??!
5 photos
Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto CPAP

Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto CPAP

2.3 from 54 reviews

Horrendously expensive parts

My one star rating is for cost of parts. I have no complaints whatsoever with my Dreamstation and have been using it for around 3 years. I have however had to buy replacement parts for my dreamwear mask. The first was the small piece for under nose - over $90!! Today I have replaced the rubber and felt strap for the mask - another $90+. Philips, what is your justification for charging these exhorbitant prices??

Purchased in February 2016.

1 comment
Hi there, Donna. Thanks for sharing your concerns and glad to hear that you like the product. :) About the parts, we advise you to contact our product experts directly via the below link for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Noisy Cpap.

My CPAP has been very noisy as well as the first one I had. I have had two Philips CPAP Dream Stations and they were both noisy. The first one I had was a disappointment because of the nosise and the dirt debris I found inside the turbine. I took it apart and found crap in the turbine./Compressor. I replaced the filters on a timely basis as prescribed by Philipes and it still had dirt debris in it. I took it back to the VA but they said would send it back to Philips and it seems that they lost it. They did give me a new one .

Purchased in January 2017 at VA Administration.

1 comment
Hi there, David. Thanks for taking your time to write this review and we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced. If you feel like discussing this further we advise you to contact our colleagues directly via the below link: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Difficulty sleeping due to machine getting louder over time

When I purchased this machine it worked really well & was very quiet. Over time it gradually gets louder which makes it very hard to sleep. I have even got to the point where I turn it off as it wakes myself & my wife. I’m very disappointed in this device. My brother purchased a different brand machine & it's very quiet. We both purchased approx 2 years ago.

Purchased in March 2017 for $1,600.00.

1 comment
Hi Dale, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the machine with us - we're sorry to hear that it has been getting louder with time, especially to a point of interfering with your sleep. This should certainly not be the case, and we'd like to see what's going wrong. Could you perhaps give us a call at 1800 251 400, or send us a message on either Facebook or Twitter (@PhilipsCare)? Our colleagues in the Sleep and Respironics team will be happy to do their best to assist you with this. Thank you! Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

Way too Noisy

This machine is easily the noisiest machine on the market. The whiring noise coming from the motor keeps me awake. Took it to the medical supply company that supplied it and their answer, CPAPs make noise.

Purchased in August 2017 for $1,000.00.

1 comment
Hi Russ, Thank you for sharing your feedback - we're sorry to hear the machine has not lived up to your expectations. Have you tried giving our colleagues a call at 1800 251 400? Perhaps they're able to provide some advice in to improve your experience. We hope this is helpful. Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

The worst experience with CPAP Dreamstation machine.

After completing a two month trial with a reputable sleep clinic I purchased a Phillips Dreamstation. The noise has made sleeping without a sedative impossible the whinning noise is consistent and loud. After eight nights I was experiencing AHI episodes, headaches and all the symptoms of sever sleep apnea. The machine does not maintain pressure during the night nor temperature. I became genuinely unwell due to this faulty machine. Phillips refused to refund me for my 8 day old faulty machine. It was replaced with another faulty machine. The noise again makes peaceful sleeping impossible, waking with the ringing in my ears. The machine does not provide consistent pressure, my mask behaves like a plunger on my face as I breathe which is very uncomfortable. I awoke during the night out of breath and the sensation if being suffocated. It took time to catch my breathe and regulate my heart beat. I also expeeience headaches from this machine. Phillips has ignored the health and wellbeing of those who need this intervention to enjoy quality of life. I'm out of pocket 1300 a faulty machine, sleep deprivation and depression from feeling powerless.

Purchased in May 2019 at St John of God Sleep Clinic for $1,300.00.

1 comment
Hello Rebekah, Thank you for your review on here. It's regrettable to hear how all this has transpired. We'd like to see what we can do to help you out. In order to do that, we've sent you a private message asking for some contact details. That will allow us to look into this with our Respironics team - who'll be able to reach out to you directly about this to discuss the matter at hand further. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Good nights sleep

After being diagnosed with moderate to sever Sleep Apnea I purchased the Phillips DreamStation. Since using it now for nearly 12 months I am sleeping much better and I no longer keep my wife awake at night. The unit is easy to use and the mask style suits me very well. I like the way it has a humidifier and that the hose wares up to avoid condensation in colder weather. I appreciate the Blue Tooth connectivity that provides me with up to date data of how long I have used the unit each night and how well I have slept and any issues.

1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that the Philips DreamStation has contributed to your having a good night's sleep. We're glad to have provided you with a product suitable for your needs. Should you need any tips or tricks, don't hesitate to let us know! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Too noisy

I used a phillips dreamstation for around 2 months when suddenly it started to make lots of noise, humming, whistling and the sound of wind blowing around my face although mask was not leaking, i have a dreamwear nasal mask. I sent it back and have just received a new one. This is worse, first night the noise same as above and the wind sound is incredible and the mask isn't leaking, also the heated hose heats up for the first hour or so then goes cold and so does the humidifier. The plate heats up for and hour or so then is cold for the rest of the night..doesn't matter what setting i have it on. I hate this machine and i would advise not to purchase one. I find it odd that the machines they hire out don't do this, just the ones you purchase. Costs a fortune, filters need changing all the time and cost a fortune masks need replacing regularly and cost a fortune. Its just a big money making scam for another rich company. Im disgusted with the service and the products.

2 comments
Also phoned the number Phillips sent for a personal chat and the woman I spoke to said she had never had anyone ever use this phone number before and didn't know what I was talking about. She was rude and less than useless.Hi there, Jody. Thanks for taking your time to write this review and for sharing your concerns. We're sorry to hear that the product didn't meet up to your expectations and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. You can reach out to our colleagues directly here: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact They should be able to assist you further. Please let us know how this worked out. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Do not buy

I have received two machines this month. First one kept shutting off for no reason. The second one is so loud, it prevents me from sleeping. I am hoping since I got replacement last week I can return it. It sounds like someone is vacuuming when you breathe. This machine has done it since day One and first one glitches since day one.

1 comment
Hi there, Meg. Thanks for sharing your concerns. That doesn't sound good and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. We kindly advise you to contact our colleagues directly via the below link: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Way less effective than my s9

After having a consistent 0.2-2.2 AHI for years with my S9 APAP, i have been presented with a dreamstation by my med team as an update. My AHI is now between 7 & 4. The pressures on the machine seem to average at first 7 (cmH2O) to the latest 10. This seems a little weak for me with an AHI of 45 untreated. I have decided to alter the settings from a base of 6 cmh2o to 8 but the results remain erratic and over the standard for being controlled. I will persists for a while longer as i have activated the A-flex feature now.

5 comments
Well here we are a few days on. Perhaps the A-Flex is doing the job. The AHI is creeping down. 1.8 this morning. Far more effectivethan previously. The mchine itself is pretty quiet, i did notice that the EPR (Flex) got out of sync with my breathing once or twice, i would love to understand that. My opinion of the machine is rising in direct proportion to increasing effectiveness.Hi Charles, Thank you for your feedback. We value your input, as it's what makes us improve daily. We're happy to hear that the A-Flex feature has helped in reducing your AHI - we understand how important it is. However, we do recommend that you consult your doctor before making any alterations on the settings, as they might be able to point you to the right direction with this. Additionally, we advise that you reach out to our Respironics team on 844-537-2403 (from Monday to Friday, from 9:00am to 5:00pm EST). They will be more than happy to assist you further, and provide you with some information regarding the settings of your device. If there is anything else we can do for you, do not hesitate to let us know. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Teamthanks for the reply, I am always in Cahoots with the Doc, he is concerned that there is such a wide variance in the AHI over a span of so few nights. we have decided to keep going and I will be sending the first week's data direct so they can analyse the stuff I cant get to. we reviewed the settings and discussed the synchronisation issue with the Flex (@1) on odd occasions it seems to drop out of sequence with my breathing. reducing halfway through the exhale and upping the pressure halfway through inhale. I know its a small amount but we find it interesting. up last night again to 3.8 90%@12 definitely feeling more tired today, woke four times in the night and had three toilet trips. bad signs all. and I am getting palpitations. by the way I am in England

Noisy and wet - Solved

Have had this a month. Has developed a loud whirring noise when I inhale. "Heated" tube has wet condensation in a 68 degree hotel room. Looked for similar reviews and found one mentioning overfill of humidifier being the issue. But it also said he made sure gaskets were properly seated. Looked at gasket in my unit between the reservoir and main unit. Indeed it was partly unseated. Carefully repeated it. WOW. Unit was super quiet and the noise in my pillow mask was gone. It became so quiet that I got up and checked the front to be sure it was on. Breathing was easier too. The unit also stayed at only 6.0 cm h20 - I had been having problems with the unit going crazy with high pressures - none of that last night. How one little gasket could cause such a loud unit and cause my pillow mask to be so noisy is beyond me, but it did. The gasket probably got dislodged when putting in the humidifier water tray - that's my best guess. Just the top and side were pulled out a bit so the mis-seating was not immediately evident.


Unacceptable!

I tried out a "loaner" that worked well enough. However, the new machine that I bought was not of the same quality. It whines and hums on inhalation and exhalation. However, the tube heater only works for 15 to 20 minutes then quits. It is like the pre-heater is the sole tube/heater connection to the main switch, which shuts the heat off after a short period of time. Consequently, I wake up in the morning with a wet face and my eyes full of water. That is because the mask leaks so badly that condensation in the mask is blown into my eye sockets. I'm very concerned about macular degeneration (think I spelled that correctly). I've spent $ 1000 on masks that either leak or are so noisy they keep me, and my partner, awake. This review format wouldn't accept a lower rating!

1 comment
Hi there, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see if we can help. We advise you to contact our product experts here: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact for further assistance. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Very Noisy

I bought this recently for use on an upcoming overseas trip because the battery offers flexibility and whilst the machine itself is whisper quiet, the air noise within my mask when inhaling is unacceptable. Terribly disappointed with this product and I will not buy another Philips CPAP. A waste of nearly 2K.


Finally a snore solution that works

Bought this for my husband last year, and it actually works. No more snoring , he gets a good sleep and so do I, he feels much more alert, and no more drowsiness during the day

1 comment
Hi there, Great to hear that the Respironics DreamStation has improved your husbands sleep and that he stopped snoring. Now the two of you can dream away the whole night, without waking up. :) Thank you for your review and we wish the two of you all the best! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Philips should listen to customers

Firstly it’s not just the DreamStation that isn’t up to scratch. I have used both their nose pillow mask and a full face mask the full face mask canes the bridge of my nose and leaks like a sieve. The older nose pillow unit was pretty good but this new nose pillow has less cushion and leaks. Also I would point out that the design of the strap on the pillow unit seems to allow for upward movement during sleep thus causing a bad seal on the nose. Phillips has a lot of brilliant engineers one would think? Why then such a badly designed head strap and why shorten the nose pillows? Somewhere in their design and production loops there is a (information deficit) Ok the machine now... like these other people here I agree the noise is increasing. It sounds like a baring wearing out somewhere? Also the machine gives false readings on the time it has been running... after say 8 hrs of use it may read 4.5 hrs of use? I asked for the top of the range and got this bucket of crap from CPAP sales in NSW. What strikes me most is they knew I have a severe case of sleep apnoea. I went in to the shop and asked for the best and paid the money. Result poor product performance and lack of care from some of the staff where I brought it. Phillips you need to employ a production systems manager who uses customer feedback in product design. If not you are DOOMED.


Noisy after 2 months is true

Like everyone else says, this machine started off great but 2 months in now and a loud whirling noise is happening when inhaling. I checked settings, the water chamber gasket, the filter, tubing, etc and no issues there. I will be calling my supplier in the AM and requesting a resmed. What a pain in the head!. Philips, I’m less than satisfied. Stay away from this unit.

1 comment
Hi Brett, Thanks for writing a review. You've indicated that you were going to call your supplier about this. However, if you haven't done that already, please know you could also reach out to us on 1800 251 400, or on 0800 251 400 if you're located in New Zealand. We hope this could be sorted out, as we do have to say this does sound quite inconvenient. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Very noisy and annoying

This machine is new. I have been using it for approximately two weeks. From day one, it was very noisy with the pitch of the machine changing with each inhale/exhale. The machine also vibrates a lot causing sound waves to carry through my night stand into the bed. I used a Fisher Paykel machine for five years with no noise issues. It has been very hard to fall asleep due to the noise and my wife has complained that it keeps her up as well. I will be contacting my provider but this is the only machine they carry. Very disappointed.

1 comment
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the DreamStation. We can imagine this situation is not ideal for you and your wife, so please don't hesitate to contact our Care Team via the phone number 1800 251 400 (0800 251 400 if you're based in New Zealand). They'll be happy to see how they can be of assistance! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Don’t buy a Phillips Dreamstation

I’ve had 2 Dreamstations in less than a month. Both were noisy. The first one hummed when I exhaled. The second one whines on inhale and hums on exhale. My provider and I tried 3 new ones out of the box. All were noisy. I’ve stopped using the Phillips and demanded my provider give me another brand. I’m getting a Resmed Airsense 10 tomorrow. I’ve heard they are very quiet. I’m not going to waste my time going back an forth trying new machines. Phillips you need to acknowledge the noise problem and correct it. You’ve lost a customer in me.

1 comment
Hi Mark. Thank you for shearing your thoughts about our Dreamstation. We're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with this product. If you would still like to talk about this issue with our product specialists, we advise to contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact. Kind regards, The Australia Team

A Noisy Disappointment

My husband purchased this machine for severe sleep apnoea. He has had it for three weeks and from the first night he received it and used it I have not slept because of the noise. The machine emits a whirring sound with every breath. This appears consistent with what other people have said when reviewing this machine. Such a disappointment considering it costs a bomb.

1 comment
Hello Lea, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. Please contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Worst product ever.

In 20 days time the water tank has failed twice with cracks forming in the plastic causing leaks. Tomorrow I will be making my third 20 mile round trip to get a third water reservoir. Vendor which Anthem BCBS is forcing me to work with HAS NO OTHER DEVICES just this utter failure of a machine. I have used Resmed devices for 13 years supplied by my doctors office. NEVER had an issue other than device becoming louder after 5 years of use. The only recourse being offered by Healthline Medical Equipment is a refurbished Resmed device with 485 hours on it. Filing complaint with Anthem BCBS.

1 comment
Hi there, Joe. Thanks for taking your time to write this review. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see how we can help. We kindly advise you contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact Or feel free to send us a message on Facebook or Twitter. We would like to hear from you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Difficult to use

Never use one of these, hubby used one from CPAP Masks and Tubing in Blackburn who are rude and aggressive. The machine makes your mouth dry, did not have a heated tube and the machine was noisy. The machine was pumping too hard and blowing off my husbands face at night time despite trying to tell the people who made the settings. Compare to Resmed machines this is no good at all.

2 comments
Hi Daphne, we regret hearing you haven't been entirely satisfied with the DreamStation. This experience doesn't sound good indeed, and we can imagine that you're not too pleased about it. We do recommend discussing this further with your health care provider, as he or she can assist you to improve this experience. Thank you for sharing this, we really appreciate any feedback on our products. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamIt has nothing to do with the health care provider the machine is run down and the Res Sleep is much better by far. Husband had dry mouth, dry nostrils and felt like he was unable to breath despite using the machine.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

I have used the dreamstation for a little over a month. It works good, but a few nights ago it got a burnt smell during the night when I went to put the mask back on. It bothered me so much that I slept the rest of the night without using the cpap. Everything had been cleaned on schedule. The humidifier hadn't run out of water. What causes this smell? Is it unsafe? Last night it was fine, and most other nights the most I have smelled is a plastic-like smell that is not exactly pleasant, but doesn't keep me from using the machine. So I am not sure what caused this really bad smell for one night and the next morning.
No answers

Why are the parts for the dreamwear mask (and I suspect all the masks) so expensive? I recently had to replace the elastic strap to the tune of over $90!! For a piece of elastic with velcro ends? Previously I have had to replace a split under-nose piece, a small length of plastic tube, also costing over $90. Not only does this apparent highway-robbery make me furious, I wonder how pensioners and people who cannot afford it cope?
3 answers
Hi again, Donna. Thanks for sharing this with us. We can imagine this must be disappointing and advise you to contact our product experts directly via the below link for further assistance: https://www.philips.com.au/healthcare/about/contact. They'd be happy to assist with this. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamHi Philips team, unfortunately this has got me nowhere, the website you have directed me to has a contact form that requires you to complete a "business" section and will not let me proceed further. I phoned the 1800 number on the website and was assisted by a very professional lady who gave me a direct email address to the sales team. I contacted them two weeks ago and have not received a reply. Nor do I expect to. This is very dismal customer service from Philips. The token replies that you give on these product reviews are worth less than nothing.Hi Donna, thank you for getting back to us. We regret to hear that the link we shared with you last week has not been of much help and that you haven't received a response to your email to the sales team. That's of course definitely not the service that we aim to provide. Do we understand correctly that you've contacted our colleagues at 1800 251 400? Or have you phoned another 1800 number? Either way, feel free to share your contact details with us via private message. Then we'll make sure to forward these to the concerned team along with your feedback. We're hoping to hear from you again. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

My DreamStation Auto CPAP- Purchased devise February 2019, purchased humidifier April 2019, purchased heated tube May 2019. With heated tube attached the following problems - 1) tube only heats up for a minute or two then goes cold. 2) the heated plate only heats up slightly even if on highest number and during the night goes cold and is cold in the morning and does not use much water. this happens even if I turn the heated tube setting to zero and leave humidifier plate at highest setting, have also tried all the heated plate settings down to 1. With a standard non heated tube attached the heated plate works well, but I suffer considerable condensation in the tube. I need a setting of about at least 3 for the humidifier because I suffer from severe blocked nose and the humidifier assists considerably with my blocked nose. If I do not use the humidifier I wake up several times during the night hot and sweaty because of my blocked nose. The DreamStation is my second Phillips Respironics machine, my first machine worked well with humidifier, although I did not use a heated tube with it. Appreciate a solution, I have explored many options, including speaking to your representatives on several occasions, also the local product seller and unable to reach a conclusion. Please.
3 answers
Hello Terry, sadly I don't have a solution. I just wanted to let you know I purchased a me machine about the same time you did and had problems with the temperature being consistent, I struggled with the very hot to the very cold would wake me up during the night. I did not receive any helpful advise from Phillips. Have you a local sleep clinic that could assist you? The staff at my local clinic are wonderful and very knowledgeable.Hello Rebekah, Thanks for your response. yes I have spoken to my local sleep clinic, both a Respiratory Clinic and the person who sold me the machine, both are unable to offer any suggestions other than return to Phillips. However I have trialed a loan Resmed machine which operates significantly better, but would prefer to persevere with the DreamStation. In the meantime I will investigate further and if unable to come to a satisfactory conclusion, return the machine to Phillips. I am also waiting for a response from Phillips to my question.Hi there, Terry, We appreciate you sharing this with us. We're sorry to hear what happened. We think it's best if you could contact our Sleep and Respiratory Care Department personally so they can guide you through this. You can contact them by phone at 1800 668 797. Wishing you all the best! Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.