??!
7 photos
Toyota HiAce

Toyota HiAce

H200.II, H200.I, H100.II, H100.I
3.6 from 53 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

53 reviews
5
(18)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (9)
  • Braking
    3.8 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (9)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.2 (9)
  • Handling
    3.3 (9)
  • Interior Design
    2.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (9)
  • Features
    3.2 (9)
Previous
Next
disappointed

disappointedNew South Wales

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

reliable

published

had my van for 15 years very happy no problems only cost is usual servicing materials as i do my own services every 5000 k
spoken to many owners seems lots of problems caused from neglect and abuse with thoughts drive it till it stops.

Purchased in January 2005 at castle hill toyota for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Raoul K.

Raoul K.South East Queensland, QLD

Solid workhorse

published

This is the second of this series Hiace I have owned, both 3lt diesel, first one auto, this one manual. Do a lot of highway kms, probably around 60%, currently has about 257,000kms on it. The van is relatively comfortable, although a bit noisy on the highway. I have not had any problems with it at all other than after a bad batch of fuel I had to replace the fuel filter twice. The diff has been noisy for at least the last 8 years. The auto used quite a bit more fuel than the manual does. I change the oil and filters (air & oil) myself every 5,000kms, seeing I am not paying for labour it's not that expensive to try and ensure a bit of reliability.

Purchased in January 2013 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lucy T

Lucy TGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$8,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Toyota HiAce compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

767,000 Km and still a daily driver!

published

My 2004 Toyota Hiace fual fuel, 5 speed manual has over 767000 km and still going strong on interstate trips. Changed the power steering belt, engine mounts, and rocker cover seal. Its also due for a reconditioned or 2nd hand differential soon ($750 fitted).
Highly reccomended. Not selling it even when I buy a newer van which I will because my Hiace has no safety tech.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$4,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
2 comments
J B.
J B.

Happy to have Toyota representatives restore it a bit for me ! The gear linkages are sometimes sticky. Drive it from Sydney to Newcastle on the weekend and it didnt skip a best! What a reliable van! Never selling it.

J B.
J B.

Happy for Toyota to put in a new differential for me and loosen my gear box linkages but this Toyota Hiace is bulletproof!

Fiona L

Fiona LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews

300,000 kms and Still Going Strong!

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
timmo

timmoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

The ride in a 2017 Hiace like a bronco

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
PhilB

PhilBNew South Wales

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Horrendous servicing costs

published

Purchased in April 2014 for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great campervan conversion

published

I live in a hiace commuter which I have converted into a campervan which has gone without a hitch over the last 240,000km. I have friends who have driven more than 1million km in their 90'e hiaces (mine is a 2000 model). The fuel economy is not amazing compared to brand new Mercedes sprinter vans and ivecos which get upwards of 1000km per tank, but the money saved on servicing a Toyota instead of a European car has made owning this van even more worth it. Definitely recommend a hiace commuter for vanlife! You won't regret it.

Purchased in July 2017 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

This van is a Lemon

published

I purchased this van at 195,000km and I have now done just over 200,000km. I have spent nearly $10,000 on repairs. ZL 3.0 diesel.
DPF filter removal $1500.00, High pressure fuel pump and fuel injectors $4800.00. Numerous other repairs. I have lot faith in the old reliable Hiace and I am looking to get rid of this vehicle.
This is a work vehicle for my business and has had too much time off the road. I know it's done the kms but too many problems.
My mechanic says he has other clients that have had issues with theirs too.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$18,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Toyota HiAce compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CAROLE23

CAROLE23Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love the van.

published

I , like a previous reviewer, am concerned about the way Hiace performs in high winds, is there anything that can be done, I'm a 71 yr old grey nomad , and I'm very scared at times.
I get this serviced every time it's due, it's a great vehicle..
It had 390,00 on the clock when I bought it June 2017, and I have done 20, 000 so far.
It's easy to drive, except for windy conditions.

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Mat

MatOrange

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really scary and uncomfortable

published

Had to use this when Ford Transit Custom was being serviced. Only ok for short drivers, cabin space - headroom and foot space very cramped, moves around heaps - in a scary way in the wind. In the wet the steering is where you hope to go - you might go somewhere else though. Its just bad. Boss likes reliability but transit has 300,000km with no problems. Hiace also uses far more fuel.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Tom

TomSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Van - Perfect for our needs!

published

Bought the van a year ago had 245,000 on the clock. Stripped it out and converted it into a campervan. Runs a treat and have already racked up 30,000km. Still runs exactly how I bought it, no dramas! Would recommend it to anyone looking to buy one for either work or leisure.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Michael

MichaelPerth

Most uncomfortable van on the market

published

My employer changed my van from a Renault traffic to a brand new Hiace. Now I want to get a different job as I have a 1 hr commute. It’s hard to get in and out off. It’s the most uncomfortable van. Noisy, it sounds like a tractor. I feel so unsafe, I am squashed into the front bumper.
I have no room for anything in the cab.
It’s not very economical either. It’s like an example of how not to make a van.
Worst van I’ve ever had

BadgeSuper GL
WheelbaseSuper Long
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Jessica Jade Wong

Jessica Jade WongQueensland.

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect for our work!

published

When looking around we needed a van that fit our medium sized containers and found at the dealer this was the best option. Many years later we have only had to get a few things fixed and services come back good almos all the time. The only small issue is we had to replace the side sliding door handle twice but we do use it a lot!

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
John

JohnHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Very reliable

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Vans

Find out how Toyota HiAce compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mattey Kent

Mattey KentDarwin

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic back space runs bad on gas

published

The space in the back of this van is great for all my gear but having to travel far uses a lot more gas than I expected and at one stage out wayed my traveling expenses. It still runs but have had multiple expensive services to keep it running but over all would say it's ok

BadgeFrontline
WheelbaseSuper Long
Engine Size3.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2001

Great work companion!

published

Runs like a clock, shifts like a dream! Very basic interior but has everything u ever need. Got it brand new 2 years ago. Has done nearly 50k without any issue whatsoever! Drive around Sydney everyday, always carry heavy load for work. Petrol auto 12.6L/100km. Cost a bit more to run than the diesel but also more refined. A very satisfied purchase! A very reliable workhorse!

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jamie

JamieGold Coast, Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Decent van for the price

published

I have a 2016 Hiace LWB van, its been nothing but reliable. Not a single problem, noise or concern.
I've just clocked up 30 000km in the first year and Im happy.
Rides well - considering its a commercial* mines always loaded up as its a work van.
I have the petrol auto model. Auto is the smooth and it has plenty of power.
Fuel usage is good, not great but it does carry a lot in the back.

It was purchased form Grand Motors Toyota. The salesman was super easy, didn't push all the extras on me.

Overall, very happy with my Toyota.

Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
zak

zakGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect for Van Rental

published

Good Torquey diesel Van. Untouchable reliability track record. Vast, versatile load area.Great visibility.The Toyota Hiace van with a Sunliner conversion delivers all of that. The fit out is of high quality and all the safety features are there.

CONS:
• Age is starting to show - inside and out.
• Not the easiest to climb in and out.
• Cab forward layout means more engine noise creeps in.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lily Freeman

Lily Freeman

  • 5 reviews

Travellers Companion

published

My 2003 Toyota Commuter is the ideal vehicle for minimalistic travel. I have converted it to having a double bed (convertible to sears), fridge and sink ideal for road tripping or festival stays.
The van runs fairly well, but does experience some technical failures on ignition; you just have to get the right knack to overcome this.

BadgeCommuter
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.7L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Gordon L.

Gordon L.asked

HiAce H200.II (2010-2020)

length of this vehicle

1 answer
disappointed
disappointed

LWB 5.380 SWB 4.840

Chris

Chrisasked

HiAce H200.I (2005-2010)

Does anyone know where I can find the radiator cap in a 2007 imported toyota hiace?

1 answer
disappointed
disappointed

check under front bonnet plastic water tank is where you top up water

Luke

Lukeasked

HiAce

Hi. Will car seat covers designed for the 2005 and up hiace model fit in a 1998 hiace. Or are the seat sizes completely different?

1 answer
disappointed
disappointed

sorry no they won,t fit

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Toyota HiAce
CategoryVansVansVansVans
Release dateJan 2010Jan 1989Jan 1999Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 1999Dec 2004Dec 2010
Replaced byToyota HiAce H100.IIToyota HiAce H200.IToyota HiAce H200.II
Compare all 4 Toyota HiAce

Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.