2 photos
Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

18 V (PV1820L), 14.4 V (PV1420L), PV1020L
3.6 from 43 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Handheld Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Black & Decker

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (9)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (7)
  • Battery Life
    2.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Ann B.
Ann B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Very poor battery life of Black and Decker Dust Buster Pivot Lithium 18V

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $163.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
virtuallyalyssa2009
virtuallyalyssa2009Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

NOISY ... battery doesn't last - NO option to replace - EXPENSIVE!

published

A vacuum cleaner should NOT be DISPOSABLE!!! It works well enough, for a hand-held vacuum but the battery life is abysmal with no option to replace it ... so essentially, you have to fork out more money every year for another one!!! EVERYONE complains about the same thing. Why are they not fixing this flaw???

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
aquamax
aquamax
  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Works fine but very noisy

published

I've used it for two years with occasional usage and it functions as expected except that it is really noisy. The lifetime of the battery in my unit seems ok (has not died yet) and the sucking power is also acceptable.

Purchased for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick Collins
Nick CollinsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Only lasts a year

published

Machine works perfectly, unfortunately only lasts 12months then power unit fails and cannot be replaced, this has happened on two units, they seem to give up just after expiry of the warranty period (very handy)

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Canberra Shopper
Canberra ShopperCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Love the Dust Buster!

published

This hand held dust buster is super useful. Its battery charge lasts about 15 minutes which is enough to tidy up before guest arrive without having to lug out the vacuum cleaner. It helps tidy up after messy jobs like grinding coffee and cleaning up the coffee grinder. The dust buster sits on it's charger when not in use and doesn't take up much space. Easy to operate and doesn't take long to charge. Don't know how I lived without one!

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
snowy12
snowy12Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked great for a while now keeps cutting out

published

My 18v Lithium Dustbuster keeps cutting out and after reading up on it so is a lot of other people with the same problem NO answers from anyone as to what the problem is or how to fix it

Purchased at Godfreys Physical Stores for $120.00.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Several times a week
Gail
GailAuckland New Zealand
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Product for cleaning, Bad battery...only lasts around two years (2 year warranty)

published

I have had two of these. The first one was replaced after around 12 months under warranty as the battery was failing. I have been using the second one for 12- 18 months and the battery is now also failing...as demonstrated by it not holding a charge, so you can only use it for a few seconds or so. I was very happy with it's cleaning performance, but very unhappy about the battery situation. If you have to buy a new one every two years (when it's just out of warranty!!) then it makes it a very expensive cleaner

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Murray Perth.
Murray Perth.Perth
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor battery life

published

Having had two of these devices as my first one the charger failed. Returned it to the place of purchase and they lost it. Six weeks later I was provided with a new replacement which was good. However, after about two years of use the battery only lasts fully charged for about five minutes. I have always purchased Black and Decker products in the past in preference because of their good lasting performance. Unfortunately, this product has let me down.

Purchased at Godfreys for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mortishia
MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 82 reviews
  • 38 likes

A useful item to have in the home

published

As looking for something compact rather than taking out the vacuum cleaner. For a quick clean in tight spots, this is perfect. It has a great suction and easy to use. The agility of the suction head allows for free movement. Many of the vacs are moulded as one, here you can move the suction head to a 45 degree angle.
Added is the telescopic wand which is attached to the head, simply extend and push back in. It is designed to cater one’s needs. To date, have been happy and would recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tianqi L.
Tianqi L.Sydney, NSW

Happy with the performance when it's working, but the battery will die after 2 years

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jasmine
JasmineMelbourne
  • 8 reviews

Great for light and heavy duty work

published

this model has a pretty heavy duty suction especially compared to my older black and decker dust buster, powerful enough to clean things that i would normally require a vacuum. The charger is easy to attach and filter super easy to clean. Overall a great handy tool to have in the house and garage, especially like the extending nozzle to reach awkward spaces like in the lounge room, under the lounge or when cleaning the car.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Nat gone mad
Nat gone mad
  • 4 reviews

Used regularly

published

This vacuum cleaner is great. Easy to store and simple to recharge. It is there when you need it for quick and easy use. It works well and gets the job done. It isn't as powerful as a normal vacuum cleaner and the battery doesn't last too long, but for the small areas it is used for it doesn't need a big battery life.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Acton
Acton
  • 23 reviews
  • 15 likes

How to fix it when it stops sucking.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

IT WORKS 2 SECONDS

published

even if it is fully charged .. each time you turn it on it works 2 second and stops..then you turn it on again and it stops again......it was working fine till last week...then problem started..i checked the batteries they are fine.. probably manufacturing fault as they don't continue with the model... but they are still sell them...very disappointed..

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great for a while, wouldn't recommend .

published

A great unit for my car and caravan. There is obviously a problem with the chargers as I have had three units and all have worked great, lasting about the 15 minutes until the charger won't charge enough. Two replaced under warranty and the third out of warranty. Wouldn't buy again unless the chargers have improved.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Tom
Tomasked
Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

My Dustbuster PV1820L has become extremely loud, its not a cleaning issue or the filters, its something to do with the motor or fan, (still powerful suction) anyone any experience and how to dis-assemble to get at the effected parts, perhaps balance, broken fan, bearings or motor fixture, just guessing, any help appreciated to [contact details removed]

1 answer
Paul P
Paul P

I have a similar issue. Same model as yours. Sounds like a rattling bearing or something, mainly happens when powering the thing off. Its an annoying sound..

John L.
John L.asked
Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Is there a downloadable manual available?

2 answers
Mortishia
Mortishia

Hello John
Unfortunately no on downloadable manual. A rarity, I know. I’ve provided a link fir you to fully check out specs etc.
Overall, the Dustbuster is straightforward to use.

https://www.google.com/url?q=https://www.blackanddecker.com.au/products/home-products/handheld-vacuums&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwi8vrXaxq_nAhVG73MBHezfCpAQFjAAegQICBAB&usg=AOvVaw1oQc4XlgpF9qdDzZYDV9xS

Hope I was able to assist you today. Any further inquiries p, please do not hesitate to ask.
Regards
Maria

John L.
John L.

Thanks for the reply. I’d just scored one second hand minus manual. One thing I’d like to ask is, when in full recline, I assume it folds, then locks in position and holds? However mine folds, locks, but then the side (that gives access to filter) becomes unfastened. Is this how it’s meant to be.?

John L.
John L.asked
Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

Is there an online manual available for download?

No answers
See all Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster questions

Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Details

Compare all 3 Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster
CategoryHandheld Vacuum CleanersHandheld Vacuum CleanersHandheld Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $159.00$159.00
Bin Capacity0.44 L0.44 L
HEPA FilterNoNo
Weight1.38 kg
Running Time 10 min10 min
Charging Time4 hours
Power35 W
Suction (Air Watts)28 AW
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare all 3 Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.