?
? !
19 photos
Subaru Impreza

Subaru Impreza

S, G3, G4, G5
4.0 from 126 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (19)
  • Braking
    4.4 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (20)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (20)
  • Handling
    4.3 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (19)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (19)
  • Features
    4.0 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Sydney

SydneyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Warranty denied, warranty rejected some fake parts of the brand new car

published

I bought subaru impreza hatchback 2018 for my personal use. Not driving much. Service always on time. Turn up last year I had a cracked on GPS SCREEN no reason. I bought 3 years extended warranty. This car not even finished Subaru warranty yet. They not take any responsibility to most warranty that they have. Watch out anyone too expensive services. Now my brand new car turn to nightmare intertenmen unit it shut it down not working caused by cracked screen it happened on last year. My car not even use much because of covid 19 last year.

Purchased in June 2018 at Subaru Glenwavaly for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi Sydney, we are sorry to hear of your experience. We encourage you to contact our Customer Relations Team for further investigation. Please contact them using feedback@subaru.com.au or on 1800 226 643.
Regards
The Subaru Team

Sydney
Sydney
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mianos

mianosSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great cars, but watch out, my aircon failed completely a week after the warranty ran out and they denied.

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ttttt

TttttPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute poor performance and extremely poor warranty service

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Ttttt, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. If you would like to discuss this further with us, our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Subaru Impreza compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HollyWaffle

HollyWaffleHobart, TAS

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic Intelligent Car

published

After doing a lot of research and test driving I decided on the Subaru Impreza Premium 2019. The car is brilliant with all the safety features, great fuel economy, all the technology & gadgets, pools sporty and a very smooth drive. I would happily recommend Subaru, especially the impreza.

Purchased in December 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Macca

MaccaTasmania

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Safety features are a life saver

published

The collision avoidance system is a life saver. This car is so intelligent it is amazing. Smooth and effortless to drive. Superb build quality. Yes servicing is a little on the expense side but not a deal breaker. Packed with too many features to list. At the very least it is worth a test drive if you are in the market for a new car. The only annoying thing is the auto engine stop, yes it can be turned off with a push of a button but every time the car is re started you have to de activate it again. Again not a deal breaker.

Purchased in December 2019 at Subaru Dealers for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My first & last Subaru. Disappointed.

published

Has taken 2 weeks to trace error. $5000 bill to fix. Never buying another Subaru. Trans specialist says this is a common problem.
How about a recall?
All repairs are very expensive as are services charges. Back to a Toyota.

Purchased in January 2014 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Martin, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Our Customer Relations Team is available if you would like to discuss this further on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Revco

RevcoLA

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Deranged Service Pricing

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Subaru Dealers for $26,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Revco, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au if you'd like to discuss this further. The Subaru Team.

Revco
Revco

Just want to update anyone reading this. I am sorry my bad. I was wrong.

The 75,000 km service is not the worst. The 100,000 km service is just under $1600! What do they do? Check and replace a bunch of fluids.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
angelina

angelinaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 21 likes

Did some one say POOBARU??

published

3 recalls and an issue that sits there like an elephant in the room. No one wishes to address it, or rectify it. Their main goal is to find excuses and reasons for why you are not doing things properly, because this then deflects the issues off their nasty cars.

I have tried having these issues fixed for over 12 months and I have given up! they will not replace my lemon. They will not even replace for another second hand in another brand from their car yards. Auto nexus are absolutely useless at their online customer support and this is then fed through to the car yards.

Cant wait to be rid of this crap box they call safe!!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
5 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
angelina
angelina
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
LLL

LLL

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

8/10 car

published

I drive the 2012 sedan and its great. Fuel consumption averages 8L/100. What bugs me is that it can be really noisy accellerating in a tinny way, not a low grunt.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
LLL
LLL

Cheers, might wait for the new wrx in 2 years time or go for a ute aha but thanks

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Subaru Impreza compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick M.

Nick M.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great car to drive with all the features, just lacking the guts

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David

David

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Subaru Impreza Battery Drain Still Happening on New Model (G5)

published

Just bought a brand new 2019 Subaru Impreza 2.0i Premium outside looks cool but unfortunately got battery drain issue, after park a few days got battery flat & can not move as died, it happened several times & have to go services check, understand it is an reported problem for Subaru 4th Generation but surprisingly it still not being fixed on update model, My advice - never buy a Subaru or you just waste your money !

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wing Yi Tong

Wing Yi Tong

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

I love this car very much. I use as personal transport everyday. I always clean my car and do the service around once per two months or three months. Excellent car!!

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam

SamSydney, NSW

Great car good value.

published

I bought this impreza top of range in January 2018, now it is the time to put my review with about 20K driven.
It is a well design car easy to handle, only with minor things to improve such as the GPS does not have live camera detection. But overall, I recommend this car if you consider to buy one. My buying experience with the dealer was so bad, the sales person was too aggressive and not polite, but the services department is good and helpful.

Purchased in January 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leanne

LeanneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Subby Lover

published

I am so very impressed with my Impreza, I feel the 2lt engine has a great amount of power paired with the CVT it drives perfectly through city traffic and country roads. I am also loving the amount of tech Subaru have packed into this car. When reversing it is nice to have the camera as a second pair of eyes, braking if it detects something and the cross traffic alert is a very handy feature too. I feel so very safe driving this all wheel drive car in this winter weather, the eye sight is the best making it the safest car I have driven .

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2019 at Jarvis Barossa.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christine B.

Christine B.Sydney, NSW

Love this car

published

Purchased my Subaru S in Black at Easter and I'm enjoying the ride. It is a sport model with tight handling slick tyres. Subaru have thought of everything from the leather heated seats to the on board cameras that make it so safe and comfortable to travel both country and city driving. There is a great deal of leg room for the driver and passengers. The technology is first class and beats most other vehicles in this price range. The car is used daily and it has had its first service. My mechanic told me about Subaru and made the recommendation to me for which I am most grateful.

Purchased in April 2019 for $34,040.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Subaru Impreza compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jackboz

JackbozSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect daily drive

published

I use my Subaru Impreza for a daily commute of about 50km. The adaptive cruise control makes driving in traffic a breeze, with the car braking and accelerating for me. It is a very comfortable ride and is very efficient for a 2.0L engine. The car has a yearly service schedule completed by Subaru, and has had no issues to date.

Purchased in December 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benjamin.h.l

Benjamin.h.lSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

High quality, not much power

published

In typical Subaru Fashion, this car has excellent build quality, feels great through the corners, and has 'enough' power to keep up. Compared to the competition (mazda 3, hundai i30, toyota corolla) this Subaru Impreza shows, what I think is a higher quality build and more deliberate cornering. However, where the car is beat, is the engine. The engine lacks the power of the competition.
Otherwise though, the car was very reliable and worked great as a commuter.

Purchased in June 2018 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Average, don't expect much

published

Fuel economy is poor, and the car runs terribly on 91. Don't even bother with E10. So expect to be paying for premium fuel.
Urban fuel consumption is poor. 10-12l/100. 6.5/100 on the freeway. Subaru's official readings are difficult to match.

Vehicle is extremely lethargic and slow, which is difficult because you don't have the power to overtake on freeways. Not suitable for hilly areas.
Servicing is a rip-off. Apparently you need a tyre rotation every service? First one cost $400+. Not happy.
AWD and handling are good.
Entertainment system doesn't connect at times.
Adaptive cruise is wonderful.

Purchased in May 2018 at Dealer for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sofia C.

Sofia C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

We bought this as our second car and we love it. Fits our baby seat. Has great features and the seats are really comfortable leather which hug your body, car feels sporty without being a sports car.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christopher

ChristopherSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Use car daily to work. Had it for 6 months so far no issues. Only need yearly service. Don't really do much off road mostly city driving. Love all the safety features, hazard detection and automatic braking. Connectivity is really smooth and simple. Also has multiple profiles so different family members can use and just put their profile on and sets the car up for you

Purchased in August 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $27,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Alex N.

Alex N.asked

Impreza

I am researching for hatchback cars and thought this car is great! but would like to know any of you bought recently model 2020, while have experience issue driving up steep hill with 4 adults and full loaded in the boot. How did it go? Need to reach more than 4000rpm to hold the torque? I am seeking who have 2.0i-L level not entry or top of the range class. Also what about does it enough to take off when approach T junction? For me, I am not a racer person and prefer to have less effort whatever it goes. Thanks!

2 answers
HollyWaffle
HollyWaffle

I have the 2.0i-P, pretty much the same but with sunroof and GPS being the only difference. Fantastic car, no problem with power, very comfortable to drive. Fantastic safety features. Highly recommended. The only difference with top of the range (S) is it had some leather features, sports pedals and 4 extra safety features, reverse auto braking, blind spot monitoring and 2 others..... the motor is the same through all the models.

Alex N.
Alex N.

Thankyou

Khaleen E.

Khaleen E.asked

Impreza G4 (2012-2016)

Does it have backup camera?

2 answers
Nick M.
Nick M.

Yes it does, all models come with a reversing camera and guide lines

Khaleen E.
Khaleen E.

Thank you

selenaj

selenajasked

Impreza G3 (2008-2011)

I am looking at purchasing a first car for my son. I have seen a Subaru impreza RS 2008 for sale for $6,000. It has done 166,000 odd K's. I have heard many conflicting reviews on the car. Is there something to watch out for in particular. Any main mechanical problems? People who have them what petrol do you use and what K's/100 do you get?

No answers
See all Subaru Impreza questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Impreza

Details

Compare all 12 Subaru Impreza
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $22,690$26,590$24,790$29,540
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km6.6 L/100km6.6 L/100km7.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm196Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateNov 2016Nov 2016Nov 2016Nov 2016
Compare all 12 Subaru Impreza

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.