??!
28 photos
Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf

Mk.5, Mk.6, Mk.7, Mk7.5
3.8 from 302 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (50)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (50)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (49)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (48)
  • Braking
    4.4 (47)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (48)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (47)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (48)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (49)
  • Handling
    4.4 (48)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (47)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (47)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (48)
  • Features
    4.1 (47)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
G K.

G K.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Problems since day 2, nearly three years later, finally fixed them all and the are not honoring any additional warranty

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Roy

RoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish don’t bother

published

Bought the car brand new with 3 yrs warranty, a couple months after warranty finished with only 20,000km on the clock error msg pops up on dash which a a recognised known problem with VW company.
No offer of goodwill to fix at all. Would expect almost brand new car wouldnt start having these issues.
May opt out and sell while still early but won’t be going for VW next

Purchased in February 2017 at Solitaire Hawthorn .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
rotor4

rotor4Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good all-rounder

published

I needed a small cheap vehicle just for a run around & came across a low klm 2003 Golf GTI, although their pretty basic & uncomplicated by today's standards that appealed to me anyway.Once seated & underway their comfortable they have the important driver safety features. Also I found it's easy to service & the parts are cheap & plentiful, & driven on road either suburban or open road it has good torque handles/brakes well & so easy to drive,it's every thing I require in a small hatch.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Johnny

JohnnyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The best all-rounder hatch on the market.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Don't buy one!!!!!, users oil and I have had to replace the gearbox at 43000kms @ $3500 factory service people useless

published

usage second car
Daily usage
seviced as per log book
not happy Jan, what a shame it is an expensive flop with poor warranty and back up service. this is my 4th vw , no more :(

Purchased in June 2014 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John J.

John J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best car ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sammy32

Sammy32South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Car is decent however Volkswagen Customer Service is extremely poor

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Devesh D.

Devesh D.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car

published

Bought it in 2015 from vw kloster newcastle.tuns smooth as a whistle . Never had any trouble so far.done more than 100k . Worth every cent . Pickup is excellent along with fuel efficiency. Maneuverability is a class of it's own

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

The car is amazing. The dealer experience not so much.

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$55,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't do it, don't buy VW

published

I've owned VW for a good many years and have some wonderful road trips in North America and Europe but that all ended. I bought a new VW golf in 2013 and it will be the last time I own a VW, the car was a lemon. Dealing with VW Australia was a nightmare as was the dealership and service centre.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Harry S.

Harry S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect, high milage car

published

Had this baby for about two years now. Had a prang and panel easily fixed by the beater. Great for roadtrips, a full tank I can get over 1,000km of highway driving.

Cons: Only negative is it takes 95 fuel. Service through dealer kind of expensive but can use any other centre for decent price

Purchased in May 2018 at VW dealer for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Servicing intervals

published

I’m an old bloke. Use my My 7.5 110tsi golf regularly and am pedantic about regular servicing.
Am I not reading the book correctly? There doesn’t appear to be advice on when to change fluids like brake and coolant, and I can’t find when the timing belt should be replaced.
VW advise to have the timing belt replaced at recommended interval. What are the recommended intervals? Does anyone know?
I think it’s naughty of VW not to give this info. A timing belt failure for example, can have catastrophic results.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers

Super cute

published

Bought about a year ago and have had no issues! Love it so much and is sooo zippy and good on fuel. Best hatch on the market by far and would recommend to everyone

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Vanessa

Vanessa

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant small car

published

Diesel engine goes forever. Easy to park and feels as safe as a tank. Great city or country drive. Has plenty of power over taking. Even survived kangaroo encounters on country roads. Brilliant car. 10/10

Purchased in February 2010 for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nel

NelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is my second VW golf. I traded in my old VW golf when the odometer read 220,000 kms. The car is very comfortable to drive and I feel the car is safe as well. Good size for me. I have trouble finding just the right size for me with other brands. Went test driving Merc B series, Volvo V40 but still liked golf the best.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
carfan84

carfan84

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car - Issues with DSG though

published

Excellent size car, lots of space. Drives and handles really well. Some plastic parts eg vents can break easily. Very comfortable seats and good vision. Fuel consumption averages about 7L/100kms. 4.5 stars - would be 5 if not for DSG issues.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Meredith Gibson

Meredith GibsonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable. Extremely expensive. Had 2 new gearboxes and 2 new clutches. Transmission extremely unsatisfactory.

published

Commuting, used everyday. Have only ever had this car serviced by VW, has never been late for a service. Always something wrong with it. Extremely expensive to maintain. Only one owner.

Purchased in February 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lina F.

Lina F.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Extremely Disappointed!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 24 likes

Poorly engineered to fail

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Brighton Volkswagen for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

VW 'lemon ' golf

published

my golf tsi turbo was initially a satisfying purchase , even over the warranty period i had multiple repairs recalls issues clutch gearbox blue motion high oil usage etc , hopefully things have improved in the last year or so

Purchased in January 2015 at vw waverley .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Karen B.

Karen B.asked

Golf Mk.7 (2013-2017)

I purchased my Golf SE mk7 over 2 years ago. The infotainment system stopped working 29th June2020 my warranty ran out on 4th July, problem was I was in lock down in Spain due to Corona virus and could not get a ferry crossing until 15th July. I called Volswagon in Vera Spain and earliest appointment was 10th July. They did the second service, 18000 miles on clock and investigated infotainment system. Paid 93 euros for service and was given a quote for 1,985 euros to replace the broken system as it was over the warranty. I called the volkswagen dealer where I bought the car they said to take it to my local dealer in Shrewsbury which I did as it needed its first mot. They agreed it was broken and needed replacing. Even though it was impossible to get back before the warranty expired the would only give me 20% off the bill and I would have to pay £1600 to have it replaced. Do u think this is fair?

No answers
George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers
Deah C

Deah Casked

Golf Mk.7 Hatchback (2013-2017)

Hi I'm looking at purchasing a 2014 Highline TDI mk 7. It's immaculate inside and out, one owner, I can tell the car has been well loved and looked after. I've never had a euro car before, but am looking for something that is high tech, and economical. The golf seems to tick those boxes but I hear mixed reviews.. Can anyone shed some light on your experience with these cars?

1 answer
Liam H.
Liam H.

I can only answer from my own experience of my Golf, purchased new in Sept 2015. It's done 107,000km and been serviced regularly (7 times). Has been a fantastic little car, fun to drive, economical yet nimble. That being said, much comes down to how it's looked after (clean oil, quality fuel, fresh air) all goes a long way to having the car serve a long, useful life - but my experience is a thumbs up and enjoy these cars!

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Wagons
Starting Price A$38,990A$38,490A$31,690A$35,750
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.04 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm340Nm @ 1750-3000rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm280Nm @ 1350-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.