??!
18 photos
Toyota Yaris
4.3 from 182 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (18)
  • Braking
    4.9 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (21)
  • Handling
    4.4 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (21)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (20)
  • Features
    4.6 (21)
Previous
Next
Geoff H

Geoff HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Economical and easy to drive

published

I love this car.For a micro it is roomy and well powered.It has been reliable.Only fault was an oxygen sensor at 110,000 k which made it stop revving when it had run for about 1/2 hr.Easy fix.No other mech probs in 140'000 ks

Purchased in August 2017 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
AC

ACAustralia

  • 14 reviews
  • 42 likes

Great little car

published

Best car I ever owned. Economical and very reliable.

I service it regularly and never breaks down. Will just keep on going and goes everywhere.

Boot bigger than it looks.

Incentivised ReviewNo
heidijaneh

heidijaneh

  • 23 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bandzior

BandziorQueensland, 4169

  • 29 reviews
  • 5 likes

Keeps its value and not easy to get a second hand

published

Surprisingly the model keeps its high resale value. Probably it is the most expensive in its class. What you get is legendary Toyotas' reliability. The good thing is that parts and maintenance are on the cheaper end.

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
See all answers
pollygoh2002

pollygoh2002

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I've ever driven

published

During many years I have driven all kinds of cars from VW, Honda, Mitsubishi, Toyota Corolla, plus more. My Yaris is the most reliable, zippy and comfortable car I have ever driven and I go everywhere in it. Because it is small it is easy to park and its power and fuel efficiency are great. There is only one thing I don't like about my car and that is its name 'Yaris". It sounds like an exotic animal.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
SMT

SMTAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic and reliable car

published

Fantastic and reliable car. Extremely good on petrol, trouble free, easy to park and pleasant to drive in the city. I bought it for my wife and I take it now and then as it's so much fun to drive.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Peter S.

Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Powerful, Cheap to Own and All the comforts.

published

I use my 2011 Yaris daily "Bought it quite a few years ago", and it still zips past cars on steeply inclined highways at around 110 k's whilst using 98 Octane, and thats even when I have three passengers and the back hatch full of stuff..

The trick is to keep the old girl well maintained, and at around 200 bucks a year that's excellent, Oh and I would highly recommend you use 95 Octane as I get a crap ton of more k's that way, and when youre about to do a highway run fill er up with 98 Octane, That way you have more power and amazing fuel Economy, don't forget to give the old girl a boot now and then on acceleration to clear her up and stop it from getting lazy..

Purchased in March 2017 at Toyota Dealers for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Marrie

MarrieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Small and fuel efficient

published

I recently purchased a Toyota Yaris for a few reasons. Fuel efficient, with the rate of fuel prices I think this small car was a smart move. It’s small and easy to park and the stereo sounds great.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
CarlaT

CarlaT

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my little Yaris

published

I bought this car brand new and its still going strong. never had any issues with her and would recommend buying a Yaris to anyone looking for a small car

Purchased in June 2005 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Faithful servant.Old friend.

published

My philosophy, zero to five years ,buy any brand,they will all be reliable in that time frame,five to ten years the little Yaris starts pushing its nose in front,Ten years on the Yaris is a clear winner,the mechanics of this little car have remained unchanged for years ,for a very good reason.

Purchased in June 2012 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah

SarahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Looks lovely, is roomy, but to drive it is awful

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$15,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mina B.

Mina B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Save petrol. Big from inside. Has all options. Easy to service it. Liable car. I have been driving 2015 Yaris and I have no problem. It is now 135000 km without any problem

Purchased in March 2015 for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Goutham K.

Goutham K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

This car made my life easier

published

I use this car everyday for work, gym, college and weekend trips. Very nice and zippy car easy to park in city streets. No mechanical issues till now and very low maintenance vehicle.

Purchased in April 2017 at Carsales.com.au for A$3,400.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah J.

Sarah J.

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Amanda

Amanda

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap to run! Great little car that will last for years

published

This little Yaris is so economical and it's never had any issues. My work also have Yaris cars and they are reliable and cheap to service.
Would highly recommend these cars to anyone.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gail Sutton

Gail SuttonMurray Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

My Hatchback Baby Daisy

published

I love Daisy she goes when she hot or cold she runs through the trees Daisy sees things before me left or right Which way I want to go .turns in circles which way I go We stand together at a sight looking left and right I cannot do without her I did for a month and all was a frump she needs so little I fix her every month wash and clean and she feels so neat she runs for weeks Thank You Toyota for her so much Iam never in a rush Just try one and you will see the little white Yaris is for us G Sutton

Mfinn028

Mfinn028

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best small car

published

I absolutely love my yaris even though it looks small on the outside it is quite spacious such a good engine on the car too you will never be disappointed

Purchased in September 2018 for A$16,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Julies

JuliesRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Goes beyond my best expectations

published

I have had my car almost 7 years and its always been reliable. I have had to use it extensively when doing home nursing and also transporting clients. Petrol consumption is very economical. Its the best and most reliable car I've ever had.

Purchased in April 2013 for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Waris

WarisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Bullet proof Reliability

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Pickles Auctions for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Rachael P.

Rachael P.South West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great little car

published

I purchased the Yaris this year second hand barely any kms on it - such a good little car! Comfy, cheap on fuel, amazing sound system and it has such a great turning circle!

I use my Yaris daily to get me to and from work it’s only down fall is it could have more power behind it as pulling out on highways it’s really pedal to the metal to get it going
I reckon a rally spec Yaris would be the best purchase

Purchased in January 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Joanna Kingston

Joanna Kingstonasked

Yaris

Looking at a new Yaris, 2019 onwards , do any of the models come standard with the Toyota Safety Sense pack or do you have to add it on?

3 answers
Bandzior
Bandzior

Hi you could ask it dealer not product review.

Joanna Kingston
Joanna Kingston

Thanks, real helpful.

pollygoh2002
pollygoh2002

Generally speaking Yaris is a great car. I have never owned 2019 model onwards, so can't comment here.

Brian m

Brian masked

Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

oldfaller

oldfallerasked

Yaris

2006 yarris tail lights do not turn on... fuse is ok

1 answer
Julies
Julies

I don't work for Toyota so have no idea about that one. Hopefully someone can help you.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$18,690A$21,490A$26,190
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555
Seats555
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.