??!
19 photos
Subaru Impreza

Subaru Impreza

S, G3, G4, G5
4.1 from 117 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
55
4 star
39
3 star
10
2 star
5
1 star
8

Nick M.

Nick M.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great car to drive with all the features, just lacking the guts

published

Purchased in October 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David

David

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Subaru Impreza Battery Drain Still Happening on New Model (G5)

published

Just bought a brand new 2019 Subaru Impreza 2.0i Premium outside looks cool but unfortunately got battery drain issue, after park a few days got battery flat & can not move as died, it happened several times & have to go services check, understand it is an reported problem for Subaru 4th Generation but surprisingly it still not being fixed on update model, My advice - never buy a Subaru or you just waste your money !

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wing Yi Tong

Wing Yi Tong

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

I love this car very much. I use as personal transport everyday. I always clean my car and do the service around once per two months or three months. Excellent car!!

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Sam

SamSydney, NSW

Great car good value.

published

I bought this impreza top of range in January 2018, now it is the time to put my review with about 20K driven.
It is a well design car easy to handle, only with minor things to improve such as the GPS does not have live camera detection. But overall, I recommend this car if you consider to buy one. My buying experience with the dealer was so bad, the sales person was too aggressive and not polite, but the services department is good and helpful.

Purchased in January 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Leanne

LeanneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews

Subby Lover

published

I am so very impressed with my Impreza, I feel the 2lt engine has a great amount of power paired with the CVT it drives perfectly through city traffic and country roads. I am also loving the amount of tech Subaru have packed into this car. When reversing it is nice to have the camera as a second pair of eyes, braking if it detects something and the cross traffic alert is a very handy feature too. I feel so very safe driving this all wheel drive car in this winter weather, the eye sight is the best making it the safest car I have driven .

Purchased in May 2019 at Jarvis Barossa.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Christine B.

Christine B.Sydney, NSW

Love this car

published

Purchased my Subaru S in Black at Easter and I'm enjoying the ride. It is a sport model with tight handling slick tyres. Subaru have thought of everything from the leather heated seats to the on board cameras that make it so safe and comfortable to travel both country and city driving. There is a great deal of leg room for the driver and passengers. The technology is first class and beats most other vehicles in this price range. The car is used daily and it has had its first service. My mechanic told me about Subaru and made the recommendation to me for which I am most grateful.

Purchased in April 2019 for $34,040.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jackboz

JackbozSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect daily drive

published

I use my Subaru Impreza for a daily commute of about 50km. The adaptive cruise control makes driving in traffic a breeze, with the car braking and accelerating for me. It is a very comfortable ride and is very efficient for a 2.0L engine. The car has a yearly service schedule completed by Subaru, and has had no issues to date.

Purchased in December 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Benjamin.h.l

Benjamin.h.lSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

High quality, not much power

published

In typical Subaru Fashion, this car has excellent build quality, feels great through the corners, and has 'enough' power to keep up. Compared to the competition (mazda 3, hundai i30, toyota corolla) this Subaru Impreza shows, what I think is a higher quality build and more deliberate cornering. However, where the car is beat, is the engine. The engine lacks the power of the competition.
Otherwise though, the car was very reliable and worked great as a commuter.

Purchased in June 2018 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Average, don't expect much

published

Fuel economy is poor, and the car runs terribly on 91. Don't even bother with E10. So expect to be paying for premium fuel.
Urban fuel consumption is poor. 10-12l/100. 6.5/100 on the freeway. Subaru's official readings are difficult to match.

Vehicle is extremely lethargic and slow, which is difficult because you don't have the power to overtake on freeways. Not suitable for hilly areas.
Servicing is a rip-off. Apparently you need a tyre rotation every service? First one cost $400+. Not happy.
AWD and handling are good.
Entertainment system doesn't connect at times.
Adaptive cruise is wonderful.

Purchased in May 2018 at Dealer for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sofia C.

Sofia C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great car

published

We bought this as our second car and we love it. Fits our baby seat. Has great features and the seats are really comfortable leather which hug your body, car feels sporty without being a sports car.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Christopher

ChristopherSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Use car daily to work. Had it for 6 months so far no issues. Only need yearly service. Don't really do much off road mostly city driving. Love all the safety features, hazard detection and automatic braking. Connectivity is really smooth and simple. Also has multiple profiles so different family members can use and just put their profile on and sets the car up for you

Purchased in August 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $27,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


deenick

deenickSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I love my Impreza

published

I have my third Impreza and fourth Subaru. I find the impreza meets all my travel needs. Comfort, safety, reliable and economical. The vehicle is used daiky comuting to jobs collecting kids and shopping

Purchased in September 2018.

Year2018

Not happy Jan.

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $28,000.00.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017

Phil in the Adelaide Hil

Phil in the Adelaide HilAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great car

published
Badge2.0i-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Roxy

RoxyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Love

published

I bought my Impreza a yr ago, I love my car. The only thing Im concerned about is the speaker, sometimes it gets muffled and I asked at my last (first) service for them to look at it. They said it could be apart of the software and just need an update but it still happens every now and then. I will mention it again at my next service. Other than that, I love this car. Drives beautifully and reminds me of my Honda Civic- I would've have bought another civic except I didn't like the new civic shape.

Badge2.0i-S
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sim

Sim

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

2016 MY17 Impreza

published

I just bought this a few days ago from John McGraths Canberra in great condition and only $18,300.00. While people.complain about the power on these, it is not a WRX so don't expect a race car. It has plenty of power and sits the highway great on cruise control. Full car still smoothly Powers up all hills. The added features for adjusting speed to the car in front is amazing. Would recommend to anyone.

Badge2.0i Premium
BodyHatch
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 16 reviews

Underperforming but still good value.

published
Badge2.0i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Shaz

ShazLaunceston

  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Subaru Impreza Sport Hatch

published

Love my Impreza not only does it have all the bells and whistles like sat nav, sunroof, reverse camera, heated leather seats, bluetooth plus lots more it drives like a dream. I feel really safe on the road with the all wheel drive and ABS brakes. Truly the best car I have owned.

Badge2.0i-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

BBBrisbane

BBBrisbaneQLD, 4101

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great quality of build

published

For the price range it is an awesome car. This car is competing with likes of Corolla, Golf and i30.
The Good: It has great build quality and interior feeling. very spacious. lots of space for back seats. full of safety features. great seats. has 3 screens that show all information you like. drives well. high visibility.
The not so good: A bit expensive. the AWD is probably not necessary for Brisbane, but you are paying for it anyway. Aircon is not the quickest to cool down cabin on a sunny day.

Badge2.0i-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Sam

Sam

  • 5 reviews

Such a nice car to drive, handling is great, seats are comfortable, very spacious for a small car

published

We have owned the car for around 1.5yrs and have loved it. Roof racks are very handy however we can even fit our stand up paddle boards inside the car.

Very spacious for a small car. Great handling, through the steering wheel you can tell the quality put into manufacturing this car.

BadgeGX
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

selenaj

selenajasked

I am looking at purchasing a first car for my son. I have seen a Subaru impreza RS 2008 for sale for $6,000. It has done 166,000 odd K's. I have heard many conflicting reviews on the car. Is there something to watch out for in particular. Any main mechanical problems? People who have them what petrol do you use and what K's/100 do you get?

No answers

Shonda B.

Shonda B.asked

I have a 2010 Impreza and it has started 3 loud beeps when I start and turn off vehicle all of a sudden does anyone know what it is?

No answers

Ash M.

Ash M.asked

Just checked the oil on just purchased 2014 impreza and it shows well anove the fill mark. What dsmage will this cause. Jack

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.