??!
7 photos
Toyota HiAce

Toyota HiAce

H200.II, H200.I, H100.II, H100.I
3.6 from 49 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
15
3 star
6
2 star
6
1 star
6

Fiona L

Fiona LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews

300,000 kms and Still Going Strong!

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

timmo

timmoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

The ride in a 2017 Hiace like a bronco

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

PhilB

PhilBNew South Wales

  • 7 reviews

Horrendous servicing costs

published

Purchased in April 2014 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great campervan conversion

published

I live in a hiace commuter which I have converted into a campervan which has gone without a hitch over the last 240,000km. I have friends who have driven more than 1million km in their 90'e hiaces (mine is a 2000 model). The fuel economy is not amazing compared to brand new Mercedes sprinter vans and ivecos which get upwards of 1000km per tank, but the money saved on servicing a Toyota instead of a European car has made owning this van even more worth it. Definitely recommend a hiace commuter for vanlife! You won't regret it.

Purchased in July 2017 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

This van is a Lemon

published

I purchased this van at 195,000km and I have now done just over 200,000km. I have spent nearly $10,000 on repairs. ZL 3.0 diesel.
DPF filter removal $1500.00, High pressure fuel pump and fuel injectors $4800.00. Numerous other repairs. I have lot faith in the old reliable Hiace and I am looking to get rid of this vehicle.
This is a work vehicle for my business and has had too much time off the road. I know it's done the kms but too many problems.
My mechanic says he has other clients that have had issues with theirs too.

Purchased in September 2015 for $18,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

CAROLE23

CAROLE23Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Love the van.

published

I , like a previous reviewer, am concerned about the way Hiace performs in high winds, is there anything that can be done, I'm a 71 yr old grey nomad , and I'm very scared at times.
I get this serviced every time it's due, it's a great vehicle..
It had 390,00 on the clock when I bought it June 2017, and I have done 20, 000 so far.
It's easy to drive, except for windy conditions.

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Mat

MatOrange

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really scary and uncomfortable

published

Had to use this when Ford Transit Custom was being serviced. Only ok for short drivers, cabin space - headroom and foot space very cramped, moves around heaps - in a scary way in the wind. In the wet the steering is where you hope to go - you might go somewhere else though. Its just bad. Boss likes reliability but transit has 300,000km with no problems. Hiace also uses far more fuel.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Tom

TomSydney

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Van - Perfect for our needs!

published

Bought the van a year ago had 245,000 on the clock. Stripped it out and converted it into a campervan. Runs a treat and have already racked up 30,000km. Still runs exactly how I bought it, no dramas! Would recommend it to anyone looking to buy one for either work or leisure.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Michael

MichaelPerth

Most uncomfortable van on the market

published

My employer changed my van from a Renault traffic to a brand new Hiace. Now I want to get a different job as I have a 1 hr commute. It’s hard to get in and out off. It’s the most uncomfortable van. Noisy, it sounds like a tractor. I feel so unsafe, I am squashed into the front bumper.
I have no room for anything in the cab.
It’s not very economical either. It’s like an example of how not to make a van.
Worst van I’ve ever had

BadgeSuper GL
WheelbaseSuper Long
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Jessica Jade Wong

Jessica Jade WongQueensland.

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect for our work!

published

When looking around we needed a van that fit our medium sized containers and found at the dealer this was the best option. Many years later we have only had to get a few things fixed and services come back good almos all the time. The only small issue is we had to replace the side sliding door handle twice but we do use it a lot!

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016

John

John

  • 2 reviews

Very reliable

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Mattey Kent

Mattey KentDarwin

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic back space runs bad on gas

published

The space in the back of this van is great for all my gear but having to travel far uses a lot more gas than I expected and at one stage out wayed my traveling expenses. It still runs but have had multiple expensive services to keep it running but over all would say it's ok

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseSuper Long
Engine Size3.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2001

Great work companion!

published

Runs like a clock, shifts like a dream! Very basic interior but has everything u ever need. Got it brand new 2 years ago. Has done nearly 50k without any issue whatsoever! Drive around Sydney everyday, always carry heavy load for work. Petrol auto 12.6L/100km. Cost a bit more to run than the diesel but also more refined. A very satisfied purchase! A very reliable workhorse!

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Jamie

JamieGold Coast, Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Decent van for the price

published

I have a 2016 Hiace LWB van, its been nothing but reliable. Not a single problem, noise or concern.
I've just clocked up 30 000km in the first year and Im happy.
Rides well - considering its a commercial* mines always loaded up as its a work van.
I have the petrol auto model. Auto is the smooth and it has plenty of power.
Fuel usage is good, not great but it does carry a lot in the back.

It was purchased form Grand Motors Toyota. The salesman was super easy, didn't push all the extras on me.

Overall, very happy with my Toyota.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

zak

zakGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfect for Van Rental

published

Good Torquey diesel Van. Untouchable reliability track record. Vast, versatile load area.Great visibility.The Toyota Hiace van with a Sunliner conversion delivers all of that. The fit out is of high quality and all the safety features are there.

CONS:
• Age is starting to show - inside and out.
• Not the easiest to climb in and out.
• Cab forward layout means more engine noise creeps in.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lily Freeman

Lily Freeman

  • 5 reviews

Travellers Companion

published

My 2003 Toyota Commuter is the ideal vehicle for minimalistic travel. I have converted it to having a double bed (convertible to sears), fridge and sink ideal for road tripping or festival stays.
The van runs fairly well, but does experience some technical failures on ignition; you just have to get the right knack to overcome this.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Tom D

Tom DSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

The the vans from GoGet - awesome vehicle

published

I don't own a HiAce, but I one at least once a month through GoGet. Mostly it's to transport stuff from Ikea, but last month I moved house and it was a lifesaver. I was only moving from one sharehouse to another, so it wasn't a full house worth of stuff, but it fit everything that I needed to move.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

RPritchard

RPritchardAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Living the dream

published

I wanted a vehicle that I could both drive around everyday and lock in my garage at night as well as go away in it on weekends and for longer holidays and for it to be my accommodation. The Toyota Hiace van with a Sunliner conversion delivers all of that. The fit out is of high quality and all the safety features are there. You can add some optional extras. I added a bull bar, a shower head to plug into the water tank and an annex to throw over the tail gate.


Alex

AlexAU

  • 4 reviews

Car it is good just for 5 years rest is just waste money

published

Drives ok but seat are crap dash is plastic not conformable to drive.
Nothing interesting in it like old type car very easy to ride off no protection.
I spent $7000 on it now engine problem Dam this Lemon engine blown up at 200k.
Do not get gas which is so rubbish and cost you a lot of money for maintenance.
I am telling you this car use a lot of fuel it is Big Fuel Sucker.
Do not forget to have contract 3 time in week to the Petrol Station.
I want to send my car to junk yard soon : (

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

Steve

SteveSydney

  • 11 reviews

Great if you're a gymnast

published

Toyota reliable of course, however you may need to take some lessons in gymnastics to prepare yourself to get in and out of the seat, there is a step but I’m thinking that might be for a miniature chihuahua to get in and out, so apart from the ridiculous entry and the uncomfortable and stiff suspension that jars your body it’s ok.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2009

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Cheryl

Cherylasked

How do you remove the timing chain in a 2001 Toyota hiace. I have a cracked head gasket and can't remove the chain to replace it.

No answers

Debbie F.

Debbie F.asked

how long will it take to replace a water pump in a Toyota HiAce van

No answers

Brian M.

Brian M.asked

Hi, I have a 1996 RZH103R Hiace and I need to access the windscreen washer hoses and jets. How do I do this? I can find no videos on YouTube and my workshop manual doesn't help

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.