??!
2 photos
Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

18 V (PV1820L), 14.4 V (PV1420L), PV1020L
3.8 from 40 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.8

40 reviews
5
(16)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (6)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (5)
  • Battery Life
    2.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Nick Collins

Nick CollinsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Only lasts a year

published

Machine works perfectly, unfortunately only lasts 12months then power unit fails and cannot be replaced, this has happened on two units, they seem to give up just after expiry of the warranty period (very handy)

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Canberra Shopper

Canberra ShopperCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Love the Dust Buster!

published

This hand held dust buster is super useful. Its battery charge lasts about 15 minutes which is enough to tidy up before guest arrive without having to lug out the vacuum cleaner. It helps tidy up after messy jobs like grinding coffee and cleaning up the coffee grinder. The dust buster sits on it's charger when not in use and doesn't take up much space. Easy to operate and doesn't take long to charge. Don't know how I lived without one!

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
snowy12

snowy12Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worked great for a while now keeps cutting out

published

My 18v Lithium Dustbuster keeps cutting out and after reading up on it so is a lot of other people with the same problem NO answers from anyone as to what the problem is or how to fix it

Purchased at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$120.00.

Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gail

GailAuckland New Zealand

  • 2 reviews

Great Product for cleaning, Bad battery...only lasts around two years (2 year warranty)

published

I have had two of these. The first one was replaced after around 12 months under warranty as the battery was failing. I have been using the second one for 12- 18 months and the battery is now also failing...as demonstrated by it not holding a charge, so you can only use it for a few seconds or so. I was very happy with it's cleaning performance, but very unhappy about the battery situation. If you have to buy a new one every two years (when it's just out of warranty!!) then it makes it a very expensive cleaner

Purchased for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Murray Perth.

Murray Perth.Perth

  • 3 reviews

Poor battery life

published

Having had two of these devices as my first one the charger failed. Returned it to the place of purchase and they lost it. Six weeks later I was provided with a new replacement which was good. However, after about two years of use the battery only lasts fully charged for about five minutes. I have always purchased Black and Decker products in the past in preference because of their good lasting performance. Unfortunately, this product has let me down.

Purchased at Godfreys for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 70 reviews
  • 29 likes

A useful item to have in the home

published

As looking for something compact rather than taking out the vacuum cleaner. For a quick clean in tight spots, this is perfect. It has a great suction and easy to use. The agility of the suction head allows for free movement. Many of the vacs are moulded as one, here you can move the suction head to a 45 degree angle.
Added is the telescopic wand which is attached to the head, simply extend and push back in. It is designed to cater one’s needs. To date, have been happy and would recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers
Tianqi L.

Tianqi L.Sydney, NSW

Happy with the performance when it's working, but the battery will die after 2 years

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Jasmine

JasmineMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Great for light and heavy duty work

published

this model has a pretty heavy duty suction especially compared to my older black and decker dust buster, powerful enough to clean things that i would normally require a vacuum. The charger is easy to attach and filter super easy to clean. Overall a great handy tool to have in the house and garage, especially like the extending nozzle to reach awkward spaces like in the lounge room, under the lounge or when cleaning the car.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Nat gone mad

Nat gone mad

  • 4 reviews

Used regularly

published

This vacuum cleaner is great. Easy to store and simple to recharge. It is there when you need it for quick and easy use. It works well and gets the job done. It isn't as powerful as a normal vacuum cleaner and the battery doesn't last too long, but for the small areas it is used for it doesn't need a big battery life.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Acton

Acton

  • 23 reviews
  • 13 likes

How to fix it when it stops sucking.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

IT WORKS 2 SECONDS

published

even if it is fully charged .. each time you turn it on it works 2 second and stops..then you turn it on again and it stops again......it was working fine till last week...then problem started..i checked the batteries they are fine.. probably manufacturing fault as they don't continue with the model... but they are still sell them...very disappointed..

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great for a while, wouldn't recommend .

published

A great unit for my car and caravan. There is obviously a problem with the chargers as I have had three units and all have worked great, lasting about the 15 minutes until the charger won't charge enough. Two replaced under warranty and the third out of warranty. Wouldn't buy again unless the chargers have improved.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Zesty

ZestyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great Portable Vacuum

published

This is way better than the Dyson for us. We looked at both and concluded that this is the one to get and its 1/8 of the price. Its powerfull - really powerful and the battery has a good long run time. It gets into all the nooks and crannies like the side folds of the couch and behind the fridge. Emptying dust is easy and you can see it because the bin is clear.Charging is easy too. Its the best 'dustbuster' type vacuum I have used.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jerry

JerryMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This item is perfect for car internal cleaning

published

I did some research online before purchasing it. I have to say it is really as good as the commendation on the online review. Powerful for all dirt in car, operation length with a full charge is enough for a full cleaning in car. The best part is the rotatable angle, it is really easy to access any corner you want. RECOMMEND IT

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sam

SamVic

  • 4 reviews

One of the best hand-held vacuums

published

Only complaint is that it's a little loud, but that doesn't bother me when it picks up all the dust and is easy to move into all the nooks and crannies of the house. Battery life is also quite good, lasts pretty long. Amazing at picking up those dog hairs from carpet and couches.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Lithium Pivot Dustbuster compares to other Handheld Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cattledog

CattledogSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

We would not be without our DustBuster PV1820L

published

We would not be without our DustBuster PV1820L - much better battery life and & suction power compared to the 14V. model we had previously. Use it all the time on the carpet and hard floors at home for little clean up jobs that do not warrant getting out out the large vacumme cleaner . We also take it when we go on vacation in our caravan to clean up dirt & dust from both carpet & hard floor - being battery powered means we can use it while travelling or free-camping

Date PurchasedOct 2014
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best hand-held dust buster

published

I am very happy with the performance of the the vac. It is super powerful and I astonished by the suction power of the vac. Its not that quiet thought. Very easy to maneuver and super simple to empty the bin. Battery last for 10 minutes and retain the suction power until it runs out juice.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
TKJSBH

TKJSBHSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Welcomed Product Warranty

published

We bought this to replace previous poor performing hand held vac’s and to solve ni-cad battery issues.
Pleasantly surprised with its suction ability and easy empty compartment.
A little noisy, but not a big deal as its performance is my primary concern.
It was about 22 months into a 2 year warranty, when it suddenly became much louder and somewhat unhealthy.
We took it to The Good Guys with our receipt who happily replaced it after a quick test.
Brand new replacement straight off the shelf and off we go.
Great performance, fairly priced for comparative products, versatile and excellent battery performance.
Thank you Black & Decker

Date PurchasedAug 2015
bmorey

bmoreyVic, 3140

  • 60 reviews
  • 48 likes

Best hand-held vac ever

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dogsrgood

Dogsrgoodsydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The vac is back!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

John L.

John L.asked

Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Is there a downloadable manual available?

2 answers
Mortishia
Mortishia

Hello John
Unfortunately no on downloadable manual. A rarity, I know. I’ve provided a link fir you to fully check out specs etc.
Overall, the Dustbuster is straightforward to use.

https://www.google.com/url?q=https://www.blackanddecker.com.au/products/home-products/handheld-vacuums&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwi8vrXaxq_nAhVG73MBHezfCpAQFjAAegQICBAB&usg=AOvVaw1oQc4XlgpF9qdDzZYDV9xS

Hope I was able to assist you today. Any further inquiries p, please do not hesitate to ask.
Regards
Maria

John L.
John L.

Thanks for the reply. I’d just scored one second hand minus manual. One thing I’d like to ask is, when in full recline, I assume it folds, then locks in position and holds? However mine folds, locks, but then the side (that gives access to filter) becomes unfastened. Is this how it’s meant to be.?

John L.

John L.asked

Lithium Pivot Dustbuster 18 V (PV1820L)

Is there an online manual available for download?

No answers
Patrick M.

Patrick M.asked

Lithium Pivot Dustbuster

Is the battery interchangeable.

3 answers
Gail
Gail

Hi there. I've had two of these and you couldn't replace the battery....which of course expired just out of warranty!! If you can afford it, by a Dyson V8 animal. You can replace the battery in this...and it is superior in every way. I bought one three weeks ago....and love it. Gail

Gail
Gail

Hi there again. I haven't checked the latest version of this to see if the battery can be replaced. Ask the supplier. Gail

Mortishia
Mortishia

Hello, sorry but don’t think the battery is interchangeable due to where the prongs are. You may contact supplier where a replacement can be purchased.

Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.