28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 310 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Volkswagen

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (57)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (57)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (56)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (55)
  • Braking
    4.5 (53)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (54)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (53)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (54)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (55)
  • Handling
    4.5 (54)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (53)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (53)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (54)
  • Features
    4.1 (53)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

A big failure

published

The A/C system is made in Japan by denso and this is the only good thing in this car, but the rest of thing easy to break toy plastic cooling system pipes all plastic after a few years will start cracking, it's money pit.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
moggy
moggyPerth, WA
  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

Delightful Drive

published

Purchased in July 2017 at John Hughes Car Sales for $40,551.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bring on deregulation!
Bring on deregulation!South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Exactly the right car for me.

published

I'm on my third Golf Wagon now. Perfect for me because it has the space for dogs, surfboards etc. without the cost of an SUV. It's comfortable and quiet to drive, still fits in a small car space and has the safety features I wanted.

First two models were Diesel's and awesome.on fuel efficiency. The 2020 models only come now as petrol which doesn't get the mileage. Bring on a hybrid electric for the next one!

As with all new cars, some features like the sunroof might appeal to a few but I'd rather pay less and go without!

Purchased in August 2020 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mk7 golf

published

Had the transmission done 7 gears 2 clutch’s a major service (timing belt brakes ) that’s it in 4 years still love it and I’ll keep it for a while yet

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2017 for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill
BillMelbourne
  • 53 reviews
  • 36 likes

My TDI is a great little car.

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ocean
OceanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great to drive but going wrong a lot and hard to repair yourself

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Beardy Bonce
Beardy BonceSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

Performance and practicality ...love it

published

Bought privately in Jan 2020 when the car was c 18 mths old.
This is primarily a commuter car (c40 kms per day during the week) with a bit more fun and spirited driving at the weekends. The service intervals are annually ( just had the 3 year service completed)...but i intend to get an interim oil change at the 6 month mark.
OEM Bridgestone tyres lasted 34000kms.
Ive had the infotainment screen replaced under warranty without any fuss from the dealer.
The stop/start system is a bit hit and miss...sometimes it works , sometimes not....but this seems to be a common issue across VW group cars with this emission reducing function.
After owning the car for a year, it still makes me smile :)

Purchased in January 2020 at private purchase for $26,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Jessica Ishak
Jessica Ishak Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Unreliable car

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
G K.
G K.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Problems since day 2, nearly three years later, finally fixed them all and the are not honoring any additional warranty

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roy
RoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Rubbish don’t bother

published

Bought the car brand new with 3 yrs warranty, a couple months after warranty finished with only 20,000km on the clock error msg pops up on dash which a a recognised known problem with VW company.
No offer of goodwill to fix at all. Would expect almost brand new car wouldnt start having these issues.
May opt out and sell while still early but won’t be going for VW next

Purchased in February 2017 at Solitaire Hawthorn .

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
rotor4
rotor4Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good all-rounder

published

I needed a small cheap vehicle just for a run around & came across a low klm 2003 Golf GTI, although their pretty basic & uncomplicated by today's standards that appealed to me anyway.Once seated & underway their comfortable they have the important driver safety features. Also I found it's easy to service & the parts are cheap & plentiful, & driven on road either suburban or open road it has good torque handles/brakes well & so easy to drive,it's every thing I require in a small hatch.

Purchased in October 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Johnny
JohnnyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The best all-rounder hatch on the market.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't buy one!!!!!, users oil and I have had to replace the gearbox at 43000kms @ $3500 factory service people useless

published

usage second car
Daily usage
seviced as per log book
not happy Jan, what a shame it is an expensive flop with poor warranty and back up service. this is my 4th vw , no more :(

Purchased in June 2014 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
John J.
John J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Best car ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sammy32
Sammy32South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Car is decent however Volkswagen Customer Service is extremely poor

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5

Questions & Answers

Richard mc
Richard mcasked
Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 90TSI (2013-2015)

Anyone had issues with the cars stop/start system. We have an error message appearing on the dash, the car starts shuddering and will eventually go into limp mode. It's going in for a scheduled service so I'm hoping it's an easy fix and not too expensive. We've had endless issues with this car over the years and been told we've just been unlucky that we've bought one of the dud ones! And what's with the oil usage?!!

1 answer
Anthony B.
Anthony B.

No problem with my mk7 and it doesn’t ever use oil it’s done 132k must of got a good one and just had a major service done

Rabi
Rabiasked
Golf Mk.7 Hatchback 103TSI (2013-2015)

What should I pay for a VII-MY14 Golf (highline), built 2013, Odometer 88,000 km

1 answer
Justin
Justin

I’ve just paid $17999 with 81,000 km

Karen B.
Karen B.asked
Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
See all Volkswagen Golf questions

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Volkswagen Golf

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price $38,990$38,490$31,690$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.