??!
5 photos
Brother MFC-9140CDN

Brother MFC-9140CDN

MPNs: BRO-MFC-9140CDN and LED-PRB-MFC-9140CDN
3.8 from 17 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(3)
(5)
(1)
(1)


    spersephone

    spersephoneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

    • 34 reviews
    • 1 like
    • Verified purchase

    Very good when it's not playing up

    published
    Date PurchasedJul 2014

    Eabgle

    Eabgle

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    About 5 years brilliant service

    published

    Super happy after several tens of thousands of pages of printing - never had a problem but finally telling me it needs a new drum Many many changes of cartridges no other issue. Will buy the same or the replacement model as it has been faultless until it has now reached the end of its economic life
    P

    Date PurchasedAug 2013
    Marie N.

    Marie N.Sydney

    • 12 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Noisy and bulky but high quality prints

    published

    I've had this for over four years and never had a problem. It's easy to set up and connect, is reliable, and prints are crystal clear. Pretty cost effective too as you can use generic cartridges which are much cheaper, unlike some brands like Epson and HP which tweak the devices so you can only use original ones.
    My only beef (small details really) is its incredible noisiness, long wake-to-print time and that it won't print if colour cartridges are out. And it's massive :)

    Date PurchasedMay 2014
    iFudge

    iFudgeMelbourne

    • 3 reviews

    Average printer

    published

    I've had this printer since 2014 now. The features and operation of the printer are fine. I just ordered some replacement toner cartridges (x4 - one for each CMYK) off eBay for $50, so I guess that's ok. My main issue is the print quality and colour reproduction which I found to be very average. I've tried recalibrating it and using different presets, but hasn't seemed to make that much difference. I was getting better colour and quality from my old inkjet printer I replaced with this.
    If you could give half-stars I would have given it 2.5.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2014

    Keith2

    Keith2Adelaide

    • 41 reviews

    Great replacement for my broken MFC-9120CN

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2018

    Fandoog

    FandoogSydney

    • 4 reviews
    • 3 likes
    • Verified purchase

    Printer great - product support even better

    published

    I had trouble setting up the scanner. After trying all the things in the manuals (which are actually pretty crap), I contacted support, who suggested a reload of drivers. That didn't work, so they teed up a time and came on line, with my permission, at the appointed time, and fixed it in 10 minutes flat. They were on the phone as well, and tidied up my printer settings perfectly. It was a great service. The issue had been a redundant Dell folder by the way.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017

    ANTOINETTE

    ANTOINETTESouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    IT WORKS!!

    published

    Use this printer at home for every day work and school projects for the kids, works fine, but does leave black spots on my print outs not sure why?!! Over all it is an OK PRINTER would recommend for home but not for a company. The re-fills are quite cheap when bought online

    Date PurchasedMar 2015

    Leaves dents and ink marks on page

    published

    Most expensive printer I have ever bought. Goes through expensive ink quickly, leaves a permanent ink mark on 3 spots of the page and now leaves a dented column down the left side of the page. Don't use it that often, going back to a Cannon as this one is a major con!

    Lesley T

    Lesley TGunalda

    Embossing fault annoying

    published

    I have had my 9140CDN now since late may 2014, so just under 2 years. I run a small business and print letters and invoices. I have LOVED the printer up until now. Now the paper is embossed heavily down the left hand side (as you look at it) and I have tried the 'fix' on the Brother Troubleshooting page. I am really annoyed that now I am going to have to buy a new printer as I bought it from Dick Smiths and they are going out of business. Please fix this issue Brother.
    Lesley Thomson

    Paul

    PaulAuckland

    • 3 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Problem similar to Hanks of embossed mark on paper - how to fix

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2014

    • Verified purchase

    BrotherMFC printer repairs

    published

    Hi, I bought this machine in June 2014. Still having problems with inward fax receipt on a Telstra duet line. Other than everything has worked until March 2015 when I needed to replace the fuser assembly unit. This fault created 'embossing' on side of the paper. It was replaced under warranty. Now, 8 months later, the same thing is happening!! The repair clinic said it is a known issue with Brother and the poor quality parts they use. I am currently discussing direct with Brother to again repair under a 'warranty'. Replacement unit plus labour is the same cost as a brand new one. The printer repair clinic suggested a Fuji Xero 305df. Although some recent reviews of that aren't real flash. Will see you posted on progress with Brother.

    1 comment
    Hank
    Hank

    Update: Brother have agreed to replace the faulty unit under warranty as a goodwill gesture. Yippee! Hope this unit last longer than the last one.


    Nishan

    NishanSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 19 reviews

    Fantastic Laser Multifunction Centre

    published
    1 comment
    Nishan
    Nishan

    Still working very well with no issues. No regrets whatsoever.


    gsumantag

    gsumantagMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

    • 3 reviews

    excellent printer

    published

    This is just what I needed. It prints good enough. Scans very well and got fax too. I have it connected to my router thus it works as a WiFi printer for us. Drivers are good too. I needed a less intrusive driver software which would let me control what I want to do. Only downfall is when u scan & send ur documents directly to Google drive (using the drive plugin), it will produce very low quality PDF. No issues at all. The document feeder works beautifully.


    Janelle57

    Janelle57Maryborough

    • 2 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Had it a month now

    published

    This is what I've found in relation to my home office.

    1. It will not function properly on a dual line for auto answering of faxes/phone. My son has a home office and the same printer and he has the same problem.

    2. You cannot set the print function to mono and 2 sided print. It will do one or the other not both.

    Both these issues have been very frustrating but apart from that overall it's not too bad.

    PaulD

    PaulDAdelaide

    • 2 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Excellent Value Printer

    published
    hostie42

    hostie42AU

    • 23 reviews
    • 17 likes

    Exceeded my expectations

    published
    5 comments
    hostie42
    hostie42

    Just an update - 5 months later, the printer is still going well. No reliability problems. Still liking this printer a lot.

    hostie42
    hostie42
    hostie42
    hostie42

    Just noticed that another reviewer wrote that it can not print mono and 2 sided, but I have often printed mono 2 sided, so I believe that reviewer was mistaken.


    jhughes28

    jhughes28WA

    • 6 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Great printer

    published
    1 comment
    jhughes28
    jhughes28

    Update: printer is still going strong. I've only had to replace the ink once so far which is surprising, but good! Still very happy we got this one.

    Questions & Answers

    Iskra

    Iskraasked

    is it wifi compatible with windows 10?

    1 answer
    Eabgle
    Eabgle

    Hi not knowing your set up I cannot say definitely but it certainly works with our computers running Windows 10 and my I pad and I phone with latest systems


    Rog n.

    Rog n.asked

    I have had the printer for 4 years and it has worked wonderfully well. I am about to change internet provider and would like to know what I need to do to get the printer working on the new modem and wi fi network.

    2 answers
    Eabgle
    Eabgle

    I think it will change itself. We did nothing and it just worked !

    Rog n.
    Rog n.

    That sounds great. Will cross fingers as I move Ethernet Cable. Thnx for reply


    Mithra online work

    Mithra online workasked

    Hello sir, can anyone tell me how to enlarge the picture when I'd card should place scanner. When do I get toner refill powder for brother mfc 9140 cdn. How do I take Xerox from brother mfc 9140 cdn.

    2 answers
    Eabgle
    Eabgle

    You can copy and hit enlarge and print it bigger
    You can scan it and copy paste to a document then enlarge it
    It will tell you when you need to replace the toner “ replace black toner “ will show on screen
    To xerox I guess you mean copy. Place original on screen and hit copy

    Eabgle
    Eabgle

    In Australia I get new cartridges from the ink station


    Get an answer from our members and Brother representatives


    Download manual

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.