??!
2 photos
Cel-Fi

Cel-Fi

4.2 from 124 reviews

Reviews

4.2

124 reviews
5
(83)
4
(17)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(15)
Previous
Next

Do not purchase Cel-Fi

published

Cel-Fi (Telstra) does not work in all areas especially on the Sunshine Coast. I troubleshooted with Powertec who provide this product in Australia for over 8 hours, all a complete waste of my time. Therefore, do not waste your money or time with this product. Now I have to go through the agonizing process of getting a refund all whilst having no improvement with signal.

Purchased in April 2020 at powertec.

Travelling in our van and works can fantastic.

published

So simple and works. Plugged in aeriels, downloaded Wave app to Reno Oppo and S10. Registered device, synced phones, got 5 bars.
Great product, highly recommend to increase signal.
We wifi to Telstra TV box from phones and hasn't missed a beat. Only have the mini aerial atm.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$720.00.

Shaun S.

Shaun S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Works well on 3g. Not much difference on 4g.

published

I have a car unit that I also unplug and use in a Sorrento beach house
In Sorrento it boosts the 3g signal from 0-1 bar to 3 bars it goes from not being able to make a call to acceptable browsing.
However on 4g anywhere it says it's boosting strength often between 7-9 however makes no difference to the phone still on 1 bar. Can't brows or make reliable phone calls in Sorrento when set to boost 4g.

Purchased in December 2019 at eBay for A$900.00.

Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

At last my other devices get signal from my phone

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Telstra Centro Gympie for A$816.00.

T Brown

T BrownMid North Coast, NSW

Average, useful when it works.

published

Installed Telstra celfi and external aerial probably 1 or 2 years ago. Experienced drop outs straight away after installation. Complained to the distributor within the first week and was told nothing was wrong. Had probably 10 drops outs today alone. Works sometimes. Better than nothing but very frustrating.

Purchased at Fetter comunication for A$1,500.00.

Man cave

Man cavePerth, WA

Internal shed usage

published

I live in a high populated suburb in Perth where the Optus tower signal is very week, many complaints have been made about the tower but the neighbors and i have a very weak signal. 1 bar in the house and 1 to 3 bars outside. I built a 6x6 shed man cave and the tin totally blocked the remaining signal. So i ordered a cel fi unit, i explained my situation to the rep and they sent a box set which was the wrong setup for my situation, so i returned it and got the base model setup. I could not get this to work after several emails i gave up for a awhile. I had a HTC phone which had charging issue and i got a samsung 10 and tried it again and away it went. I know have 4 bars inside my shed. A dam great invention, i totally recommend it.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$1,350.00.

SJK

SJKSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

I have two units in a house in Brisbane. Both have ceased to work. I have no mobile phone service without them. Replacement cost over $1,000 each. I would have believed that these units would have a longer life.

Tony

TonyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Well how about that

published

I bought a Cel-Fi Telstra fitted to a 2016 Falcon and my phone is a Samsung Note 8.
I had a major project that required a lot of discussion. I was in Toowoomba and was travelling to Caboolture for a function. I departed Toowoomba tracking north through Highfields to Hampton, turned right across the range to Esk turned left and tracked to just north of Toogoolowah then right on the back road around Somerset to Kilcoy then over the hills down to Caboolture.
I held one conversation the entire way and did not drop out once.
Holy snapping duck poop Batperson.....
These things are just bloody brilliant. Sort of like the good old days when you could attach an external antenna to your Nokia but you don't have to plug it in.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$995.00.

Frankie93

Frankie93Perth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

We Can Now Use Our Mobiles at Home

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Expensive and Limited

published

Just checked with Cell-fi NZ and each unit is locked to one network provider so no good for visitors etc who are on a different network. Very expensive ( around NZ$1,300) with this limitation. Much cheaper to go with 2 degrees who have Wi-Fi calling at no extra cost.

Darryl

DarrylSydney

  • Verified purchase

Excellent signal Cowan Creek area.

published

I installed the Cel-Fi Marine Pack unit on our 53 foot trawler. The antenna is about 6 metres above the water. I leave the unit set to “auto” and we are consistently getting 2 bars or more with Telstra. We tried it in bays where without the unit reception is almost nonexistent and we could make calls from all of them. As I write this we have 3 bars in Houseboat Bay. In Smith’s Creek and at Cottage Point (both usually terrible) we had good reception and made calls. Internet is much better, in fact I was able to run the Foxtel app on my phone as we cruised into the end of Smith’s Creek. My Wife and I are very happy with this unit.

Colin

ColinWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great little unit

published
MarkP

MarkPBoronia

Works as advertised.

published

Installed a Cell-Fi Go Marine kit today at lake Eildon. Worked as advertised from 1 bar to 4 bars on IPhone X on 4G. Very Happy with the system along with the boats parked next to me who also now have cell service.

Big Kev

Big KevMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Life saver in remote areas

published

I have the mobile version fitted to my Landcruiser, truckers edge antenna on the roof with a folding mount and the cel-fi unit under my drivers seat. In areas where the signal strength wavers between nothing and one bar I am getting 3 to 4 bars on my iPhone. I go from virtually no ability to use the internet to browsing and uploading videos of my trip to the WA goldfields.
If there is no signal at all don’t expect miracles.. 10 x nothing is nothing, but if you have even a hint of a signal this unit rocks. All my travel companions gather round my cruiser at the camp site. :)

Brilliant this has changed everything!

published

We only had one bar of 3G on our kitchen windowsill on a good day. We live in a old very large homestead with thick stone walls.
We now have full 4G power Throughout the house and for a good 50m or more around the outside. This brilliant system has changed everything.. We can now run our business without interruptions. Definelty worth doing.

Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Problems that still haven't been solved

published
2 comments
Cel-Fi
Paul B.Cel-Fi
Cel-Fi
Paul B.Cel-Fi

Hi Cooper, I understand you had a device locking issue (a requirement added by the carrier). We believe this has now been addressed but please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any more questions.

rossyabroad

rossyabroadMaryborough

  • 2 reviews

Not bad but beware of nonsense

published

Our business has owned about 10 units consisting of different models of cell-fi signal boosters over the years. For us the cell-fi go (stationary kit) has actually been by far the most consistent and best performing. I did note however a review in this section saying that supplier (I think most of us know who they are) claimed the reason a unit wasn't working was because of 5Ghz interference.

We were given this excuse as a reason for one of the earlier models we owned not working properly. We disproved this by turning off every other piece of transmitting equipment we had on the entire site! It made not difference at all! So if you are given this nonsense excuse as a way for them to fob you off - don't take it lying down!

1 comment
Cel-Fi
Paul B.Cel-Fi
JRT

JRTGRAFTON

Cel Fi Go... Stands for paper weight!!!

published

I've had my celfi go piece of crap now for over 12 mths, its mounted in my truck that I do long haul around the country inn, I can tell you down to the white post beside the road on any HWY in the county when Signal comes in and when signal drops out, this thing was supposed to be the greatest thing sines slices bread, it's a useless piece of crap!!! I've spoken to support many times, I've sent the thing back to be checked, they say it's works fine, the thing does nothing at all. Save ya money folks, your better off using 2 cups joined with string!!!

Telelynx

Telelynx

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Useless

published

Link drops out all the time. Support blame it on 5Ghz interference. We have no 5Ghz devices running. The unit falls over every time you try a speed test from your phone using HSDPA, total waste of time and money

2 comments
Cel-Fi
Paul B.Cel-Fi

Hi Telelynx - It sounds like you have a Cel-Fi PRO as there can be 5Ghz interference - this is one of the problems that can affect a small % of products. The unit should not fall down and I recommend you reconnect with Support department again.

Telelynx
Telelynx

I have no more time to waste on it, unless you have a firmware upgrade, the support I've had to date has been at all helpful

Cell fi go a waste of money

published

The cellfi booster I bought for my car was a waste of money but I did send it back and I did get a refund.
If you want to get maxx reception you are better to buy a full built in truckfone and are cheaper.

1 comment
Cel-Fi
Paul B.Cel-Fi
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

John A

John Aasked

I keep getting a SMS saying that a firmware update is available for my cel-fi go-go. Wave says the software is up to date . What is the difference between firmware and software and how do you update firmware

No answers
LisandLeif A.

LisandLeif A.asked

Can I use both my iPhone and iPad on the cel fi. I tried to download the app on my iPad as well, it comes on but it won’t connect

No answers
Gavin B.

Gavin B.asked

Hi,
I have recently bought a Telstra Go Stationary and I am having difficulty registering it. The rest of the family are on Optus and we already have a Cel-Fi booster for it. So when I opened the Wave app, which I already had on my phone it didn’t give me the option to register the Go Station. I am not sure how to do it now or who to call? Any help would be appreciated.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Cel-Fi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.