16 photos
Toyota Yaris
4.3 from 183 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (20)
  • Braking
    4.8 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (22)
  • Handling
    4.4 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (22)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (22)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (21)
  • Features
    4.6 (22)
Previous
Next
Lisa S.
Lisa S.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Paint started peeling

published

Car used for commuting to work. Mainly parked under cover.
Car used approx 5 days per week
Serviced as per schedule
No mechanical issues
Issue with paint peeling at approx 6 years old. Peeling all along bottom of back window and spots of peeling paint on roof and bonnet. It is the clear coat that is peeling. Can see this has occurred with many yaris cars by looking at other complaints online.

Purchased in March 2014 at Toyota Dealers for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Wonderful little bus

published

Bought a 2006 4 door hatchback for $2000 a year ago and have been over the moon with how it's been. Reliable, zippy enough to get around without any fuss, fantastic fuel economy regardless of whether it's city or highway driving. Surprisingly spacious for a small car, i have fit bikes in the boot with the seats down. I like the digital dash as well, makes it feel more modern than it is. Initially I bought it as a stop gap but have no intention of selling it any time soon.

Purchased in October 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Geoff H
Geoff HRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Economical and easy to drive

published

I love this car.For a micro it is roomy and well powered.It has been reliable.Only fault was an oxygen sensor at 110,000 k which made it stop revving when it had run for about 1/2 hr.Easy fix.No other mech probs in 140'000 ks

Purchased in August 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
heidijaneh
heidijaneh
  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bandzior
BandziorQueensland, 4169
  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes

Keeps its value and not easy to get a second hand

published

Surprisingly the model keeps its high resale value. Probably it is the most expensive in its class. What you get is legendary Toyotas' reliability. The good thing is that parts and maintenance are on the cheaper end.

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
pollygoh2002
pollygoh2002
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I've ever driven

published

During many years I have driven all kinds of cars from VW, Honda, Mitsubishi, Toyota Corolla, plus more. My Yaris is the most reliable, zippy and comfortable car I have ever driven and I go everywhere in it. Because it is small it is easy to park and its power and fuel efficiency are great. There is only one thing I don't like about my car and that is its name 'Yaris". It sounds like an exotic animal.

Purchased in March 2020 for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SMT
SMTAU
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic and reliable car

published

Fantastic and reliable car. Extremely good on petrol, trouble free, easy to park and pleasant to drive in the city. I bought it for my wife and I take it now and then as it's so much fun to drive.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Peter S.
Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Powerful, Cheap to Own and All the comforts.

published

I use my 2011 Yaris daily "Bought it quite a few years ago", and it still zips past cars on steeply inclined highways at around 110 k's whilst using 98 Octane, and thats even when I have three passengers and the back hatch full of stuff..

The trick is to keep the old girl well maintained, and at around 200 bucks a year that's excellent, Oh and I would highly recommend you use 95 Octane as I get a crap ton of more k's that way, and when youre about to do a highway run fill er up with 98 Octane, That way you have more power and amazing fuel Economy, don't forget to give the old girl a boot now and then on acceleration to clear her up and stop it from getting lazy..

Purchased in March 2017 at Toyota Dealers for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Marrie
MarrieSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Small and fuel efficient

published

I recently purchased a Toyota Yaris for a few reasons. Fuel efficient, with the rate of fuel prices I think this small car was a smart move. It’s small and easy to park and the stereo sounds great.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CarlaT
CarlaT
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my little Yaris

published

I bought this car brand new and its still going strong. never had any issues with her and would recommend buying a Yaris to anyone looking for a small car

Purchased in June 2005 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Faithful servant.Old friend.

published

My philosophy, zero to five years ,buy any brand,they will all be reliable in that time frame,five to ten years the little Yaris starts pushing its nose in front,Ten years on the Yaris is a clear winner,the mechanics of this little car have remained unchanged for years ,for a very good reason.

Purchased in June 2012 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sarah
SarahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Looks lovely, is roomy, but to drive it is awful

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $15,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mina B.
Mina B.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Save petrol. Big from inside. Has all options. Easy to service it. Liable car. I have been driving 2015 Yaris and I have no problem. It is now 135000 km without any problem

Purchased in March 2015 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Goutham K.
Goutham K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

This car made my life easier

published

I use this car everyday for work, gym, college and weekend trips. Very nice and zippy car easy to park in city streets. No mechanical issues till now and very low maintenance vehicle.

Purchased in April 2017 at Carsales.com.au for $3,400.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
Sarah J.
Sarah J.
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Shazz
Shazz asked
Yaris

Hi,
I have bought a 2018 Yaris and when I attach my iPhone through the Bluetooth I can’t hear phone ring or anyone talking.
I have been in settings and volume is on.
Has anyone else had this problem
Thanks

No answers
Joanna Kingston
Joanna Kingstonasked
Yaris

Looking at a new Yaris, 2019 onwards , do any of the models come standard with the Toyota Safety Sense pack or do you have to add it on?

3 answers
Bandzior
Bandzior

Hi you could ask it dealer not product review.

Joanna Kingston
Joanna Kingston

Thanks, real helpful.

pollygoh2002
pollygoh2002

Generally speaking Yaris is a great car. I have never owned 2019 model onwards, so can't comment here.

Brian m
Brian masked
Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

See all Toyota Yaris questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $18,690$21,490$26,190
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.