79 reviews
    • 41 likes

    makes pruning trees easy

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2019
    Anup
    Anuptest

    Ozito 900W Electric Pole Hedge trimmer

    published

    Top heavy making it difficult to use. Blades dont grip properly, have to go over the hedges 2-3 times to get clean cut.
    Its too awkward to use and control the blades at full length, to balance you need to grip the bar but then it becomes difficult to keep the power button on. Poor design.
    Returned back to bunnings.

    Date PurchasedMay 2018
    Electric Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Ozito 700W 410mm Electric Pole PHT-410 compares to other Electric Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Glenda
    Glendasydney
    • 15 reviews
    • 10 likes

    Ozito pole trimmer PHT-410

    published

    These are very well made but I suggest having one assembled and shown before buying. I found them very top heavy and awkward to use especially working on a ladder. I bought mine to get over the top of hedges as opposed to their height. Having worked on many power tools I removed the top pole section and put the cutting head on the lower section. (some engineering is required). It now has a very useful reach of 1.5 m and does the job well. Of course I voided the warranty.
    This machine would have been a lot handier if the top pole section could be easily removed as part of it's features.

    Date PurchasedJuly 2017
    Kingsley60
    Kingsley60Sydney, NSW
    • 8 reviews
    • 13 likes
    • Verified

    Didn't last long. Motor design problems.

    published
    Date PurchasedNov 2014
    otzi
    otziAU
    • 11 reviews
    • 17 likes

    Does the job for power and price.

    published

    Had this few years now. Not much use, minutes a year like most trimmers. Brought on power and the open fingers of the cutter blade. Has not disappointed. Used abusively on viburnum and lilly pilly, just hope into it. It will chew into the bigger bits quite well. For the price it's good. Read the other lower rated postings but mine has been good. The silver push thing has jammed, and removed on shaft join but clamp holds it good.

    Date PurchasedMay 2013
    Wingco
    WingcoPoint Cook

    Lasted less than 20 seconds before motor burnt out

    published

    Purchased from Bunnings. Took about 20 mins to assemble and about 20 seconds for the motor to burn out on first run. Returned to Bunnings same day and replaced with a Ryobi. Staff member said this was not first unit to be returned with a burnt out motor. Does Ozito have quality control? Maybe I just got a dud...

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    reg m
    reg m
    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    poor build

    published

    after little use machine stopped going , i found a [ lot] of saw dust in the gear box and i mean a lot, and some in the motor . is going ok but the bar oil is running out when in storage , a lot of trouble with machine for a small amount of use

    Date PurchasedOct 2015

    Worked ok for a couple of years, then end of motor shaft broke off

    published

    It worked OK for a couple of years but today I was pruning our Lemon-scented Darwinia and hit a thicker branch (1cm?) which it couldn't cut through and there was a mechanical noise and the blades stopped working. On disassembly I found that the end of the motor shaft, which is a small worm gear driving the larger output shaft, has broken off. There seems to be a sacrificial coupling a little further along the output shaft that should have given way but it didn't causing the more serious failure. It has been quite good up until now for what I need and I will try to get a replacement armature but I suspect it will cost more than replacing the unit or won't be available.

    brian
    brian

    To their credit, I did get a new armature from bunnings (special order) for under $30 so the trimmer is going again.

    brian
    brian

    Died again, motor brushes worn out but again via a special order from bunnings I will have new brushes in a week or so at ~$20. I have to say that the spares/support from bunnings for this machine has been pretty good!

    Electric Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Ozito 700W 410mm Electric Pole PHT-410 compares to other Electric Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Phil777
    Phil777Perth
    • 20 reviews
    • 24 likes

    Can't beat it for price and performance

    published

    After looking at a few different hedge trimmers, I bought it from Bunning s and have not looked back.
    The swivel head and rotating motor/hand grip mean you can cut on any angle in pretty much any situation.
    The fingers are quite wide meaning You can cut pretty thick branches for a hedge trimmer.
    The only disappointment is that you can't connect the cutting head to the main motor without the pole extension. This would have been a pretty easy design change and would have made it very versatile.
    Recommended!

    ps1812
    ps1812AU
    • 3 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Great job, low cost!!

    published
    beebeegee
    beebeegeeMelbourne, Vic
    • 115 reviews
    • 100 likes

    Good pole trimmer for city sized blocks where a power cord works

    published
    dave07
    dave07

    For $149 with a replacement warranty i think you would be crazy not to purchase an ozito !!!! i cut through some fair size branches and its still wants to cut through more. i would recommend this to any home gardener....

    Questions & Answers

    Barbara MInahan
    Barbara MInahanasked

    We love the extension hedge cuter but after time it is ,as many have commented, quite top heavy. Does Ozito make a harness like some of the other brands, The neck band is not sufficient.

    1 answer
    Glenda
    Glenda

    I'm don't know about a harness.I'm well built but still found it too heavy also dangerous to use on a stepladder.
    I took the cutter head off and attached it to the first section of the machine ,its now a handy manageable length but there's a bit of engineering has to be done also you will void the warranty.I would think all these type of pole trimmers are top heavy.

    PAT
    PATasked

    Do Ozito have an electric hedge trimmer that is not a"pole "type? I only need for lower use with some branches

    1 answer
    Glenda
    Glenda

    Ozito have a big range of short hedge trimmers at Bunnings and I'm sure they would all be good. I have a short Makita 240v UH4861 trimmer I think it's better quality than my Ozito.Its quiter and has a better feel to it but probably costs more. BTW I have a big range of Makita power tools and never had any trouble them

    johnny m
    johnny masked

    How do I grease it?

    1 answer
    brian
    brian

    I'm afraid you have to dismantle the unit to get to the gear to grease it. It isn't that hard to take apart but I recommend taking a few photos as you go to make sure you can get it back together.

    Get an answer from our members

    Details

    CategoryElectric Hedge Trimmers
    Power SourceElectric
    Weight6.05kg
    Price (RRP)$149
    Blade Length410mm
    Release dateFeb 2012
    ManualDownload manual
    Visit official website

    Other Electric Hedge Trimmers

    See all Electric Hedge Trimmers

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.