1 photo
Brother HL-L2305W

Brother HL-L2305W

3.6 from 17 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Printers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Brother? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Rapid printing speed

  • Easy to connect

Reviews

3.6
17 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (11)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    3.7 (9)
  • Reliability
    3.4 (10)
  • Printing Speed
    3.8 (10)
Previous
Next
RBS
RBSGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Horrendous. Poor quality print. Needs constant cartridges. Expensive to run for bad print quality.

published

Horrendous. VERY Poor quality print. Needs constant cartridges. Expensive to run for bad print quality. DON'T BUY THIS RUBBISH. Actively advise not to spend your money on this machine, you will be very disappointed.

Purchased in April 2020 at OfficeWorks.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark R.
Mark R.
  • 8 reviews

Worst printer I've ever owned

published

Sometimes enters deep sleep and will not leave deep sleep. Deep sleep mode cannot be turned off from the normal menu options. You need to find a secret menu option by holding "down arrow" and "cancel" at the same time.

Sometimes leaves my wifi network randomly (1-2 months). When this happens it will not automatically reconnect. Every time I need to re-enter my wifi password. This would not be an issue except that entering the wifi password is a mammoth task. You need to scroll through the alphabet using the up/down keys for every single character.

I have not had this many issues with a printer since the early 2000s. Ancient technology.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Printers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

pretty good

published

Overall decent. Had it for a few months now. Only downsides are:
You may have to manually enter in your wifi password for it to connect to your network.
It does not automatically print double sided. To do that you have to print 'odd-side only' and then use that paper to print 'even-side' only.

Purchased at Officeworks for $110.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Printers

Find out how Brother HL-L2305W compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve
SteveSydney Surrounds, NSW

Goodluck setting it up with a long WiFI password

published

Purchased for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dani
Dani
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

I love it so much

published

I don’t think im getting a new printer anytime soon. This is very efficient and the design of it is good too! I can connect it with my phone which is amazing!

Incentivised Review No
Sunny
SunnyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Very fast and a lifesaver

published

Excellent product which prints very fast and i have been using paper handling via Mac to print on both sides of the paper thus reducing waste. I can print from my iphone as well, very handy

Purchased in August 2019 at Officeworks for $107.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dani
DaniSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Perfect!

published

I really like this printer. No hassle to connect to my computer and it prints perfectly. Also it can print ~~700 pages so it’s good for uni students with heaps to print!

Purchased for $118.00.

Incentivised Review No
Mat
Mat
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish

published

I bought this one for home, but it's a waste of money it's impossible to connect and use it with wifi. It's really expensive for what it is, a concentration of technology from 1995.

Purchased in May 2020 at office works for $118.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Printers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
J60913
J60913South East Queensland, QLD
  • 31 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellant Mono Printer, have been using them for over 10 years

published

Brother is an exceptional brand and I have only ever bought the mono printer, this time I purchased the wifi one and very happy with how easy it was to set up and I am able to print using my ipad or iphone. Quality is very good for a mono printer, just had to download an ap from the Apple App Store (free) Air Print and works very well.

Purchased in August 2018 for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Printers

Find out how Brother HL-L2305W compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David
DavidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Fast and easy to print over wifi

published

I bought this printer after getting frustrated with my samsung printer which stopped printing over wifi soon after purchase and I always needed to use the cord. This was often buggy. So I bought this cheaper printer black and white for quick printing needs. It has been super easy to use and the app is not buggy like my other printer. I would recommend this as a good cheap printer. The print quality is okay. Not premium quality but that's ok for me.

Purchased in June 2018 at Officeworks Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Callum M.
Callum M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unreliable in the extreme

published

Brand new item, purchased from Officeworks. Tenuous and intermittent connection to WiFi. Purchased the printer to use for work, have spent hours attempting to get it to print, which it's done on the odd occasion. Want to repeatedly put in your WiFi password using only up and down buttons? Buy this printer.

Purchased in May 2019 at Officeworks.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Functionality
Reliability
B Koh
B KohGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified

Pretty good but...

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TimC
TimCCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Much better with wifi and better price to last.

published

Had enough old brother inject printer of 10 years always run-out of lnk average 20 pages depends on context print and bleed mess. This Brother HL-L2305W much better for just black printing and last for long time to run out of Tone Black. The Drum last up-to 12,000 pages and Two Types of Toner is 1,200 pages or 1,600 pages depends how much print black context . My average printing about 60 pages a year.

Purchased in April 2019 for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Olivia C
Olivia CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

The best printer I have ever owned

published

Crisp clear prints, extremely quick printing for a household machine.
Love the double sided feature, as it saves so much paper. Toner is super affordable and lasts great.
So easy to connect to wifi and use Apple air print etc.
Do not waste your money on another “cheap” inkjet printers that cost hundreds in wasteful ink cartridges.

Purchased in January 2019 at eBay for $108.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Printers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
PaulM
PaulMGoondiwindi
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

a cheap fast reliable printer

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Printers

Find out how Brother HL-L2305W compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

shanaz o.
shanaz o.asked

How to connected to the mobile phone app

No answers
shanaz o.
shanaz o.asked

How can I connected to nbn

No answers
Alan P.
Alan P.asked

Can this printer be connected using a Personal Hotspot on an IPhone as opposed to a modem type network?

No answers
See all Brother HL-L2305W questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • Laser mono printer that offers black and white printing (doesn’t provide colour printing)
  • Prints A4 sheets of one-sided paper, so if you’re looking for larger printing-size options, this may not be the printer for you
  • Offers a maximum paper capacity of up to 251 sheets, so you don't have to constantly refill the paper tray
  • Wireless printer that connects to Wi-Fi, which offers the convenience of sending your document straight from device to printer

What reviewers thought about this printer:

  • This printer easily connects to handheld devices, such as a phone or iPad, via a Wi-Fi connection. However, some people had trouble maintaining this connection and needed to retype their Wi-Fi password multiple times to keep the printer working.
  • Reviewers mentioned that they weren’t expecting much for the price, but thought that the printer produced a decent quality that they were pleased with.
  • Many reviewers have praised the rapid print speed, with the printer capable of printing a higher volume of sheets than expected.
CategoryPrinters
Printer TypeLaser
Two-sided PrintingNo
Wireless OptionsWi-Fi
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print Speed 23 ppm
Printing Resolution2400 x 600dpi
Dimensions 183 x 356 x 360 mm
Weight5.7 kg
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.