1 photo
Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread

Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread

1.2 from 216 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Food & Drink Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Stuart B.
Stuart B.Sydney, NSW

Pecks paste

published

I bought 2 jars of the Anchovette paste and it is very watery has no taste, I noticed it is now made in France and I had a older jar in the pantry and it was made in Australia and wasn't watery and actually tastes better, won't be buying it again

Purchased in September 2021 at Coles for $1.90.

Incentivised Review No
GeePee1
GeePee1Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Very sloppy.

published

I came looking for a website to complain about the jar that I have just finished. Very disappointed with how watery and sloppy it was, I could nearly pour it out of the jar. Won't bother with this product again.

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Richard O.
Richard O.Sydney, NSW

Used to be pink in colour

published

Colour now brown very sloppy taste is not like it was when it was pink.
Will not buy again it has a after taste gritty texture and not what I remember.

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Kate
Kate
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

What happened??

published

So terrible I thought I purchased a bad batch. Bought another one. Same revolting mess inside! Oily, runny and stinks. oh, and it's GREY. They changed the anchovette recipe too, idots - no one will buy this product anymore.

Purchased in March 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Food & Drink Products

Find out how Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colin
ColinThe Mallee, VIC
  • 2 reviews

As good as ever.

published

I remember as an eight year old that my mum used to buy Peck's Paste products and that was over 60 years ago. I well remember the TV ads .A voice over man inSydney called Owen Ainley used to say " A little Peck's goes such a loooong way". I'm enjoying it most days for lunch on a fresh bread roll and lashings of butter. Just like when I was a kid.

Purchased in May 2021 at Coles Supermarkets for $1.60.

Incentivised Review No
Mòose
MòoseVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Its gone from a paste to runny goop.

published

What havè they done to it? I have thrown out 2 jars thinking it was off, had been useing it for years, is now a pouring consistency yuk, wont be buying again.

Purchased in April 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Andrew
AndrewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disgusting

published

Have been buying Pecks Paste for 50 odd years, about six months ago purchased a couple of the small jars and opened and it looked awful and was of a pouring consistency , opened the second and was the same,tossed them both out thinking it was a bad batch!!!!
Foot note: I always refrigerate for a few days before I open !!
Purchased again a few weeks later and the exact same, tossed out again and didn’t want to ever buy Pecks again.
In Coles today and thought it must be fixed by now,NO still the sloppy smelly awful looking mixture,Yuk Yuk Yuk !!!
NEVER AGAIN Mr Pecks

Purchased in April 2021 for $1.30.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Janie
JanieBowral
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

What have you done Pecks?

published

I cannot believe this 'paste' has passed factory quality control. Did you think consumers wouldn't notice?
It's watery, smelly & just awful. I used to love this product & Anchovette but no more.

Incentivised Review No
THomas S
THomas SSydney
  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Agree with pecks bad review

published

I couldn’t work out if I had a bad batch then after a few months tried again still the same. Terrible oily, rancid smell and unpalatable. I can’t believe Woolworths still stock it. Surely their stock control must indicate it is not selling. Just look at how many people here think it has changed for the worse

Purchased in August 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Food & Drink Products

Find out how Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mary T
Mary TGoulburn Valley, VIC

Sloppy Paste

published

I had a hankering for this paste after not purchasing it for a number of years and was I in for a shock when I I opened the jar today..... goodness me, oily and sloppy and looked a dreadful colour... Did I perhaps just buy from a bad batch????

Purchased in February 2021 for $1.20.

Incentivised Review No
Barbara W.
Barbara W.South East Queensland, QLD

its changed for the worse

published

have bought and enjoyed for years its now sloppy and oily not the spread i have bought and enjoyed for years Makes sandwiches soggy and toast it drips through so not practical to make for school lunches please change back to the original recipe

Purchased in January 2021 at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
BChan
BChanSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awful

published

Disappointed with the product. Loved it for many years. Bought a bottle recently and it was awful. Runny and taste terrible! Threw the bottle out instantly after a teaspoonful. Never buying it again. The thought of it makes me gag!

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Food & Drink Products

Find out how Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread compares to other Food & Drink Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Courtney M.
Courtney M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Yucky

published

Tastes like food poisoning :)

Change the formula back to how it use to be! I used to love this paste and never got sick of having it. Now I can’t even finish the piece I’m eating it on.

DO BETTER.

Purchased in January 2021 at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
iean
ieanPhnom Penh

Gone downhill and unpalatable

published

The product available in Cambodia has separation of paste and oil and is completely different to the excellent product available to us for years past. The product is not time expired but it is sloppy and unattractive.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 for $5.50.

Incentivised Review No
the little master
the little masterCentral West, NSW

sloppy pecks paste

published

I remember your great products when I was young....always a great snack on sladas after school. Unfortunately the product has gone downhill, now when you spread it on a salada it's that sloppy it runs through the holes on the biscuit, making an unnecessary mess. Maybe the exta liquid in the spread isn't warrented.

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No

Questions & Answers

Jddy
Jddyasked

Has General Mills , distributor of Pecks Paste ever responded?

2 answers
Andrew
Andrew

Hi Jddy,
No feedback from anyone
Cheers

Janie
Janie

Nothing at all from them Jiddy. I bought a small jar of Anchovette the other day...same other than a slight taste of anchovy. Same colour as Salmon & Lobster, smells awful, tastes even worse & very sloppy even after regrigeration. I threw it out, can't be bothered to make the effort to write to a company that produces such crap & calls it fish paste. I bought mine at Coles so might let them know.
Cheers!

Monique
Moniqueasked

When will you go back to the original recipe? I’m still waiting. I hate the consistency of the new one. It’s unusable. When will you revert to the original and why did you change it?

2 answers
Troy
Troy

I agree it's crap!!!!

Monique
Monique

Yes, total crap!!!

Janet D.
Janet D.asked

Bring back the original paste,not this crap you have been dishing up the last couple of years.

4 answers
Terry Kinsella
Terry Kinsella

The ingredients stated awhile ago that it was 68% salmon - what bloody nonsense - more like 68% diaper contents !!

Janet D.
Janet D.

I agree with you,been eating pecks for 60 years people know the difference

Jules
Jules

Yes it’s terrible, watery, oily & when you open the lid it runs out and it stinks

See all Peck's Salmon & Lobster Tasty Spread questions

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.