??!
18 photos
Toyota Yaris
4.3 from 171 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
89
4 star
58
3 star
14
2 star
6
1 star
4

Goutham K.

Goutham K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

This car made my life easier

published

I use this car everyday for work, gym, college and weekend trips. Very nice and zippy car easy to park in city streets. No mechanical issues till now and very low maintenance vehicle.

Purchased in April 2017 at Carsales.com.au for $3,400.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sarah J.

Sarah J.

  • 2 reviews

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Amanda

Amanda

  • 3 reviews

Cheap to run! Great little car that will last for years

published

This little Yaris is so economical and it's never had any issues. My work also have Yaris cars and they are reliable and cheap to service.
Would highly recommend these cars to anyone.

Gail Sutton

Gail SuttonMurray Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

My Hatchback Baby Daisy

published

I love Daisy she goes when she hot or cold she runs through the trees Daisy sees things before me left or right Which way I want to go .turns in circles which way I go We stand together at a sight looking left and right I cannot do without her I did for a month and all was a frump she needs so little I fix her every month wash and clean and she feels so neat she runs for weeks Thank You Toyota for her so much Iam never in a rush Just try one and you will see the little white Yaris is for us G Sutton


Mfinn028

Mfinn028

  • 4 reviews

Best small car

published

I absolutely love my yaris even though it looks small on the outside it is quite spacious such a good engine on the car too you will never be disappointed

Purchased in September 2018 for $16,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Julies

JuliesRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Goes beyond my best expectations

published

I have had my car almost 7 years and its always been reliable. I have had to use it extensively when doing home nursing and also transporting clients. Petrol consumption is very economical. Its the best and most reliable car I've ever had.

Purchased in April 2013 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Waris

WarisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Bullet proof Reliability

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Pickles Auctions for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Rachael P.

Rachael P.South West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a great little car

published

I purchased the Yaris this year second hand barely any kms on it - such a good little car! Comfy, cheap on fuel, amazing sound system and it has such a great turning circle!

I use my Yaris daily to get me to and from work it’s only down fall is it could have more power behind it as pulling out on highways it’s really pedal to the metal to get it going
I reckon a rally spec Yaris would be the best purchase

Purchased in January 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Damien

DamienBrisbane

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Small reliable car

published

I got this as a second car for my family to run errands like groceries and other day to day activities. It has proven to be very fuel efficient.

The drive is ok. Not the best but hey, you can't compare this to a car that cost $30,000 or more.

The car has a Tiptronic transmission. If you are used to CVT like me, you got to adjust yourself to Tiptronic again.

The car has a fairly large boot for a small car. It comes with a 1.3L 4 cyc engine. Most car in this range comes in 3 cyc so that's a plus.

I was hoping to get alloy wheels but, it comes with steel as standard which is a shame.

Purchased in February 2019 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alex

AlexAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Good reliable car. Driving dynamics average

published

We bought this car a few years ago and has served us well. The only disappointment is the poor driving position and handling. The high drivers seat feels quite unnatural

Purchased in September 2017 for $4,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Rebs

RebsCanberra

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Toyota Yaris SR 2018 1.5

published

good sporty ride
single wiper cleans screen better than the normal 2 wiper combo
has good power range
well matched 4 speed auto
good finish all over
3 year service special with Toyota makes it one of the cheaper makes to run
good fuel economy
sound system and sat nav are of good quality
not badly priced

Purchased in February 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers

Chelle_C

Chelle_CHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Daughter enjoys her Yaris.

published

My daughter loves her Yaris, purchased from a dealer in January 2019 it has everything plus some. Auto headlights, blue tooth, USB ports, cruise control, great fuel economy, reversing camera, plus 7 air bags. Everything we could want in a small car that makes a mum not worry.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mrs K

Mrs KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

My favorite car !

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $24,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


chloea

chloeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing little car

published

Purchased in February 2014 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Clever Little Car-Perfect for suburb runs

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Nothappy

NothappyQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great car

published

Such a great car. Never had an issue in the 9 years of having the car. Zippy, easy to park, fits in most spots. Still roomy enough to fit a pram and baby stuff in the back. Baby capsule also. Toyota is very reliable and service centre is very communicative.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010

Marty G

Marty GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great little car

published

Just purchased one for my mum brand new from the dealer. Great little car. Cheap to maintain and drives on the smell of an oily rag.
The car is comfortable and comes with all the latest bells and whistles.
I certainly would recommend the Yaris for an everyday car for anybody young or old.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Mel B

Mel BAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Great little car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Boris

BorisRobina

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car only a few wishes

published

The Yaris IS a great car. Reliable, reasonably priced, low mileage, etc. The only issues are:
: Why did they not stay with digital speedo. So difficult to see 50 KPH in the 50 KPH speed areas.
: The 1.3 auto is a bit gutless. Wish I had stayed with the manual. This is my issue and should not really reflect on the car as it still get around OK. But nice to have a bit more power when you need it.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Sydney_mon

Sydney_monSydney

  • 7 reviews

Great car and great value for money

published

I just recently purchased my new Toyota Yaris (silver pearl) and was very pleased with the experience. I highly recommend Kieran from Toyota Lander Blacktown.

The car runs smooth and although small, it’s very spacious inside and packs good power. Definitely a god buy and can be used in short or long drives.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

oldfaller

oldfallerasked

2006 yarris tail lights do not turn on... fuse is ok

1 answer
Julies
Julies

I don't work for Toyota so have no idea about that one. Hopefully someone can help you.


Paul k

Paul kasked

my 2015 yaris had the right side door mirror broken off ever since the abs/ trac control lights are on all the time have checked all fuses

2 answers
Julies
Julies

You would have to check with Toyota as I don't have any idea about these things.

Paul k
Paul k

Ok thanks


Saruna

Sarunaasked

I bought 2014 Toyota Yaris Hatchback. When i bought it the bluetooth devices are full but unable to remove it and as the devices are full, i am unable to connect mine with its system. Should i reset it?

1 answer
StevenL
StevenL

You should be able to delete any or all previous connections. I am not driving the Yaris as I have passed it to my son but it was pretty easy to delete when I fiddled with the display, Just play with the buttons on the display and you’ll soon discover the delete button.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R Ascent Manual

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R Ascent Manual (2011-2019)

3 reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R Ascent Auto

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R Ascent Auto (2011-2019)

17 reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R SX Manual

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R SX Manual (2011-2019)

No reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R SX Auto

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R SX Auto (2011-2019)

1 review
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R ZR

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R ZR (2011-2019)

2 reviews
Toyota Yaris XP10
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris XP10 (2000-2005)

3 reviews
Toyota Yaris XP90.I
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris XP90.I (2005-2013)

38 reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YR
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YR (2011-2014)

22 reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YRS
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YRS (2006-2015)

11 reviews
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YRX
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YRX (2009-2014)

2 reviews
Toyota Yaris XP90.II
  • Discontinued

Toyota Yaris XP90.II (2008-2016)

34 reviews
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars, Hatchbacks and SedansCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $15,390$16,920$18,080$19,610$22,570$16,190$16,890$21,390
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Automatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolHybridPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel15" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy14" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555555
Seats55555555
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km6.4 L/100km5.9 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.3 L/100km5.8 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L42 L42 L42 L42 L42 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power63kW @ 6000rpm63kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm63kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm120Nm @ 4600rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm121Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4200rpm141Nm @ 4200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Power Steering
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2000Oct 2005Dec 2011Dec 2006Dec 2009Oct 2008
Discontinuation dateSep 2005Sep 2013Dec 2014Dec 2015Dec 2014Dec 2016
Replaced byToyota Yaris XP90.II

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.