??!
1 photo
Dux Prodigy 4
4.3 from 103 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

103 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (74)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (78)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (63)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (71)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (74)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.9 (74)
  • Heating Speed
    4.8 (75)
Previous
Next

Good experience

published

Replaced the old unit with the new one! At first, I bought the wrong one, the plumber came in and helped me to order the right one! Only the next day, , the new unit was delivered and installed! Good product plus excellent staff!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dux hot water broken after 6 month. Dux refuse to fix!!! do not BUY DUX.

published

I bought a DUX gas storage hot water system. It stopped working and started making a terrible whistling sound. My neighbour was disappointed due to noise and almost called the police. When I called DUX they refuse to fix it. DUX say over the phone without visiting the site that the problem water pressure and there is nothing they can do about it. A hot water system is supposed to last 8 years my one broken after 6 months. DUX refuse to fix it. Do not buy DUX. DUX look good value at bunnings but do not let DUX fool you like me.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Dux
Dux C.Dux
James M.
James M.
Jen

Jen

  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

Replaced a Dux twenty-five year old unit - very happy- installation quick and professional. Was installed within 2 days. We would recommend this product and the Bunnings installation process to anyone.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,326.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fab

FabSydney, NSW

Great!

published

Replaced the tired hot water unit with the Prodigy 4, the install was quick and the hot water is perfect for our six adult family.Great value for money. Highly recomended.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size6 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bruce M

Bruce MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good product with fast, efficient & friendly service

published

This Dux Prodigy replaced a similar model, which worked efficiently & effectively for over 21 years, and we are hopeful of getting another 20+ years from this new & improved model. After comparing costs with other options, it also proved a great value for money option. We purchased it from Bunnings, and they also arranged installation & delivery for an all inclusive price. The installer arrived promptly and was very professional and courteous. Whilst early days still, it works very well.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nitin G.

Nitin G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent Product and Service from DUX/Bunnings

published

I bought a property which came with Dux Proflow III and it was installed in the year 2003 and was running gracefully since then. After successful 18 years of service it retired and the decision was easy to replace it with the same Dux model but advanced one Prodigy 4. As expected, the delivery and installation service from Bunnings/Dux was prompt and so professionally completed that it deserves a 5 star rating.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Helen Li

Helen LiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Reliable Unit

published

We installed this unit one month ago, bought it from Bunnings and happy with it. The last unit is the same brand, which was there when we moved in. Its tank was leaking and it is up to 20 years since the year made. So we called for same unit as replacement.

Purchased in December 2020.

1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mick

Mick Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great Australian made unit

published

Our old hot water unit decided to go on a one way holiday , so we when to Bunning to find a replacement unit , we decided on Dux because it was Australian made .
Had the unit now for about 3 week and with a family of 4 adults and an infant , we have had plenty of hot water and everyone is happy .

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Hock Toh

Hock TohPerth, WA

Great product as usual.

published

We bought this unit from Bunnings and installed it last month, very happy with the product and the installation service by their contractor. Our old unit was also a DUX which last us 18 years, that's why we replaced it with the same brand without any doubt.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Victor

VictorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dux The Perfect Hot Water Heater

published

1) Aussie Call Center best response ever from Susie
2) The replacement was organized for the following day (Fantastic)
3) The water heater is reliable never runs out of hot water
4) Storage water heaters don't need Electricity and you dont wait for hot water unlike the continuous flow
5) I went outside today and gave Dux water heater a hug

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Ian S.

Ian S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Totally in a new world with this new hot water system.

published

With four people using the new hot water system no one has complained about not having a long hot shower or bath. Not one complaint about the temperature fluctuation.Thanks Dux.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $972.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MICHAEL DENING

MICHAEL DENINGGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great system perfect replacement for our old Prodigy 3

published

Great replacement hot water unit after our Prodigy 3 packed it in after 10 years Really happy with after sales service and the installation was without drama very Happy Customer and glad to be enjoying hot water again

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Chris D.

Chris D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fails 1 month after warranty finishes and Dux could not care less

published

Hot water service decided to explode from the top 27 days past the "warranty" period. Contacted Dux thinking they might have some half decent customer service however found the lady on the phone basically telling me bad luck out of warranty nothing we can do. Quality service that your units aren't exactly cheap and yet just after warranty it fails!!!!

Purchased in October 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
12 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Chris D.
Chris D.

Sent you the info but still haven’t heard anything back in more then 10 days now

Dux
Dux C.Dux
Devon

DevonSydney, NSW

Reliable and Trustworthy

published

Had an old Dux Proflo which lasted up to 20 years when it began leaking. Tried to search for a new unit as soon as possible and Dux was the only company that were easily accessible (alongside organised service through Bunnings), so it was decided to stick with the same brand.

The installation of the unit was quick and efficient. There are no regrets so far as everything works fine and it is quick and easy to get constant hot water. Great value and product, especially with the time and hassle saved by Bunnings organising installation for Dux products.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $878.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ERaimondo

ERaimondoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Very reliable hot water heater

published

We replaced our Dux Proflo which we had for almost 20 years with a Prodigy 4, so far it’s been very good,4 Adults and we don’t run out of hot water.
In our experience Dux are a long lasting and reliable hot water heater.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Online Store for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lurch16

Lurch16Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Replaced old Dux with new Dux

published

15yr old gas Dux 135L replaced with same. Old unit was leaking slowly but still functioning. Ordered through Bunny’s and their independent plumber and installed next day as arranged. In-store price of unit alone $854. Learned that the corrosion protecting anode could have been replaced at about 5 yrs. for longer life. Had no issues with old Dux which is why I chose Dux again. Aways had plenty of constant hot water and never had to have repairs or attention to the pilot light.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Lurch16
Lurch16

Everything seems to be working as expected

published

No issues at this point in time; it is meeting my expectations based on older Dux heater. Trust it will give the same service as previous model which gave reliable service for many years.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

kezz

kezzVictoria, 3028

  • 32 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great except for pilot light

published

This unit performs well, providing good hot water service to 4 adults. On the rare occasion that the water storage runs out it reheats reasonably quickly.

My one complaint is that the pilot light blows out frequently. To combat this we tape the door shut to prevent the wind disturbing it.

Compounding this the lighting unit has had to be replaced at least twice, and will probably be replaced a third time tomorrow. Although the first failure was covered by warranty, the second wasn't and we are averaging one replacement a year.
It's almost impossible to light the pilot manually. This is inconvenient and expensive and while the unit otherwise functions very well I wouldn't buy it again for this reason.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Excellent Product - Professional Installation

published

My old unit was a dux, it worked brilliantly for 20yrs! The new dux is also
- extremely efficient
- amazing value
- quiet
- provides constant hot water
The entire process from quote to installation was so professional and prompt.

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,528.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Happy Customer

Happy CustomerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Product / Quick Changeover

published

Excellent capacity for my household needs. The hot water comes through quickly with no wastage. The changeover from my 18 year old DUX Proflo was organised through Bunnings. Outstanding Service!

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,562.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Daniel G.

Daniel G.asked

Prodigy 4

Hay my prodigy 4 is about 4 years old and has a couple of faults, in fact when I went to light it to night, something went wrong and a huge burst of flames got my face and burnt off some of my hair and half my beard. Has this ever happened before???? And should I replace or try repair it thanks. Dan. !!!!!

1 answer
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Daniel,

We'd be happy to assist you with your question.

If you can email through your name, phone number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au it will be great.

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

Irena M.

Irena M.asked

Prodigy 4

My Dux 135 l works fine until you turn it to 5 or 6 then it turns itself off? Why?

3 answers
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Irena,

We are genuinely sorry this happened.

We have received your email about this issue together with the product details and your details as well.

I believed one of our staff already contacted you and warranty job has been raised. Please do let us know via email to help@dux.com.au after the agent attended the site and when the job is complete.

Regards,

The Dux Team

Irena M.
Irena M.

Yes, it's been sorted now, thank you, great customer service :)

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Irena,

Thanks for being patient to us and we're glad we were able to resolve the issue for you.

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

Claire S.

Claire S.asked

Prodigy 4 135ZB4N/135ZB4P (135L)

Our HWS has recently started making loud banging noises when HWS is being used in the house. It is not water hammer, is louder than the rumbling sound that can occur with gas systems due to sediment accumulation and the noise is definitely coming from the unit. The hot and cold water valves have been regularly released and the system was installed just under 3 years ago by our regular, professional plumber.
Having lived in a variety og homes with a variety of HWS, we have never experienced this before and can't accept that it is 'normal'.
Claire

1 answer
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Claire,

We are genuinely sorry this happened and look forward to resolving with you.

So we can understand the specific details can you please email through your full name, productreview username, best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number to help@dux.com.au so we can call you back, talk through the issue and try and resolve it for you?

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4
Dux Prodigy 4 170ZN
  • Discontinued

Dux Prodigy 4 170ZN

1.0
(1)
Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL
  • Discontinued

Dux Prodigy 4 135ZL

2.9
(14)
CategoryGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage SystemsGas Hot Water Storage Systems
Release dateApr 2008Apr 2008
Replaced byDux Prodigy 4 135ZB4N/135ZB4P (135L)
Compare all 5 Dux Prodigy 4

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.