1 photo
Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet

Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet

MPN: RC10
2.3 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electronics in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Arlec

Reviews

Previous
Next
Dermot
DermotSydney, NSW

Best thing ever for Christmas lights !!!

published

I have used mine for three years now, and they still work perfectly. I use them for all our Christmas lights around the house.
They are so easy to use, and such a time saver - a couple of clicks, and our house is lit up.
I would definitely recommend this product.

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian
IanPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Worked for a couple of weeks then nada…

published

Bought these from Bunnings (4 pack with remote) Only one is working 6 months later. All 4 were running bedside lamps and lamps around the house so no high power draw.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
john
johnMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Poor Quality Control.

published

The product did not work in any way at all. Remote would not transmit nor receive at power outlet. This is the second time I've made the blunder of not reading reviews at Productreview. Throwing them in the garbage was my best choice, Headache gone. Its thus been noted in my tablet note pad to avoid products made by them. Its probably my best bet.

Purchased in October 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $31.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony A.
Tony A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not worth the trouble

published

Eventually they will fail you and not turn off. Great idea but Arlec just did not make a good product that lives up to their claims. I will not buy anything Arlec again.

Purchased in April 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $51.45.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pgonsior
pgonsiorSydney, Australia
  • 20 reviews
  • 6 likes

Never even looked like connecting to Wi-Fi

published

Bought this thing recently. Never even looked like connecting to Wi-Fi . Took it back especially after reading some of the comments. Remember to keep your receipts. I'll try and find a genio device

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $44.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oracle23
Oracle23Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 24 reviews
  • 15 likes

When it works it is great

published

I have owned 4 of these. They work well when they work, however be careful if using them for TVs, Computers, Amplifiers. They tend to cause them to be stuck on.

After some researching, a good solid hit with you palm to the device can dislodge the relay and get it working again. My advice. If you need to use for these high power devices, use 1 per device.

I just wish I knew about the clap with the palm trick before I binned the other 3...

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Louise
LouiseCentral, TAS
  • 2 reviews

Works great. Very customizable. Can be complicated

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $20.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
DBO
DBOSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 55 reviews
  • 91 likes

Very unreliable.

published

Great when working, but totally unreliable. I've owned two sets of these and unfortunately both developed faults. They generally go bad by turning on but then not turning off or only working intermittently. The indicator light remains functional so you can see it's receiving signal, but the main relay either fuses to the on position or doesn't get triggered at all.

The frustrating thing is that you cannot obtain replacements. The likes of Bunnings only sells these as a two or four set pack, which always includes the remote.

I thought Arlec gear would be better quality. Would love to find something like this from a reliable vendor.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nx27086
nx27086
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Too clunky for double power point, and didn't work anyway

published

This unit is big and clunky so it blocks the second plug on a double power point.
It flashed to show the power was on...and then immediately turned the power off. I tried all possible solutions, but it was simply a dud.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $19.57.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
trebor58
trebor58Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Not true 10 amps.

published

First attempt at turning on a 1600 watt pressure cleaner it fried itself. Only suitable for light loads and nowhere near 2400 watts Would not recommend this for switching motors

Purchased in May 2019 for $20.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2 of 4 don't work.

published

Great concept but frustrating when two stations don't work. Two of the stations turn everything on. I have tried to reset them but to no avail. I also prefer the old model where you can operate from the plug as well.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DavidN
DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 108 reviews
  • 111 likes

Alrec remote power outlet is old technology but still has its place

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Captain Cook
Captain CookCoffs Harbour
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Only 2 of total 4 wall socket units works

published

Bought Arlec Remote Control Power outlet about a year ago. At beginning only 3 of 4 worked OK. Soon thereafter only 2 worked. Have changed battery and re-installed to no avail.
Captain Cook

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mordy
mordymelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little unit, works well.

published

I notice some users are having problems with the unit responding to other channels or multiple channels, I also encounter this problem, turing my 3 separate units into basically three units that come on with one button push, very annoying.

Anyway it is a very easy fix, please read the instructions carefully, you must reset the unit, i.e delete its programming. Look in the instructions under "Resetting the units" read and follow carefully and all problems will be solved.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

No problems so far.

published

Easy to program, and has worked without fail over hottest temperature period of 3 months so far. This unit has the multiple button handset but only one on off plug in switch. I cannot comment on the problems with the units having three plug in switches.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Karen
Karenasked

I purchased 2 sets of 4 units which worked fine for several months, then started failing one by one -will turn on but won’t turn off. Resetting the units doesn’t help. Now 7 of the 8 units have failed in the same way. Any suggestions?

2 answers
Ian
Ian

In short, they are rubbish. I had the same experience. Throw them in the bin. The bigger models ie the ones that connect to the wifi seem to be more stable. I have now bought a set of these, and they have all been fine…

Karen
Karen

Thanks for the advice, I’ll look into the wifi models.

Rob
Robasked

Is it possible to buy just the outlets and no remote?

No answers
LesS
LesSasked

Have now 6 units that have failed.
Can reset units then program them on but none will turn off ?

No answers
See all Arlec Remote Control Power Outlet questions

Get an answer from our members and Arlec representatives

Details

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.