??!
5 photos
Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto CPAP

Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto CPAP

2.3 from 49 reviews

Good nights sleep

After being diagnosed with moderate to sever Sleep Apnea I purchased the Phillips DreamStation. Since using it now for nearly 12 months I am sleeping much better and I no longer keep my wife awake at night. The unit is easy to use and the mask style suits me very well. I like the way it has a humidifier and that the hose wares up to avoid condensation in colder weather. I appreciate the Blue Tooth connectivity that provides me with up to date data of how long I have used the unit each night and how well I have slept and any issues.

1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that the Philips DreamStation has contributed to your having a good night's sleep. We're glad to have provided you with a product suitable for your needs. Should you need any tips or tricks, don't hesitate to let us know! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Too noisy

I used a phillips dreamstation for around 2 months when suddenly it started to make lots of noise, humming, whistling and the sound of wind blowing around my face although mask was not leaking, i have a dreamwear nasal mask. I sent it back and have just received a new one. This is worse, first night the noise same as above and the wind sound is incredible and the mask isn't leaking, also the heated hose heats up for the first hour or so then goes cold and so does the humidifier. The plate heats up for and hour or so then is cold for the rest of the night..doesn't matter what setting i have it on. I hate this machine and i would advise not to purchase one. I find it odd that the machines they hire out don't do this, just the ones you purchase. Costs a fortune, filters need changing all the time and cost a fortune masks need replacing regularly and cost a fortune. Its just a big money making scam for another rich company. Im disgusted with the service and the products.

2 comments
Also phoned the number Phillips sent for a personal chat and the woman I spoke to said she had never had anyone ever use this phone number before and didn't know what I was talking about. She was rude and less than useless.Hi there, Jody. Thanks for taking your time to write this review and for sharing your concerns. We're sorry to hear that the product didn't meet up to your expectations and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. You can reach out to our colleagues directly here: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact They should be able to assist you further. Please let us know how this worked out. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Do not buy

I have received two machines this month. First one kept shutting off for no reason. The second one is so loud, it prevents me from sleeping. I am hoping since I got replacement last week I can return it. It sounds like someone is vacuuming when you breathe. This machine has done it since day One and first one glitches since day one.

1 comment
Hi there, Meg. Thanks for sharing your concerns. That doesn't sound good and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. We kindly advise you to contact our colleagues directly via the below link: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Way less effective than my s9

After having a consistent 0.2-2.2 AHI for years with my S9 APAP, i have been presented with a dreamstation by my med team as an update. My AHI is now between 7 & 4. The pressures on the machine seem to average at first 7 (cmH2O) to the latest 10. This seems a little weak for me with an AHI of 45 untreated. I have decided to alter the settings from a base of 6 cmh2o to 8 but the results remain erratic and over the standard for being controlled. I will persists for a while longer as i have activated the A-flex feature now.

5 comments
Well here we are a few days on. Perhaps the A-Flex is doing the job. The AHI is creeping down. 1.8 this morning. Far more effectivethan previously. The mchine itself is pretty quiet, i did notice that the EPR (Flex) got out of sync with my breathing once or twice, i would love to understand that. My opinion of the machine is rising in direct proportion to increasing effectiveness.Hi Charles, Thank you for your feedback. We value your input, as it's what makes us improve daily. We're happy to hear that the A-Flex feature has helped in reducing your AHI - we understand how important it is. However, we do recommend that you consult your doctor before making any alterations on the settings, as they might be able to point you to the right direction with this. Additionally, we advise that you reach out to our Respironics team on 844-537-2403 (from Monday to Friday, from 9:00am to 5:00pm EST). They will be more than happy to assist you further, and provide you with some information regarding the settings of your device. If there is anything else we can do for you, do not hesitate to let us know. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Teamthanks for the reply, I am always in Cahoots with the Doc, he is concerned that there is such a wide variance in the AHI over a span of so few nights. we have decided to keep going and I will be sending the first week's data direct so they can analyse the stuff I cant get to. we reviewed the settings and discussed the synchronisation issue with the Flex (@1) on odd occasions it seems to drop out of sequence with my breathing. reducing halfway through the exhale and upping the pressure halfway through inhale. I know its a small amount but we find it interesting. up last night again to 3.8 90%@12 definitely feeling more tired today, woke four times in the night and had three toilet trips. bad signs all. and I am getting palpitations. by the way I am in England

Noisy and wet - Solved

Have had this a month. Has developed a loud whirring noise when I inhale. "Heated" tube has wet condensation in a 68 degree hotel room. Looked for similar reviews and found one mentioning overfill of humidifier being the issue. But it also said he made sure gaskets were properly seated. Looked at gasket in my unit between the reservoir and main unit. Indeed it was partly unseated. Carefully repeated it. WOW. Unit was super quiet and the noise in my pillow mask was gone. It became so quiet that I got up and checked the front to be sure it was on. Breathing was easier too. The unit also stayed at only 6.0 cm h20 - I had been having problems with the unit going crazy with high pressures - none of that last night. How one little gasket could cause such a loud unit and cause my pillow mask to be so noisy is beyond me, but it did. The gasket probably got dislodged when putting in the humidifier water tray - that's my best guess. Just the top and side were pulled out a bit so the mis-seating was not immediately evident.


Unacceptable!

I tried out a "loaner" that worked well enough. However, the new machine that I bought was not of the same quality. It whines and hums on inhalation and exhalation. However, the tube heater only works for 15 to 20 minutes then quits. It is like the pre-heater is the sole tube/heater connection to the main switch, which shuts the heat off after a short period of time. Consequently, I wake up in the morning with a wet face and my eyes full of water. That is because the mask leaks so badly that condensation in the mask is blown into my eye sockets. I'm very concerned about macular degeneration (think I spelled that correctly). I've spent $ 1000 on masks that either leak or are so noisy they keep me, and my partner, awake. This review format wouldn't accept a lower rating!

1 comment
Hi there, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see if we can help. We advise you to contact our product experts here: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact for further assistance. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Very Noisy

I bought this recently for use on an upcoming overseas trip because the battery offers flexibility and whilst the machine itself is whisper quiet, the air noise within my mask when inhaling is unacceptable. Terribly disappointed with this product and I will not buy another Philips CPAP. A waste of nearly 2K.


Finally a snore solution that works

Bought this for my husband last year, and it actually works. No more snoring , he gets a good sleep and so do I, he feels much more alert, and no more drowsiness during the day

1 comment
Hi there, Great to hear that the Respironics DreamStation has improved your husbands sleep and that he stopped snoring. Now the two of you can dream away the whole night, without waking up. :) Thank you for your review and we wish the two of you all the best! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Philips should listen to customers

Firstly it’s not just the DreamStation that isn’t up to scratch. I have used both their nose pillow mask and a full face mask the full face mask canes the bridge of my nose and leaks like a sieve. The older nose pillow unit was pretty good but this new nose pillow has less cushion and leaks. Also I would point out that the design of the strap on the pillow unit seems to allow for upward movement during sleep thus causing a bad seal on the nose. Phillips has a lot of brilliant engineers one would think? Why then such a badly designed head strap and why shorten the nose pillows? Somewhere in their design and production loops there is a (information deficit) Ok the machine now... like these other people here I agree the noise is increasing. It sounds like a baring wearing out somewhere? Also the machine gives false readings on the time it has been running... after say 8 hrs of use it may read 4.5 hrs of use? I asked for the top of the range and got this bucket of crap from CPAP sales in NSW. What strikes me most is they knew I have a severe case of sleep apnoea. I went in to the shop and asked for the best and paid the money. Result poor product performance and lack of care from some of the staff where I brought it. Phillips you need to employ a production systems manager who uses customer feedback in product design. If not you are DOOMED.


Noisy after 2 months is true

Like everyone else says, this machine started off great but 2 months in now and a loud whirling noise is happening when inhaling. I checked settings, the water chamber gasket, the filter, tubing, etc and no issues there. I will be calling my supplier in the AM and requesting a resmed. What a pain in the head!. Philips, I’m less than satisfied. Stay away from this unit.

1 comment
Hi Brett, Thanks for writing a review. You've indicated that you were going to call your supplier about this. However, if you haven't done that already, please know you could also reach out to us on 1800 251 400, or on 0800 251 400 if you're located in New Zealand. We hope this could be sorted out, as we do have to say this does sound quite inconvenient. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Very noisy and annoying

This machine is new. I have been using it for approximately two weeks. From day one, it was very noisy with the pitch of the machine changing with each inhale/exhale. The machine also vibrates a lot causing sound waves to carry through my night stand into the bed. I used a Fisher Paykel machine for five years with no noise issues. It has been very hard to fall asleep due to the noise and my wife has complained that it keeps her up as well. I will be contacting my provider but this is the only machine they carry. Very disappointed.

1 comment
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the DreamStation. We can imagine this situation is not ideal for you and your wife, so please don't hesitate to contact our Care Team via the phone number 1800 251 400 (0800 251 400 if you're based in New Zealand). They'll be happy to see how they can be of assistance! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Don’t buy a Phillips Dreamstation

I’ve had 2 Dreamstations in less than a month. Both were noisy. The first one hummed when I exhaled. The second one whines on inhale and hums on exhale. My provider and I tried 3 new ones out of the box. All were noisy. I’ve stopped using the Phillips and demanded my provider give me another brand. I’m getting a Resmed Airsense 10 tomorrow. I’ve heard they are very quiet. I’m not going to waste my time going back an forth trying new machines. Phillips you need to acknowledge the noise problem and correct it. You’ve lost a customer in me.

1 comment
Hi Mark. Thank you for shearing your thoughts about our Dreamstation. We're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with this product. If you would still like to talk about this issue with our product specialists, we advise to contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact. Kind regards, The Australia Team

A Noisy Disappointment

My husband purchased this machine for severe sleep apnoea. He has had it for three weeks and from the first night he received it and used it I have not slept because of the noise. The machine emits a whirring sound with every breath. This appears consistent with what other people have said when reviewing this machine. Such a disappointment considering it costs a bomb.

1 comment
Hello Lea, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. Please contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Worst product ever.

In 20 days time the water tank has failed twice with cracks forming in the plastic causing leaks. Tomorrow I will be making my third 20 mile round trip to get a third water reservoir. Vendor which Anthem BCBS is forcing me to work with HAS NO OTHER DEVICES just this utter failure of a machine. I have used Resmed devices for 13 years supplied by my doctors office. NEVER had an issue other than device becoming louder after 5 years of use. The only recourse being offered by Healthline Medical Equipment is a refurbished Resmed device with 485 hours on it. Filing complaint with Anthem BCBS.

1 comment
Hi there, Joe. Thanks for taking your time to write this review. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. We kindly advise you contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Or feel free to send us a message on Facebook or Twitter. We would like to hear from you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Difficult to use

Never use one of these, hubby used one from CPAP Masks and Tubing in Blackburn who are rude and aggressive. The machine makes your mouth dry, did not have a heated tube and the machine was noisy. The machine was pumping too hard and blowing off my husbands face at night time despite trying to tell the people who made the settings. Compare to Resmed machines this is no good at all.

2 comments
Hi Daphne, we regret hearing you haven't been entirely satisfied with the DreamStation. This experience doesn't sound good indeed, and we can imagine that you're not too pleased about it. We do recommend discussing this further with your health care provider, as he or she can assist you to improve this experience. Thank you for sharing this, we really appreciate any feedback on our products. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamIt has nothing to do with the health care provider the machine is run down and the Res Sleep is much better by far. Husband had dry mouth, dry nostrils and felt like he was unable to breath despite using the machine.

2nd machine in lesss than a year

This machine is great for 2 or so months, then one day it gets so loud you cannot stand it. The noise travels up the tube and into your mask and is exaggerated when you inhale. It is so bad i will be taking it back and asking my provider for another manufacturer's product

1 comment
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write down your experience with our DreamStation. Needless to say, we regret hearing it has started to make noise as we can imagine the inconvenience. We understand you'd like to talk things through with your provider. If you would still like to talk to our product specialists about this, please let us know in which country you reside so that we can forward you the details of the concerned team. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!

Maybe my mistake for not buying a new machine...buyer beware!, however this machine was used by a man for one month before he passed away and has not been used since and was passed on to me in good faith. The 'whirring' noise that this makes drives my Wife on to the lounge and prevents me from getting back to sleep. The response from Phillips 1800 number was one of complete denial that this is even an issue, even when pointed out all of the similar reviews on this site and the responses directly from Phillips. I am now stuck with a noisy and worthless machine and after Phillips response will make it my mission to let as many people across every social media platform know to stay clear of this over-priced LEMON!

2 comments
Hi, thanks for your honest review. It's unfortunate to hear that the DreamStation didn't quite meet your expectation, and that your initial contact with our service team has been less than desirable as well. We've sent you a private message to gather some contact details, so we can get you in touch with our appropriate colleagues from the Sleep & Respironics team. If anyone is able to help out, it'll be them. Hope to hear from you! Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamThank you

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!!!!

I have used resmed machines for years with no problems. After my last sleep study and recommendation to update machines I wanted what I had always been happy with. Sales people insisted on the phillips. Didn't like it from day one. All kinds of features (which I don't use nor need). Main feature I need is on/off which has never worked properly. I may old fashioned but I feel you should push the button once to turn on not 5 to 10 times. Turned off in the morning only to come home and notice it has been running all day. I guess I forgot to push the button 10 times and wait and listen for the air running before I went to work. Have read it is supposed to know when you are breathing to turn itself on or off. That doesn't work either. I have never hated a product more than this machine. Only gave it one star because it didn't give me a negative star option. If you are looking for a crap machine DO NOT buy a PHILLIPS!! Dreamstation should be renamed to Nightmare. Get a Resmed.

1 comment
Hello Terry, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. We advise you to contact our colleagues on the below number for further assistance: Australia 1800 251 400 New Zealand 0800 251 400 https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Sleek silent and effective

Just bought a dreamstation auto cpap with dreamwear mask. Its silent and the mask is very comfy to wear though there is a slight irritation and swelling at the nostrils after a few hours of use

One strange feature is that the Auto off feature does not work. The dealer said that this feature does not work with Dreamwear mask but only with full face mask....Phillip's....is that true?

1 comment
Hi there, Kumar. Thank you for leaving your review here as well. We have responded to your question on Product Review a few days ago, but our answer was based on the understanding you were from Australia. Seeing you are in India, we would advise you to get in contact with our team of specialists in India, if you haven't already. They are available here: https://www.philips.co.in/healthcare/resources/landing/sleep-apnea. If there's still anything we can do for you, don't hesitate to get back to us. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Known defect.

Yes as Known Defect comment previously, My husband loves this machine but has had 4 or so water chambers crack and leak all over the side cupboard, so far the company has replaced them citing that we must be washing in too hot water or dishwasher which we are not doing. :(

1 comment
Hey there, Thanks for sharing your experience here with us. It's great to hear your husband loves the CPAP machine, but we regret hearing the water chambers have cracked. :( If we can assist you further with this, please feel free to let us know here or via social media. We're always happy to lend a helping hand. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

My c p a p pressure pauses, then blows harder momentarily which is interrupts me being able to get to sleep. I have contacted my supplier who talked me through adjusting the settings in the machine to the correct mask, which I did successfully however I am still experiencing this problem. I suspect the fault may be contributing to my nightly apnea events. Any suggestions?
3 answers
I .have had it explained by my doctors that sometimes, mid breath we do a little sigh which the machine picks up, do you have the “flex” switched on, it reduced the pressuere when you breath out 1 being 1cmH2O 2 being 2 etc. I noticed mine got out of sync a couple of times but no one has explained it yet. The “A-Flex” seems to be getting a grip on my events now so chat with you health care providers. Ther are other bits and pieces to help i learned them slowly now i kinda take charge, works for meThanks for your answer. The pause in air flow happens when I breathe in and it’s like I can’t get a full breath because the air flow momentarily stops and is quite disconcerting. Then after the pause in air flow, there is a boost of air in to my nostrils which is equally annoying. Doesn’t happen all the time but intermittently. Not sure where or what the ‘flex’ adjustment is... in the menu?Hi Kathie. Thanks for your question. It's regretful to hear you're having issues with your DreamStation, and understand that this doesn't contribute to a good nights sleep at all. We'd recommend reaching out to our care team by phone at: 1800 251 400. They'd be happy to help you out with this, and get you back to sleeping peacefully. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Does the dreamstation auto cpap have an alarm? The first time, last night my husband used it, it woke us both when it made a noise like a drill. We don't know what this was? Husband switched it off and he thinks he switched it back on but can't actually remember it happening. Can you enlighten us please? Thank you
2 answers
No alarm that I know of. Not even any audible alert. The "drill noise" sounds a bit like the loud noise I heard with the mis-seated gasket, namely a loud whining, but that was continuous, not on and off.Hi June, thank you for reaching out about this. Since this concerns one of our health care products, we would like to ask to reach out to our Philips Respiratory Care team through any of the following phone numbers: Australia 1800 251 400 New Zealand 0800 251 400 Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

My c-pap hose is getting a lot of condensation at night while I sleep . What could be causing this ?
1 answer
That's a very good question, Charlie. We're not able to advise you properly on this matter. Therefore, we recommend reaching out to your healthcare provider. He or she can look into your situation and give you personal advice. Thank you in advance. :-) Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team