??!
1 photo
Dux Prodigy 4

Reviews

4.2

71 reviews
5
(50)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (45)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (49)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (39)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (47)
  • Temperature Consistency
    5.0 (48)
  • Heating Speed
    4.9 (48)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (50)
Previous
Next
Tim C

Tim CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Much more efficient than my previous model

published

Two months after installation (and 2 gas bills later), the new model is significantly more efficient than my previous GHWS. Much greater insulation visible, but still nice and compact. Contract installer was a ripper fella too!

Purchased in April 2020 for A$1,363.00.

Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vicki Green

Vicki GreenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

First Hardie Dux lasted 22 years so why not another

published

Our hot water just went unexpectedly, as they do, even though we knew it’s life should be nearly be over after 22 years.
Panic mode I googled Bunnings and discovered that if you call by 11.00 it can be installed the same day. What service. The installation went smoothly. The unit arrived with plumbers. Polite, friendly and efficient. All rubbish and unit was removed and only took an hour. Just wonderful. The water is nice and hot and with just the 2 of us never runs out. Could not be happier as it is the same brand, unit size and fits the same profile outside against the wall as the old one.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,262.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Happy customer

published

Would strongly recommend this product/service. All I had to do was ring Bunnings and choose the product/model and everything was organised including delivery, installation and removal of old unit. I am happy with the service and product.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jack

JackGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good product with great service

published

We purchased from Bunnings couple of days before lockdown. Installation technician came on time and finished the job nice and tidy within a day. He was so helpful and patient to answer all my questions. The new unit provides hot water steady and strong. Love to see it stay as such for many years coming.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,394.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ann

AnnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Dux a very reliable unit

published

Dux Prodigy a great hot water service always plenty of hot water a extremely reliable unit.

My old Dux lasted 27 years I never had a problem a very reliable unit.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings for A$1,328.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
UTPAL

UTPALMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Perfect unit and installation to go with it

published

So the existing water heater started leaking after approx. 10 years of use and had to replace with the new DUX Prodigy 4 unit, the unit price was reasonable and the installation quote was super competitive by Same Day Hot water service and the entire experience great, with everything sorted out within 5 hrs from the first call to the hot water flowing through the tap.

Purchased in April 2020 at Same Day Hot Water Service Retail for A$1,245.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Raziya  Begum

Raziya BegumVictoria

Very good quality product just replaced our old dux we had for 12years

published

We never had any issues with our old one or this one. That’s why we trusted this product with its warranty and are so please it been one week and its runny smoothly.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,445.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Victoria

VictoriaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

New for Old not the same

published

This was a switch for same water heater after mine died after 20 years. However, it is clear there has been an improvement, water heats much faster and lasts longer than ever before. We've only had it one week, the test will come with the gas bill. Pretty happy so far.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Niko

NikoSydney, NSW

This is perfect for my families demand

published

I’ve recently bought and installed a new dux system as my older dux system of 15 years was due for a change as it ended with a water leak that somewhere inside that had to replace the whole unit. So far with this new unit there has been no issues and it has coped with the demand so far. Hope it will for the same amount of time or more hopefully. The installation was very professional.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean L.

Sean L.Sydney, NSW

works out of the box

published

I was about to replace my Rheem hot water system and was recommended this one with 2/3 of the Rheem price. 6 people dwelled house, with this model, everything works like a charm.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,676.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tracey

TraceyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

great brand

published

This unit was a replacement for our previous Dux prodigy. They are very good units meeting our expectations. We often have up to 5 people in the house and have never run out of hot water. We have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Manda

MandaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Top vented unit

published

I had this unit installed by Dux to replace an old Ream unit. Slightly more pressure than the old unit means faster hot water to taps. We are very happy with the unit.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

excellent service

published

I was amazed by the installation process, I ordered the unit through bunnings, all I had to do was to make a call, and the unit was installed on the second day. Their plumber even took away my old unit.
I had it for a month now, it's working great, dial knob has temprature labels makes it very easy to control the water temprature.
Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Melissa

MelissaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Installation process ran smoothly

published

There were no issues with accessing hot water and temperature of the water was just perfect for a newly installed hot water system. Highly recommended for anyone who need hot water quickly. It only took a few hours to install and there was no major issues. We had no hot water for months and it was a relief that same day installation seemed to fix our problems.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Standard product

published

Had similar product before and worked perfectly for 4 and (4 + 4 occasionally), didn't had any trouble, looks like a very standard product with long run. Recommend to choose this product.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Dux Prodigy 4 compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Allan

AllanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Long Weekend Without Hot Water.....Solved by Installation of Dux!!!

published

Our old hot water unit was a Vulcan, very old and showing its age.
Had recently noticed a slight water leak from the bottom of the old unit.......but put off replacement to another time (procrastination)!
Well, you guessed it! The unit ruptured on the Labour Day Week End and of course no hot water to shower and wash for 3 WHOLE DAYS!
"Same Day Hot Water Service" contacted today and installed a DUX 4 star hot water system....no problem....no hassle .....plenty of hot running water!
I'd write more but the wife has finished her shower and I'm DESPERATE to have my turn........I could be there for a while!

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Allan
Allan

Allan Panek username Allan Mobile 0418510619
Model 135ZB 4N S/N 20011345057H
Unit5 63 East Rd Seaford Vic 3198

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

One call - Pay over the phone - installed the next day - Easy and Fast

published

We installed this unit for a few months now, bought it from Bunnings very happy with it, hot water is running steady hot and strong, the old unit was also a DUX which last me almost 20 years that why we replaced with the same brand."

Purchased for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Excellent Unit

published

I installed this unit a few weeks ago through Bunnings hot water system replacement excellent value and very happy with its operation plenty of hot water and installation was hassle free.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,400.00.

Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

This system i very good and I have not had any problem with it.

published

There is no issue with water emperature while showering and washing dishes and everything is comfortable . The hot water is enough for all family members to shower at one time.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,260.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Ash

AshVictoria

Fits perfectly

published

Good brand that fits perfectly in my three bed room house. Value for money with long life spam and good customer service. I would recommend this DUX brand for every body.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

barbie

barbieasked

Prodigy 4

we had a new system put in and our pressure is not good

3 answers
Jacky S.
Jacky S.

I haven't had any issues personally. Ours is normal, strong flow. We didn't even have teething issues. It was put in by a plumber and worked immediately. Sorry I can't help further.

Joe C
Joe C

We had one fitted recently and we are happy with all aspects of it's operation. it is doing everything it is built to do. pressure is excellent.

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Barbie,

Our team would like to speak with you at your earliest convenience so we can get this sorted.

So we can locate your details easier can you email through your full name (state this username as well), best contact number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au?

Best Regards,

The Dux Team

jaime r.

jaime r.asked

Prodigy 4

why is brown water shown in the hot water tap?

5 answers
jaime r.
jaime r.

why is brown water shown in the hot water tap

Mel
Mel

We had brown water soon after the plumber changed the unit. He left the water to run maybe for a minute until it cleared. Since then we had never had brown water.

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Jaime,

Typically brown or discoloured water coming out of the hot water tap may indicate that sediment in the hot water lines is flushing through, or there has been contamination of the water supply source (particularly after heavy rain or if there's construction near by).

If the tank is old, it could be starting to rust as the enamel layer breaks down in part over time, and the exposed steel section of the inner cylinder begins to rust. This could be an indication that your tank is on the way out, and it may be time to consider replacing your current system.

If you send your contact and water heater model details through to help@dux.com.au, we can arrange for a Service Agent to visit your site and inspect the unit.

Thanks,

The Dux Team

Ally

Allyasked

Prodigy 4

Where abouts is the polite light?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.