??!
4 photos
Brother HL-1110

Brother HL-1110

MPNs: BRO-HL-1110 and LED-PRB-HL-1110
3.3 from 34 reviews

See the Best Printers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
14
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
7

David Shaw

David ShawSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Printer can not be opened completely to remove paper jam

published

I have owned and loved brother printers for 22 years now. This is the first brother printer that i have owned that can not be opened completely to remove paper jam. I have been through 2 in 2 years now. Once you get a torn piece of paper caught inside the printer you may as well through it away. I normally get 5 or more years out of a brother printer.

Purchased in June 2019 at eBay for $75.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

WinnerMax

WinnerMaxSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Compact, capable, economic and easy

published

This is my second purchase of this product as drum needed replacing and my local printer shop got me a terrific deal for new printer - shame this printer is being discontinued - ideal for my study as I have limited space and it sits neatly on desk/table. Easy to replace toner cartridge and even easier to fix paper jam if needed. I have it on "toner Save" mode and toner seems to last for ages. One of the best small black and white printers around.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
3basS

3basSGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Cannot fault for its price

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Cannot install driver on Mac OSX 10.6.8

published

No problem not having USB cable included in the package as I use my old printer's cable. It is good for the environment and save Brother the cost for including another USB cable. Hope in the future they will still be using the same cable.

I cannot install the driver on my Mac. Anyone got any idea how do I go about it? Brother tech people advised me that it is Apple's system problem. Need to consult with them. I haven't done so.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Good Printer for its price

published

Personally I only use this printer for school, so i don't need a very powerful printer. This printer does everything i need perfectly fine: its decently fast, affordably and good value for money. However, it is a shame that you need to buy a usb cable separately, personally i don't mind that too much. The toner is amazing, in my opinion MUCH better value than buying ink cartridges that run out after few documents. Note, the printer's clarity is a little disappointing, so images are sometimes a bit blurry, but reasonable. I'm very happy with my device and think it is a great printer for its price.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Great little laser

published

Bought this little thing for about $80 after YEARS of inkjets that ran out of ink quickly and cost a bomb to replace. SO impressed with this printer...I’m sure you can get faster, even colour, but for what we paid it’s the best value home printer I’ve owned by far.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

TPT

TPTMELBOURNE

  • 83 reviews

This is a mixed bag.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Soulular2

Soulular2

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

A great little low volume printer

published

Easy to instal.. not plug'n'play... i had to instal the driver via the supplied cd, no big deal. Its good for what it is, maybe a tiny bit noisy ... and if you hammer it a too hard it'll overheat and go into cooldown mode after every three pages, apparently thats normal... it just chugs away three pages at a time til the jobs done no worries.
For the price its a wee beauty.
I keep mine well ventilated though when printing... safety first.
Oh and dont forget to buy a usb cord for it in case the checkout staff are too dull to let you know you'll need one.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
MargHarry

MargHarryYass

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good old workhorse!

published

Have not had any problems with this printer excepting replacing consumables and am very satisfied as it is nearly 4 years old and used constantly. I bought it for it's portability and wanted a B&W printer only as the cheap colour printers seem to fizzle out too quickly. This printer has outlived 3 of those. Very happy with my purchase.

Date PurchasedJul 2014
David G

David GAU

  • 10 reviews

Average printer

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Andracorr

AndracorrWA, 6171

  • 7 reviews

Fast and cheap.

published

This monochrome laser printer is an ideal entry level printer for someone who just wants a printer for easy economical printing of documents and receipts, it prints with amazing speed and will outdo similar inkjet printers, generic toners for this model can be purchased cheaply off eBay for as little as $13.50.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Sam L.

Sam L.SYDNEY

No USB in Box

published

I haven't even tested the printer yet because I don't have a USB to plug it in with. No USB Cable in the box! Pathetic! I'll use up the toner and then I'm going to chuck your piece of rubbish printer against the wall and never buy another brother product in my life... Its like selling a car with no tires.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

RickV

RickVMacquarie Links NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for the price.

published

Simple easy machine for my notebook. Not our only machine, just a simple value for money printer to sit next to the notebook upstairs, so we don't have to run up and downstairs for simple jobs. Excellent value for money, simple to install, cheap to run. Ah, yes it does not come with the USB cable, but at the price... I did look at the contents list and what else was needed on the side of the box...

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Hopeless...

published

Whose smart idea at Brother was it to sell a printer that doesn't come with a cable to use it for?
Cost cutting I understand, but at least make the product usable out of the box, and if not, at least make it known on the box to say that it is not included.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
seb

sebMillmerran

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very happy I have bought it.

published

A very good printer for the price and easy to install. It does not include a USB cable with it but it did not bother me since my old printer had the same cable. It's also very fast and does a decent printing job. It's the first "brother" that I own and I will most likely stick with the brand and invest in one of their colour printer next time.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
rolly Dizon

rolly DizonSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

fast and simple printer

published

very good for printing non delicate prints such as receipts, or just plain copy of anything on paper. very fast and so simple plug and print. not complicated and cheap but reliable black and white printer. so happy with the way i am using it. very much satisfied with the performance. thank you brother.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

chooky82

chooky82

  • 11 reviews

Suprisingly good for a cheap printer!

published

Ive had a couple of these printers now. They are super cheap on ink and are very fast to print. Both machines have lasted around 2 years which for a printer under $50 is pretty good. Only down side is ive had trouble cleaning it but for the price i dont mind.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

RUI

RUI

  • 2 reviews

perfect

published

It is a nice printer, and I thinks it is easy to handle, so I am rather satisfied with it. In addition, as an international student, this printer is a cost-effective product. A lot of my friends choose it. Since 2015, I never use the other printer. so recommend you to buy it.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Snappy little printer

published

This was a Great little printer. It is a handy size for my wife's desk. it is simple to use . the setup time was quick and easy and the printer was working inside 10 minutes. My wife is very happy with the printer and uses it almost every day..

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Zawar

ZawarGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good quality printer on a cheap price

published

A very economical b&w printer. I use it to print forms and drawings for my kids to color. The quality is good and the original toner cartridge keeps going (it has been more than a year). Great for occasional use at home.

Does not come with a USB cable, so it needs to be bought separately. You can buy it in store at Big-W, Good Guys etc. or cheaper online at Dick Smith etc.

I had one paper jam, but that was easily rectified by pulling out the cartridge, detaching the paper from it, and putting the cartridge back again. Other than that, no problems.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Josh

Joshasked

My hl1110 printer is always paper jamming
And also it prints dirty.what seems to be a problem? tnx..

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Brother representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.