Generations:
Filter By:

Canberra, ACT

  • 34 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 18 answers
  • 21 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VE (2006-2013) Badge: Lumina Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

Series 1 VE

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2015

So this is now an older car so this review is clearly for second hand buyers.
I've had my VE Lumina (slightly optioned Omega) for 5 years, it was made in 2008. I've had no serious mechanical faults in 230,000km.
It's needed a new power steering pump pulley, which I was told "they all need".. it was $180 to have done.
It has a nasty 'clunk' in the front suspension that is more noise than any serious issue, sounds like strut towers need doing. I've heard this is quite a common issue.
It leaked from the top radiator hose, this was a pretty cheap fix.

All other issues were standard wear and tear, brakes etc.
The v6 (non-SIDI) is plenty powerful enough and the car comfortably runs the family about.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 30 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 5 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VY (2002-2004) Engine Size: 3.8L Badge: Acclaim

Very practical and good value family wagon

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2015

Bought this 2003 VY Acclaim V6 auto wagon new from a Holden dealer. Quicksilver colour and only option was a cargo barrier. For a large wagon it was easy to drive and park but had much load space for regular family holidays (four people plus usual luggage). Good performance although the engine sounded coarse when revved. Old tech four speed auto was often unresponsive. However very good fuel consumption for the size of vehicle with about 9 l/100km cruising on the highway and 13/14 l/100km around the city. The car was serviced by the book with very low maintenance costs and few unexpected repairs. The first set of tyres lasted 55,000km and the second set 65,000km. Only cost about $100 each to replace. Front brake pads lasted 99,000km and rear pads 130,000km! Still on the second set of pads when the car was sold the car at 172,000km in early 2013. Good ownership experience. Overall very practical vehicle for a growing family, easy to drive and affordable to own.

+ Spacious interior and cargo area, easy to drive and good ownership experience

- Dated engine and auto trans but worked well!

Purchased at: Holden Dealers

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hoddles Creek, vic

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VZ (2004-2006)

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2015

Comfortable to drive with great acceleration and reasonable handling. Nice and roomy interior and bootspace, good stereo, and dashboard components.

+ I bought it secondhand from work as a ex managers car that had low kms and had a good service history. It's probably good fuel economy for it's size, but I imagine it would be better on gas. Power is not a problem, delivering when and where you need it to.

- Unfortunately 3 weeks after buying it the radiator went (which was misdiagnosed by a mechanic as a hose clamp) and in turn the head gasket blew. $1500 later it turned out to not be such a bargain afterall. I'm told it's unheard of for the heads to go in these, but that's little comfort.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VY (2002-2004) Badge: Equipe Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic Engine Size: 3.8 litre

gave nearly 7 years of good service

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 30, 2015

Bought this car with 136500 km on the clock and only just sold it with 341000 km on the clock. Only things that i had to replace outside normal service items included the radiator, alternator and the cd player. Went through rear tyres at an alarming rate however this is a common vy problem. Only sold the car because the fuel sender was playing up and the transmission was starting to show signs of wear. Motor and diff were still perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: VZ (2004-2006) Badge: Acclaim Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic Engine Size: 3.8 Litre, 6 cylinder V6

An excellent, reliable and safe car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 23, 2015

The VZ Commodore, for me, has been fantastic since day one of ownership. I own the Acclaim model. One step up from the base version (Executive)

The VZ is my first car. I am it's third owner. It was previously owned by a nursing home, and then by a family. I purchased this car through a private seller in February 2013. It's had a full service history and has never given me a day of trouble.

I've fully maintained the car mechanically with a full service history and i always keep it clean. It's in my favourite colour (deep red) and drives very smoothly.

It handles well over all surfaces of the road and it's quite fuel efficient. The car sometimes needs a little encouragement when accelerating up hill. Aside from that, no complaints.

It has ABS braking, traction control and two front airbags. They say the alloytech engine present in the VZ is not as durable as the ecotec in the VY model, manufactured the previous year. However, in my experience, alloytech has been extremely reliable so far.

It has a single disc cd stereo. For a factory fitted sound system, it has very good sound quality and bass.

The car is very spacious, with plenty of room for passengers and the boot space is generous. I love the power steering and the stereo controls on the steering wheel.

You may find yourself replacing parts occasionally. The water pump is a common suspect.

But that's nothing too bad. I've experienced squeaks coming from the engine bay, which turned out to be a misaligned pulley on the timing belt.

Aside from a couple of small things, which are nothing major, the car is virtually bulletproof in terms of performance.

If you are a car owner, with any car in general, you can expect to pay for some maintenance.

In conclusion, it's been the best car i have driven. As well as the best car i have ridden in. A very smooth ride. And looks great from the outside. Awesome design!

Even after 225,000 km on the clock, it drives like new. I would recommend this model to anyone looking for a safe, reliable and economical car. My VZ should be around for years to come.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 20 reviews
  • 4 comments
  • 3 questions
  • 26 answers
  • 29 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VY (2002-2004) Badge: Acclaim Body: Sportwagon Transmission: Automatic

Totally satisfied, sorry to see it go.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 21, 2015

My VY II Acclaim wagon was bought at auction with just 15600 km on it - an ex ADF vehicle. We finally sold it after it had done 278000 km but I'm still not sure this was smart. During the 9 years of ownership it only once failed to get us home and was ever the smooth, reliable daily driver, both on short and long trips. This wagon in VT to VZ form is surely the largest and most practical ever produced in Australia. I found the build quality excellent and the only things that failed were the glove box retainers (to stop it opening too far) and one of the buttons to fold the back seats down. Both were easily repaired. With age the door lock transponder became a bit capricious but most of the time it worked and you could always lock and unlock with the key. On one occasion I had a problem the thermostat stuck so the coolant could not circulate between the engine and radiator. With the temperature in the red I drove it gently for 27 kilometres to the nearest Holden dealer, at which point the engine shut itself down. After replacement of the radiator and theromostat the engine proved to be totally unaffected which says a lot for the durability of the wonderful 3.8 litre V6. If they still made them I would happily buy a new one!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: VT (1997-2000) Badge: Executive Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

Right About Everything Except The Resale Value.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2015

A wonderful car. Had mine from near new. Ex Sydney 2000 Olympic Games car, had 300Kms on the clock at purchase. But it's value today is only in keeping it. Was thinking of upgrading to a Camry Hybrid so put it up for sale at $4K with only 82000 on the clock and seems like I couldn't give it away. Not that I want to. It has always been and still is such an entirely rewarding car to drive and to own.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: SS Storm Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

Found a great boot mat for my baby

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 28, 2015

My loving wife likes gardening and prefers to use MY CAR because it has a bigger boot?
My mate put me on to booter boot liners and I got an exact fitting mat with edges on it that catches all the dirt from her plants.
She then bought one for HER CAR and now the smaller boot is quite sufficient?
Moral of the story, the boot linings are great and the guys are very helpful! And I don't have to clean dirt out of my baby any more.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney, Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 3 answers
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: Calais V Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

VF Calais V good but a few issues.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 11, 2015

Climate control has major issues 20 - 25c randomly calls on full cooling or heating. Intermittently the display screen will blink on & off. On 2 occasions it has required a restart to get the screen on again.
Heated seats to not work at all with remote start function.
Apart from these issues petrol consumption is approximately 9/100 km, very quiet motor & smooth auto change with great pickup.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

Now the car is a little older I have found the CD player is damaging CDs. If you go on a long trip say 4+ hours the CDs can get extremely hot. So hot that you can not hold them when ejected & somet... read more »

Interesting development. Just after the warranty period finished I started getting power steering failures. But the issue corrects when the car is restarted. I took it to Holden & was told that th... read more »

Generation: VT (1997-2000) Badge: Calais Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic Engine Size: V6 lt

Late model commodore.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 06, 2015

Mine had over 380,000 admittedly I looked after it. I was 2nd owner had 60,000. Was written off accessor said it was the best he'd seen give age and Ki's. Although, given the review I would now think twice, however my VT Calais ran 7.2 hwy 12.5 City
It was the most reliable I ever owned. Just regular services, touch ups and of cause good tyres rotated and balanced regularly .
Thanks All,

Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Devonport, Tasmania

  • 20 reviews
  • 6 comments
  • 12 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: Calais V Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic Engine Size: 3.6

VF Calais V is pretty special!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2015

Only my second Holden out of 30 cars (in 38 years) Glad I waited until they really got their act together. It is not perfect, but it is close (and great value for money)

Favourite bits: HUD (heads up display - Speedo and other info projected onto windscreen), plus classy and comfortable interior and big shiny 19 inch wheels.

Not so good: Radar Cruise control would have been nice. Big wheels married to low profile tyres generate extra road noise on course Tassie bitumen roads. Getting close to 9.0 L/100km economy average as advertised, but still a shock after owning a diesel and two hybrid cars before the Calais. Finish is good, but not perfect.

I got a special deal with 5 years 130,000 km warranty and 3 years free servicing (so that made the deal even sweeter)

Done over 24,000 Kms in first 10 months without any warranty issues. Touch wood!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 comments
  • 36 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: Clubsport Body: Sedan Transmission: Manual Engine Size: 6.2

Perfect apart from fuel economy (6.2L)

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 23, 2015

While mine is an HSV, let's be honest, it's just a commodore with glitter on it. I do love the car though, quality and equipment is equal to similarly priced Euro cars, but with performance they can't match at this price point (unless you buy a small hatch).
I'm most impressed by how well this car handles, as its not the lightest thing around at close to 1800kgs. It does corner well and encourages spirited driving. Straight line performance is good as you'd expect. Peak power is just before redline so you do have to keep the revs up, and for a big engine it really does like to rev.
Equipment level is really good and the overall quality of the vehicle is impressive. Occasionally the touchscreen freezes and won't reset itself unless the car is turned off for a while. Probably a software bug which can be annoying if you want to use the radio or satnav.
My only gripe is it's quite thirsty, but if you buy a big V8 you can expect to make good friends with your local petrol station attendant.
It's shame that Holden are making great cars now but their future in Aus is pretty bleak.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: SS V Redline Body: Sedan Transmission: Manual Engine Size: 6.0L V8

Awesome Beast

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 21, 2015

Purchased the car brand new in 2013 - which was a treat in itself - with no pushy salesmen or after sales options. All personalisation/customisation was carried out with perfection.
Since purchase it has been highly reliable and has been regularly serviced with fixed prices. Yes, it has had a few recalls, but not a single one had any ill-bearing on my vehicle and all were carried out flawlessly at the next scheduled service.
The thing is a gentle giant - the fact that I can get an average of 12L/100 (city) from a 6 litre V8 is testament to the vast improvements GM made in these final years of the Commodore. Love the tech - Heads-Up-Display, Satelite Navigation, Sport mode, Launch Control, Auto Park, Connectivity....

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Hammondville

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: SV6 Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

SV6 VF against VE

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 13, 2015

Goes well for what it is but miss a decent exhaust note of the VE.. Couple of annoying points on the VF ignition key hard to find and with all the lights and gizmos in this car surely Mr Holden could have put a light around the key barrel?? alarm goes off when keys are in your pocket due to the panic button being too easy to set off.Fuel pump noisy . .All in all great car so far 14k and runs sweet and eats the open road.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordonvale, Qld

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 8 answers
  • 16 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VF (2013-2017) Badge: SV6

Best Commodore ever - VF SV6

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 11, 2015

I am not an owner but have driven one just lately - an exceptional car considering I am not entirely a believer of that brand. The best looking Commodore in years.

Anyone looking at the large car market should check this car out, very nice interior and very well suited to Australian road.

Was this review helpful? Yes

PERTH

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 comments
  • 8 answers
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VT (1997-2000) Engine Size: 5.7 Badge: SS Body: Sedan Transmission: Automatic

Holden Commodore Series 2 Auto SS 5.7 Litre

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 06, 2015

After an absence of nearly 2 and a half years, I came back to the Holden Commodore family (My last Commodore was a black VX V6 series 2). In that time I had a number of late model Japanese and European cars.

I wanted to have a car again, that was fun and that I could work on.

Doing my research I decided to buy a Commodore SS in the VT range. I wanted a V8 with all the modern comforts at a 'CHEAP' price and this model fit the brief.

Commodore prices (in the VT-VY range) have hit 'rock bottom' in my view. Checkout the online sales websites and your local papers.

There are some real bargains to be found if you are prepared to look around and not rush into buying. As thing get tough in the economy, a little cash can buy a bargain.

I found my Series 2 VT SS (which is a one owner 220 000 kms) w/factory HBD sunroof, service history, log books, in heron white for $3500, after some tough 'haggling'.

The car is 'stock standard' right down to the exhaust.

The thing about the VT (and VX,VY) range of Commodores, is that parts are cheap. In particular whole cars can be bought cheaply & wrecked for parts. OEM & non genuine items can be readily found on-line and locally through car part outlets.

There is an excellent Commodore 'on-line presence'. Any problems that you encounter can be sorted by looking up Google or the many enthusiast sites, such as the 'Just Commodores' forum. Members are only to happy to help and there is a wealth of information. Do you research before you purchase.

First point of order is to get a workshop manual, as there are many things you can do yourself with a little perseverance and minimal mechanical knowledge.

Also get yourself a diagnostic code reader to help when the engine or other dash warning lights that may come on.

I bought a 'cheapie' on-line and it tells me the fault codes. Which you can then find out about on-line and either rectify yourself, or at least have the knowledge before you see a mechanic.

The 5.7 litre Chevrolet sourced LS1 is a great engine. Plenty of power (220kw) in 'stock' form.

Personally this is more than enough for me, but you may be different. You can get great power gains from these engines (with simple 'bolt on' items), but I prefer to leave them 'stock'.

The LS1 is also quite good on fuel when not driven hard. But if you worry about fuel economy, DON'T buy a V8.

My advice is to buy a Series 2 VT SS. There were issues such as oil consumption with some earlier VT's, but that was sorted by the time the Series 2 was released.

Yes you can get great VX and VY SS's bargains, but I did not want to spend more than $4000 grand so these were beyond my budget.

Also look around and try to find a unmodified SS, whatever model with minimum modifications.

The previous owner of mine installed a rear camber kit, new shocks all round and new front bushes. Installing a rear camber kit is important, as the rear suspension 'squat' chews through tires, keep that in mind.

Make sure there is no damage to the body kit. Most owners will tell you they are an easy fix, they are, if you have money or are prepared to chase around second hand ones. Allow colour matching & fitting in your budget or deduct from the purchase cost.

Avoid cars that have super low suspensions. Mine has the factory FE2 suspension which with new shocks & handles fine without being too low or excessively firm.

Another issue is the rear main seal. Mine was replaced. This is a engine out job to replace the seal. Not a 'deal breaker' but does cost (for someone else to do it), so make sure this has been done or knock some money off the price to cover costs - around $500 - $1000.

The gearbox is the standard turbo 700 and is robust when looked after. Avoid 'shift kitted' transmissions as it means the car has been trashed and driven hard.

Generally look for leaks from the power steering, water pumps etc. These are not 'deal breakers' but take money off the purchase price to cover repairs.

The interior has SS inserts in the seat. Avoid 'custom' interiors as it is harder to return the car to original and harder to sell. There are some real 'ugly' combinations out there!

The leather steering can fray and deteriorate so check it. Also make sure the hood lining doesn't sag, seats have not collapsed, in particular the drivers side bottom half and the rear pockets come off the back of the seats.

All are fixable and can be sourced but haggle the price of the car down if this needs doing.

Also check the heater and air con as well. If someone says the air cond 'just needs a regas' this means there is a leak in the system which could be just a hose or something more serious which is expensive.

Overall Holden quality is patchy but I love this car. It's an 'old school' muscle car with a few mod-cons. People like the old holdens (as I do) but I'm not going to pay crazy $10 000 up prices for 202 kingswoods. Look at the crazy prices people pay for 'classic' Holdens, then check out Commodore prices.

There are a lot of 'seller dreamers' out there who have over capitalised on their cars and want you to pay for 'their' over capitalisation. Be smart, look around and take advantage.

The SS is a lot of car for little money and above all is FUN!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne, Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 8 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: VE (2006-2013) Badge: Omega Transmission: Automatic Engine Size: 3.6 litre V6

Awesome car !

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 06, 2015

Bought a series 2 VE Commodore ute, the last of the dual fuel models. Had a few small issues with an oil leak on the engine, a plastic vent on the dash and the drivers door rubber , all of which was happily rectified by Heritage Holden in Lilydale. They even provided me with a lift home and then back to pick up the car, great service ! The car itself is great to drive, the steering is sharp, the chassis is tight, good brakes and good power ! It is quite economical to run on LPG , it travels 450km on a tank of gas ( 70 litres ) , cost to fill is usually just under $40. I have owned this vehicle for 2 years, chose a Commodore ute over the popular Hi-Lux, Triton, Ranger style of vehicle as I do not go off road , I have driven a Hi-Lux for work and it stopped and handled terribly, the Commodore is a safe and strong vehicle with great chassis dynamics, I would recommend it to anyone and I am hoping to purchase a V8 VF model before they finish production, I have driven an SS-V and it is an incredible car, the ergonomics are the best I have seen in any car !

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: VE (2006-2013) Badge: SS V Body: Sportwagon Engine Size: 6 litre v8 Transmission: Automatic

great car looks good goes well

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 14, 2015

first new car ever bought.Falcon had nothing that could match my ssv v8 sportswagon. Wife and kids love it.Happy with safety,performance,ecomomy and handling. Had the car 6 years 130000 kms and only service and tyres have been done.Great looking love my v8. Southgate Holden at Reynella have been great.Would buy again and from the same dealer.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 21 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: VE (2006-2013) Badge: SV6 Body: Sportwagon Engine Size: 3.3l SIDI Transmission: Automatic

2011 VE SV6 Series 2 Sportwagon is made of butter and cheapness

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 11, 2015

I bought this vehicle second hand in 2012 still under warranty and 2.5 years later I'm severely regretting my purchase. The car cost me $34,000, which turns out was a ripoff, but was pretty normal for the time.

The car drives ok but is insanely thirsty, using more fuel and producing less power than my old 1990 VP wagon did, even after a full tune. I recently had new springs and shocks fitted as handling and body roll was appalling from day one, akin to driving a 4x4 with broken suspension. It's much better now. The engine tries to stall intermittently for no reason.

My biggest gripe though is the build quality. The steel used for the panels is so soft I can dent any panel on the car with a gentle touch. This has happened several times, including both front doors, bonnet and now the edge of the roof when someone rested their hand on it, which requires costly insurance claims to get repaired.

Every single internal component rattles and buzzes after 75,000km, including all the door cards, pillar trims, roof lining, dash, centre console... it's infuriating.

None of the mechanical issues bar one were addressed by Holden when I brought them to their attention under warranty. Poor after-sales service, dealership wouldn't return calls or emails when I brought up concerns, or when the paintwork was badly scratched during a scheduled service.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

Update... both console switches for both rear windows will put a window down, but not up... which means dangerously unbuckling at a light for example, and leaning over to use the door switches... w... read more »

Generation: VE (2006-2013) Engine Size: 6.0 Badge: SS V Body: Sportwagon

VE SSV

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 05, 2015

I bought VE SSV with 60000kms. Owned it for 6 months and I love it. Hasn't given me any problems so far. Drove it from Sydney to Melbourne without any issues. The fuel consumption surprised me... Not what I expected from a V8... Very economical (when driven sensibly). Interior isn't bad... Few cheap plastics but has soft touches where needed. Boot space is huge. It came in handy when I moved to Melbourne. Mine has auto sensing rain wipers and headlights. I used to always wonder why you would need this feature but now that I have it I love it. It is kind of cool. My view on reliability... Look after the car and the car will look after you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

11 of 18 pages


Questions & Answers

VT (1997-2000)

I have a 99 vt acclaim and was driving the other day and when I pulled up I noticed the temp gauge start to climb I quickly turned the ignition off and checked to see if the hose from radiator to motor had popped off there were no leaks etc so I jumped back on a started it back up then I noticed none of the dash gauges are working or the Odometer screen and the radiator fans aren't working either I've replaced fuses both in the car and under the bonnet with all new ones gone over wiring to see if any are exposed or not connected properly witch I can't find any faults ??? I don't know what's going on all dash lights inductors headlights still work on dash just not gauges or radiator fans?????

Jayy bee asked on Dec 01, 2018

Answer this

I had a similar issue a while back, check the thermostat mate and if no issues with it then may be a problem with the radiator

VE (2006-2013)

Is there an emergency fuel cap release cord on a 2011 VE commodore wagon? Mine is stuck

Marchy asked on Nov 23, 2018

VE (2006-2013)

My car is like in limp mode nothing comes up on dash when key is turned the only thing that comes on is the radio but after a few seconds it says no vin is present. Any ideas?

Simon asked on Nov 20, 2018

See all 435 questions about Holden Commodore

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details