??!
3 photos
Canon Pixma MG5765

Canon Pixma MG5765

MPN: MG5765
2.4 from 30 reviews

See the Best Printers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
5
1 star
13

When it isn't having issues, it works well.

published

Constant issues with connectivity to laptop, printer getting jammed, printing half double sided and the rest not. Ink constantly getting clogged/ not printing in all colours. Connectivity is really frustrating, not always connecting despite restarting a number of times. Keeps asking me to update it, but doesn't work when I go through the prompts. Often spools the paper crookedly so will jam.

Purchased in August 2018.


Sao

SaoSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

never buying canon again

published

Absolute crap … printer wont pick up paper …. practically new, hardly used this printer. I had a Brother printer for 6 years , besides the odd dried up ink blockage which was easily cleaned I never had a problem with it

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
Mark Fenton

Mark FentonSydney, NSW

Canon 5765 printer is a total nightmare....

published

Printer is a total waste of time...Canon help was just as useless...no back up no nothing....paper pick up mechanism total crap....no solution from Canon...never again...very unreliable printer...worst if all canon printers...sorry

Purchased in October 2018 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Mark Fenton
Mark Fenton

Canon should be ashamed of this model and give back up

Tom

TomSydney, NSW

5th printer

published

Totally understand the expectation that these machines won’t last.
But. Why why can’t these ink cartridges be used on another canon machine within the year. This happens every time I buy these cheap printers and spend hundreds on ink. Absolute rort.
Looking to buy another printer but can’t use the almost new cartridges I have.

Purchased in February 2018 at Officeworks for $70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

david

davidNorthern Region, NSW

HORRIBLE PRINTER.

published

work for a week although it would never feed the paper.
won't connect properly so it just won't work at all. tell you to follow the instruction on the smart phone but the do not appear. never buy a canon printer again. to many problems with this one. A complete waist of money.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers

Nomad

NomadDarwin

Cheap and nasty

published

This is the second time I have bought this printer and should have learned the first time but I didn't want to waste the expensive cartridges from first one. First time had nothing but problems connecting and printing via wifi. Second time have similar issues but today it is not registering paper in my cartridge and when it does it's telling me I don't have right paper settings. I change settings and manage to get it work but does this every time I want to print. I don't need these dramas when I need to print something. Will end up in the bin with the first one. Would not recommend this printer to anyone and my bet is the people providing good reviews here will have a different story in the months to come.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

andrew p

andrew pAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good quality printing, however manually feeding paper from day 1

published

The printer prints well, the quality looks good, however, regardless of how often I clean any dust, feather the paper, make sure not too many sheets are loaded, it still has trouble picking the paper every time so for the last 6 months I have manually feed page after page, which leads to its own set of problems ie slightly offset printing.

Using up the cartridges and then it goes into landfill.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Gizzyduck

GizzyduckSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does the job well

published

Printing quality is great.
Love having the individual colors so there is no wastage.
Love having the combined printer & scanner.
Is a bit noisier than my last Canon 6865 printer.
No problems so far.
No jamming so far... Did have it occasionally in my last printer 6865...but it didn't happen that often so it didn't bother me.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Hutchie

HutchieMackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Really poor colour quality

published

I have had the MG5765 for over 2 years and have tried various ink cartridges and settings but consistently get poor print quality from this printer.
Color print is not good though usable, but printing images and pictures are terrible.

There is no option in the print settings to choose a 'best quality' print and the standard setting is worse than the draft setting on my last printer.

I have not had the jamming problems that other people are complaining about but find it to be a lousy printer.
I usually buy HP printers and have never had a bad one so back to HP next time.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Hutchie
Hutchie

Amazing value for money

published

The print quality is far better than my last much more expensive printer. The price of refills seems very competitive. So far the reliability is excellent, have had no problems at all. I can't understand those who say it is difficult to install. For use with cable it's pretty much plug and play. I haven't tried the wifi yet

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Paula

Paula

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

worst printer ever

published

i have had it for 2 hours
it has jammed, cancelled my print jobs in the middle
of printing them and takes upto 4 minutes to get job and print
i have always had canon this must be a taiwan relabel job
as it doesnt live up to the previous canons I have had
taking it back tomorrow

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Acton

Acton

  • 22 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Home Printer 2018 Australia

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

kess

kessAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic for the price

published

Bought this Canon to replace one I had had for several years. It is ideal as a home printer/scanner. Very easy to use. Excellent quality print and I love that its white and matches my desk and computer. Very satisfied indeed especially as it is very reasonably priced. Very good for photos too

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Gezz

GezzMelbourne

Worst paper holder ever

published

I bought this Canon to replace a similar Canon which is my 3rd Canon. The older MG7160 was a good printer. This 5765 throws all printed paper on the floor as the out tray is far too short to hold paper-very frustrating.
Whilst the 7160 connected to my WiFi automatically I am still not able to connect even with a computer person next door to assist. Does Canon look at these reviews?

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Dad95

Dad95Queensland, Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Enjoy trouble shooting?

published

I have had this printer for around 3 months, I have had to re install and reset the software around 7 times. If you enjoy trouble shooting then this printer is for you. Good work Canon, I never knew printing could be so frustrating. Perhaps it works better as a hard wired machine but that's not why I bought it. I didn't know I could hate an inanimate object so much.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Easy wi-fi setup, after market print cartidges less than $4 each

published

Printer was a breeze to setup eith the wi-fi option that connects to home router.
Printed a colour test page that was great.
Ordered ink.... 10 x compatible ink PGI-670 XL CLI-671XL for Canon PIXMA MG5760 MG5765 MG5766 for $36.21 including postage fom ebay.
Bought this printer for $69.... mostly so that i couldget after market ink cartridges.
Very happy.with purchase....

Canon is very bad for the environment as they change the ink cartridges with each printer update..... to try to ensure u buy the genuine ink cartidges
No user-serviceable parts are available for canon printers.
Canon should impliment a return to seller recycle program.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

paul

paulSouth Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

complicated to set up paper jams

published

reasonable print for ever to set up wireless designed not clear
expensive small refills. wouldn't recommend was sold by the sales person at office works as the best it is not. paper jams constantly poor colour printing. doesn't suite or needs will go and buy some thing else expensive andfrustrating

Date PurchasedOct 2018

worst printer ever!

published

I bought MG5765 From Office works 13 January 2018. Replacing the inks, very early, Within 300 copies the Yellow head died. After an hour spent on the phone to Canon support, I was told to have it Serviced by Canon Specialist. I returned the faulty device to Office works & collected a similar replacement. The second one lasted less than a week before the same problem arose. Faulty yellow head. It to was returned to Officeworks, who refunded my money. I'm now looking for another reliable printer. Probably be the last canon I'll buy.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Cammy P.

Cammy P.Geelong

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good enough

published

The was very easy to set up and the refill cartridges are not that hard to find. It does what it is supposed to do and it prints and scans clearly. However, the only problem I had with this is it jams from time to time. I have already tried using a different brand of paper but it still jams.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Pete

PeteAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good low volume printer for the money.

published

Given what I paid for this printer, I am very happy with it.

The app is easy to install on iOS and Android. Printing from mobile and desktop works well.

Scanning works quite well also, you can save direct to google drive but cannot select the location which is a bit frustrating.

The main negative I have is the paper tray is not big enough to catch the paper which is printed and this falls all over the floor.

We don't use it more than a couple of times a month so it's good for our needs.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Teddy

Teddyasked

WHERE is maintenance tab to adjust abrasion?
on MG5765

1 answer
Mark Fenton
Mark Fenton

This printer is a total nightmare....and sorry but do not know that. Only way is to call Canon and ask for technical support.....Good luck with that....rgs


Jason D.

Jason D.asked

Why when I print a page every 5th line is blurry.

2 answers
Mark Fenton
Mark Fenton

This printer model is racked with faults...only way around it is to 're print that page again on it's own. The paper feeder is faulty and Canon simply refuses to do anything about them or have some sort of update. Extremely poor of Canon....Past Canon were quite good....these are a nightmare. Best solution use an HP ....they never have problems....Geeeee thanks a big lot ....Canon

Mark Fenton
Mark Fenton

Try to claim the printer under warranty....if you still can. Simply put they are a freaking nightmare. I will never ever EVER buy a canon again....Each time I need to print a doc from my fone I go to my mates place....he has a HP...works perfectly each time. Hope that helps. Canon simply just does not care......bad


Mark Fenton

Mark Fentonasked

Do canon have any solutions for this piece of junk Printer??? The Wi-Fi and paper feeding mechanism is at best faulty...I bought 2 of these machines and are going into the rubbish bin....cartridges are so expensive

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP)$79
Printer TypeInkjet
Cloud PrintingYes
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Wi-Fi CompatibleYes
Height148mm
Print from PhoneYes
Width455mm
Depth369mm

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: MG5765

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.