??!
1 photo
Epson Expression Home XP-440

Epson Expression Home XP-440

MPN: XP440
2.0 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.0

23 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (19)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (18)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.1 (17)
  • Reliability
    2.1 (17)
  • Printing Speed
    2.6 (16)
Previous
Next

Wish I could give 0 stars

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

I loathe this printer!

published

I hardly ever print in color. Net search shows that if you're printing grayscale, you are using some color, therefore you cannot print only black without replacing color printers! WHAT?????? This printer annoys me more than any other, for that reason and for the reason that it ALWAYS fights me when I'm trying to print! I am constantly replacing the black cartridge and I hardly EVER print anything. Even Epsom says you can't print using black only (the radio button says print black/grayscale) without replacing expensive color cartridges.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
See all answers

Epson XP-440

published

This is the worst printer I have ever purchased. I am a teacher with limited income and bought to use at home for school work and have nothing but problems with it. I have gone through two sets of cartridges which is 4 cartridges and $10 each and have nothing but print out pages of it not working from nozzle checks. I would not recommend Epson to anyone and I will not purchase another product from them. All I was told was to run head cleaning several times and if that doesn't work I need to take in for a cleaning. More money and time to waste....Do not buy this product, horrible experience.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-440 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
siouxsam

siouxsamPort Philip

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

Using it for more than year, No issues. use with one catridge

published

I have this printer for more than year and found now issues.
It has nice features 1) wifi printing 2) scan to google drive 3) remote printing
From ink catridges, it can print on just black catridge, doesn't force to have color catridiges, I also used unbranded catridges and found no issue in printing. You can just use this printer with one catridge

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$75.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Chris

ChrisMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worst printer ever !!!!

published

It’s always out of ink expensive expensive !
Just replaced the black and still doesn’t print the page
Hard to connect to scan
if one colour is out then it won’t print black
Avoid it a waste of money and rubbish quality
Unhappy ? Absolutely

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Korero

Korero

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

It's slow or I'm impatient.

published

Replaced my noisey temperamental and expensive HP.
We use the Epson infrequently to print. Print quality in standard print is ok, would prefer draft quality for speed but there is no option for that. Weird. Looked in manual and see that Draft quality is excluded in Western Europe. Weird.
Scanning is slow but, not as slow as copying and printing. Waited for one page to be spat out for, I dunno, 2 minutes? Not up to modern expectations. My kids keep pushing the coloured Home screen expecting touch screen technology. I swear I can hear it saying, "You get what you pay for. (implied Meh emoji excluded).
Disappointing as it will be filling the rubbish tip sooner rather than later.

Purchased in June 2019 at Officeworks.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Scott T.

Scott T.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Piece of junk

published

Head cleaning needs to be done several times before each use
All the required head cleaning uses inordinate amount of ink
After cartridge replacement, need to clean head multiple times to get even a semi decent print quality. This uses even more ink
Overall print quality is poor

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Chris F.

Chris F.Sydney, NSW

A unreliable printer with bad print quality and printing head issues.

published

- Not satisfied with the print quality.
- Not satisfied with the reliability and consistency of the printer with lots of trouble and time spent on cleaning the heads and replacing cartridges.
- this printer damaged the Epson branding, resulting in no confidence in buying any epson products.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

Replacing ink cartridges uses up 25% before you can even start printing

published

The printer itself works well, but as soon as you have to replace the cartridges it takes at least 8 print head cleans before it will begin to recognise the new cartridges - using up a quarter of your new ink in the process. Since genuine Epson cartridges cost at least $70 to replace, that's a $17 expense just to get your printer working again. Not to mention the printer refuses to print anything when any cartridge is below 15% ink. So expect to get $40 worth of actual ink out of your $70 purchase.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-440 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cara loves coffee

Cara loves coffeeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does the job

published

Wanted a prniter for home to print out the occasional document or picture for the kids. This has done the job. The best part is replacing the ink as you can replace the individual colour rather than all at once. Wi-Fi connection was easy to set up. Great having no wires to print.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Brett C.

Brett C.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

WARNING! Don't purchase one of these.

published

Purchased on 16th December 2019, it has come up with a message "fatal error", "contact Epson". I did, and they suggested I take the unit to their service outlet in Broken Hill, a mere 1100kms away. The second option was closer, in Muswellbrook, 90kms from home. No guarantee that the unit would be replaced under warranty. Quite frankly the unit is a total dud, We have previously had Epson TX100 (purchased in 2009) and an XP100 (purchased in 2014), with the only reason for going to Epson again being the individual ink cartridges.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
BJF

BJF

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst Printer Ever

published

Every time I want to print from my files have to reset printer, very frustrating when in a hurry. Don`t waste your time and money on a Epson XP 440

Purchased in May 2019 for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Charles T

Charles TSYDNEY

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Epson Xp440 - Worst Printer Ever

published

Out of paper
Wasted hours on this stupid printer and googled all fixes but with no luck.
The upshot of my efforts is that I consider it to be a very small boat anchor...

Purchased in January 2020 at JBHIFI for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 45 reviews
  • 24 likes

Dont waste your money

published

I have printed off less than sixteen pages and ink is half full and pages are not printing properly. faded font. lines faded on font. Add to this the firmware update that makes you choose what size paper every time its started. Epson also wont allow third party ink after firmware update. Im returning printer today. Ive owned two Epsons prior to this and wont buy epsom again.

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Liz

LizSouth Australia, 5413

  • 21 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great for home use

published

Happy with the ease of set up for most features - but then I am a bit tech savvy.
Clear print, printer ink is easy to change, and not overly expensive. Wifi option to numerous items is great.

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-440 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pierre

Pierre

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best multipurpose inkjet printer

published

I bought this all in one printer for our everyday printer! For school projects, scanning favorite recipes on magazines and WiFi printing was awesome. It was easy to setup and all the instructions straight forward. I highly recommend this product for all the school and personal capabilities.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mary ann V

Mary ann VGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

not happy

published

Not happy, Printer is hardly being used and already I have to replace ink cart-ridges. I had hoped to get more out of this Printer. Had a HP printer before which performed a lot better. Customer service is not of a lot of help either.... :-(

Purchased in December 2018 for A$70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Tarak

Tarak

  • 2 reviews

waste of money

published

This printer is the worst I've had. Very limited in its use. Can't print on most photo papers as they are too thick or will not grip gloss surfaces. A total waste of money, and they have the ordacity to claim you can print photos on it.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Bryan T

Bryan TSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 5 reviews

The worst printer ever purchased.

published

This printer was to be a replacement for an HP that we had. What a mistake. Customer service on the help line is also useless. Can’t scan more than one page at a time. Spent hours trying to find a solution and further wasted time on ringing the help line. The person didnt have a solution and was told needed to buy a more expensive printer with auto feed (what rubbish). This printer was purchased from Harvey Norman @nd sold tous by the Epson rep who was in the store at the time.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Alphacat

AlphacatSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great for my personal use

published

Print quality for documentation excellent. I find using better quality paper is needed for photos. Scanner is easy to use. Easy to change cartridges. Never had a paper jam. Nice compact size

Purchased in August 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sam C.

Sam C.asked

Brand new machine. Wont print anything at all. I installed driver disk, registered on line, done manual test print, and nothing ending up on page. So can u suggest what might be wrong. I even put new full catridges in as well??

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP)$129
Printer TypeInkjet
Cloud PrintingYes
Wi-Fi CompatibleYes
Multifunction FeaturesCopier, Scanner and Fax
Height146mm
Print from PhoneYes
Width390mm
Depth300mm

Visit official website
  • MPN: XP440

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.