??!
36 photos
Skoda Octavia

Skoda Octavia

1Z, NE
4.0 from 89 reviews

Reviews

4.0

89 reviews
5
(44)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (12)
  • Handling
    4.4 (12)
  • Braking
    4.3 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (12)
  • Features
    4.4 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (12)
Previous
Next
Gerry

GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect balance of fun, practical and looks amazing

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Skoda Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wazza

WazzaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

75000 Klms with no problems

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Skoda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jase K.

Jase K.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Awesome car

published

Goes fast

Use it to commute to work
No dramas in 7 years except for the window

Bad thing is pricey maintenance as the components are quite expensive

Driven about 170000km already and the cars still going strong

Awesome

Purchased in April 2013 at Umart Online NSW, West Ryde for A$480,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Skoda Octavia compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
grant

grant

  • 4 reviews

The hidden gem of the motoring world

published

Purchased in August 2018 for A$41,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gerry Heffernan

Gerry HeffernanSydney, NSW

Warranty repair not honoured. SAD!

published

I have a 2016 Skoda Octavia RS. Despite coming with a 5 year warranty Skoda refuse to repair my leaking sunroof which has flooded my carpet on 4 different occasions. Terrible after sales service! Please see image.

Purchased in January 2017 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The engines have too many manufacturing defects and no support from the company

published

bought two pre owned skodas, both of them driven around 110000 ks , both of them broke down in the next 10000 ks. one because of gear box and the other one due to engine knocking.
when researched online found more then 100 people in the same state with the exact same problem , when spoke to skoda about it they brushed it off saying its maintenance issue. Even the mechanics have acknowledged that these cars have manufacturing defect with their engines and start crumbling after hundred thousand ks.
In short not a long term car and not worth buying a pre owned one regardless of the deal.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Willow

WillowGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Much improved and loving it

published

This is my second octavia. Skoda has fixed the DSG without the 0.3 second delay to get off the mark. It is so smooth, working extremely well with the 110kw 1.4T engine. Fuel consumption around 6.8lt per 100km around town with climate control operating.
Android Auto make life so easy. Up to date Google map, voice control texting. Google read out your messages.
Turning cycle is unbelievable good for car of this size.
Emergency breaking have safe many lives in city driving.
Strongly recommend

Purchased in April 2019 for A$30,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Garth

GarthNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still drives like new with no issues

published

Have had my 2008 performance RS petrol Octavia since 2011 with hassle free driving. Always done servicing on time. Only repairs were the electric coils being replaced as I noticed the engine was unhappy. Other than that I just fuel it up and have it serviced cheaply at Ultra Tune. Goes like the clappers, handles like a dream, cheap to own, easy on fuel and excellent long term paint job with no marks. Would be silly to sell it as its not worth much but is essentially the same car and in the same condition I bought 8 yrs ago. With all cars you can get a dud, but you are less likely with these.

Purchased in October 2011 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JB

JB

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great value

published

Fantastic value for what you get, with massive huge cargo capacity, despite being a medium sized station wagon. I've got the base model, and even the base model has a good level of accessories, such as adaptive cruise control; wired Android Auto/Apple Carplay; and dual-zone climate conrol. Fuel consumption is good, and performance is more than adequate. The only drawback is that it uses premium unleaded.

Purchased in June 2018 at Skoda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Skoda Octavia compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
richard

richardMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

no problems

published

we bought the 118tsi dsg new in 2014 as the last 1z on the lot (Octavia 3 already for sale). Have done 60000km with the only problem being the battery was a stop/start one which our car does not have( they charge differently to normal batteries).
the car is used every day in Wagga Wagga, also as the main travelling car. the car is serviced ahead of scheduled km as it was months came first. It is now being serviced by a European car specialist as the dealer stopped selling Skodas and wanted the car in more often due to extended warrenty

Purchased in March 2014 for A$26,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Blossum

BlossumQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Update to Love my car BUT

published

Update: My 2008 car is now over 220,000 km and still going well. It is a manual and I would recommend avoiding the auto's as they have had a lot of issues. One lady in town had a auto and told me it can suddenly go out of gear, which is very scary if you were crossing a busy road! Skoda has told her repeatedly that there is no problem!
Please note that these model Skoda's do not have the dangerous Takata air bags. The Octavia III (2014-2018) do though.

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Barry H

Barry HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent so far (1000km)

published
BodyFour door hatchback
BadgeRS 169TSI
Engine Size2.0l ron 98
Transmission6sTSI semi auto
Date PurchasedDec 2018
sago

sago

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Car

published

Purchased in July 2017.

1 comment
sago
sago
Barry H

Barry HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published
BodySedan
Badge90TSI Special Edition
TransmissionDon't understand this question. It's a dsg 7 speed.
Date PurchasedJun 2013
KJW.

KJW.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Octavia - Great drive.

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 103TSI
Engine Size1.4T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Cars

Find out how Skoda Octavia compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

Fantastic economy and great value

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 110TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
AnP

AnPPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car

published

I am a new owner of Skoda Octavia VRS (bought second hand) and I must say that this is one of the best car I have driven. I love every moment I drive my car. Amazed with its performance, agility and comfort. It is really an under rated car in Australia. The punchline 'Simply clever' is what I would say about this car.

BodySedan
BadgeRS 162TSI
Engine Size2.0TD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Wipers dont work and skoda does not know how to fix them

published
BodyWagon
BadgeVrs 245
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not happy with the vw engine

published

Skoda has a good body but a bad engine with multiple manufacturing defects and faults for which they don’t oun upto, be cautious of buying one and keeping it for longtime. I would not recommend skoda or vw only due to massive engine issues for longtime especially if it is a manufacturing issues which come up after the warranty period which might end up costing as much as the cars present value.

BodySedan
BadgeUnsatisfactory
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Huon

HuonHobart

Excellent vehicles

published
BodyWagon
Badge103TDI
Engine Size2.0TD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Ted

Tedasked

Octavia 1Z (2007-2013)

I already have a Skoda Kodiaq which I love, I’ve now found a 2009 Octavia 147TSI RS, manual, 120,000km. Great condition and full service history. Is this a good buy for a project car? Cheers

1 answer
Gerry
Gerry

Hi Ted - sorry I’ve got an RS169 - which is the NE model (2017). I couldn’t advise you and don’t know much about these in terms of reliability etc

Olivia

Oliviaasked

Octavia 1Z (2007-2013)

Hi,I am looking to buy 2012 Skoda Octavia 103 TDI Automatic Wagon MY13. Any advice? I am bit hesitant as per previous bad experience with turbo diesels
Thank you

2 answers
grant
grant

Just make sure regular servicing with approved fluids has been carried out. Check for things like gearbox servicing and water pump replacement to make sure it's been done. When you drive it make sure the suspension is tight and not noisy and the gearbox is smooth, no shuddering or clunking.

Olivia
Olivia

Ok thank you for that. One I am looking at possibly buying, have around 113kms on it. Test driving it today or tomorrow.

Wayne

Wayneasked

NE (Wagon) RS 180TSI (2013-2020)

whats the tyre size in nz

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.