??!
66 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

V, VI, 7, etc...
3.8 from 307 reviews

Reviews

(153)
(57)
(28)
(22)
(47)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (32)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (32)
  • Handling
    4.4 (32)
  • Braking
    4.4 (32)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (32)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (31)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (32)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (31)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (31)
  • Features
    4.2 (31)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (31)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 17 reviews

Poorly engineered to fail

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Brighton Volkswagen for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kaz

KazGeelong

  • 13 reviews

Great Pereformance with practicality

published

The VW Golf R Wagon is the perfect family car with great performance. I've had mine for 6 months now and have zero complaints. It's got plenty of space for my two kids in the back. The car packs loads of technology (i.e. digital cockpit, apple carplay, safety tech).

Purchased in September 2019 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ervina Kouris

Ervina KourisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Expensive maintenance issues

published

Purchased in March 2015 at DVG Melville for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JessC

JessCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Excellent little car

published

Bigger than it looks, spacious, comfortable to drive in and very responsive. This is my second Golf and it has out performed the previous 2016 model so far. Good design and is an excellent car.

Purchased in December 2019 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Fiona R.

Fiona R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Run for the hills #lemon

published

Purchased in July 2017 at NZ for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Happy Camper

Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

This car is simply perfect

published

Great car all round. Handling, performance, styling (inside and out) and liveability are all the facets that make this car a great daily driver, and a little 'fun' when you want to. Driving in Race mode, and sports shift is where its at, but will hit your fuel economy. IF you drop back to Comfort mode or Eco, you can get economy down to 6-7L per 100km on the open road. The only downside is that i cant hook up a towball due to the AWD and exhaust system at the back end, but i have a second car that tows anyway. Will def buy again!

Purchased in March 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Volkswagen Golf Highline R line

published

Second Golf purchased this one with a higher spec R Line sports package. Drives amazingly and it handles great. These Golfs are quality builds everything feels very soiled and well made, have never had an issue

Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for $26,850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for $28,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew, Marrickville

Andrew, MarrickvilleSydney

  • 7 reviews

Android Auto is unreliable and full of bugs

published

The idea is great and (when it works properly) it's terrific BUT it is so full of bugs. Every second time I plug my OnePlus 6 Android phone into the Android Auto USB it's hit or miss as to whether it will work... often it works for a while, then starts to wig out, e.g. won't read or take SMS messages, screen goes blank, stops functioning altogether. Have tried the new version and still same issues. Have removed the app and reloaded - no better. VW couldn't offer any help. Hopefully CarPlay works better for Apple users. These days I just use Bluetooth for music and forget about the other features.

Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom C.

Tom C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic car all around

published

I have owned my car for 2 years now and done 40,000km and it hasn't missed a beat. The fuel economy is excellent, usually around 6.5l/100km in town and 5.5l/100km highway driving. I also use it to tow my boat (500kg) and it does it with ease. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable yet comfortable hatch that is brilliant to drive.

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jandev

JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

So Far ,So Good!

published

My VW Golf 2013 103 tsi Highliner has done more than 100,000 Kms so far.Not a single problem.
I get it serviced on time in a VW Dealership. Still like new, smooth and nice handling.

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Atechy

AtechyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good city car with some minor issues

published
Samir C.

Samir C.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent car.

published

normal daily use.
Often on short trips and less for long trips.
no issues as yet and do not expect any. A pleasure to drive . very smooth responses. Excellent features overall.

Purchased in March 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Purchased in June 2008 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Bhekinkosi M

Bhekinkosi Masked

My Golf 7 BlueMotion 1.4 automatic 2014 model, in the morning I entered in the vehicle and start drive, at about 300 meters driving the car loose power stop and show on the dashboard that I must apply brake. I apply brake and try to restart later it will later give me D1 again and I drive again and this won't happen again the whole day driving it. I don't know the problem and this happen everyday in the morning after starting it and drive and it happen on a busy road. what to do on this matter?

No answers
Ann

Annasked

Hi,thinking of buying a 2012 Volkswagen golf wagon for $9,990 any advice i would appreciate.Ann

1 answer
Sebling
Sebling

don't get the 118 TDI. Engine tends to explode. Look it up

MikeShearer

MikeShearerasked

Golf 92TSI 2016 bought new. Had to have the clutch replaced after 23000km, under warranty ("Due to component related deviation in clutch as per TPI 2042749/6"). Is it normal for the Golf to have transmission noise? It's similar to the noise from the faulty clutch when it was changing gears. Very faint, but there just about all of the time. Should I badger VW? Car is now out of warranty but I wonder if the problem is related to the clutch and therefore should be fixed as well.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.