??!
20 photos
Audi A3 8V

Audi A3 8V (2013-2020)

Also referred to as: Audi A3 8V 2019 and Audi A3 8V 2021. Sportback, Sedan, Cabriolet
4.5 from 30 reviews

Reviews

4.5

30 reviews
5
(20)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Anna L.

Anna L.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Best small car I've ever driven!

published

I was hesitant to go to a smaller vehicle, but A3 2019 hatch doesn't feel like a small car at all. It drives really well and easy to handle! I drive close to 100km a day for work on most days, and it definitely helps driving a car that feels comfortable and enjoyable. So far, no red flags from the servicing either. Love the quality of finishes too. I have done extensive research prior to settling on the A3, and it won hands down on value for money and price point!

Purchased in September 2019 at Audi Dealers for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Coral

Coral

  • 6 reviews

Best car yet!!!!

published

I use my car daily to get to and from work and then on our interstate holidays. It’s always serviced when due and I only use premium petrol in it. This car is like flying on clouds!!!! It’s the best car I’ve ever driven and can say after owning this little beauty I will never buy a different brand car again!!!!

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
beachsider

beachsiderSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Performance to put a smile on your face

published

This car offers a perfect blend of a comfortable and luxurious daily drive with more than enough performance to put a smile on your face when you need some extra thrills. The cabin is superb with all the central console buttons and dials in perfect position, easy drive select modes depending on how you want the vehicle to respond, the DSG gearbox, for the most part, is flawless and offers an instant response with Quattro AWD. Great little package and a good alternative to Golf R for some extra style, class and prestige badge.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Cars

Find out how Audi A3 8V compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leo Rocks

Leo RocksSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

My perfect car for the City life

published

This is the first time that I have been using the same car for more than 5 years and it has the space that I need for travelling with up to 5 people and also to have space for suitcases. I spent most of the time close to the city and it makes this car even better for parking and weekly tasks.
I have to say it is not cheap to look after it but when I bring to Audi for servicing my car has been look after perfectly almost like going to an Apple store and sometimes that it is what you want from a brand like Audi.
Yes my next car will be still an Audi but not sure when as my car still works perfectly

BadgeTFSI
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Rod

RodQueensland

  • 37 reviews

Audi approve plus vehicle

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Audi Dealers for A$30,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Clare 	Nicholas

Clare NicholasEAST KILLARA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This car is excellent.

published

This car is very cool, I use it to go to work every day, I will take my family to travel during the holidays, it is suitable for all kinds of occasions, looks atmospheric, beautiful, from the purchase to now has not appeared any quality problems, which is also very happy for me.

BadgeTDI Attraction
BodySedan
Doors4
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Ash

Ash

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Power in a refined sedan

published

I have recently come from a Volkswagen Golf R, Even though these two cars have the same engine and very similar drive train. It was a great purchase and a well deserved upgrade. Everything in this car feels premium as you would expect from an Audi.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 21 reviews

Awesome Audi S3

published

Purchased used - 3 years old with 16K on the clock. Have owned performance vehicles for a long time. This time it came down to an Evo X and the S3 sedan. Couldn't go past the DSG transmission. The vehicle looks pretty tame on the outside, but it's what's under the hood that counts. Performance to boot. Modifications are relatively cheap (dollar per HP gained) in order to extract more horsepower. The only niggle is that when you turn off the vehicle in "sports/dynamic" mode, when you turn it back on it says it's still in "dynamic" mode, but it actually isn't. You have to cycle through the drive modes to reactivate Dynamic mode.
Otherwise so far so good. Happy with the purchase.

BadgeS3
BodySedan
Doors4
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Steve

StevePerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

S3 stylish..sassy...speedy....sexy

published
BadgeS Line
BodySedan
Doors4
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Cars

Find out how Audi A3 8V compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kurt R

Kurt RNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

We love our a3. The only issue is the shape of the drivers seat. Great on fuel and all the mod cons in the attraction 2015. We get almost 900km from a tank of fuel. It has enough space for us and our two kids and all of the shopping

BadgeAttraction
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nelson T

Nelson T

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

An amazing car to drive. Worth it.

published

Amazing! This is what I am really talking about when mentioning european/german cars. It's full on comfort, the car has very nice extra features installed. The engine is quiet as well, in the interior you will hear close to nothing. The car's exterior also looks amazing as well, overall I am happy.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyHatch
Doors4
Engine Size1.9
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Urbandon

Urbandon

  • 9 reviews

Love this car

published

Close to perfect. So comfortable to drive. Quiet, smooth, reliable. Fantastic sound system- we got the 10 speaker option. Excellent finish and build quality.
Every Bluetooth/GPS gadget you can imagine. Parks like a dream, corners like a demon, looks cool and understated.
Drives great and has some serious grunt when you need it. Highly recommended!

BadgeTFSI
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
NEIL

NEILBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car I have ever owned!

published

I am in love with my Audi A3! The finish and build quality are superb, and the performance and handling are just as good! It has a very high equipment level, is awesome to drive and look a million dollars. I have had no reliability problems at all. I have always admired the brand, and my current experience only reinforces my admiration.

BadgeAttraction
BodySedan
Doors4
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
john k

john kSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 15 likes

Love it

published

Havent had any big problems with it. servicing costs is expensive and the break is a little too sensitive but some people like that. Good performance and a nice zippy car for quick metro rides. Interior is comfy and trendy. Gps is pretty useless and not very user friendly. Overall satisfied.

BadgeTFSI Attraction
BodyHatch
Doors4
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
AL1916

AL1916AU

  • 12 reviews

A sound car to own and enjoy

published

Audi A3 just doesn't fail to amaze me, has had this for 3 years and has ever had any issues with it. Handling's good and is powerful for range. The only think I can think of is there's a very little turbo lag when starting from 0, can be slightly unresponsive Also, the back seat can be tight when 2 adults trying to sit at the back. Other than that, it's a highly recommended car.

BadgeAttraction
BodyHatch
Doors4
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionDCT
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Cars

Find out how Audi A3 8V compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nullz

nullzAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Amazing value!

published

Jampacked with features and fantastic on fuel. Not really much else to say except that I'd recommend this car to anyone! If you're thinking of buying one go see Trivett Audi in Parramatta! Wouldn't of even considered an Audi if it wasn't for the whole team there, lovely people not push or hard to try and get your $$. If your lifestyle would fit a cheaper model, or smaller car that is what they will recommend for you.

BadgeS Line
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
euwy

euwyeuwys@hanmail.net

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect Convertible

published

Performance is great, handling is typically good like most audis, Convertible roof mechanism can be operated whilst driving under 50km per hour which is great. downside is small back seats. reliability has been good so far as no real faults after driving the car for over 2 years. Interior design is very nice

BadgeAttraction
BodyConvertible
Doors2
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Irene

IreneSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Audi S3 2017 model

published

Audi have done well with this new S3 sedan in blue, drives and handles like a charm, I got this only 4 months ago and a pleasure to drive. with so many features of safety and comfort, I have the performance package and silver trim on the outside looks so stylish.the stereo has 18 speakers crazy, the navigation is smart and easy to use, I like how the screen is put away for a flush dash when switched off, the sensors front and rear give great protection as well as the anti collision features. test drive and see for yourself a car that can be set to be really sporty or efficient, economical or comfort, take your pick.good on petrol too.

BadgeTFSI Limited Edition
BodySedan
Doors5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Jeni

Jeni

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing Car

published

Performance is good, price is reasonable compare to other cars.
Very smooth when driving, like the dashboard so much!
its very reliable as the break is very sensitive, i like the technique pack which has the auto reverse option which is prefect for the person who not good at parking.

BadgeTFSI
BodySedan
Doors4
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Will

WillSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a machine

published

Was tossing up between the a3 and the gti for a while but once I test drive the Audi the choice was easy. Sure performance is very similar but driving the car is like owning a batmobile in comparison to the golf.

Only issue I've had is the rear suspension being a little on the squeaky side at low speeds and the 3 nut covers on the wheels have fallen off! Bit disappointing but I'm sure they'll replace them at service.

BadgeTFSI
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Audi A3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jye K.

Jye K.asked

A3 8V (Sedan) (2013-2020)

I find it odd that people can give such high recommendations. Remember how much you are paying these cars should last like any other 400,000k’s without any issues even more so due to price point. Yet all fall apart from Audi vw group at the 120,000 k Mark your wallet becomes empty ! Give an update once you hit this many k’s lolololol
Yes experience no euro cars last. Plastic falls apart, outside from our weather, lights get the foggy plastic look. Many many electrical faults. Huge expenses like breaks every 30,000k/ at $1800 just a joke. Japanese / Korean cars all the way !

No answers
Peanuts

Peanutsasked

8V (Cabriolet) (2013-2020)

How quieter is the Audi A3 1.4TFSI acoustic roof compred to the non-acoustic roof. Is it almost negligible? How much hicker is the acoustic roof?

No answers
Ana

Anaasked

A3 8V (Sedan) (2013-2020)

What is your opinion on Audi A3 sedan 2013.
I mean maintainence cost and all.

1 answer
Mattman
Mattman

They're lovely cars, Audi's are! But I'd be wary of it! There was a recall on this model in 2015 because the fuel pump delivery system was failing. I'm of the mind set that if I spend a decent amount of money on something (like you will on an Audi) you should expect nothing short of exceptional reliability! I'm a quality engineer and I don't trust VW group's approach to managing their suppliers to a point where they can ensure a good product. Anything and everything mechanical/technical will eventually fail but the problems that I encountered with my Audi don't seem to happen as frequently (or in some cases ever) on other manufacturers vehicles. Servicing cost me $680 give or take a bit (labour costs) per service but the amount of new parts and repairs of things that would break or fail meant it was off the road for months at a time and I never had an invoice for less than $3000. I got rid of my Audi a few months ago now but the only way I'd buy an Audi again is brand new (not dealer demonstrator or Audi approved etc) and I'd be looking very seriously at moving it along as it came out of warranty or neared 100K kms... I'm quite critical of German cars after a couple of horrible experiences and I don't want to sound negative but I'll be sticking to a trusty Toyota for while! They're cheaper parts are plentiful and easy to come by and I have the confidence of driving it further without it having a meltdown on the side of the road because the temperature is to hot for it!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.