??!
1 photo
Brother MFC-J4620DW

Brother MFC-J4620DW

MPNs: 35905732, BRO-MFC-J4620DW and LED-PRB-MFC-J4620DW
2.8 from 21 reviews

Reviews

(5)
(2)
(3)
(5)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.5 (4)
  • Printing Speed
    3.8 (4)
  • Reliability
    4.0 (4)


Pretty much a dud...

published

Prints good, rarely jams. Just the loud snapping noise as it picks up paper to print. Not the ADF. I have owned multiple Brother printers and this was the first complete disappointment and dud. It will not stop me from other Brother product.

Purchased in February 2018 for $175.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

ink cost

published

Works fine but goes through ink at crazy rate,even if you don't use it much which wouldn't be a problem if the the genuine cartridges weren't so dear.The cartridge price for black is about $46.00 and the colour ones area about $34.00 .If the cartridges were half those prices it would be a good machine.

Purchased in June 2017 at Noel Leeming Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

Cost of ink makes it very frustrating. We will buy a continous ink system next time.

published

The print quality is useful for graphics but disappointing for photos. The wireless function is useful but slow. We take a laptop to it and use the usb cable. A3 printing is effective but naturally gobbles ink.

Purchased in July 2018 at Dick Smith for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

works like a charm

published

It is easy to use and can be set up easily using the wifi function too. I use it on my mac and windows too. The bad part or the negative about this printer is the price of cartridges as is the case with most other printer cartridges

Purchased in February 2016 at The Good Guys for $189.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

brissmith

brissmithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 25 reviews
  • 21 likes

Most reliable printer I ever owned

published

Reliable software. Doesn't introduce glitches or non usable functions.
Has the ability to print A3but not scan. Has small A4 form factor.
Cant really comment on ink usage as I allways use a CIS Continuous ink system so I never run out.
Weired squeal is a bit of a put off but it is not there all the time?
Happy to put up with that for reliability.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Stay away.. It's a rip off

published

Stay away.
They'll force you to buy all colour cartridges even if you want to print black and white
It's a big scam
Beware
You're going to spend full price of a printer or more on ink later.
It was tour worst experience with a printer.
Already paid $200 for cartridges not printing many pages. Stay away

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Barb

BarbNarrogin Western Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

It's OK, BUT... Noisey High Pitched sound when initialising

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Steve Z

Steve ZGold Coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works well

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sam C

Sam CBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great printer, all the features we need, never failed us!

published

Have owned for over 12 months now, use it for Uni/ Business use. Never had a program with it. The software on the computer crashed once maybe, an update to it fixed that. But its the most reliable printer I've owned and its not exactly an expensive model. Scans great quality, prints good quality. Just what we need.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Frozus

FrozusSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not very good

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Kezza

KezzaBrisbane

Worst printer I ever owned

published

The quality is absolute rubbish in colour and b&w. Then to top it off it decided to not work a week before warranty expired. Eventually they discovered a supply unit, but took three attempts to get a new one sent from Sydney. It worked for a few weeks and is now unusable. I wonder why the reviews rated it so highly? Never gain will I buy a Brother!!

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Annski

AnnskiSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unbelievably annoying! Don't buy it!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Swamp Fox

Swamp FoxBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a load of scrap

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Michele

Michele

  • 4 reviews

Very Good Printer

published

Replaced an older Brother Printer that died. I stayed with Brother because the cartridges are readily available in the small town where I live, because it's a reputable company that I can reasonably rely on and because it was bought at the local post office so easy to return if any problems. So far, so good apart from the first time I turned it on and it didn't like it. The Brother tech advised not to turn off but I don't use it often and weeks can go by without it being used. I don't want to waste power so it gets turned off and hasn't played up since.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
flapgum

flapgumSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

MAYBE

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Very disappointed

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

chris

chris

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Usually A Brother Fan, Not Now

published

I don't usually go to the effort of writing reviews, however I am so disappointed in this printer that I thought I would make the effort to hopefully help out others. I have had loads of brother printers and they have always been great, however this model feels cheap and nasty, clunky sounding when you remove the paper cartridge, this printer jams constantly, so frustrating and the noise it makes when it is talking the paper from the paper tray sounds like the whole thing is going to blow to pieces, it is a noisy, clunky, hunk of plastic. I do not recommend this printer, I really hope Brother improves quality in the future as this is garbage.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

  • Verified purchase

Was disappointed with the printer

published

I bought based on some internet reviews and attractive price for a printer boasting lot of features. However I am very disappointed with its print quality both B &W and colour. My 10 year old (other brand printer) was far better. Printing doc via wi-fi app jumbled up text. The colour printing is extremely dismal lacks saturation, creates shades and streaks. The mechanism for accessing LAN ports is fidgeting and won't close easily. One has to manage it with extremely caution not to break it. I didn't spent great on this printer and may be that is what I got as quality but in future I would rather spend extra $50- $60 for a better printer for home use. I will add photos to show later."

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Constant problems disconecting

published

Constant problems with it disconnecting from all my computers saying it was offline, etc. and having to re-configure. To top it off brother deleted my review from there website.


Phil390

Phil390Sydney

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Functional and economic, but not as easy to use as my old Lexmark

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

David L.

David L.asked

printer wont turn on.

No answers

Geri

Geriasked

My printer scrambles all the colours and when I print in black and white it is all blurred. I replaced all the ink cartridges and it has not improved it. What is the remedy for this?

2 answers
Barb
Barb

Sorry Geri - I haven't the faintest idea. My printer just makes a screeching noise when it hasn't been printing. Once that's finished it prints well. Can I suggest you google the problem. I know with our old printer (which is still working) there were items on the internet that helped me learn how to clean the print nozzles. If you are using genuine brother ink, then I would be going back to them to ask for a solution. Barb

Wardy_d
Wardy_d

Hi Geri. Better late than never, I hope. Have you tried a print head alignment. Just google it for this model. Best of luck.


Jeffrey B

Jeffrey Basked

just lost power only on second lot of ink since new just wont turn on from mains, any help?

1 answer
Barb
Barb

Sorry I have no idea what the problem can be. If you are using genuine brother Ink, I would be going back to manufacturers. It sounds too technical for me. My printer still makes a high pitched sound when initialising if I haven't used it for a few days. Print quality OK, but not as good as their earlier models. Kind regards Barb


Get an answer from our members and Brother representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.