??!
1 photo
Dux Prodigy 4

Dux Prodigy 4

135ZB4P, 170ZB4N, 135ZL, 170ZL and 170ZN
3.0 from 27 reviews

Reliable unit

we installed this unit for a few months now, bought it from Bunnings very happy with it, hot water is running steady hot and strong, the old unit was also a DUX which last me almost 20 years that why we replaced with the same brand.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $866.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi ZDL, Thank you for taking time to leave a great review. We do appreciate your business and totally value you being our loyal customer. Could you email through your full name (state this username), phone number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Best Regards, The Dux Team

I am quite happy with the unit

The water was hot from the beginning. There has not been any leakage at all. The unit has also met my requirements well even when l have had visitors stay over for a couple of nights. That has been one visitor.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Denis, We're so happy to hear that from you. Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive feedback. Regards, The Dux Team

Very good unit.The water is much hotter than berfore

We installed a prodigy 4 from Bunnings after our old unit broke down and was leaking water on a Monday,by Wednesday we had it up and running .
From the time we placed our order in Bunnings to the time of installation it was excellent.they came to installed the unit at the arranged time .We were well looked after.Our hot water is much hotter than before.We have the unit 6 months now,really good.

Purchased in October 2018 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Crowner, Reading your review made our day! We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave the review!! Could you email through your full name (and state this username), phone number, address where the unit is installed and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au so we can arrange a special thank you? Best, The Dux Team

Great Hot Water System

Bought the Dux Hot Water System from Bunnings to replace our old one and had a smooth and fast installment. We we're using our hot water in no time. It's been installed for a couple of months already and haven't had any problems with it running out. We have a family of 6 and it's just great for us. Would recommend it!

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Jobelle, Reading your review made our day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. Our team is always here for you anytime. Regards, The Dux Team

Great product great price great service

Replaced our 14 year old Dux with Prodigy 4 as the new unit was the same size installation was easy plumber was on site only 30 minutes . The unit serves our household of 3 adults and a 3 year old with ease.We used Bunnings with buy / install deal , and nothing could be easier, installer was great and the change over was done in 3 days (old unit was still working) We have never run out of hot water and have no problems if other taps in house are used when showering.The unit has now been working for over 12 month without any problems, hope it lasts as long as the last one.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $825.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Trevor, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We totally value you being our loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. Our team is always here for you anytime. Cheers, The Dux Team

Excellent hot water service

We dealt with a very efficient and kind installer who was also very honest. The hot water is exactly what we needed. I have a 1 year old boy so having hot water at my fingertips is a must and Dux delivered. Perfect. Thanks Dux.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Pamela, Reading your review made our day! We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave the review!! Many thanks, The Dux Team

Fantastic product

Our hot water service died unexpectedly in the middle of the night after around 12yrs of moderate usage. I needed the service to be replaced ASAP but that wasn't possible as it was Friday morning.

I went through Bunnings and was able to order the DUX Prodigy 4 hot water unit direct from them with same day installation by a local plumber, and was able to pay for it over the phone, cheaper than anywhere else. Free delivery of the unit too. I had to wait until Monday for the delivery and installation but it all went ahead, hiccup free. Great service and excellent product.

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $866.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Rebecca, You're the best! Thank you again for sharing such a positive experience. It means a lot to us. Cheers, The Dux Team

Value for money.

Dux Prodigy is a value for money. My previuos hot water was Prodigy 3 and it was very efficient and last longer for value. This is the reason I have taken the same product but a better performance, which is the next generation Prodigy 4. I am very happy with it and would recommend it to others and family.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Robert, Reading your review made our day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave the review!! Cheers, The Dux Team

very happy

Our 11 year old system died and Dux was able to organise a replacement and install on a Saturday. Good price and product, everything is working perfectly. I’m very happy and would recommend Dux to family and friends

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,403.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Kylie, Reading your review made our day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave the review!! Cheers, The Dux Team

great product

We needed a new unit for our rental property. This product ticked all the boxes, great price, great service, great unit. Positive feedback from out tenant. We would definitely buy again.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Hi Seaberry, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review. We do appreciate your business. Please email us at help@dux.com.au if we can help for you in the future. Cheers, The Dux Team

Great like-for-like replacement

We needed to replace our 16 year old Dux Prodigy 3 in a hurry (big puddle on the ground under the unit) so I went to the local Bunnings at 7am on a Friday morning and had a new Prodigy 4 supplied and fitted by 1.45pm the same day. Can’t get much better than that! Everything appears to working perfectly so far. I looked into swapping over to a continuous hot water system but we would have had issues with the size of our gas supply pipe (too small) and lack of nearby electrical outlet. In the end we stuck with what we had and couldn’t be happier.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $890.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Brett, Thank you for taking time to leave an excellent review. We do appreciate your business. Please email us at help@dux.com.au if we can help for you in the future. Cheers, The Dux Team

Hot Water Replacement

Our new Dux hot water system was installed in December & from the moment it was installed, I’ve been so happy with it. The Install went smooth & the installer was on time & very polite

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Hi Rachel, Reading your review made our day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are incredibly grateful that you took time out to leave a review!! Best Regards, The Dux Team

Hot water replacement

Installation was quick and easy!
Hot water is HOT and is enough for a family of 5...
We were quoted $3100 by another plumber... instead we paid $1300... very very happy customers!!

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
1 comment
Hi JLK, Thanks for the positive feedback - much appreciated!! The Dux Team

Perfect

Great unit works well and water temperature is great no complicated about this product l would fully recommend to all my friends if any one to buy a new hot water system buy this product go to burnings they are good price and will arrange delivery and installation and take old system away

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Hi Sam, Thanks for the positive feedback - much appreciated!! The Dux Team

Very happy with our water heating system

We had a Dux unit for over 10 years, I think about 13-14 years. We never had a problem with it and when he had to replace it we got the same Dux water heating system in an updated version. Very happy with our hot water heating system for the moment and I hope we will in the future too.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Hi Mel, Thanks for your positive feedback - much appreciated!! The Dux Team

Crap heater

I would not buy A dux ever again and have advised everyone I know how poor these are and when it comes to after sale service don't bother cause they are not interested. Stay away from DUX it lasted 1 year and it has had problems ever since pay a bit extra and get a Rinnai.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
3 comments
Hi Shane, We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with your Dux water heater. Can you confirm if the water heater is working at present? We'd like to review your situation, but need some details to locate your customer records in our system. Are you able to email your name, best contact number, water heater installation address, model number and serial number to help@dux.com.au? Best regards, The Dux TeamHi our hot water goes out every day and has done since it was about 14 months old and we have to relight it. Best contact is MELINDA HANSSON 0403 309 548 Install Date 15 / 5 / 15 Purchase date 4 / 5 / 15 Model no = 135ZN Serial No =14111945002HHi Melinda, Thanks for sending your contact details through. The Service Agent was booked for Friday and we hope that your issue has been resolved. Best regards, The Dux Team

Luke warm water

units was installed 2 years 4 months ago, so it is out of warranty.Gas keeps going out having to relight approx 2-3 times per day. It replaced an 18yo dux system that never gave any issues but packed it in finally. Replaced with the 135l prodigy system. Gas goes out all the time and their service agent tells me these systems are very poor quality. Another agent tells me he can modify to give no issues so I'm going with that option to save $2460 (modify is $90 + call out)

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Hi big woody, We're sorry to hear about your experience with your new Dux Prodigy gas water heater. We make these products in our Australian manufacturing facility, and they are premium featured, with a 4.5 star energy rating and the highest first hour capacity of any 4 star gas water heater on the market. It sounds like something is not functioning correctly with your water heater. We have received your details and will be in touch to organise an inspection. Best Regards, The Dux Team

Dux 170ZN Gas Water Heater

Coming into winter and no hot water
I would expect that a major item like a gas hot water heater would last longer than 5 years
Water is leaking everywhere and internal corrosion is evident at base
Not a good product made evident now by reading reviews
When you specialize in gas water heaters this is very disappointing from DUX

Date PurchasedMar 2013

Crack in the tank within 4 years

We had the Dux Prodigy 4 for 4 years before the tank started to leak. Contacted Dux who organised a plumber from Cavana Hot Water systems to inspect.
The plumber who attended said the tanks split at the bottom joint and it is a common manufacturing issue.
Dux organised a warranty replacement but I had to pay for the install which was around $800 which I felt was very expensive.
Retrospectively, I could have spent an extra $200 and purchased a brand new unit from another manufacturer with a full warranty. Lesson learnt I guess!

My experience, with customer service teams of Dux and Cavana, was terrible.

Keep away from them, if you can. Poor product quality + Poor customer service

Date PurchasedApr 2014

Not working properly since installed.

I rent this house for 10 years now and never had problems with the gas heater till last April when it decided to die and the real state was very quick to fix the problem and send the following day a plumber to install a new system. from the beginning I got only warm to mild hot water but I thought give it a time is new but after 3 months looks like the burner turns on only once a day imagine with 4 children and 2 adults I need more than that, the plumber came and checked the installation and everything looks ok, I took a shower to show him that the burner didn't turn on and he certified that, he called DUX and their reply was that if they send someone and can't find anything wrong (that of course they won't) they would charge 200 dollars. I'm not sure how someone could be still doing bussines with this kind of products and reviews. Now I have to wait to see if the owner wants to spend the 200 dollars or wait for the summer to get the next shower.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

why is brown water shown in the hot water tap?
5 answers
why is brown water shown in the hot water tapWe had brown water soon after the plumber changed the unit. He left the water to run maybe for a minute until it cleared. Since then we had never had brown water.Hi Jaime, Typically brown or discoloured water coming out of the hot water tap may indicate that sediment in the hot water lines is flushing through, or there has been contamination of the water supply source (particularly after heavy rain or if there's construction near by). If the tank is old, it could be starting to rust as the enamel layer breaks down in part over time, and the exposed steel section of the inner cylinder begins to rust. This could be an indication that your tank is on the way out, and it may be time to consider replacing your current system. If you send your contact and water heater model details through to help@dux.com.au, we can arrange for a Service Agent to visit your site and inspect the unit. Thanks, The Dux Team

Where abouts is the polite light?
No answers

Can the 135 litre prodigy 4 lay down for transport? My local Bunnings (Seven Hills) guy wouldn't let me load one in the back of my station wagon, insisting the package must be upright at all times to avoid damage to the tank and fittings inside the carton. All the plumbers in my area have vans and there is no way a tank can stand up in a van. Now I have to contact an installer in the middle of the christmas break who will buy the tank at trade price and still charge me $250 plus to do a clean swap over of my old hardie dux system.
1 answer
Hi Anthony , Thank you for your feedback .All our units need to be transported at 90 degrees as they have a sacrificial anode which can break during transportation if layed down. Hope this information has been useful and if you need any further information please contact us on 1300 365 115 . Regards Dux Hot Water

Similar listings