??!
1 photo
Canon Pixma G3600

Canon Pixma G3600

1.8 from 16 reviews

Reviews

(1)
(1)
(1)
(3)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (10)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.1 (9)
  • Printing Speed
    2.2 (9)
  • Reliability
    1.3 (10)
katy lynn

katy lynnRichmond-Tweed, NSW

disaster unfolded

published

i bought this printer at a post office set it up and it worked for a few weeks
then stopped working. i rang canon and got no help they had all gone home cause of coronavirus
they referred me to a link which didn't work
something is clearly wrong with these canon pixma printers
I'm experienced at fixing canon printers cause my last printer was a canon
but could not fix this one
luckily they gave me a refund at the post office
kathy ingram

Ashmowerman

AshmowermanGriffith

  • 2 reviews

Very poor quality

published

You need those big ink tanks as you use most of the ink doing deep cleans trying to get it working.
I've had the printer replaced twice under warranty, canon was once a great printer manufacturer not anymore

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $480.00.

Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
ruffmutt

ruffmuttQueensland

Definitely don't buy one!

published

As the recent reviews have stated, this printer is a piece of rubbish. Endless hours of cleaning, deep cleaning and system cleaning to no avail. Even when I got it to print correctly , it would only print 4-6 pages then the cleaning process would have to start again. Once out of warranty, it then came up with systems error which could not be reset. Cannon support told me to take it to my nearest authorized repairer, 210km away. I have thrown it in the bin, never to buy another cannon again!

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $469.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma G3600 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Reb

Reb

  • 2 reviews

Useless

published

Ink seems to dry out if it is not used regularly (weekly) and have to do test prints for hours before the ink starts to show again. Really disappointed. Plus unlike other printers that are a quarter of the price, it will not print envelopes that fit a4 in them.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
WJS

WJSPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Don’t buy one!

published

Bought a PIXMA G3600 for $488 in June 2019. It has rarely worked since. Intermittently it wont print, scan or copy. Canon support has been very poor and the problems continue in spite of numerous hours on the phone trying to resolve the multiple issues. Alas, it has been to no avail with the last customer support person just suggesting that I return it to to store of purchase. I will. It it a very expensive waste of time with Canon offering scant support. Very poor product quality. If thinking of buying one - don’t!

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $488.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Reliability
See all answers

Please do not buy this printer. After certain number of prints goes into default fault and stops working.

published

After one year occasional printing went into 5b00 code fault. I was told by Canon has to be taken to the authorized repair shop. Printer is OK and all is good but fault is encoded in the motherboard and can be only reset by them. It will cost near as much as new printer. Please do not buy it. When you are printing picks several pages at once.

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $429.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
Ozzyramjet

OzzyramjetPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Built in failure mode: code 5b00

published

Canon has put in place a built in failure mode: code 5b00. The printer will self fail at a set number of prints. Code shows ink pad full but it's a lie. Your perfectly good printer will fail no matter what when it reaches a certain number of prints. This is like owning a car that is set to go to the wreckers when it reaches a particular mileage. Just outrageous - Canon should be sued with a class action! B astards.

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
slightly pevved

slightly pevved

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

printer rage

published

when it works as expected it is ok does the job,
however it has regular issue where it prints half a page, spits that out then re starts the print again, cant find any help in trouble shooting, always claims no issues found. Only positive point is the ink usage is low.

I am sure that their are hugely better options out there, just need to free my time and find a slaeman that is not biased due to sales returns

Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

We recently purchased this printer because we liked the claim that the ink would last up to 4 years! It’s a little noisy when getting ready to print and the print quality isn’t as good as we were expecting. The double sided printing is not automatic and a little frustrating to use.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $480.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma G3600 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lee

LeeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I wonder how many complaints will come through once printer is 18months - 2 years old

published

Purchased in January 2017 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Lee
Lee
P.T.

P.T.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

It is rubbish.

published

Went to buy a HP, but salesman said the ink would work out much cheaper because you fill the bottles in the printer. It is new out he said, and the price was far more than I wanted to pay. However with the ink being cheaper, I bought it. Now I am told by Canon that I can't do two sided printing, because I work on an iMac computer. It is only windows that you can do two sided print. All the money I spent and I have a useless printer. Of course it is Apples fault that I can't do two sided. Funny but I could do it with my HP that has died after around 9 years.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Physical Store for $465.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Printing Speed
See all answers
Leigh K.

Leigh K.Wimmera, VIC

Great printer, till it errors out

published

Have had this printer for 2 years, it worked fine for the first year or so, then chewed most of its ink up doing multiple print head cleans as it refused to print either black or a color, quite regularly. Now its decided that its got a 5B00 error, and refuses to print at all. A canon repair place straight off says min $80 to look at it, probably $200+ to fix... And we have new ink sitting here for it, another $100 wasted.

Purchased in April 2017 at Harvey Norman for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
Guy Osborne

Guy Osborne

  • 2 reviews

Hate this Product and HP Print Assist

published

Hate this product. Buy this and expect to waste hours getting it working. The print assist are absolutely useless. They don't know what they are doing so try to blame windows for blocking the printer and then suggest this is not their issue. Dreadful.

Purchased in May 2019 for $380.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Don

DonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Broke down after 18 months!

published

Printer was good for the first 6 months.
Then the inkjets would block every month, even though I used it weekly as I knew inkjets tend to dry out if not used regularly.
Constantly needed to perform cleaning operation to unblock the nozzles.
Now after 18 months it has thrown up an error code "5b00" and will not work any more.
Canon advised me to contact my nearest repairer, so I did, but the cost to fix outweighs the cost of a new "cheaper" printer.
I contacted Canon again and they said they could do nothing about it.
Now I'm left with a $500 printer ready for the rubbish.
Never spending big money on a printer again, $75 dollar cheapies for me now.

Purchased in July 2017 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
Reliability
See all answers
nettisketti

nettiskettiSouth Mission Beach

  • 2 reviews

Love this printer!

published

Outlaying almost $500 was a lot for a printer only but I needed a printer that would not need constant ink refilling while still ahead of the game price wise. This printer has been in constant use since I bought it 4 months ago, and with its easy to view resevoirs, is barely half way through the ink. I have probably used 8 reams of paper and most of my printing has been in colour. The price of the refills is negligable and you will certainly know when you are due to refill a colour. The print quality is great. I have also printed photos to glossy paper and they turned out beautifully. There have been no problems, nor should there be, so very happy overall with this printer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma G3600 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WittyBlueEye

WittyBlueEyeIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Economical Ink Friendly Printer

published

Initial setting up was extremely easy. Print quality is very good. The built in Ink Cartridges will help you save money in the long term. No longer need to replace normal ink cartridges ever again. Simply fill or top up the eco-friendly visible tanks. It is great value and very economical to use with great features. Works extremely well with an iMac computer. Use it frequently for printing out every day documents and for printing addresses on envelopes. The only disappointment is that this printer cannot do auto duplex printing, otherwise it is a great printer and would highly recommend this product.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Questions & Answers

Hodge B.

Hodge B.asked

I brought this printer in 2017 12 months later got a replacement 2018 12 months later same problem am awaiting for info supplier has any body else had the same problems love the printer hate what it is with colours cannot change anything I only am printing from my iPad what do I do

No answers
hexter

hexterasked

Can you print onto polymer paper if had a role to go through it

No answers
Bantam_Pilot

Bantam_Pilotasked

I've just bought the 3610 wireless printer and I've only had it up and running for 12 hours so no firm opinion on it yet. It puts ink to paper acceptably so far. My question is about the actual tanks - after being filled. After 70 mL went into each colour tank and 135 mL went into the black tank (measurements off bottles) only the black tank is full. Red and blue are half full and yellow is nearly full. Nothing is leaking out the bottom so are the tanks themselves different capacities ? Can't find an answer on the interweb.

2 answers
WittyBlueEye
WittyBlueEye

Cannot answer your question fully. All I can say is that the new bottles that came with the unit weren't totally full according to it's capacity size as was stated on each bottle. Please check to ensure that there is no minor leaks within the unit itself. Check for any minor cracks within each tank, otherwise refill as necessary, or take it to your nearest service centre to have it checked out under warranty purposes. You will find that the black tank has a larger capacity tank than the others. The colour tanks have a much smaller capacity.

Bantam_Pilot
Bantam_Pilot

Definitely no leaks or cracks. No mess under the printer. Ink tanks holding at current capacity.

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.