??!
2 photos
Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

18 V (PV1820L), 14.4 V (PV1420L) and PV1020L
3.8 from 37 reviews

See the Best Handheld Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
10
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
4

Gail

GailAuckland New Zealand

  • 2 reviews

Great Product for cleaning, Bad battery...only lasts around two years (2 year warranty)

published

I have had two of these. The first one was replaced after around 12 months under warranty as the battery was failing. I have been using the second one for 12- 18 months and the battery is now also failing...as demonstrated by it not holding a charge, so you can only use it for a few seconds or so. I was very happy with it's cleaning performance, but very unhappy about the battery situation. If you have to buy a new one every two years (when it's just out of warranty!!) then it makes it a very expensive cleaner

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Murray Perth.

Murray Perth.Perth

  • 3 reviews

Poor battery life

published

Having had two of these devices as my first one the charger failed. Returned it to the place of purchase and they lost it. Six weeks later I was provided with a new replacement which was good. However, after about two years of use the battery only lasts fully charged for about five minutes. I have always purchased Black and Decker products in the past in preference because of their good lasting performance. Unfortunately, this product has let me down.

Purchased at Godfreys for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 48 reviews
  • 20 likes

A useful item to have in the home

published

As looking for something compact rather than taking out the vacuum cleaner. For a quick clean in tight spots, this is perfect. It has a great suction and easy to use. The agility of the suction head allows for free movement. Many of the vacs are moulded as one, here you can move the suction head to a 45 degree angle.
Added is the telescopic wand which is attached to the head, simply extend and push back in. It is designed to cater one’s needs. To date, have been happy and would recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers
Tianqi L.

Tianqi L.Sydney, NSW

Happy with the performance when it's working, but the battery will die after 2 years

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers

Jasmine

JasmineMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Great for light and heavy duty work

published

this model has a pretty heavy duty suction especially compared to my older black and decker dust buster, powerful enough to clean things that i would normally require a vacuum. The charger is easy to attach and filter super easy to clean. Overall a great handy tool to have in the house and garage, especially like the extending nozzle to reach awkward spaces like in the lounge room, under the lounge or when cleaning the car.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Nat gone mad

Nat gone mad

  • 4 reviews

Used regularly

published

This vacuum cleaner is great. Easy to store and simple to recharge. It is there when you need it for quick and easy use. It works well and gets the job done. It isn't as powerful as a normal vacuum cleaner and the battery doesn't last too long, but for the small areas it is used for it doesn't need a big battery life.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Acton

Acton

  • 22 reviews
  • 12 likes

How to fix it when it stops sucking.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

IT WORKS 2 SECONDS

published

even if it is fully charged .. each time you turn it on it works 2 second and stops..then you turn it on again and it stops again......it was working fine till last week...then problem started..i checked the batteries they are fine.. probably manufacturing fault as they don't continue with the model... but they are still sell them...very disappointed..

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great for a while, wouldn't recommend .

published

A great unit for my car and caravan. There is obviously a problem with the chargers as I have had three units and all have worked great, lasting about the 15 minutes until the charger won't charge enough. Two replaced under warranty and the third out of warranty. Wouldn't buy again unless the chargers have improved.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Zesty

ZestyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great Portable Vacuum

published

This is way better than the Dyson for us. We looked at both and concluded that this is the one to get and its 1/8 of the price. Its powerfull - really powerful and the battery has a good long run time. It gets into all the nooks and crannies like the side folds of the couch and behind the fridge. Emptying dust is easy and you can see it because the bin is clear.Charging is easy too. Its the best 'dustbuster' type vacuum I have used.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Jerry

JerryMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

This item is perfect for car internal cleaning

published

I did some research online before purchasing it. I have to say it is really as good as the commendation on the online review. Powerful for all dirt in car, operation length with a full charge is enough for a full cleaning in car. The best part is the rotatable angle, it is really easy to access any corner you want. RECOMMEND IT

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Sam

SamVic

  • 4 reviews

One of the best hand-held vacuums

published

Only complaint is that it's a little loud, but that doesn't bother me when it picks up all the dust and is easy to move into all the nooks and crannies of the house. Battery life is also quite good, lasts pretty long. Amazing at picking up those dog hairs from carpet and couches.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Cattledog

CattledogSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

We would not be without our DustBuster PV1820L

published

We would not be without our DustBuster PV1820L - much better battery life and & suction power compared to the 14V. model we had previously. Use it all the time on the carpet and hard floors at home for little clean up jobs that do not warrant getting out out the large vacumme cleaner . We also take it when we go on vacation in our caravan to clean up dirt & dust from both carpet & hard floor - being battery powered means we can use it while travelling or free-camping

Date PurchasedOct 2014

abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best hand-held dust buster

published

I am very happy with the performance of the the vac. It is super powerful and I astonished by the suction power of the vac. Its not that quiet thought. Very easy to maneuver and super simple to empty the bin. Battery last for 10 minutes and retain the suction power until it runs out juice.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
TKJSBH

TKJSBHSunshine Coast, Queensland

  • 6 reviews

Welcomed Product Warranty

published

We bought this to replace previous poor performing hand held vac’s and to solve ni-cad battery issues.
Pleasantly surprised with its suction ability and easy empty compartment.
A little noisy, but not a big deal as its performance is my primary concern.
It was about 22 months into a 2 year warranty, when it suddenly became much louder and somewhat unhealthy.
We took it to The Good Guys with our receipt who happily replaced it after a quick test.
Brand new replacement straight off the shelf and off we go.
Great performance, fairly priced for comparative products, versatile and excellent battery performance.
Thank you Black & Decker

Date PurchasedAug 2015
bmorey

bmoreyVic, 3140

  • 56 reviews
  • 46 likes

Best hand-held vac ever

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Dogsrgood

Dogsrgoodsydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The vac is back!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Lynda

LyndaMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfect for caravan & car

published

Suction is great find that it is a little noisy but has been great while travelling in our caravan.
Works great in the car also to just give it a spruce up on the mats in between a full clean with the household vacuum cleaner.
The nozzle is a little annoying sometimes as it pops back in flat but other than that does a good job in quick time we couldn’t be without it now :)

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Ingrid

IngridSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does the job

published

Very light, slightly on the noisy side... perfect to clean small corners or the cars. No fault at all, happy with what we have to clean small easy places. Charging easy and fast. Not as powerful as the big vacuum cleaners but does the job that needed to be done fast

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Nick

Nick

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

These are excellent highly recommended...excellent suction...they just seem to last forever. They clean very well excellent for cars. The base charger failed after one year but got a cheap replacement online easily. These are easy to clean the little dustbag replaceable part can be bought easliy online. Amazing vacuum cleaner had the cheaper quality handheld but found i cleaned better with s brush and dustpan this one is excellent

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ron A.

Ron A.asked

Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

can I purchase a spare batery

No answers

peter

peterasked

what is the price?

No answers

aquitania

aquitaniaasked

Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

I have this vac and find it good. No problem, yet, with battery. Had it about a year. However, each time I place it on its base, dust, dirt, whatever ive just vacuumed up, falls out of the end/nozzle. I then have to clean that up. And same thing will happen. Looks like the little flexible seal isnt sealing as it should.
Anyone else has this problem?
Might take it back.
Thanks

2 answers
Acton
Acton

It probably has a loose or detached seal, which looks like a small black flap. Just empty and shake out the dust/dirt container into a bin after each use and before putting it back on its base. I would keep it because it is handy to use and keep in the car, although even with a fully charged battery it gives less than 20 minutes use.

aquitania
aquitania

Thanks Acton. I thought it was the seal, i think it gets blocked open, depending on whats in it. Very fiddly to open, close and empty and take apart. So, i might just see if they'll refund. But it has good suction.


Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

Details

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

33 reviews
Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 14.4 V (PV1420L)
  • Discontinued

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 14.4 V (PV1420L)

2 reviews
Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster PV1020L
  • Discontinued

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster PV1020L

2 reviews
CategoryHandheld Vacuum CleanersHandheld Vacuum CleanersHandheld Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $159.00$159.00
Bin Capacity0.44 L0.44 L
HEPA FilterNoNo
Weight1.38 kg
Running Time 10 min10 min
Charging Time4 hours
Power35 W
Suction (Air Watts) 28 AW
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.