??!
11 photos
Peugeot 508

Peugeot 508

W2.I, R8
4.2 from 25 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(15)
(6)
(0)
(3)
(1)


Consumer #1

Consumer #1Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Nice Car

published

frak86

frak86AU

  • 4 reviews

Great car.

published

Goodboy

GoodboySydney

Beautiful to drive , well asembled but from garbage parts that keep breaking down , also local deale

published
BodySedan
BadgeAllure
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
designduo

designduoAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brilliant value

published
BodySedan
BadgeGT HDi
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Nin

NinWollongong

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Peugeot 508 sedan

published

Beautiful to drive, running costs are amazing!! It has a 1.6lt turbo engine that uses the same amount of fuel if not less then a Mazda 3 sp 23 2.3 litre. this is the first European car I’ve had & im totally sold! The only thing I could fault is the lack of space in the console.. so small! As is the glove box.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Scottey

ScotteySydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Love this car

published

Coming onto 170k never missed a beat.
Absolutely lovely to drive, very well finished and comfy.
I had a Lexus before this and was worried about stepping back to a "non luxury" car but I do not regret it at all.
1200kms to a tank
Only thing I didn't like was the sterio but I have since upgraded.

BodyWagon
BadgeAllure HDi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011

Not perfect but so very very good

published

The GT spec offers acceptable performance but it’s real strength is just how well it performs as an easy to live with every-day prospect.
Quieter on the highway than many of the German similar size sedans, and way better ride.
GT spec gives lots of options, which unfortunately occupy storage space. For this reason (and probably more so in RHD configuration) storage is awful.

BodySedan
BadgeGT Luxury HDi
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Jimmy.B

Jimmy.B

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car but as all European cars, very troublesome

published

Very nice car, with great leather interior and dashboard but as with all European cars you must be prepared for some trouble and expect to pay a bit for repairs. I would recommend this car to those who can afford it and afford to have it consistently serviced. The diesel fuel also helps reduce the cost of fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeAllure HDi
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Paula S

Paula SAlbury

Great economy, great to drive but have had some issues

published
BodySedan
BadgeAllure
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Rick

RickKew East, Victoria

Great Car

published

I have now done just on 80,000ks and could not be more happy with the performance and economy of the diesel engine. We do a fair bit of highway driving and and engine is just on 2000 RPM when sitting on 110km/hr. Seats are very comfortable with lots of leg room front and back for 4 adults. I have previously had 307 & 308 cars and the 50-8 is just great and I can not understand why it is not a lot more popular. My only gripes are the cup holder positions and the small glovebox Regan Motors have been very thorough with both their sales and servicing.

BodySedan
BadgeAllure HDi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

OZWacko

OZWackoKempsey

awesome car

published
BodyWagon
BadgeAllure
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Handywoman

Handywoman

  • 2 reviews

Luxurious car

published

Bought this second-hand but it had excellent and complete service records. It's my 4th Peugeot and the most luxurious (previous 504, 306 and 308) - leather seats, extras such as GPS (Sat-nav), parking sensors front and rear, excellent fuel economy, and it's powerful yet quiet. I'm only 160 cm tall but the steering wheel and seat (forward, up and tilt) all adjust to make it perfect for me - few cars that can do that. Air-conditioner also adjusts for front driver, passenger as well as for rear passengers. And it has a huge boot!

BodySedan
BadgeActive e-HDi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Mark

MarkLaunceston

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A great safe family wagon.

published

Traded in our 407 wagon after 5 years of trouble free motoring, to a 508 hdi wagon, can't believe how quiet it is, better fuel economy and more interior room. A great highway cruiser with plenty of power when you need it. compared to the Ford Mondeo which is the main rival to the 508 which I have for a work car the Peugeot has a more luxurious feel to it { the Mondeo still a good car}

BodyWagon
BadgeAllure HDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

kouts

kouts

  • 2 reviews

Unbelievable luxurious comfort

published
BodySedan
BadgeBussines pack
TransmissionManual

Super impressed

Super impressedBeaudesert

  • 3 reviews

Disappointed....

published

We have only done 22,000kms and have had problems with key not being detected. Dealer advised couldn't find problem or key sometimes plays up. Now we have a shudder when putting into drive. Sat Nav isn't current. Slow to take off. Disappointed for the cost. Our 8th new car but first Peugeot and I would not buy another. Dealer service is poor. Cover cracked at service by mechanic and unfortunately for him we had to look under the bonnet day after picking it up and found it. Returned with wheel nut covers missing. Three trips to Dealership to have computer errors fixed and twice it was towed. I live rural so it is a 140 km round trip. We buy a new car so we have reliability however this car has greatly let us down.

BodySedan
BadgeGT Luxury HDi
TransmissionAutomatic

Great car!

published
BodySedan
BadgeAllure HDi
TransmissionAutomatic

gas

gas

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very impressed all round

published

Ok, there's the cup holder and not great storage within the consol issues, but other than that, I cant fault this car.

Done over 12,000kms. Its smooth, quiet, great power, beautiful handing, and very comfortable. You feel like you just want to sip on a glass of champagne while this car slips along so silently. At 110 kph the 2litre diesel is hardly reving, so it has very "long legs". I'm very impressed with fuel economy as well.

Just drove from Canberra to Melbourne outskirts - trip meter reads 648 kms, tank over half full on the guage, average fuel economy 5.3l/100kms. Distance to empty reads 771kms! - thats over 1400 kms out of a tank! (not sure I'll get that once in urbanville)

BodySedan
BadgeAllure HDi
TransmissionAutomatic
3 comments
gas
gas
gas
gas

Just completed 45.000km services. No warranty issues. Love the car. Still cant fault the car.

gas
gas

Thomas

ThomasSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great Car High Maintenance Cost (Do not buy) see my updates in the description

published
BodySedan
BadgeAllure HDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Engine Size2.0

Petela

PetelaAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome car

published

I purchased a second hand 2011 508 SW and I have to say what an awesome car. The value for money is amazing. What you get is incredibly. I paid $25k and probably the best car buy ever.

There is so much included, the drive is great for a wagon both around city and open road. It is so quiet in the car while driving you can talk hands free on a normal mobile and hear every word.

This is my 4th peugeot, I've had many other really good cars but this is one of the best.

The 2L disel is incredibly it is smooth, powerful and fuel efficient. Driving on freeway at 100km I was getting 4l per 100 is almost free.

Well done peugeot

BodyWagon
BadgeAllure HDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2L

edward ezra

edward ezraWindhoek, Namibia

excellent car a pity about worksop staff . . just cannot do things right had my spot light repaire

published

Just being on a trip of just over 5500 km had a wonderful trip . Car performed like a dream the only hassel being my spotlight coming loose and this after having it repaired by Peugeot workshop . If only the workshop staff can get their act together ,this will be a wonderful pproduct.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

George Z.

George Z.asked

508 has a common problem
Gearbox
Took it gearbox solutions
They want 3 k to fix
Peugeot tell you the gearbox is not to be serviced for lifetime of car .
After sipping on traffic lights car doesn’t move on take off , while you are revving to get going ; a big sudden bang happens moving the car by surprise giving it a big jerk that scares you .
Never again !!!!!!!

No answers

Rizki Adi

Rizki Adiasked

This is my first time that I'm interested in Peugeot brand. I'm interested in 2012 Peugeot 508 allure auto. it's one-owner car, and has 68691kms. I'm a bit skeptical about the price which is $17600. I'm afraid if the car will break down often in the future. I mainly driving on highway, not often to drive in city. I would like to know about Peugeot reliability, maintenance cost and resale value. Any insights? I really want the car but the price is little bit dodgy.

No answers

Joe

Joeasked

I have been offered 2013 508 Allure that has done 39,000k. Im upgrading from 2010 Toyota Camry Hybrid (110,000 km). The 508 has had only one (old lady) owner and appears to be well looked after with all service history available. Just concerned about "European" cars and some of the issues raised in the reviews. Could someone please allay my fears

4 answers
Nin
Nin

Hi Joe

I’m really happy with mine. If I was offered one with those low k’s I’d go for it for sure! If you keep in mind that every car needs servicing & Looking after I think you will be won over to the European side like I was!! Bonus is they are really fuel efficient cars aswell.

Joe
Joe

Thanks, Nin, this is helpful

designduo
designduo

If it is a diesel, grab it. If it is a petrol, factor in the possibility of spending a bit on the timing chain (do your homework here). I have a 508 GT diesel and have driven a few Allures both petrol and diesel. Absolutely brilliant value vehicles. Excellent build quality. Not dirty like VW diesels. The only glitches you should expect will be in the electrics. For some reason the country who gave us the 'Amp' unit of electrical measure don't seem to grasp modern electronics, but the possible trade off is worth it. You are unlikley to ever go back to a Camry.


Get an answer from our members and Peugeot representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.