?
? !
11 photos
Skoda Superb

Skoda Superb

3T, NP
4.5 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

38 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (6)
  • Handling
    4.2 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (6)
  • Features
    4.8 (6)
Previous
Next

Wheels and tyres

published

My 2014 Superb Outdoor came with 225/40r18 wheels and tyres. The ride on Australian coarse chip roads was extremely loud and harsh.
Do yourself a favour and change to 17” wheels and 225/50 tyres. This is the same as the VW Passat. The whole driving experience is far far better. Quieter, smoother and very little give away in handling. It even makes the Speedo read exactly according my gps.
Otherwise the Superb is an excellent place to be

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ted

Ted

  • 22 reviews
  • 42 likes

Skoda are a hidden gem

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Skoda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car - except for the cost of spares

published

I have a Superb 2 TDi 125. Great car for long distance and have taken it all over the North island, The only caveat is the price of spares. The right headlight failed and a replacement from Gazley cost $3000.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Skoda Superb compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

I have had this car for 7 years now. Purchased new, used daily coming up to 185000 km. It always runs great with excellent fuel economy. Comfortable to drive, reliable and lots of great features. Will definitely buy another one when I am ready for a new car in a few more years!!

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Me and her

Me and herSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not like skodas of old

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Skoda Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

flying fish

flying fishHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent car with one flaw (depending on where you are coming from)

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Scary experience

published

I’m very disappointed with the quality of my Skoda Superb. My car has been recalled and the mechatronic unit replaced, however my car failed again due to the mechatronic unit. It was a very scary experience, as my car’s mechatronic unit failed causing my car to suddenly stop while I was still on drive. My sister-in-law also had a similar experience with her car. Her Skoda Octavia also had problems with the car suddenly stopping due to the mechatronics. Her vehicle required the mechatronic unit to be replaced not once, but twice in the space of a year, once under recall, then again a year after. I am not sure what’s going on, I am not impressed with the quality of my vehicle and I feel very upset and disappointed with my experience.

Purchased in February 2013.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pabs

PabsPerth

Superb wagon a joy!

published

Just purchased 2018 Superb wagon 162 version.
An absolute dream to drive! Bumped into a woman at the kids soccer. She was driving a Kodiaq. They have 4 late model Skoda's in there family. 2 in immediate family and an uncle and grandfather! They won't buy any other make of car! Now i know why! Skoda need to spend more on promotion in Oz. People just dont know how good they are!

BodyWagon
Badge??
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fantastic car until you need service under warranty.

published
BodySedan
BadgeAmbition 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Dimitri
Dimitri
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Skoda Superb compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Clair Hammond

Clair HammondAdelaide, SA, 5119

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Loads of boot space

published

We bought this as out family car as we go on loads of camping trips and needed extra room in the boot to stash all the camp gear and tents. It holds a lot more than that even when mostly full and has been fantastic on kind road drips with the kids

BodyWagon
BadgeAmbition 103TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fred

FredMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

Why buy an SUV, this is so much better!

published

Purchased this in August 2016 after owning 4 different SUV. I transport machines in my car and need a decent boot size. The Superb has the largest boot in its class and more rear leg room than any SUV. The Diesel engine is powerful, very frugal and the car is an overall joy to drive. I have had no issues with the car and have covered over 60,000km in just under 2 years. Don't get sucked into all the negative reviews about the VW Group. They are just the journalists favourite target. The cars are overall really good and the Skoda brand is underrated in AUS. They win every comparison in Europe! Test drive one and you will be pleasantly surprised

BodyWagon
Badge140 TDI with Tech and Comfort Packs
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ride quality

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TDX

TDX

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Skoda superb 206tsi

published

Turn my vehicles over every 3 years for business and have had SUV's but the Superb sold me as soon as I drove it and still love it! So quiet and comfortable but with the 206TSi motor it gets up a goes so has the enjoyment factor also as well as it looks so elegant! Its roomy inside and yet doesnt feel big on the road and has every option you could ever want EXCEPT digital radio??? Have fitted an after market unit which runs thru the aux in and happy now!
Fuel consumption with the hot motor is a little high but everything else outweighs that by a wide margin!

BodySedan
Badge206tsi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Judy

JudySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Happy Nanna

published

My daughter & son-in-law have a Skoda superb wagon. Every trip in it has been wonderful from the heated seats to the roomy interior. Rides so well. Great for luggage too. Would recommend to all. Economical to run. Great cameras all round. Wish I had one here in Sydney NSW

BodyWagon
Badge?
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mavis

MavisBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Supurb (literally)

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 125TDI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Skoda Superb compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Seeyachamp

SeeyachampSutton Forest

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

The Best

published

Fantastic fuel economy on diesel. Very comfortable long distance tourer. Have done over 200,000 and not one repair. I also really like the DSG transmission. The radio phone integration is xcellent and easy to use. Very under rated car. It has plenty of pick up and goes and goes. I will buy another!

BodyWagon
BadgeAmbition 103TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
hcca

hcca

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Awesome

published
BodySedan
Badge162TSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Albervin

AlbervinWollongong

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

After Five Years I am still in Love

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 191FSI
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
1 comment
Albervin
Albervin

Sadly, on January 26th 2018 the car was struck by lightning and killed. A very, very sad day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clark Kent

Clark KentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 26 likes

Magnificent Car

published
BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 118TSI
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
3 comments
Clark Kent
Clark Kent

Just make sure your get the1.8L petrol OEM timing chain, tensioners etc attended to, if outside warranty in a pre 2013 version. This is a known fault that needs immediate attention, to avoid potentially catastrophic grief.

Clark Kent
Clark Kent
Clark Kent
Clark Kent

Some oil usage was largely negated by using 5W-40 VAG spec oil (Shell) instead of the 30 Weight oil. Would still recommend the full synthetic oil as the semi synthetic oils will be quite degraded before 10,000km.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 23 reviews
  • 17 likes

Power, Economy & Luxury in ONE!

published

Every drive puts a smile on my dial. The torque of the 2l diesel is unlike Anything I have ever driven. Responsive, accelerating, confidence inspiring to safely overtake. Inside the cabin is Audi luxury, with a different badge, not to mention it's less then half the price.
Reliability has been faultless thus far, however just started noticing a little noise from the front end which I hope is nothing serious.
Rewarding, luxury, practical family car! Buy one, I would again!

BodyWagon
BadgeElegance 125TDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sara M.

Sara M.asked

Superb

Is the car capable in snow conditions? Eg driving up to Falls Creek regularly.

1 answer
Mitcho
Mitcho

The ability of a car to travel into snow is not so much about one passenger car Vs another. Front drive cars with modest ground clearance and city tyres will all be pretty much the same. What varies is tyre profile (i.e. 40 series / 50 series or the like) and whether you can fit chains or not. DO NOT get fooled by thinking that an AWD car (whether Skoda or any other brand) without chains can do better in snow than a car with chains or is in anyway "safe" in snow (just look in the panel beaters near ski fields). Most modern cars (including the Superb) have ABS and traction control, but if you hit ice on chain-less tyres (and remember there is often a very fine line between settled snow and ice), then these features aren't much help. These features are however pretty good if you have chains on.

Having driven rear drive with chains on back and front drive with chains on front, in snow and assuming you only had one set of chains, I'd stick with the front drive as steering and power are on the same set of wheels.

As for which cars can accommodate chains - refer to the manufacturer specs, but typically most of the ones with low profile tyres (50 series or less) will not be compatible with most cheap / rental chains.

As for whether a Skoda Superb is good on a mountain climb, then strong mid range torque is important and all engines in the range do well here, with the diesel and the V6 obviously better than the smaller turbo four.

Sukh

Sukhasked

Superb NP (2015-2021)

Hi
Actually I am looking to buy superb Skoda. Usually drive over 5000km a month mostly around city so can I get suggestions that which engine patrol or diesel should I go
Your suggestion would be very valuable for me
Thanks

3 answers
Albervin
Albervin

That is a lot of Km. Usually a diesel is better in these circumstances. If you are leasing then I would take a 3 year lease at 40-50% balloon then think whether you want or need to turn it over. If you can obtain a 5 year warranty then go for 5 years with 25% balloon (residual). If Skoda are offering fixed servicing costs then take that too.

Clark Kent
Clark Kent

Yes definitely the diesel is the more efficient option. If smoothness and quietness are important then the petrol will be significantly more pleasant at idle and will offer more linear torque off idle and throughout the entire range, if you are a performance enthusiast there is no other choice other than petrol. If it were me, petrol!

brian
brian

I would recommend petrol as well as it's easier to obtain from petrol stations however, if you're planning on driving on muddy surfaces then disiel is the better option plus diesel is sludge and if you somehow get into a traffic collision - there's less chance of catching on fire

Sukh

Sukhasked

Superb NP (2015-2021)

Hi
I am thinking to buy Skoda superb but have confusion about Engines diesel or petrol can anyone help me get on decision add on I drive about over 5000km/month

4 answers
Albervin
Albervin

At 5,000km/mth I would buy a diesel. Servicing costs will be a lot less than a petrol car.

Sukh
Sukh

Thanks
Your opinion is very valuable for me

Simon
Simon

Hey Sukh,

We've done +70,000 with the 125kw diesel Superb - my first diesel, goes like a dream. (once you adjust to the double-clutch auto at take-off). Overall 5.3 lt/100kms (mostly country), and plenty of power when you need it. Some mechanics say that for city driving, petrol's the way to go due to diesel injectors clogging - but if you have your car serviced properly, it shouldn't be an issue.

See all Skoda Superb questions

Get an answer from our members

Skoda Superb

Details

Compare all 7 Skoda Superb
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Wagons
Starting Price $43,990$55,290$59,990$45,690
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L66 L66 L66 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm206kW @ 6500rpm206kW @ 6500rpm162kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1500-4400rpm350Nm @ 1700-5600rpm350Nm @ 1700-5600rpm350Nm @ 1500-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureCzech RepublicCzech RepublicCzech RepublicCzech Republic
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 7 Skoda Superb

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.