??!
36 photos
Skoda Octavia

Skoda Octavia

1Z, NE
4.0 from 87 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(42)
(27)
(5)
(3)
(10)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (9)

The hidden gem of the motoring world

published

Purchased in August 2018 for $41,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Gerry Heffernan

Gerry HeffernanSydney, NSW

Warranty repair not honoured. SAD!

published

I have a 2016 Skoda Octavia RS. Despite coming with a 5 year warranty Skoda refuse to repair my leaking sunroof which has flooded my carpet on 4 different occasions. Terrible after sales service! Please see image.

Purchased in January 2017 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The engines have too many manufacturing defects and no support from the company

published

bought two pre owned skodas, both of them driven around 110000 ks , both of them broke down in the next 10000 ks. one because of gear box and the other one due to engine knocking.
when researched online found more then 100 people in the same state with the exact same problem , when spoke to skoda about it they brushed it off saying its maintenance issue. Even the mechanics have acknowledged that these cars have manufacturing defect with their engines and start crumbling after hundred thousand ks.
In short not a long term car and not worth buying a pre owned one regardless of the deal.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Willow

WillowGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Much improved and loving it

published

This is my second octavia. Skoda has fixed the DSG without the 0.3 second delay to get off the mark. It is so smooth, working extremely well with the 110kw 1.4T engine. Fuel consumption around 6.8lt per 100km around town with climate control operating.
Android Auto make life so easy. Up to date Google map, voice control texting. Google read out your messages.
Turning cycle is unbelievable good for car of this size.
Emergency breaking have safe many lives in city driving.
Strongly recommend

Purchased in April 2019 for $30,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Garth

GarthNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still drives like new with no issues

published

Have had my 2008 performance RS petrol Octavia since 2011 with hassle free driving. Always done servicing on time. Only repairs were the electric coils being replaced as I noticed the engine was unhappy. Other than that I just fuel it up and have it serviced cheaply at Ultra Tune. Goes like the clappers, handles like a dream, cheap to own, easy on fuel and excellent long term paint job with no marks. Would be silly to sell it as its not worth much but is essentially the same car and in the same condition I bought 8 yrs ago. With all cars you can get a dud, but you are less likely with these.

Purchased in October 2011 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

JB

JB

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value

published

Fantastic value for what you get, with massive huge cargo capacity, despite being a medium sized station wagon. I've got the base model, and even the base model has a good level of accessories, such as adaptive cruise control; wired Android Auto/Apple Carplay; and dual-zone climate conrol. Fuel consumption is good, and performance is more than adequate. The only drawback is that it uses premium unleaded.

Purchased in June 2018 at Skoda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

richard

richardMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

no problems

published

we bought the 118tsi dsg new in 2014 as the last 1z on the lot (Octavia 3 already for sale). Have done 60000km with the only problem being the battery was a stop/start one which our car does not have( they charge differently to normal batteries).
the car is used every day in Wagga Wagga, also as the main travelling car. the car is serviced ahead of scheduled km as it was months came first. It is now being serviced by a European car specialist as the dealer stopped selling Skodas and wanted the car in more often due to extended warrenty

Purchased in March 2014 for $26,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Blossum

BlossumQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Update to Love my car BUT

published

Update: My 2008 car is now over 220,000 km and still going well. It is a manual and I would recommend avoiding the auto's as they have had a lot of issues. One lady in town had a auto and told me it can suddenly go out of gear, which is very scary if you were crossing a busy road! Skoda has told her repeatedly that there is no problem!
Please note that these model Skoda's do not have the dangerous Takata air bags. The Octavia III (2014-2018) do though.

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Barry H

Barry HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent so far (1000km)

published
BodyFour door hatchback
BadgeRS 169TSI
Engine Size2.0l ron 98
Transmission6sTSI semi auto
Date PurchasedDec 2018
sago

sago

  • 7 reviews

Good Car

published

Purchased in July 2017.

1 comment
sago
sago

Barry H

Barry HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published
BodySedan
Badge90TSI Special Edition
TransmissionDon't understand this question. It's a dsg 7 speed.
Date PurchasedJun 2013

KJW.

KJW.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Octavia - Great drive.

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 103TSI
Engine Size1.4T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Fantastic economy and great value

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 110TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

AnP

AnPPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car

published

I am a new owner of Skoda Octavia VRS (bought second hand) and I must say that this is one of the best car I have driven. I love every moment I drive my car. Amazed with its performance, agility and comfort. It is really an under rated car in Australia. The punchline 'Simply clever' is what I would say about this car.

BodySedan
BadgeRS 162TSI
Engine Size2.0TD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Wipers dont work and skoda does not know how to fix them

published
BodyWagon
BadgeVrs 245
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not happy with the vw engine

published

Skoda has a good body but a bad engine with multiple manufacturing defects and faults for which they don’t oun upto, be cautious of buying one and keeping it for longtime. I would not recommend skoda or vw only due to massive engine issues for longtime especially if it is a manufacturing issues which come up after the warranty period which might end up costing as much as the cars present value.

BodySedan
BadgeUnsatisfactory
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Huon

HuonHobart

Excellent vehicles

published
BodyWagon
Badge103TDI
Engine Size2.0TD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Malc

MalcSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

ds problems

published

The car has a lot of issues , starting with the transmission the car has a faulty transmission DSG no matter what km the car traveled you will end up changing the transmission. the car looks alright from the inside & outside , fuel efficiency is OK . thanks d

BodySedan
Badge118TSI
Engine Size1.8T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Philip D

Philip DAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

RS 169 TSI

published

This is our first Skoda. Good build quality, super comfortable seats, very sophisticated electronics, best touch screen GPS I've used, great sound system. This is a seriously fast car but refined and nice to drive moderately too. Very comfortable for four occupants with plenty of leg room in the back. An enormous boot. This is a Golf GTi equivalent but with a character all its own. Ours has the 'Tech Pack', the 'Luxury pack' and the electric sunroof, as well as three years of pre-paid servicing -- really good value for just under $45K. After three weeks of ownership, I'm very impressed.

BodySedan
BadgeRS 169TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Rick

RickSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

2010 RS petrol wagon (DSG) - 100,000kms, hasn't missed a beat, grin factor is high

published
BodyWagon
BadgeRS 147TSI
Engine Size2.0T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Yarrawonga

Yarrawongaasked

Are the seats on the Octavia and the Superb heated on the back support or just the seat itself?

No answers

Mohamed

Mohamedasked

I have skoda octavia mk2 2008 to make air recirculating button on the AC must be on . Sometimes i need to make it on while AC off. Any solution or update for this problem?

No answers

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

Why do Skoda dealers charge so much for servicing? We paid $770 for a service that was very basic -- the same as we got for $240 at a non-dealer.

1 answer
Barry H
Barry H

I had my first Octavia serviced by the dealer up to sale in the 6th year. Their prices seem high but are more or less in line with most other imported car dealers, and the older the car, over about 50,000kms, the more servicing costs. Certain long term jobs are expensive. Brake fluid changes, fuel filter changes, spark plugs. tires, brakes, exhaust pipes and mufflers etc., etc. My highest cost was about $475 I recall. I like to believe I'm getting original factory recommended items and not cheaper items non dealers tend to use. A matter of trust and your preference. Skoda make no secret their warranties only apply when they do the servicing. Keeps you returning I suppose but if a $12,000 tsi transmission goes bust it makes sense. My water pump was replaced at no cost. I've seen replacement costs up around $800. You must decide how much security you're prepared to accept or reject. Your figure of $770 does seems high. Depends upon the car's age, the nature of the work, and the terms of your warranty. You must get an itemised work order after any job. $240 may get you an oil and filter change but that about all. Good luck.


Get an answer from our members and Skoda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.