??!

Reviews

(8)
(3)
(2)
(7)
(112)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (59)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (55)
  • Customer Service
    1.6 (59)
brett H.

brett H.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Is this even legal?

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
brett H.
brett H.
Sweet G.

Sweet G.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Worst ever policy Diamond life

published

annual payment $5399 , paid it every year for 12 years. the agent said i will get $5,000 back every year till i reach 100 years old. the agent did not tell us she gets $2,100 comission in first year and $100 every year for next 5 years. Then now after 12 years i find out i do not recieve $5,000 every year . but only $2750 every year. !!! now i have paid around $63,000 in total for past 12 years and if i decide to end the policy i get back only $50,000 . yes i got riped off hard and my hard earn wage for past 12 years gone.!!!!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Sweet G.
Sweet G.

When will government step up and penalise such agents and policies. because it was 12 years ago and i was pretty young and trusted the agent.

AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia

Hi Sweet G,
This is not good to hear! We've sent you a private message to get more information from you, that way we can pass the feedback on to our team.
Kindest,
Phoebe - AIA Australia

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kristine

KristineQueensland

  • 4 reviews

Baddest of the baddest

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
2 comments
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Kristine
Kristine

lol so finally you guys are answering now after ignoring my solicitor’s letter several times then telling us last minute of the changes with assessor and delaying to respond to it?

Insurance

Find out how AIA Australia compares to other Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
OrKas

OrKasSydney, NSW

No One does Anything

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Katy

KatyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very bad experience

published

the policy is not good value at all. I was getting charged monthly at a high rate and did not receive any support when i had a procedure .At first i was told it is covered then when i booked the procedure , i was told it is not covered. I had to pay everything out-of-pocket. Why am i paying thousands of dollars in Insurance if there's no support even for basic claims ? i am very disappointed and would not recommend this insurance to anyone . It claims all health awareness and frills but no real value at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Blake Jonathan H.

Blake Jonathan H.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hayley Thomson at AIA is amazing

published

I had lots of issues mainly due to how complicated of a case I had. However once dealing with hayley Thomson in complaints all my issues were fixed. Wish all their employees were amazing as her

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Shiri Stringer

Shiri StringerLongreach

  • 4 reviews

Pathetic Service

published

Applied for my Income Protection insurance and after 11mths, get told that I wasn’t insured for the relevant period even though it has ALWAYS been apart of my super! AIA are dodgy. Definitely taking this further! Not impressed

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Jamie T.

Jamie T.South East Queensland, QLD

Worst insurance ever

published

Been dealing with these crooks for 9 months after our claim was acknowledged. Now I get a letter in the mail that rest no longer deal with aia. We are waiting for a final response from aia then we will be taking you to court for misrepresentation of your policy. I can see why rest left you guys.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
john

johntaree

Non Performance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
3 comments
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
john
john
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Insurance

Find out how AIA Australia compares to other Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

What a terrible experience

published
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Charlie

CharlieQueensland

Wish I could give no stars bullsh?t insurance

published

Going through afca and now a lawyer.. while stuck in bed with spine and brain injury.. nearly committed suicide 4 times thanks to this company.. no duty of care what so ever and just lie after loop hole after lie.. Going after them now I'm disgusted that a company can operate like this

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Ashton

AshtonCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

I am struggling mentally physically and financially.will struggle forever.hoping to get help from AIA

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
15 comments
Ashton
Ashton
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Samantha

SamanthaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute joke for an insurance company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2016
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Suelorr

SuelorrWestern Australia

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

If you are insured with this company you need to change it

published

I submitted a IP CLAIM in June of last year it took 6 months to get $15.00 per week and told this was because I am on newstart, if my claim had been processed in 60 as they stated I would not have been on centrelink so now I have put complaints in both with my super and AIA. I have had a response from my super stating my payments should be for 2 years they are only going to pay me until March 2020 instead of June 2021 my income protection amount should be 1485.12.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers
5 comments
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Suelorr
Suelorr

I like you cannot make comment

AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Belinda

BelindaSydney Surrounds, NSW

Terrible service

published

I submitted all the required documents before the waiting period had to abuse them To get it finalised as had waited 2 months before it was approved. Finally got first payment after a number of calls now 14 days late on next payment. Was told a week ago would be escalated called a week later told the same thing as the last person obviously hadn’t escalated it. Stress of being injured, paying physio, bills, Christmas, kids school fees etc. I’m sure my employer pays them on time to insure me but they can’t push a button to pay me?! Will be taking it further.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Insurance

Find out how AIA Australia compares to other Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nicole M.

Nicole M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible

published

Diagnosed with a brain tumour 6 months ago, have sent through all my documentation months ago and heard nothing back no matter how many follow up emails have been sent. Planning to go to the ombudsman now, seeing how many people have been treated the same. Sick people shouldn't have to beg for services they have paid for.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Peter H.

Peter H.Far West, NSW

Class action suit needed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
John K

John KSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Dreadful support for AIA Vitality

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia

Hi John, thanks for taking the time out to let us know about this - we're sorry to hear this. We've sent you a private message to see if we can help.
Thanks, AIA Team

Garfield P.

Garfield P.Perth, WA

They lie, they abuse you and they don’t care

published

This is an organisation that is so egotistical, it happily lies to AFCA knowing they face zero consequences (have 1 successful complaint and second one pending) Its claims staff lie ( I have transcripts) and deliberately re traumatise you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia
Natalie S.

Natalie S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Unprofessional and unreliable

published

After my injury with 100% proof and the claim being accepted over 3 months ago ive been lied to numerous times theyv'e said they sent an email to my drs for more information and its not been sent after i called and checked 3 times before booking a double appointment 3 times with the dr , my assessor angela
is never available shes off to lunch or in a confrence or has just left for the day , i will be putting in a complaint to the ombudsom and heading to a current affair ,this is unacceptable ,while i cant afford to pay my mortgage and other bills , unnecessary stress and depression , get your jobs done asap just like you taking out money for these bad circumstances .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia

Hi Natalie, we appreciate you reaching out and are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We've sent you a private message to get a few more details so we can try and sort our your enquiry.
Thanks, AIA Team

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Beta

Betaasked

Income Protection

WOW!
Can’t believe I am reading all these negative reviews.
I work for the federal government and my income protection is with AIA.
I might have to give my super a call and ask for a explanation as to why AIA was chosen.

5 answers
Kristine
Kristine

avoid them as much you can do.i even hired a solicitor because they are pathetic idiots

sunshines
sunshines

Anything they promise in their promotional material is far from the experience they will actually provide. They will potentially cripple you emotionally. Definitely change insurer.

Beta
Beta

Are you claiming through your super or AIA directly?

Natalie S.

Natalie S.asked

Income Protection

Why do you always have different excuses every time i call ? My drs have sent reports tp you AIA ans now youv'e said you need more , so i phone to make sure youv'e sent the email ,and guess what no email wasted the drs time and mine so i call again and was reassured youv'e sent and yet again not sent . How dare you make people's lives suffer even more its stressful enough losing your job over an injury over no fault of your own people have mortgages to pay im fed up with the constant lying by your staff and have never have gotten to speak with my assessor angela why? Shes out to lunch ,shes just left for the dat , or shes in a conference all a bunch of lies stop delaying my payment, i am going to the ombudsmen ,and a current affair on channel 9 and get all the people whom are suffering like myself , you have 100% proof of my injury and approved it, why keep me waiting , i will never recommend this disgusting insurance , they are unprofessional and unreliable,

7 answers
Sue
Sue

Hi Natalie I am in the same situation as you ! I am so tired of getting the run around and ringing them constantly ! They keep saying to me they never receive my documents and then I send and send but no communication at all ! I pray someone can help us because I am genuinely injured and have no money but have super and this so called income protection, I am stressed just like you but getting no where and no payment from AIA they are all uncaring and unprofessional we need to start a group and do something about this company! Sue

Natalie S.
Natalie S.

I am puting in formal complaint to the ombudsom, and their company as well also this week calling a current affair on channel 9 i am fed up of excuses and lies , they really think we are just another number when we have our mortages to pay and other bills i have a depression problem directly from my injury , i do believe they have their proticales to follow and need some time , they need to read their own product , as they advertise, they (help you in the event of injury or illness) hahaha false advertising liars.

sunshines
sunshines

Hi Natalie, a friend of mine works for a current affair and knows just how bad AIA are because I have been telling her about them for the last couple of years. Let me know if you would like me to put you in touch. Leigh Sales from ABC's 7.30 would also be an excellent option.

Jack

Jackasked

Income Protection

Hi who is your governing body? Thanks

2 answers
AIA Australia
AIA A.AIA Australia

Hi Jack. I've sent you a direct message to assist in your enquiry. Thanks - Matt (AIA Team)

AshleyS
AshleyS

AFCA, Australian Financial Complaints Authority. I would encourage everyone here to lodge a complaint with AFCA. It will only be then that AIA will start to handle claims in a professional and efficient manner as opposed to the passive agressive customer service currently being provided.

Get an answer from our members and AIA Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.