??!
1 photo
Canon Pixma TS9160

Canon Pixma TS9160

2.9 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (8)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.7 (7)
  • Reliability
    3.1 (7)
  • Printing Speed
    3.1 (7)
Previous
Next
The Culinary Library.com

The Culinary Library.comSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 22 likes
  • Verified purchase

Epic Fail

published

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

Not the best printer!!!

published

Not the best printer. I needed a new printer when my canon pixma TS8160 constantly jammed paper so settled on the TS9160 as I had many new ink cartridges and found that the TS9160 used the same cartridges. In lockdown Melbourne I was restricted on travelling any distance and a needed a new printer urgently. I purchased the TS9160 from Cartridge World $185.00 - not the cheapest price. It is VERY noisy when preparing to print, when printing and when it has finished. It sounds like a chaff cutter.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
vadi

vadiSoutheast, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

So unbelievably slow

published

I bought the Canon TS9160 2 months ago based on industry information. It has been a constant disappointment. The quality of when and if it prints is first class, but it is inconsistent. I have never had such an astonishingly slow printer, sometimes taking 30 minutes to complete 3-4 page documents. Often it will get stuck on a page and take 15 minutes to print it. Although this is only 2 months old, I will have to replace it with something that actually gets the job done. A lemon.

Purchased in July 2020 at Ink Station Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS9160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
justin83

justin83

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Recommended

published

great product for the home user.

print, photo print, scan, copy...it does it all seamlessly, and it's small and compact so doesn't take up a lot of space.

I paid $169 for this printer. stop your search and just go with this printer, you won't find a better printer for under $300.

Purchased in February 2020 at Amazon for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 52 reviews
  • 59 likes
  • Verified purchase

Almost Flawless

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Badgey1

Badgey1Hobart, TAS

Very happy with this Canon for my home office

published

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Jade

JadeGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great printer but ink is so expensive

published

I spotted this printer at our local Officeworks and loved the design as it was a lot more modern then other printers for sale. It’s fantastic and I haven’t had any problems at all, the printer itself is reasonably priced the only thing that outweighs it for me is the cost of ink and if one colour runs out before the other it’s difficult to bypass and be able to use the printer still and the cost is ridiculous, I paid $160 and it didn’t last long.

Purchased in March 2018 at Officeworks for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
RAMSydney

RAMSydneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy this printer. It's a piece of junk that's soooo frustrating to use.

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Officeworks for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Rod Bryan

Rod Bryan

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Canon 9160 has no ADF

published

The canon 9160 maybe a home printer but it feels very fragile to use. Most importantly Canon neglects to tell you it foes not have an ADF so every scan and copy has to be done manually via the glass. This fact alone has made my decision to purchase a regretted one.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS9160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Persistent

PersistentNorthfield

  • 2 reviews

Canon Pixma TS9160 OK for a day!!

published

Had 5 of these printers ,2x TS9060 and 3x TS9160 within the last 14 months! ( I am persistent, I like the compact design and, when working, the quality of output) but in each instant codes 1240 and 1259 keep recurring and cannot be cleared. I have contacted Canon who have tried to help with replacing 3 of the printers, also Officeworks, from whom I brought the first one and replaced with the 5th one . Excellent service but !!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
C J

C JMelb

  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes

Excellent print quality and easy installation

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Crossrip

CrossripSydney, NSW

  • 42 reviews
  • 31 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent wireless inkjet printer, great for photos

published

Fast, high quality, wireless printer, just what I need. Once set up, it is easy to use. Setting up the wireless printing is a little tricky, but the manual explains how to do it. I print direct to the printer from my iPhone and iPad!

I bought the printer because I want to print 6x4 photos and it does this very well. The individual ink tanks are great for colour printing and getting the colour right. It has a cassette for A4 paper and duplexer to enable double siding.

I haven't used the Copy, Scan functions, I think I will need to read the manual for that.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Questions & Answers

Heather T

Heather Tasked

I have had 5 different models of Canon Pixma printers and have always been able to continue printing even though it says that the ink cartridges were empty, by holding down the stop button for 5 seconds or so. I now have the TS9160 and it absolutely refuses to print even in greyscale because 3 of the cartridges are showing as empty. I printed a nozzle check and all the colours printed out fine even though they are supposed to be empty. Does anyone now if there is a bypass for this. There is still a lot of ink in those "empty" cartridges!

2 answers
Fred
Fred

When the printer indicates that the cartridges need replacing I have always replaced the cartridges. I do not know anything about a bypass.

Heather T
Heather T

Thanks!

eric walker

eric walkerasked

does the ts9160 print on discs

1 answer
thubleau2
thubleau2

Canon PIXMA TS9160 Red Multifunction Colour InkJet Wireless Printer
- Print / Copy / Scan
- A4 Printing
- Print on CD: Direct Disc Print using Canon Inkjet SELPHY App
- Pages Per Minute Mono: 15.0ipm
- Pages Per Minute Colour: 10.0ipm
- Connectivity: USB 2.0, Wireless
- Paper Input Qty: 100 Sheets
- Warranty: 12 Month Return To Base

june.dennis

june.dennisasked

two sided printing

1 answer
Badgey1
Badgey1

Yes

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesScanner
Two-sided PrintingNo
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print from PhoneYes
Print Speed 15 ppm
Printing Resolution4800 x 1200dpi
Scanning Resolution2400 x 4800dpi
Dimensions 140 x 372 x 324 mm
Weight6.7 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.