??!
66 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

V, VI, 7, etc...
3.8 from 302 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(151)
(57)
(28)
(21)
(45)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (27)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (25)

Happy Camper

Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

This car is simply perfect

published

Great car all round. Handling, performance, styling (inside and out) and liveability are all the facets that make this car a great daily driver, and a little 'fun' when you want to. Driving in Race mode, and sports shift is where its at, but will hit your fuel economy. IF you drop back to Comfort mode or Eco, you can get economy down to 6-7L per 100km on the open road. The only downside is that i cant hook up a towball due to the AWD and exhaust system at the back end, but i have a second car that tows anyway. Will def buy again!

Purchased in March 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

grnow

grnowSydney

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue


Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for $26,850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for $28,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew, Marrickville

Andrew, MarrickvilleSydney

  • 7 reviews

Android Auto is unreliable and full of bugs

published

The idea is great and (when it works properly) it's terrific BUT it is so full of bugs. Every second time I plug my OnePlus 6 Android phone into the Android Auto USB it's hit or miss as to whether it will work... often it works for a while, then starts to wig out, e.g. won't read or take SMS messages, screen goes blank, stops functioning altogether. Have tried the new version and still same issues. Have removed the app and reloaded - no better. VW couldn't offer any help. Hopefully CarPlay works better for Apple users. These days I just use Bluetooth for music and forget about the other features.


Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jandev

JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

So Far ,So Good!

published

My VW Golf 2013 103 tsi Highliner has done more than 100,000 Kms so far.Not a single problem.
I get it serviced on time in a VW Dealership. Still like new, smooth and nice handling.

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published

Samir C.

Samir C.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent car.

published

normal daily use.
Often on short trips and less for long trips.
no issues as yet and do not expect any. A pleasure to drive . very smooth responses. Excellent features overall.

Purchased in March 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Purchased in June 2008 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr_coz1

Mr_coz1

  • 5 reviews

Exceptional customer service from VW Australia

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Purchased in August 2018 for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Grumpy

GrumpySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, poor manufacturer backup

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sam D

Sam D

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

VW Golf 90Tsi constant issues.

published

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Economic and powerful

published

Ive used this 2007 tdi Sportline manual model for 4 years now, and I do 60K kms per year.
Apart from the normal wear and tear, its been a rock.
Only use premium fuels in VWs as I believe the hi spec engines need it.
The now outdated CD navi system packed it in a couple of years ago, but big deal.
Quality of interior is in a class on its own compared to its japanese/ korean competitors.
And I live only 300 meters from the beach, and no sign of any rust.
Im buying another one......

Purchased in July 2016 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

MikeShearer

MikeShearerasked

Golf 92TSI 2016 bought new. Had to have the clutch replaced after 23000km, under warranty ("Due to component related deviation in clutch as per TPI 2042749/6"). Is it normal for the Golf to have transmission noise? It's similar to the noise from the faulty clutch when it was changing gears. Very faint, but there just about all of the time. Should I badger VW? Car is now out of warranty but I wonder if the problem is related to the clutch and therefore should be fixed as well.

No answers

Sandra D

Sandra Dasked

My car is a 2016 TDI Golf hatchback Highline. Could you please tell me if it is a mrk 6 or 7 and also the windscreen dimensions? Thanks.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Logically check your manual or sales doco first


tashah__

tashah__asked

Hi guys have the chance to buy 2007 Volkswagen Golf Comfortline V Manual MY08 with 167 full service history etc, are they cars reliable and will be used 95% highway driving for work

4 answers
Pablo
Pablo

Check out when the next cam belt change is due to be changed. It will attract a $1,000+ expense. Make sure it doesn't have a bad accident history. I think they're generally OK and reasonably reliable for a commuter car but I'd be going Corolla/Civic instead as I think generally they're more reliable, have identical performance and economy and will be easier on the wallet.

Mr_coz1
Mr_coz1

I'd go for a Japanese car

pomhall
pomhall

My Golf has been very reliable and is at 150K KMS. I did have the cam belt changed not sure on cost, services are reasonable outside of VW garages. The smaller engine golfs are great in a straight line and motorway driving does suits them. The Golf will feel far safer as the build quality is far superior to other cars in its class. Also once you have it I would look for a mechanic familiar with VW who is reasonable.


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.