??!
11 photos
Skoda Superb

Skoda Superb

3T, NP
4.5 from 35 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(26)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)


Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

I have had this car for 7 years now. Purchased new, used daily coming up to 185000 km. It always runs great with excellent fuel economy. Comfortable to drive, reliable and lots of great features. Will definitely buy another one when I am ready for a new car in a few more years!!

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Me and her

Me and herSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not like skodas of old

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Skoda Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


flying fish

flying fishHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car with one flaw (depending on where you are coming from)

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Scary experience

published

I’m very disappointed with the quality of my Skoda Superb. My car has been recalled and the mechatronic unit replaced, however my car failed again due to the mechatronic unit. It was a very scary experience, as my car’s mechatronic unit failed causing my car to suddenly stop while I was still on drive. My sister-in-law also had a similar experience with her car. Her Skoda Octavia also had problems with the car suddenly stopping due to the mechatronics. Her vehicle required the mechatronic unit to be replaced not once, but twice in the space of a year, once under recall, then again a year after. I am not sure what’s going on, I am not impressed with the quality of my vehicle and I feel very upset and disappointed with my experience.

Purchased in February 2013.

Year2010

Pabs

PabsPerth

Superb wagon a joy!

published

Just purchased 2018 Superb wagon 162 version.
An absolute dream to drive! Bumped into a woman at the kids soccer. She was driving a Kodiaq. They have 4 late model Skoda's in there family. 2 in immediate family and an uncle and grandfather! They won't buy any other make of car! Now i know why! Skoda need to spend more on promotion in Oz. People just dont know how good they are!

BodyWagon
Badge??
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Fantastic car until you need service under warranty.

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Dimitri
Dimitri

Clair Hammond

Clair HammondAdelaide, SA, 5119

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Loads of boot space

published

We bought this as out family car as we go on loads of camping trips and needed extra room in the boot to stash all the camp gear and tents. It holds a lot more than that even when mostly full and has been fantastic on kind road drips with the kids

BodyWagon
BadgeAmbition 103TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Fred

FredMelbourne

  • 13 reviews

Why buy an SUV, this is so much better!

published

Purchased this in August 2016 after owning 4 different SUV. I transport machines in my car and need a decent boot size. The Superb has the largest boot in its class and more rear leg room than any SUV. The Diesel engine is powerful, very frugal and the car is an overall joy to drive. I have had no issues with the car and have covered over 60,000km in just under 2 years. Don't get sucked into all the negative reviews about the VW Group. They are just the journalists favourite target. The cars are overall really good and the Skoda brand is underrated in AUS. They win every comparison in Europe! Test drive one and you will be pleasantly surprised

BodyWagon
Badge140 TDI with Tech and Comfort Packs
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Ride quality

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
TDX

TDX

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Skoda superb 206tsi

published

Turn my vehicles over every 3 years for business and have had SUV's but the Superb sold me as soon as I drove it and still love it! So quiet and comfortable but with the 206TSi motor it gets up a goes so has the enjoyment factor also as well as it looks so elegant! Its roomy inside and yet doesnt feel big on the road and has every option you could ever want EXCEPT digital radio??? Have fitted an after market unit which runs thru the aux in and happy now!
Fuel consumption with the hot motor is a little high but everything else outweighs that by a wide margin!

BodySedan
Badge206tsi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Judy

JudySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy Nanna

published

My daughter & son-in-law have a Skoda superb wagon. Every trip in it has been wonderful from the heated seats to the roomy interior. Rides so well. Great for luggage too. Would recommend to all. Economical to run. Great cameras all round. Wish I had one here in Sydney NSW

BodyWagon
Badge?
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Mavis

MavisBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Supurb (literally)

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 125TDI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Seeyachamp

SeeyachampSutton Forest

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

The Best

published

Fantastic fuel economy on diesel. Very comfortable long distance tourer. Have done over 200,000 and not one repair. I also really like the DSG transmission. The radio phone integration is xcellent and easy to use. Very under rated car. It has plenty of pick up and goes and goes. I will buy another!

BodyWagon
BadgeAmbition 103TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

hcca

hcca

  • 8 reviews

Awesome

published
BodySedan
Badge162TSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Albervin

AlbervinWollongong

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

After Five Years I am still in Love

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 191FSI
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
1 comment
Albervin
Albervin

Sadly, on January 26th 2018 the car was struck by lightning and killed. A very, very sad day.

ClarkKent3792

ClarkKent3792South East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews

Magnificent Car

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
3 comments
ClarkKent3792
ClarkKent3792

Just make sure your get the1.8L petrol OEM timing chain, tensioners etc attended to, if outside warranty in a pre 2013 version. This is a known fault that needs immediate attention, to avoid potentially catastrophic grief.

ClarkKent3792
ClarkKent3792
ClarkKent3792
ClarkKent3792

Some oil usage was largely negated by using 5W-40 VAG spec oil (Shell) instead of the 30 Weight oil. Would still recommend the full synthetic oil as the semi synthetic oils will be quite degraded before 10,000km.


Paul

PaulSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Power, Economy & Luxury in ONE!

published

Every drive puts a smile on my dial. The torque of the 2l diesel is unlike Anything I have ever driven. Responsive, accelerating, confidence inspiring to safely overtake. Inside the cabin is Audi luxury, with a different badge, not to mention it's less then half the price.
Reliability has been faultless thus far, however just started noticing a little noise from the front end which I hope is nothing serious.
Rewarding, luxury, practical family car! Buy one, I would again!

BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 125TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

matt

mattBrisbane

Surprisingly good

published

Nice clean lines, audi remenicient.
forgiving chassis, with smooth ride
basic but functional gearbox
great instrument layout inside
plenty of power from an audi engine
the resale will not be great but it's cheap enough now
replacement parts are cheap considering it's a european car
hard to beat for the amount of car you get at the price.

BodySedan
BadgeElegance 191FSI
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Lonnie24

Lonnie24Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Skoda Superb 2011 Sedan - Petrol

published

The Skoda Superb drives beautifully. Its roomy interior and boot space is the best I have had. The back seat is as comfortable as the front with excellent legroom. The air conditioning and heated seats keep you comfortable all year round. The Skoda does take more oil than other cars. We had to change the tyres because of road noise. The highlight is definitely the boot - being able to open the boot lid to two different size openings - normal and coupe like is very helpful transporting larger items. Overall good fuel economy, super comforty, spacious, slick looking and drives well.

BodySedan
Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic

Ray

RaySydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 16 likes

We loved our superb so much we purchased an Octavia as well

published

I could go into so much detail about how amazing Skoda is but I would only be repeating what others have already said. We loved our Suberb Elegance sedan TDI so much that we needed two cars so I bought myself an Octavia Elegance TSI wagon. We have already had 4 years of perfect motoring from both cars. Buy one!! You won't be disappointed!! I will replace them with Skoda again when it's time.

BodySedan
BadgeElegance 125TDI
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sara M.

Sara M.asked

Is the car capable in snow conditions? Eg driving up to Falls Creek regularly.

No answers

Sukh

Sukhasked

Hi
Actually I am looking to buy superb Skoda. Usually drive over 5000km a month mostly around city so can I get suggestions that which engine patrol or diesel should I go
Your suggestion would be very valuable for me
Thanks

3 answers
Albervin
Albervin

That is a lot of Km. Usually a diesel is better in these circumstances. If you are leasing then I would take a 3 year lease at 40-50% balloon then think whether you want or need to turn it over. If you can obtain a 5 year warranty then go for 5 years with 25% balloon (residual). If Skoda are offering fixed servicing costs then take that too.

ClarkKent3792
ClarkKent3792

Yes definitely the diesel is the more efficient option. If smoothness and quietness are important then the petrol will be significantly more pleasant at idle and will offer more linear torque off idle and throughout the entire range, if you are a performance enthusiast there is no other choice other than petrol. If it were me, petrol!

brian
brian

I would recommend petrol as well as it's easier to obtain from petrol stations however, if you're planning on driving on muddy surfaces then disiel is the better option plus diesel is sludge and if you somehow get into a traffic collision - there's less chance of catching on fire


Sukh

Sukhasked

Hi
I am thinking to buy Skoda superb but have confusion about Engines diesel or petrol can anyone help me get on decision add on I drive about over 5000km/month

4 answers
Albervin
Albervin

At 5,000km/mth I would buy a diesel. Servicing costs will be a lot less than a petrol car.

Sukh
Sukh

Thanks
Your opinion is very valuable for me

Simon
Simon

Hey Sukh,

We've done +70,000 with the 125kw diesel Superb - my first diesel, goes like a dream. (once you adjust to the double-clutch auto at take-off). Overall 5.3 lt/100kms (mostly country), and plenty of power when you need it. Some mechanics say that for city driving, petrol's the way to go due to diesel injectors clogging - but if you have your car serviced properly, it shouldn't be an issue.


Get an answer from our members and Skoda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.